Chanel • Joues Contraste in Notorious • Blush

rated 4.9(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.9
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 carrieeeeeeee on 8/27/2014 12:38:00 AM more reviews by carrieeeeeeee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Was Chanel Notorious blush discontinued ? Does anyone know ? I used to love it but I can't find it anymore. Now I've been using NYX blush Taupe and its really good too and costs only 5 dollars. Thanks in advance !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 8/22/2014 4:27:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the only contouring product I've ever owned so I'm definitely not an expert and I don't have anything to really compare this to. My contouring skills are probably pretty abysmal but this makes it pretty foolproof. It's an amazing powder and it's the one of the only products I've ever, EVER hit pan on. Makeup's the one area I really treat myself, so I have a massive collection. I also rarely stick with one product for any given amount of time, so hitting pan just never happens. But sure enough, I've been using this almost everyday since it was released, and the inevitable happened. I feel like I should display my empty compact on my vanity or something. So do I want to spend a ridiculous amount for a replacement on ebay? Absolutely not. Did I? Yes. It's completely worth it to have something that performs this well and makes such a big difference.

I have very pale skin (lightest shade in any foundation brand) with neutral to cool undertones. I love bronzer but any time I've tried to contour with a matte one the warm brown tones just don't look believable to me. It just clearly looks like bronzer. This actually looks like natural shadow and makes the hollows of my face recess in a way that's realistic. With a light hand and blending it looks believable and doesn't look like I used makeup. That's always my fear with contouring... that I'll looks like I'm wearing a ton of makeup to try and shape my face. But this just works.

I use this under my cheekbones with a fluffy blush brush. It's silky soft and has a very subtle amount of shimmer that barely translates onto my skin. The color is gorgeous on. It's a refined, pearly taupe with a lilac-grey cast. Despite the way it looks in the pan it's an elegant, understated color. It mimics shadow perfectly. I love the color so much. And it looks crazy good in photos.

I also own Tom Ford Shade and Illuminate, which is very warm and doesn't have nearly the same mysteriously natural effect for contouring that Notorious does. Neither does NYX's Taupe, which is also a cool toned taupe shade but it's missing that pearly, gemstone grey quality that Notorious has.

I wish I had bought backups of this when it was released, especially considering how fast I fell for it. It's truly a unique product and one that's worth tracking down if you're able.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Euphoria93 on 5/14/2014 6:53:00 PM more reviews by Euphoria93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had never owned a true contouring product before, I just used my matte Chocolate powder from Too Faced. BUT that was too warm and too pigmented, so I decided to buy something else. I saw this on youtube, and instantly fell in love with the cool color. I thought, "holy crap, that shade looks like the color of bone! Cool!" Apparently this was used on the runway for Chanel's winter collection as a contour on the models, and they decided to release this for a limited time in 2012. It was torn off the shelves almost instantly, and youtube gurus and bloggers raved about it, and people lost their marbles when it wasn't available anymore.

I tend to be all "go big or go home" in terms on cosmetics, but this was sold out everywhere and was never available in my country, so I decided to find something less expensive. It went for 70 - 85 dollars on evilbay, and I just could not justify it. Some sellers are vultures, I tell you. But I had this in the back of my head every time I did my makeup, it was almost like a chant in the back of my head! *swipe of blush* - NOTORIOUS! *Added highlighter* - NOTORIOUS! "But it's so expensive!" One day I entered ebay drunk, and the damage was easily done... Do I regret it though?

Heck no! Now, I am a pale girl and one would think this would make me look like a corpse, but this stuff just works. Why? Because the color and the consistency and the pigmentation is just so perfectly balanced. The color is like I said, the perfect bone shade. You know when people draw cheekbones or corpses for that matter, the hollow shade that mimics the shadow under the bone tend to be a cold, grey-ish color with a lilac undertone? Yup, this is it in a blush form. The formula is baked and has a slight sheen, but not enough sheen to visibly reflect the light. I guess that would defeat the purpose, but the satin sheen was a smart choice, because it's more forgiving on the skin than a matte formula would be. Like I said, the balance makes this product so great. Very finely milled off course, so it goes on smoothly and blends like a dream. The pigmentation is just right - not too much, not too little. I apply this with a smaller brush to target the deepest part of where I contour, then I blend it out with a bigger brush. I apply the most underneath my cheekbones, then some on my temples, then a bit to enhance my jawbone. I just look sharper and more defined, mature. I like the effect it gives my face a lot.

It you feel like this makes you look ashy, then apply a warmer shade of bronzer/contour powder to your brush of choice, and blend this into the notorious. That way you keep the shade, but make it less cool.

All in all, I can not live without this product, and like so many other people I find it almost concerning that it's not available anymore. This is not your typical consumers product with it's mildly off putting lilac/grey shade, but being Chanel, people just knew that this would work. So why is there no shameless, cheaper dupe for it yet? Hello drugstore brands! We seek your guidance!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 voodoodolly330 on 9/1/2013 1:23:00 AM more reviews by voodoodolly330

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Before Chanel Notorious, my favourite contouring product is Kevyn Aucoin's sculpting powder, it's a very nice product but still shows a little bit too bronzy on my skin. While Notorious is a mushroom/taupe colour which mimic the shadow on the face perfectly, very natural, subtle (unless you are very heavy-handed), but effective.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalaland on 1/8/2013 10:49:00 PM more reviews by lalaland

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am giving this a 4 based off of first impressions so that I can get this out ASAP since it is hard to find. The color is exactly as you see it online and yes it looks like a straight up eyeshadow. The difference between this and say an actual eyeshadow would be the texture and size. It is strangely pigmented but soft enough to blend over the face or eyes. Most eyeshadows that may be similar in color probably may not have the appropriate texture to contour cheeks with. The size suits most contour brushes like a MAC 186 or MAC 109 or angle brushes from Sigma, etc. Eyeshadows can be quite small, which not only can be difficult to collect from with larger brushes but it will likely get used up quicker. I of course could be wrong because I do not know the options out there in this color/texture range but I imagine it is not vast. The price is steep and the inventory is way too limited which sucks. I found mine at a local Saks a few days ago and could not find it anywhere else because it sold out months ago. Hopefully, you can still find it out there and I also hope and think that other companies might get on board with this "trend" or as some say "game changer" because it is not brown like other contour colors. On me, ~NC20, it looks a little purple but when I blend la lot and apply in layers it does look nice and natural. My boyfriend actually noticed it and said that he "sees definition/a line" under my cheekbones (but my cheeks are fat lol, I said that not him). It gets a four for now because it is not extremely easy to use right off the bat. I will update.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 1/1/2013 12:06:00 AM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I finally found it, all were sold out in dept. store. I went to the Chanel boutique and they had 20 still in stock. I bought 2, just in case.
Is it a good product for contour, YES; I found it better than using a matte brownish bonzer.
Does it worth the $45 price tag, NO.
I can search for a mushroom/grey/beige eye- shadow and I am sure it will do the job just as good.
But I did not regret the purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SweetNightmares on 12/28/2012 7:44:00 PM more reviews by SweetNightmares

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am an NC40 gal... & yes, even I still have to use a LIGHT hand when applying this! It is completely different than what I currently own (Guerlain 4 seasons) & I truly am in love with it. It seriously chisels in your cheekbones & makes the jawline beautifully pronounced. I wish I could get my hands on a backup but I don't need to use much at all for an application so I'm sure I'll have it for awhile. Lovely, amazing, downright perfect contouring product.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ns4487 on 11/28/2012 5:48:00 AM more reviews by ns4487

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

*shakes fist* WHY CHANEL, WHY MAKE THIS LE?! I have already bought 2 of these, and am looking for a third one. It quite simply is the most beautiful contouring powder I have come across. I am NC15 and did not make a habit of contouring as I was unable to find one that worked well with my skintone. Bronzers generally looked dirty or muddy on me. When Chanel brought this product out, I literally turned to my husband and said 'why has no-one done something like this before? shadows are grey, not brown...it makes perfect sense to bring out a greyed contouring powder!' Once I tried it, I was in love. It perfectly replicates a shadow in the hollow of my cheek and the slight shimmer that is in the pan does not translate to my face. I find it quite sheer but easily buildable. I really hope Chanel realises that this is a gamechanger and makes it permanent, although no doubt other brands will now release similar products. If you are pale and bronzer contours have not worked for you in the past, I urge you to try this if you can still get your hands on it. I don't think it will be as spectacular on darker skintones though. This is my 'product of 2012' - love love love it!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilinah on 11/27/2012 6:36:00 PM more reviews by lilinah

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

When i heard people talking about Notorious, i had to look, but i wasn't going to buy this very expensive powder. Then i saw photos, and how could i resist a taupe-grey contour powder! ...you see, i like unusual, atypical makeup colors.
.
I didn't get to see it in real life, but i still rushed to order it from chanel.com, since it was already sold out at all the department stores in my state. I was on tenterhooks waiting for it to arrive. What was it going to be like?
.
First, the packaging is luxurious - not quite as luxurious as Guerlain, but, then, Chanel is less expensive than Guerlain. I opened the shipping package and nestled inside was a medium sized black cloth bag. Inside was a shiny black box. Inside the box was a small velvety cloth bag. And inside that was the shiny black plastic compact with the Chanel logo.
.
The compact is not terribly large. Inside the lid is a convenient mirror. The dome of powder fills only about 60%, the other 40% holds a tiny, natural hair brush. I was a bit disappointed at how small the powder was.
.
Then came the moment of truth - applying Notorious. Using my own, easier to manage brush, i put it on over my liquid foundation - it didn't blend as well as i would have liked. Using a large, dense, flat headed brush i buffed it out. Still imperfect, but nonetheless i was really liking the basic look.
.
I learned one lesson: first powder all over a moisturizing foundation, before applying Notorious, or give that foundation plenty of time to set. That way it will have a more natural look.
.
The powder is a small dome of taupe-grey with a hint of mauve. It appears to have some shimmer, but it is not shimmery, rather it provides luminosity. The powder is quite fine and silky. A little is all you really need, but if you want a more intense color, it is definitely buildable.
.
Final impression: Notorious is an amazing neutral contour. Many contour products are brown, "bronzy", or even orange-y. Notorious is the color of a shadow. I love it.
.
I'd buy it again, but it's Limited Edition and sadly sold out (and, no, i will not give in to insane evilBay prices)

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fikins123 on 11/13/2012 7:12:00 PM more reviews by fikins123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love a contour powder and as soon as I read the reviews on here I knew I had to try it and boy am I glad that I did! This is the most complimentary contouring powder I have ever owned, it is so easy to use and easy to blend! After using for a week I went and stocked up on 2 more pots due to it being Ltd Edition!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Blush products