Essie Pure Pearlfection

4.9

10 reviews

100% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/2/2015 1:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This polish is really pretty - it has just enough sparkle to add a little pop to your nails and really enhance the color underneath! I love wearing it over a nude jelly polish like OPI's Samoan Sand. The only reason I didn't give it five lippies is because if you use it over nail art, it does tend to drag the design which can be very frustrating. Besides that, it's a fantastic polish to have in your collection! It dries quickly and has pretty average wear time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/2/2015 10:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this polish! It looks gorgeous over almost any color, but particularly striking over darker polishes. It has teeny silver glitter that shimmers iridescent green and purple when it catches the light. I use this mostly to extend the life of my manicures - I'll touch up chips with whatever color I'm wearing and finish with a coat of this. It gives any color new dimension and a few more days of wear.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2014 3:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

LOVE this shimmery top coat! Looks amazing over any color, dark or light. The only way I wear Essies Muchi Muchi is with this over it! I have even worn it by itself and it's gorgeous that way as well. I would absolutely purchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2013 9:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is designed as a special effects top coat, to give a pearlescent sheen to any polish, but as several reviewers have noted, this can be worn alone if you want a very sheer, pearly look.

This polish is sheer, silvery, pearly (obviously), and has tiny micro glitter in pink, pale green, and light blue (or it might be iridescent, but it's hard to tell when the glitter is so tiny; I think it's actually coloured, though). The polish looks gorgeous over pretty much every polish I've tried it with. It's particularly eye-popping over dark colours, but I put it over a medium dusty-rose and it was lovely, as well.

Essie's definitely got a winner with this one. Gorgeous, and extremely versatile.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/12/2013 3:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is one of my favey glitter polishes! I put one coat of this over two coats of Essie Marshmellow & got nothing but compliments! It looked so elegant! Its the perfect sublte glitter!


on 7/22/2013 7:58:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

As a girl who tends to stick to nudes and a lover of cremes I'm actually so surprised by how much I love this topcoat. When the luxe effects line came out I saw what it looked like in the bottle and passed it up because it didn't look all that interesting to me. I sort of forgot about it until recently and I've seen the swatches online with this over any color and I fell in love with it. I just received mine and layered it over Essie's Go Ginza and oh my gosh how girly and pretty my nails look! It applies perfectly it's not too thick and it is easy to smooth out the polish and get a nice coverage. I am obsessed with this polish. I cannot wait for fall and winter to really spice up my dark polishes with a shimmer that is unique and subtle and girly all wrapped in one!


on 1/22/2013 12:45:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this color!!! Makes my nails look so neat and clean. Also, the fact that I'm not a professional manicurist doesn't show a bit. Love it, love it!! I have the gold one too. Not as complimentary of my skin tone. This silver is a keeper for sure!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2013 3:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love classic when it comes to my nails. I save the color for my toes. So I was drawn to this polish because it is muted and natural with a little unexpected pop of fun silvery glitte, that is what I look for to keep from beig bored with classic lol. One coat of PP is sheer and looks like my nails but better. I have seen lots of pictures of it as an awesome top coat over darker colors. It is beautiful that way but not for ME. I wil always have a bottle of this in my collection!


on 10/3/2012 9:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this polish
the fine glitter makes it look less childish, but it doesn't give your nails a funny white-ish look when you use it as a topper
I used it over OPI's Manicurist of Seville (from the Spain collection I believe?) and it's perfect for fall or even into the Christmas season

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2012 9:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE: I wear 2 coats for solid, near-opaque layer of silver, which has a warm (not cold) glitter. Without base- or top-coat, the polish lasts about 3-4 days, after which it peels off in one go.

All right! Full disclosure: I've been a member since 2005, and until yesterday, I had written exactly one review. This despite thinking that MUA was a pretty cool site and helpful community.

Long story short, I recently bought Essie's Pure Pearlfection and absolutely love it. And I decided I had to sing its praises on MUA. Except no one had reviewed it yet, and I had to reach 20 reviews before I could do so on my own.

So this afternoon was spent diligently and sincerely reviewing 19 products. And, now, I can finally gush about this polish.

Man, do I love it. I had problems with applying Essie's thin and runny formula- I ended up returning Turquoise & Caicos- but the "LuxeEffects Collection" is noticeably thicker. It makes application so easy, even for a novice like me.

I've concluded that subtle colors make me happy. Anything bold makes me worried that people are looking at my small, oddly-shaped, and super-short nails. So this shimmery polish, with its fine sparkles, is just about perfect.

I applied two coats four days ago, and it's holding up remarkably well. No chipping and hardly any peeling, despite no base coat or top coat. Totally worth the increase in price from my old Sally Hansen! And the formula is 3-free - no formaldehyde, toluene, or dibutyl phthalate. That makes me very happy.

Gosh, I love this polish so much. Its faint pearly sheen makes me feel quietly festive. I just told my teenage cousin to buy it, hoping that she thinks I'm cool enough to listen to my preaching. And- what bigger endorsement can there be- I just wrote 19 reviews in the space of one afternoon, just so I could add Pure Pearlfection to MUA's product database and write a review.

Big fan.

Also- quite a few nail bloggers have posted pictures of this polish layered over other colors. (It is supposed to be a top layer, after all.)

But I'm completely happy with this on its own. It's absolutely perfect ... pearlfect ... ha! snort ... for me.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
136 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
346 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

53 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
Back to Top