Make Up For Ever • Aqua Rouge • Lips

rated 3.5(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 geekymakeup on 11/19/2014 12:00:00 PM more reviews by geekymakeup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was able to get this on super sale for $4. This is a very amazing waterproof lip stain. It truly will not come off. i ate breakfast, coffee, and pizza later for lunch still on, BUT it is very drying on your lips. My lips can get very dry so I will put a gloss on top of this, but if you need something to out lasting anything, this is it. This is so drying that will take me 2 days to recover from wearing this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 skschmidt4 on 11/9/2014 1:38:00 PM more reviews by skschmidt4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I got this to wear for my wedding because it was the truest red color (#8) I could find in a completely waterproof lip. I went to Sephora and told them what I wanted and they seemed really baffled and confused, until one of their senior members suggested this lip stain. It is kind of drying, but I expected that, so not really any complaints there. It stayed on all day and night at my wedding and I only had to reapply after dinner. It worked like a charm! I prefer more moisturizing lipsticks for every day wear (which is why I said I probably wouldn't buy it again), but for a special occasion where you want your lipstick to stay put completely, this stuff was great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 billierosetyler on 7/2/2014 3:37:00 AM more reviews by billierosetyler

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My shade: #15 pink

PROS:
* Longest lasting lip product I have ever used.
* Nice colour; very opaque and pigmented.
* The gloss is great.

CONS:
* Thick, 'goopy' texture makes it difficult to apply a smooth, even layer on the lips.
* Dries out lips. My lips are on the dry side to begin with, but they feel quite uncomfortable once I've applied this.The gloss does help, but needs to be reapplied often since it wears out much faster than the colour.
* Expensive. I paid AUD $30 (+ shipping) with a pro MUA discount from Media Makeup Store.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Deedianne on 4/25/2014 9:51:00 PM more reviews by Deedianne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this lipstain! I have '10' which is a dark fuschia berry and I love it! It lasts all day and night! The only thing if you want to remove it try coconut or olive oil to speed up the process because it goes off quick from oil. Note if you're planning on eating ribs or anything greasy it would rub off but there should be colour on your lips!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* regrebs on 2/7/2014 1:55:00 AM more reviews by regrebs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This review is for #15 Pink, a bright rose shade. The cream is opaque with one swipe and dries to a very tacky matte in a few seconds, so work quickly! I leave my mouth open while it dries to keep my lips from feeling glued together. I hate lip gloss and tried topping the color with all of my lip balms to avoid using the gloss, but it's the only thing that made my lips feel comfortable. I'm in love with the staying power of this product. This is the only lip cream that's worked for me so far, so I'm excited to try other colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 1/11/2014 11:40:00 AM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I think that this product is distinctly average. I own the colour #20 'Baby Pink', and you really need to go over your lips 3-4 times, building up the colour to get it to maximum opacity - one swipe and you just about get a hint of colour. Once built up, the colour is a bright, bordering on fluorescent pink. As it dries, it feels tacky on the lips, and if you want to add another swipe of colour, you need to work very fast as it dries quickly. It looks super-matte once it's dry, which is why the gloss is a necessity. It goes without saying that your lips need to be in excellent condition before you even think about applying the Aqua Rouge to them - I apply lip balm, wait, then add 'Prep + Prime Lip', wait then apply Aqua Rouge. The gloss is actually pretty great, not too sticky, or heavy feeling which I hate. It feels comfortable to wear and adds some much needed shine to the colour. Quite honestly, I think that Aqua Rouge is no different to any matte lipstick - if you eat or drink with this on, it will come off, and will flake as it does so - leaving your lips looking crusty and blotchy. For the price, I'd rather buy one of Lime Crime's 'Velvetines' or one of MAC's matte lipsticks. I still have my eye on shade #8 'Iconic Red', but I definitely won't repurchase this colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Moremi on 12/8/2013 6:45:00 AM more reviews by Moremi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, just wow. The staying power is AMAZING, yet not drying, and I'm the kind of girl who can't handle matte formulas since my lips are so dry.

I wan't to highlight two drawbacks:

• You don't get a lot product and will go through the product quickly. I'd say that the lifespan of this is counted in weeks, not months, as with a regular lipstick.
• The colored part of the lipstick does not BUDGE, however, the gloss tends to slip of the lips and make it looks like you have a sweaty over lip. (Really easy to wipe off, you just have to remember it)

I WILL repurchase the red one (8), as well as trying the other ones.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrsyogantoro on 10/31/2013 5:19:00 AM more reviews by mrsyogantoro

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I bought this blindly after hearing some good and bad reviews in internet. I didn't know why but I was really keen to have one, since it is a liquid lipstick and it will turn into matte finish with promise to stay all day long. Apparently, it does. I applied this in the morning and the color stays until after lunch. I pick #4 Chesnut and this has been my signature color since first time I applied. It is nude color with deep brownish base, and for me it becomes my MLBS (My Lips But Sexier) color. It plumps my lips, create lip statement that no lipstick could do after decades. If wearing alone without the gloss, it is too drying but after you applied with the clear gloss, it feels fine. Just mind with the price tag, it costs US$ 24 just for 2,5mlx2 products. So damn expensive. After using it daily, It's almost empty now...just in 2 months!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lechickpea on 9/19/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by lechickpea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Such a shame. This lipstick has one flaw that makes this totally unusable for me- it wears off in big FLAKES. And you don't feel or see it happening somehow- halfway through the day, you just look at yourself in the mirror and see big chunks of lipstick missing, while the other parts are bright and visible. Very, very bizarre looking. I couldn't in good conscience recommend this to someone, it's pretty embarrassing when you realize that you've been walking around like that for hours without noticing. Yikes.

It's disappointing because otherwise this is a gorgeous shade. I have this in 19 Pomegranate Pink- a lovely reddish pink that is definitely more pink than red. Very flattering colour that would be pretty for day as well as evening. When I first put it on I was sure this would quickly become one of my favourite lipsticks, especially since it didn't feel *too* drying considering the longwear claims.

It pains me to say it, but give this one a miss. Make up forever usually puts out great quality stuff, but there is no possible way I can make this lipstick work for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Gandhilama on 9/18/2013 4:25:00 PM more reviews by Gandhilama

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So I got this in the color 18 and noooooo. This is crap. It's a coral shade but it just looks nasty on my lips. It does not go on evenly and it leaves residue of lipstick. It just looks gross.. I washed it off and took the rest off with oil makeup remover! Sorry try again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Lips products