L'Oreal Voluminous Power Collagen 24H

3.3

23 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/17/2015 11:24:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have tried and used every L'Oreal waterproof mascara formula and I believe this one is their gold standard for darkening, volumizing, lengthening, curl sustaining, waterproofing and conditioning. I have an allergy to the majority of mascaras (including waterproof formulas). I made the regrettable chose of abandoning my tried and true staple mascara (the original L'Oreal Voluminous in the waterproof formula which I have used on and off for 15+ years and tried Maybelline Collosal waterproof mascara (as it was on sale). This was my most regretted cosmetic purchase. It caused my lashes to fall out and I was forced to wear false lashes for many months until my lashes grew back. Once I had enough lashes and length to apply mascara, I once again returned to L'Oreal Voluminous original waterproof formula and continued to wear false lashes in addition to the mascara as my lashes never returned to their original length and density. I have been using the Voluminous Power Collagen 24H waterproof formula in Blackest Black for a month and I now have the confidence to go false lash free! The formula seems to have restored and improved the condition of my lashes so they are strong and soft and no lashes fall-out when I remove my mascara with Almay Longwear & Waterproof eye make-up remover pads.

I love the big brush which allows more mascara to be applied easily in one coat and without clumping. I find I don't need more than two coats to achieve the look I want. I tried the Carbon Black Voluminous waterproof formula and loved the dark rich colour but it left smudge spots under my eyes. The blackest-black in the Voluminous Power Collagen 24H waterproof formula stays put through tears, rain, snow and sleet. Great mascara for Canadian winter weather! No smudges, flakes or eye irritation and the color is comparable to carbon black. Other pros of this mascara is the tube closes tightly and makes a "clicking" sound and feels secure when closed therefore ensuring no air gets in the tube and dries it out prematurely - saving me money - which I like. Formula does not have an offensive odour and does not cause my sensitive eyes to water. The formula holds the curl all day long. I curl my lashes with a Revlon eyelash curler before applying the mascara and the mascara is fast drying so it does not cause the lashes to stay wet, go limp and lose their curl (the way the Benefit "They're Real" mascara did).

The only con with this product is the colour of the tube. If the manufacturer would make the whole tube the same white colour as the stripe on the tube it would make it so much easier to find quickly in my make-up bag and dressing table drawer as the majority of all of my other brushes and eye-liners are also black. Or alternatively, make the tube in a metallic gold to reflect how "Golden" this product is :)

When I want to add more drama to my new found rich, thick, long and lush lashes, I pair this mascara with L'Oreal Infallible Smokissime powder eyeliner pen and watch my eyes really pop! This powder eyeliner stays put and blends easily. I also note that when I was removing my false eyelashes the eyeliner stayed on until I removed it with the Almay eye makeup remover pads - impressive!



on 12/1/2014 11:46:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have had a problem with almost every mascara that I have ever used leaving smudges under my eyes as the day wears on. This one is probably the best at NOT doing this. This is the black with white label tube. I however, do not like the brush. It is entirely too big. That will not stop me from buying this rare gem again. I guess that I better stock up now, since the best things are always discontinued.


on 5/12/2014 6:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Ok so I'm a really difficult person when it comes to mascaras... I have nearly 40, so... I have to say, I ADORE this! It's a fabulous mascara that totally lenghtens and thickens your lashes like crazy! Plus, something that doesn't happen often; it keeps the curl all day for my stubborn lashes. Some might find the brush to be sort of big, but I find it alright. It can clump up if you're not careful, but I don't mind if it gets a little clumpy.... not too much. As for the formula, it's not wet but not dry either. The brush is sort of flimsy but it stills can give great definition. Totally recommend!


on 2/18/2014 2:12:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ok so this mascara is perfection. I've been using this for a year or so and bought during that time PLENTY other mascaras. Simply because others' reviews made other brands appear like miracles and I just had to try. I've been disappointed by so many cheap, poorly made drugstore mascaras such as cover girl lashblast, and by high end ones that did nothing and are overrated. Most of them end up in my makeup storage but this is my THIRD one. And really, i'm not the type of person to buy the same thing twice.
This doesn't clump if you take your time to apply it well, it gives length and a lot of volume.
The wand is by far the best i've seen, i don't know why but it just really works for me.
I used to use only waterproof mascara because others would smudge. I took this one by accident and this DOESN'T SMUDGE! It's so easy to remove in a swipe of makeup remover but stays on all day.
+ The price is really ok for what you get!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2013 10:12:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Just bought this yesterday, put it on this morning and:
I have length.
Checked package as I was sure I bought a volume boosting mascara. I dont need length, my lashes are already super long I just want them to appear thicker. Yep, package says the formula is supposed to provide "fuller looking plumped up lashes".
I have length.
And what lesson have I learned this day? Dont stray from the Original Voluminous formula you've been using forever, even if you cant, for some reason, find it in waterproof that day. Dang it.


**UPDATE** Ok, after playing with it, I have noticed the following:

1. First application: Wipe wand and apply. Lashes lengthen. Give a second to dry.
2. Second application: Do not wipe wand and apply. Lashes THICKEN.

OHHHHHHHH....wow okay, I love this stuff I look like I have false lashes on. Sorry L'Oreal, I should have been patient. My grade goes from 2 to 4, you lose a star because I had to figure this out over the course of a few days.


on 9/27/2013 1:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used to love the original L'Oreal Voluminous & then I started using Maybelline Full & Soft. But the past few months I've just been wanting to try different mascaras, see what's out there. I've been using the Maybelline for so long, I thought there might be something that has come out that I would like even better. So far, not the case. And this Voluminous Collagen has been a huge disappointment. It did add length but not so much on the volume. Pretty much on the clumpy side. And the worst part is that it left smudges under my eyes & even on my brow bone where my lashes touched. For me, that's the biggest offense for any mascara. Not a fan, would never repurchase, nor recommend.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Just so so. I've bought other l'oreal mascaras and I usually have really good luck with them, but I was quite disappointed with this one. It was a bit on the clumpy side and it didn't do any that special with my lashes as I hoped it would. Wouldn't buy this one again.


on 7/27/2013 5:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was my holy grail mascara for a long long long time until I found the 2000 calorie by max factor. It is an excellent mascara that volumises and thickens lashes. Is really does last 24 hours. Even when I cry it doesn't come off, however it is really easy to remove with just some warm water so you don't need to tug and pull and loose your lashes. Only flake a tiny tiny bit for me and the reason it isn't my hg any more is because i have gotten much more into length than volume recently. But anyway amazing mascara would recommend it to any one.


on 4/7/2013 1:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

One of my favorite drugstore mascaras, not my all time HG, but I was happy for the price and performance. It made my lashes full and voluminous. I got it for $3 something and figured it was worth a try. This gave a ton of volume without all the flaking and clumping I got from Maybelline Falsies.This wand is soft and the bristles are very close together. Just like with any new tube it will be wet on the first couple applications, but as air gets into the tube, it gets better. I find that after a week, my mascara is at its best. I hate hate hate getting it in my eyes and the burning (always seems to happen with cover girl for some reason) but this didn't do that. I do agree that you cannot "comb" through your lashes with this brush, so if you want major length and separation, don't get this one. It will plump them up and give some length and drama. I have medium length lashes and usually curl them before applying mascara. I do notice flaking once in a while at the end of the day, but you get that with the collagen mascaras. I still think it's worth it.


on 1/28/2013 1:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Flaky nightmare! Put it on at 10am and it flaked off onto my cheeks by 1pm. Will not buy again.




Back to Top