Rimmel Waterproof Gel Eyeliner

3.2

44 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/22/2015 3:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I used this product quite a while ago, but had to through it out because it dried out. Granted, I was able to use it for almost a year, but in the end, it didn't hold up. It has good pigmentation, doesn't streak and has a nice rich black colour. I wouldn't call this liner waterproof, as it easily comes off when I was off my makeup.

The packaging of this product is done really well, as the brush that comes with it is a good size and shape and is relatively easy to use. I didn't even use up the product even when I applied it almost everyday for months. I always have problems with cream/gel eyeliners bleeding into the outer corners of my eyes, and it did happen with this product. It doesn't bother me too much, because it can easily be wiped off. It may be helpful to set the liner with eye shadow.

I'm on the fence of whether I would repurchase this product or not. I really did like it, but I feel like there are better products out there. I'm currently using the e.l.f. cream eyeliner and it's half the price, but has the same (if not better) result. I'd recommend that one over this. I'd repurchase this in a pinch, but I don't find it stocked in the stores anymore. Overall, I really loved the packaging and thought it was a good quality, but I've found better.



on 11/25/2014 5:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is probably the worst eyeliner I've tried.
It claims to be waterproof, when in reallity it's not even smudge-proof. if you touch your eye just slightly it will smudge and rub off. It has no staying power what so ever, i don't understand how Rimmel can release such product, it's just embarasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/16/2014 2:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I used this for the first time it was ok. After the the second use my eyes were extremely irritated and the next day it puffed up to the point of me being unable to open them up. This came such a shock to me as this is the first time ever in my life I've reacted badly to anything. At first I wasn't sure that this was the product that made be irritated so I tested everything I used on my eye that day on my jawline. Nothing came up. On the the third time I used this gel liner I noticed it irritating my eyes immediately and despite giving that eye a thorough clean I had a 'red liner' on my eye where I used the product for 2 days after. I found this gel liner irritating only on my eye which is where it's meant to be used =_='.

This aside the pros were:
- intense opaque colour (mine was black)
- smooth gel was easy to use
- brush was ok, relatively easy to use even with my tiny tiny lid space
- compact, great for travelling

Cons:
- Big negative for me is I was allergic to it if I used it on the eye area. Can't really use anywhere else.....
- took long to dry
- not smudge proof, especially in summer or your lids get oily. It will not stay.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/30/2014 8:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This transfers to above my crease which I absolutely hate. Definitely not waterproof!


on 6/20/2014 5:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I think that this is one of the best eyeliners I have ever used honestly. It stays on until I want to take it off and it doesn't run. It is easy to apply and I love the mini eyeliner brush that comes with it. Overall I really don't have any complaints, hope this helped!!


on 5/25/2014 10:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Intense colour, no smudge (once dry), no flaking.

The brush it comes with is S***. The package is huge for such a small amount of product, could definitely think of a better design. Loose the brush and keep in a sleek little pot.

You don't get a huge amount of product, but there's definitely enough for 6months+ and I use this EVERY day.

This is NOT water proof. Resistant maybe, but I wouldn't swim or break up with someone wearing this.

Great product for the price and would buy again, but still looking for HG.


on 2/2/2014 12:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Really like this eyeliner. I have it in the brown color and it is a very soft brown. I love the brush, you can make a thin line or a thicker line, it's easy to apply and looks very pretty. Stays on really good. Definitely want to try the black!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In a nutshell: Good to great eyeliner. Gives of an amazing colour, great pigmentation, love the packaging which is suitable for travelling however the brush that came with the pot did not live to it's full expectations, it's rather small and tends to bend too easily so I prefer to use my own angled liner brush. The package states that it is waterproof yet it my smudges on my eyelids?! - Definitely a turn off. However, I love the colour and the consistency, very smooth and creamy.

Pros:
- Great colour payoff - stunning black and great pigmentation
- Love the creamy, smooth texture much better than a liquid consistency which is harder to apply and does not look as good.
- Love the packaging but the brush isn't the best as it tends to bend too much and I prefer using my own angled liner brush.

Cons:
- Smudges from time to time.
- Slightly pricey for a small drugstore pot of eyeliner ($13 AUD).
- Brush that came with it made it hard to apply.


on 1/18/2014 6:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

hummmmm, I thought I really liked this at first, but then I tried L'Oreals telescopic and realised eyeliner isn't meant to smudge during the day especially if it says 'waterproof'.

The price was ok, if you don't mind eyeliner that doesn't really do what it says.

It's too creamy as apposed to liquidy--

The container is cool -a brush on top of the glass tub of eyeliner.... but a bit fidgety when you go to do your other eye. Great if you are travelling though.

I wouldn't buy this again... I like my eyeliner to stay put alllll day.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

this is my HG eyeliner. pencils are useless to me as they just smudge and wear off quickly. liquid liners have great staying power, but I find they aren't forgiving if you make a mistake. but this gel liner is perfect! its waterproof and stays in place all day, yet removes easily with my makeup removing oil. I do a cat eye a lot on the top lid, and as long as you move fairly quickly, you can easily wipe off and fix any mistakes. the brush fits in my hand perfectly and is stiff enough to get a precise line, but has JUST enough softness so you can mold it into the shape you want depending which eye effect you're going for. (I personally mold it into a point which works fantastic for me)


Back to Top