Trader Joe's • Coconut Body Butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.4(56 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 domin007 on 4/18/2014 8:39:00 PM more reviews by domin007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I have fairly dry skin and although this isn't the most moisturizing thing ever, whatever it does give seems to last all day. It smells great, like a coconut scented buttercream icing, but unlike the three BaBW lotions I'm struggling to use up, the scent isn't overpowering. Despite the relatively inexpensive price of 8 oz for $5, the packaging isn't complete rubbish and I like hte easy to open and close lid that just snaps on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BostonApril on 3/17/2014 9:50:00 PM more reviews by BostonApril

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this body butter for the past 2 years and I think it is one of the best moisturizers I've tried. The consistency of the body butter is amazing and it feels great on application--it makes my skin smooth and supple. It improves the appearance of my skin and makes me feel more confident in my shorts or swimsuit. It absorbs quickly and does not feel greasy at all. It smells fantastic--while it has a distinct coconut fragrance, it is not at all overwhelming. And for the price, you can't beat it! It also comes in a very easy to use container with a flip top--you can easily stick your fingers in for a dollup--and it's one that is easy to open and close. The way the container is designed, you'll never find yourself struggling to get the last bit of it out of the container.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tito_barf on 1/28/2014 3:00:00 PM more reviews by tito_barf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

This is somewhat moisturizing, but not awesome for me -- I never find I get great relief from oil/butter-based products. When I use this on my hands, I find myself reaching for a less oily product to actually make them feel moisturized. It doesn't do a thing for my itchy legs.
The smell is STRONG for me, and lasts most of the day, so ask to smell it first (they will let you) if you are sensitive.
I have found, however, that I can use this as a hair mask! Pure coconut oil would be better, but this does a decent job. Now I have a way to use this up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kalya on 1/28/2014 12:50:00 PM more reviews by Kalya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is not really a body butter - it is not as emollient or moisturizing as one. The smell is good and it looks like coconut frosting. To be really honest, it hasn't been all that moisturizing for my skin, which is more on the dry-ish side.

I like that the lid of the tin opens on a hinge instead of a screw-top. The ingredients are also mostly natural.
I do like the fact that it is quite cheap but we get what we pay for.
So for some quick moisturizing that does not last long, this body butter is great. 3.5/5 STARS.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Khiandra on 1/22/2014 6:16:00 PM more reviews by Khiandra

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a basic body butter that serves its purpose....moisturizing. I have no idea where the comparison to cake/ icing comes from, as far as the scent goes. Smells like your basic coconut scented cream to me. Nothing spectacular. The consistency is great! Smooth/ silky, and absorbs well. The packaging is perfect also. Flip top. Everyday staple product for the whole family, at a good price point. I like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gracie114 on 1/8/2014 7:51:00 PM more reviews by gracie114

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff! It smells like coconut and funfetti cake. It's very rich and hydrating. A little goes a long way! I love that the company doesn't test on animals and the price is excellent for the amount you get.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sheff803 on 11/20/2013 8:58:00 PM more reviews by sheff803

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am absolutely obsessed with this body butter! I was at Trader Joe's and decided to buy this on whim and I am so glad that I did! It absorbs quickly into the skin; however, it leaves your skin feeling so soft and supple. Also, did I mention that the smell is amazing! This lotion smells like a coconut, vanilla cupcake. I love the smell of coconut and this lotion is no exception. As for the texture, the body butter reminds me of a whipped consistency. I love how the lotion feels when applying it! This lotion is amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* royas784 on 11/10/2013 8:56:00 PM more reviews by royas784

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

TJ's coconut body butter is delectable. It smells like a mix between coconut and frosting. The product itself works wonderfully- it's rich and emollient, and moisturizes dry areas effectively without feeling heavy or greasy; it sinks into the skin nicely. It's thick, and has a creamy, "whipped up" type of texture. You get a good amount and a little goes a long way. I usually use this to moisturize dry hands, heels, and elbows--it lasts a fairly long time without the need to re-apply, but I don't have the driest skin out there. It is effective for normal to dry skin, while those with very dry skin (due to cold weather, for example) might opt for something a little richer. I'd say try this out, and return it if it isn't what you're looking for. Overall, this is a great body butter at a reasonable price- I'd recommend it to most.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maryso on 11/3/2013 2:52:00 PM more reviews by Maryso

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So good! Smells great, no greasy feeling after use, and truly softens my skin. Great product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ponc on 10/22/2013 4:19:00 PM more reviews by ponc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I have a thing for the smell of coconut. Needless to say I love the scent. I also like the creaminess. I use it at work to keep myself from getting paper cuts. It moisturizes well. But I can't give it full score because it sits on skin surface and it gets wash away even without hand soap. The ingredient list is long and not everything on it is natural.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Trader Joe's products

More Lotions/ Creams products