Paula's Choice RESIST BHA 9 Treatment

3.4

78 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Propylene Glycol (solvent/penetration enhancer), PEG-75, PEG-8 (thickeners), Water, Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (antioxidant plant extract), Sea Whip Extract, Arginine (amino acid/skin-conditioning agent), Polysorbate 20 (stabilizer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent)


on 7/27/2015 10:52:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I had a stubborn milia spot on my cheek that just wouldn't go away, and after about a year of dealing with it I found a 20% off sale on this product, so I took a chance on it. Within 48 hours not only was the spot gone, but you couldn't even tell it had ever been there. Such results count as a minor miracle in my book. It also helps with clearing stubborn pores on my nose and making them appear smaller. The only things I can fault it for are these: The price, and the fact that enough comes out of the container with one pump that I can cover half my face with it. I understand that Paula's Choice is working on changing the packaging so that doesn't happen in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I will concede that this stuff got rid of a stubborn milium (apparently the singular of "milia" - I learned a new word and now, so have you!) under my eye.

As far as skincare concerns go, this is basically about as trivial as things get and I *fully* admit that. It was basically a completely innocuous little white bump, visible to no one but me.

I almost think that if maybe my skin gave just a little bit more of a stink about things, it would've flamed up, appropriate cells would've waged war against it, and it would've been gone in short order.

But no, I have passive skin that's just like, meh, whatever, we don't care, no inflammation for you. So, on and on it lingered. For months. Silly, annoying little white lump, smaller than the head of a pin. WHY?!!!

I ended up Googling around, first to figure out what it was and then to find a product that might treat it.

Self-diagnosis: milia (albeit just the one, so "milium" in this case).

Product: BHA 9 Treatment (the only thing I found that explicitly promised to treat milia).

I hate ordering stuff online, but I bit the bullet. Placed the order and received it within a week, I think. Applied it. Applied it again the next night. Maybe a couple of times again. And then, finally, the bump disappeared completely! Success!

HOWEVER!!!!!!!!! Yup, major caveat coming right up.

This stuff is $40 for 0.3oz...or, over $130/oz!!! Blargh!

Not cool, Paula's Choice, not cool at al :(.

The main active in this stuff is salicylic acid, which is pretty darn basic as far as active ingredients go. You guys know that, I know that, and frankly, Paula's Choice isn't exactly clueless in this department. I have no idea why they think this is worth $130+ per oz.

I'm giving this three lippies only because it worked, but don't plan on purchasing again at the current price.


on 5/30/2015 2:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I followed and used the product as instructed religiously. The product did nothing for me, except reddened and irritated my face. My pore size did not shrink. The amount of blackheads on my nose did not reduce. I did nothing for my milia. I was really disappointed as $40 for 0.3 oz/<9 mL is rather expensive.

It was also not easy to control the amount that got pumped out of the tube; I often got more product out of the tube than I needed. The paints/prints on the tube also disintegrated, which made the tube looks rather nasty.

I submitted a review on PC website. Guess what, more than a week has passed and my review has not been published, nor have I received a response from their customer service team -- as the customer service responses to negative reviews on their website would imply. I thought they really cared about their customers.

Call me naive, but I used to think that PC was different and would allow honest customer reviews (whether bad or good) to be posted on their website. I guess I was wrong.

While I think PC have/make some good products, after this and another experience with her products, I do question PC's integrity.


on 5/25/2015 5:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My HOLYGRAIL skincare product. Use it almost every night as daily exfoliant and BHA 2% in the morning gives me acne-free face that I always dream of. As I'm not using this as a spot treatment but as an exfoliant, the size that I get in 1 product is too little. The size that comes with its price is the only downside for me but for its result in my skin, I'll take it any day :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2015 4:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

OK -- I've given a few reviews but I have to say that out of everything I've ever used on my sking this is my HG of skin care. I always have a backup, if I miss a couple of nights I break out big time, but I can clearup my skin quickly when I resume using it. This keeps my skin clear -- no doubt. I started with the 2% BHA which I still use in the morning and then I tried this to see if this was too strong. I started just using it on my troubled spots and they cleared up within a couple of days, I think it worked so well because I used the 2% BHA to get my skin used to it. I didn't start using it every night but I slowly put it on my entire face with no bad reactions, then I slowly increased the frequency and now I use it every night on my entire face it has made a world of difference with no burning or drying out my skin, I do use moisterizer (cetaphyl cream), if my skin is sensitive or needs a break I will cut out the 2% BHA in the morning for a day or so but have not had to stop this product any time, there are times I don't need moisterizer it is hydrating enough. I will probably have two backups on hand in case the zombie apocalypse actually happens. No joke...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/14/2014 4:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought the sample size of this first and within a few days use i am hooked! This is the best spot treatment i have ever used, it reduces the size of pimples within 24 hours (or brings them to a head for you to pop) without drying... it fades the redness and smooths the skin so that i can cover it up with makeup and not have it look flakey. I also put it on some post-breakout red marks and it is doing a great job at fading those too.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2014 7:05:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have very oily skin and stubborn clogged pores on my nose. PC 2% BHA liquid improved the situation significantly, but not completely, so I tried BHA 9. The packaging dispensed at least twice as much as I needed at a time, and the texture was even slimier than the 2% liquid. I would have put up with these drawbacks, but it also caused a stinging sensation--which the 2% did not--and didn't work much better than the 2%. That being said, PC BHA is the only product that has had any effect on my blocked pores at all.


on 8/9/2014 1:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I HAVE THE DELUXE SAMPLE
I used this about twice this week and I've seen some results, but it has not entirely been successful (yet.) I used it on some whiteheads I developed one of my whiteheads looked bigger than usual, and distorted with uneven ridges. My first time after applying this it reduced to a normal sized whitehead. My second use was a tiny reduction in the pore neck around the pimple. Granted the second time I used it my acne flare was not as bad. I had a slight pain- like someone stuck a needle into my pore; luckily though this only lasted for one second. I got the same sensation my second use but the length of irritation was somehow even shorter. All exfoliants whether mechanical or acid based can irritate the skin to a degree as they remove dead skin cells , so I don't mind some irritation with an exfoliant. The anti-irritants will reduce irritation in this too; I could tell because my irritation was short and miniscule. Now onto the packaging...
First off the deluxe samples packaging is pretty poor. An ample enough amount is offered and it can last 2 weeks if you use it sparingly, but the liquid is in a glass tube with a cap .The tube is slid between a carboard mini booklet. Be careful when you use this as it can easily spill as there is no stopper. The texture is oil like, but if you ' spot treat' it you forget it's there.
There doesn't seem to be any antioxidants, but there are some anti-irritants, and a peptide which I thought was a cool idea because peptides have potential as skin cell communicators.
If you are wondering what the number 9 is for, it's not for antioxidants, but rather the number of skin problems a BHA can hope to address. The directions advise using this as a leave on 'treatment', but that advice is contradicted in her book.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2014 3:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was a disappointment. Firstly, you can't just squeeze it out drop by drop, it just comes out in a huge glob. Secondly, it stung and I use Tactuo on my skin (Tactuo is a prescription grade retinoid) so I know it's not a sensitive matter. Finally, it was sticky feeling without seeing an improvement in blackheads or milia. I did however hear great reviews on her BHA foam, but that's currently on back order :(


on 7/22/2014 6:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is an excellent treatment for stubborn acne, cysts, clogged pores or blackheads. I find that this is much more effective than the 2% liquid while being less drying too. The formula is a bit thick and sticky, however this doesn't bother me enough to outweigh the positive effects.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
142 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
398 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top