Trader Joe's • Coconut Body Butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.4(64 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 12/20/2014 2:23:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is now one of my favorite body butters. I kept hearing about this and love Trader Joes so I thought I would check it out. It's very thick and it's all natural. It's like using pure coconut oil but it's mixed with tons of great things.

It sinks in pretty quick and keeps my skin very soft and moisturized for well over 16 hours. This stuff is super affordable as well and worth every penny and more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gorkt on 12/17/2014 3:12:00 PM more reviews by gorkt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has become a family favorite. New England winters are hard on our skin and my husband and daughter both love this. It actually spreads well on skin, smells lovely, and the moisturization lasts all day. And it is affordable! How great is that!?!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Surf2 on 12/8/2014 10:16:00 PM more reviews by Surf2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I was anxious to try this. I liked the butter part but it smells like candle wax!! Maybe I purchased a bad batch?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Applemonster on 11/28/2014 12:19:00 PM more reviews by Applemonster

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like the smell but I was getting from this. It took about a week for them to heal. I am not allergic to coconut either so it may be some other ingredient causing the rashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bmcnally on 10/29/2014 10:39:00 AM more reviews by bmcnally

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

OH MY GOSH PEOPLE, this stuff is the bomb. I am officially obsessed. Just like any other body butter, texture wise- i compare it to the ones i have bought from bath and body. the price is just as great as the product. $4.99 for 8oz. my bath and body creams are $15 for 7oz. the smell is amazing, however i LOVE coconut smell. and i love that the lid just kinda flips open rather then a jar lid. i will be buying this forever!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kalya on 10/6/2014 6:26:00 PM more reviews by Kalya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is not really a body butter - it is not as emollient or moisturizing as one. The smell is good and it looks like coconut frosting. To be really honest, it hasn't been all that moisturizing for my skin, which is more on the dry-ish side. It does work for some quick moisturizing but the effect does not stay. Yes, I do follow the method where the body butter is applied after a shower. I like the scent. Ingredients are mostly decent, except for phenoxyethanol.

I like that the lid of the tin opens on a hinge instead of a screw-top.
I do like the fact that it is quite cheap but we get what we pay for.
So for some quick moisturizing that does not last long, this body butter is great.

Note however that the Trader Joe's Pumpkin Body Butter is much better than the Coconut one. Former product is only available in Fall season. The scent is pleasing and it is more emollient than it's friend the Coconut body butter. Ingredients also differ slightly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmburk on 8/31/2014 7:33:00 PM more reviews by pmburk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this body butter. It is a thick, white, coconut scented whipped cream in a round container with a flip-top lid. The packaging is easy to use & less messy than traditional "screw top" body butter canisters. The scent is like a light (not overwhelming) coconut, and it almost smells like coconut cake on my skin. Not like an overwhelming pina colada or fake coconut scent. It has a slight vanilla scent to it, I'm guessing due to the shea butter & marshmallow extract ingredients. My skin is normal to slightly dry, and I find this very moisturizing. It is thick and rich, and a little goes a very long way. I like to use this after a day when I've been out swimming or in the sun, and my skin feels very dry. (It is also nice on sunburns.) I also love this for my hands, which tend to get quite dry. Inexpensive, works great, smells great. Will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annahogan on 8/21/2014 12:18:00 PM more reviews by annahogan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I'm so happy I found the stuff… Every night I just slathered on my arms and legs and it's so great and wonderful smelling!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Nature4me on 6/16/2014 11:47:00 AM more reviews by Nature4me

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

PHENOXYETHANOL??? Do you really want to put this chemical on your face that is created from BENZENE (a known carcinogen) then treated with ETHYLENE OXIDE (another known carcinogen)? This preservative takes the place of PARABEN. But read about it and then ask yourself if you want this on your skin. They may say they only add a small percentage of this chemical in their product but a little here and a little there adds up.

The FDA says this about Phenoxyethanol:
"It can depress the central nervous system and may cause vomiting and diarrhea". (Truth in aging. June 4, 2013

It's been banned in Japan and should be in the US too.
Trader Joe's- Please look at replacing Phenoxyethanol with a natural preservative.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ejforster on 5/8/2014 9:36:00 AM more reviews by ejforster

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This past winter my skin was the driest it ever has been. I tried shower oils, Tree Hut body butter, Burt's Bees -- I would start to feel dry & itchy again within a few hours. Not so with TJs coconut body butter! I love it -- it smells like coconut cake, goes on quickly and easily, and the container works very well as others have said. It really can't be beat for the price. A tip for those who said it wasn't moisturizing enough -- I always put mine on when I get out of the shower and it seems to do a great job for me (in fact, I read a dermatologist tip the other day which said that is when you should always put on body lotion). It is *body* butter -- someone's review mentioned using it on hands but that is not what it is made for and I would agree that it washes away quickly. But for body lotion it is tops!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Trader Joe's products

More Lotions/ Creams products