Essence • Essence Fix & Matte Translucent Loose Powder • Powder

rated 4.2(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FakeLashes on 8/12/2014 5:59:00 PM more reviews by FakeLashes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I did not like this but mind you I have dry skin and i would not recommend this for dry to very dry skin types, avoid! I bought it to set foundation and sometimes concealer, I like to use dewy foundations and used just a little of this on the t-zone and underneath my eyes to set the foundation. While it did not irritate my skin it did emphasized my dryness, in day light this looked very bad on me. It accentuated my dry skin and gave me a ghostly white cast. I rather not set my foundation at all then use this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laamus on 7/9/2014 1:22:00 PM more reviews by laamus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this powder for a good while now, and personally I think it's pretty good. I usually dust it over my T-zone and wherever I have concealer just to keep it in place (my skin is quite nice and even so I rarely wear foundation) and it does the job. When you put it on it might look a little white and scary, but that's only in a magnifying mirror, mind you, it *is* translucent so it's all fine. It lasts about 6 hours on me.
I can't remember the price, but I guess it was cheap, like all Essence products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 atomickittenlove on 4/8/2014 7:58:00 PM more reviews by atomickittenlove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Update: The white cast was really bad once I colour corrected my foundation... once or twice, I caught my reflection in the mirror and thought I saw a ghost OOOOOOO

----
This review is for the pressed powder ….

This was the ONLY pressed setting powder that didn't contain common irritants and comedogenic ingredients. It was 4 bucks and I wasn't too impressed with their eyeshadows so i was skeptical. BUT i've been using it for the past two days and I have to say so far so good. Most powders make my face itch or hurt (like a tearing feeling) and this didn't do either. HOWEVER, when you apply this powder it does have a white cast- this has actually been a plus for me as the foundation Im currently using is a shade too dark/orange. This powder corrects that perfectly!
What an unintentional bonus!

Not sure about how it will react with my acne-prone skin but I'll update again after a month or so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 abrearley90 on 1/22/2014 4:49:00 AM more reviews by abrearley90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a must have for me BUT wayyyy to cakey/pore magnifying to wear all over my face. If you did have small pores and liked a very dry finish (and had oily skin) I think this would blow your mind.

I use it over lipstick and it turns anything very matte and very long lasting with no residue. Super recommend, have never found anything similar and for the price (even in Aus!) you have to try it. Packaging annoys me only because you would only ever need the sheerest swipe but I did just read it comes in compact also

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paranoiaa on 9/27/2013 6:45:00 PM more reviews by paranoiaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the bees' knees! Living in a hot, tropical country with 80% humidity all year round, and cursed with oily skin, I thought it was just not possible to ever stay matte throughout the day without blotting every other second. Until I came across the Essence mattifying loose powder! I had previously used Mac blot pressed, which is definitely more convenient than this loose powder, but it couldn't keep me matte absolutely all day (also doesn't help that I could probably buy ten of the Essence powder for the same price of one MAC blot!). With this mattifying loose powder, however, I only have to dust an even layer over my face in the morning, and by evening, I'll still be relatively matte or at most slightly dewy, which is an impossible feat here where I live. Definitely HG material!
I also particularly enjoy the fact that it does not contain talc, as far as I know anyway. I would try the pressed version if it ever makes it here on our shores, but meanwhile I'll definitely be stocking up backups like it is running out of style!

Oh and ps. This probably wouldn't photograph well given how white the powder is, but I haven't tried it before to know if it flashes back in photographs. In the case that I know I would have my pictures taken that day, I would probably choose to wear a more translucent powder like Mac blot, but on regular days this would have to be my choice for sure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tsoufou on 9/21/2013 1:33:00 PM more reviews by tsoufou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this powder after numerous raving recommendations from blogs. Everyone seems to find this powder amazing at two things :
a) keeping the shine away all day
b) it's translucent and invisible on the skin
I have combination skin with a quite oily T zone and sides of the nose. Nothing extreme though.
Where i live this costs about 4.5 euros so it is considered really affordable for the amount of product you get. When you first open it and shake some of the product on the lid, it gets everywhere. It is really messy. I used it with a powder puff as it is the best method to minimise the appearance of pores. It says it's a translucent powder but after applying a super fine layer on my T zone, I noticed white shadows around and on top of my nose. I tried to blend it with a clean powder brush but it was impossible. I also noticed that the other areas i powdered weren't matte. I mean it felt like i applied a natural finish powder. I did the rest of my makeup and went out. After 1 hour I was totally and all over the place oily.
So not really that translucent or mattifying.

The worst part is that it broke my out. A lot. My forehead, chin and nose are full of painful whiteheads. I was shocked as my skin is not sensitive at all. Maybe it broke me out because of the 4 types of parabens this powder has (BUTYLPARABEN, ETHYLPARABEN, METHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN).

Really disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Maryangels96 on 9/6/2013 3:18:00 AM more reviews by Maryangels96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this about a month ago and i dont like it at all! I use as little as possible so it wont look white on me. When ever i open the product powder just falls every where and is hard to clean up.

It is good for touch ups with a small brush but not a daily product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Corchete on 9/4/2013 7:03:00 PM more reviews by Corchete

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

El formato en el que viene, lo hace muy inconveniente, además deja la cara media blanca, matifica, si, pero no todo lo que necesito (tengo piel mixta-grasa). lo bueno es que no deja la cara acartonada.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nlls11 on 8/22/2013 4:05:00 PM more reviews by nlls11

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Not a big deal girls... Its an average mattifiying powder... I don't know why people like it so much... I bought it yesterday and i wore it yesterday night. It kept me matt as promised but my friend told me how white and powdery my face was looking... Packaging is also bad.. i voted it 3 just because it keeps me matt.. Don't like the packaging. Won't be repurchasing it again. P.S. If you want a powder that will keep you matt, i absolutely recommend you to use maybelline dream matte powder which is amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rahkayelle on 7/7/2013 12:36:00 PM more reviews by Rahkayelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The powder I picked up is a compact powder rather than a loose powder. It is still the same product, but one of the most common complaints was that the loose powder was too messy.

I love this powder! I was unsure of it at first because of the price (3.99 CAD), but it really does what it promises to do. The pressed powder is white, but it blends very well with foundation/concealer and the white virtually disappears. When I'm in a rush, I have worn this product alone and it really works to get rid of oily skin! I love it an will repurchase when the product runs low!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essence products

More Powder products