Paula's Choice • RESIST BHA 9 • Treatments

rated 3.4(67 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 3/29/2014 4:43:00 PM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Such a major disappointment. I have oily skin with large pores and sebhorreic (sp?)keratosis, which are clear bumps, all over my forehead. I already use PC BHA 2% gel and it's great; it tightens my pores, and keeps the hormonal acne and blackheads at bay. I was really hoping the BHA 9 would reduce the bumps on my forehead. Nope. Nothing. That's not really a big deal, but it didn't work any better than the 2% gel at clearing blackheads and enlarged pores.

If it was the same price as the 2% I wouldn't complain, but the 2% is $22.00 for 3.3 ounces, while the 9% is $40.00 for 0.3 ounces. Yeah, that's $18.00 more for 3 ounces less. That wouldn't even bother me if it worked, or if there was a lesser size/price discrepancy, but I find that ridiculous. I gave this 3 lippies because it's not a BAD product, it's just that I can get more product for much less that does that same thing.

One thing I must mention is that Paula's customer service is incredible. I posted a review on her website stating my opinions, and they refunded my money. So kudos to Paula's Choice. Not many companies will do that.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 teray on 3/28/2014 4:29:00 AM more reviews by teray

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I do not know why PC's products doesn't work for me. One of them is this product. I have normal/oily skin. I have few fine lines on the forehead (can live with that), eyebag (hate it, but I believe, there's no treatment for it) and the milia (which is really bugging me for sometime now). When I saw that this product can treat milia, I bought one and use every night for 8 weeks. I use Retinol Skin Smoothing Body Lotion as a moisturizer. I am scared to use the ones with pure Retinol. Needless to say it didn't work for me. I also dab a small amount on my fine lines, still no improvement.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 thaonlylakergirl on 3/15/2014 2:31:00 AM more reviews by thaonlylakergirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for three weeks on hardened oil that has created a bumpy appearance on my forehead and nose. I've seen NO improvement and while I've always found Paula to be ethical, I seriously doubt this contains 9% of pure salicylic acid. It seems like if it did, there would be slight peeling or something. I see absolutely nothing. I think it's some unique concoction Paula created and found a loophole to advertise it at 9%. I will post an update once I've used all the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EcoPretty on 3/13/2014 12:05:00 PM more reviews by EcoPretty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love Paula's Choice products overall and her extensive research/writing on Beautypedia. I was thrilled when this product launched -- I hoped it would reduce a few spots of hard-to-treat sebaceous hyperplasia that I have (one of this product's 9 benefits). Unfortunately, I saw zero difference. When I realized this wasn't reducing the sebaceous hyperplasia bumps, I decided to use a light amount all over my face as a cost-effective salicylic acid peel like you'd get in a derm's office. I used it this way once every other week. Unfortunately, I broke out a few days later and my skin became really dry/flakey. Not a good look. I switched back to the 2% BHA Liquid and my skin is completely clear and smooth again.

Overall, this worked no better for me than Paula's 2% BHA Liquid or Lotion -- which come in a large 4 oz bottle and costs much less per ounce.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 2/13/2014 11:50:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Paula's Choice BHA9 is a very intriguing product to me. Reading the literature that came with it makes it look like a miracle worker. It seems to do everything that you could possibly want for your skin albeit in a very vague way.

Here are some of the claims: "Effective for: Acne Breakouts, Anti-Aging, Blackheads, Enlarged Pores, Keratosis Pilaris, Wrinkles, Reduces clogged pores, Diminishes enlarged pores, Reduces white bumps (milia), Minimizes flesh-colored bumps (sebaceous hyperplasia), Softens rough, dry, and flaky skin, Calms redness and irritation Fades marks from past breakouts, Reduces wrinkles and fine lines, Dissolves stubborn blackheads"

I have combination skin, very oily and breakout prone on my nose and chin, very dry cheeks, and normal forehead. My breakouts are usually due to the makeup I wear (or am testing out) rather than persistent acne. I do have fine lines, and I also have melasma on my cheeks and forehead.

I am actually quite impressed with this product. It exfoliated my skin without stripping it and making it feel raw, and I could actually see a difference in my skin within 1-2 days (not a big difference that other people would notice, but enough of a difference for me to think 'wow".)

I had been breaking out due to using a new foundation, and my normally clear skin had at least 6 new pimples on my cheeks and chin basically overnight. I was horrified and didn't know how best to treat them. Then I remembered that I had 2 sample sizes of BHA 9, and thought that using this couldn't hurt. So I applied to clean skin, and used nothing else on my skin that night. Within 48 hours they had vanished totally, no redness, no bumps. I applied a thick layer of this to my chin where I have been breaking out a lot recently and I noticed that the skin in this area peeled off in one big sheet the next morning. That was a strange sensation but it did leave my skin 80% clear (and just 2 days later my chin is 100% breakout free after using the same application technique). Now normally breakouts take a week or more to calm down, and can often take a month to disappear completely.

The product itself is a super sticky and yet oily liquid which you are supposed to use all over your face. I don't use all over my face but do use as a spot treatment on pimples, rough patches etc etc. Applied on a night before bed, the stickiness DOES NOT disappear, and in a morning I can still feel this product on my face (and my pillows and sheets too). It doesn't moisturize so you would need to add a separate product on top if you have dry skin. I found that the stickiness was enough for me to deal wth so I didn't apply anything else over the top. I can't comment on what it does for fine lines as I don't apply it to them, but I have seen first hand the exfoliating effects of this and think it might be too strong to apply around my eyes where my lines are.

It had no effect whatsoever on my melasma (but Alpha Hydrox Spotlight really did!) even when applying every day for months. It did make my skin peel but the dark spots were still there.

I notice some reviewers complaining about the pump, it has recently been changed to a "Precise Control Pump" which dispenses less than the old style pump did so maybe this would work better for them now.

As it is right now, this is a phenomenal product for zapping my pimples when they appear. Will definitely repurchase and keep this on hand for troublesome skin issues.

Ingredients from the Paula's Choice website:
Propylene Glycol (solvent/penetration enhancer), PEG-75, PEG-8 (thickeners), Water, Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/time-released exfoliant, 9%), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (antioxidant plant extract), Sea Whip Extract (soothing plant extract), Arginine (amino acid/skin-conditioning agent), Polysorbate 20 (stabilizer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 QueenArlene on 2/3/2014 2:38:00 PM more reviews by QueenArlene

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I haven't had any laser treatments yet, so this was a wonderful find. I like the pump dispenser with clear window to see how much product remains. Especially like the results. Noticed facial spots disappearing, and some larger imperfections getting smaller. Even though I am a post menopausal 55 year old I still get a pimple or two and Resist BHA 9 helps treat/ heal those too. I use one pump onto clean fingertips to dab onto specific areas at night after my usual skin cleansing ritual (which includes Olay Regenerist around eyes and small lines around mouth and jaw, then Paula's Choice BHA Gel 8%).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kimmycakes on 1/31/2014 9:36:00 AM more reviews by Kimmycakes

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

After reading reviews regarding using this product for sebaceous hyperplasia I decided it was worth a try. I used in nightly religiously until I ran out. I did nothing...Nada! What a waste of money. I was like I didn't even use a product at all. That being said then I found Arcona's The Solution. Amazing!! I had results the first time I used it. You wake up the next morning with smooth dewy skin. I have been using it just over a week, and the SH bumps are smoothing out. One product that actually does what it says. Can not recommend it enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MagnoliaState on 1/27/2014 10:40:00 PM more reviews by MagnoliaState

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am true blue PC fan. I use quite a few of her products and my skin is generally in good shape. I decided to try this product to fine tune the last few stubborn "magnifying mirror" spots. This one was a MAJOR LETDOWN for me. Let's talk RESULTS first... I saw ZERO results from this product. Tried it on milia, brown spots, enlarged pores, blemishes, and one SH. Nada. Also tried on my son's milia - nothing.

The product is an oily substance that just sits on the skin. It doesn't seem like it absorbs. I've used PC retinol serums that have similar feel and my skin just drinks them in - but not BHA9!!!

The pump. Yes it is a pain. I finally mastered it. If you want just a small portion to spot treat. Tap tap tap like morse code. Do not depress it at all - just tap. It will "leak" a little out onto your finger with each tap that you can use to spot treat.

I tried the BHA 4% foam and MUCH preferred it. My son had remarkable results with the 4% Foam!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 celticcavegirl on 1/25/2014 2:15:00 PM more reviews by celticcavegirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Love this product!! I had a huge, solid, deep cyst on my jawline that had been sitting there for literally weeks, I've used this twice, overnight, as the last step in my routine and already it's much, much smaller - literally halved in size.

Also used in on some new and older spots and the newer spots are literally vanishing. The older marks look a little better, after a couple of applications so I'm looking forward to the long-term results. However, I think the best use for this is for new spots, especially deep ones

The issue with this product is that the consistency (runny) is totally at odds with the way it's supposed to be use (as a spot treatment) It feels like an oil and one pump will give you quite a lot which will run down your fingers...it's too liquid to apply with a cotton bud unfortunately as it just gets absorbed. Would be really amazing if they'd formulate it a little thicker. In the meantime I try to do tiny little pump on each individual spot

My dry, sensitive skin had no issues tolerating this, which is good

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marybob on 1/20/2014 5:21:00 PM more reviews by marybob

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have some hardened pimple residue that remains under the skin and manual extraction can break blood vessels, which for me can be permanent. This stuff softens and draws junk to the surface. Absolutely worth a try if you are looking for a dense source of salicylic acid.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments products