Milani • Runway Lashes Instant Volume Mascara • Mascara

rated 4.1(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 4/15/2014 1:06:00 AM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love so many Milani products, but this isn't one of them.

Makes for straight, stubby lashes. Doesn't hold curl; practically kills curl. Doesn't add length and makes lashes stick together in clumps. No crumbles but makes for short, spiky lashes. Thickness or volume isn't really enhanced by this at all. Wet formula that becomes sort of crunchy when dry.

The brush has super short bristles, but I don't really know what that does, good or bad. The only positive of this is the deep black pigmentation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Green_Tea on 3/1/2014 11:08:00 PM more reviews by Green_Tea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Instantly straightened my just curled lashes! Absolutely horrible. Runny formula.

Won't be purchasing again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NadyasMom on 2/14/2014 3:52:00 PM more reviews by NadyasMom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really love this mascara i wish it had a waterproof option. Also the packaging is a little cheap as the color and words rub off but the mascara itself is great adds great length and volume for me it doesnt hold s curl as great as i would like but i always buy another one when i run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kerseya15 on 11/23/2013 4:06:00 PM more reviews by kerseya15

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I never write a review unless I love something and I love this mascara! It's a must try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 10/3/2013 4:39:00 AM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: It's because of MakeupAlley that I found this hidden treasure. I've always passed by Milani. I tried this just to try something new. Gives good length and good volume to my very sparse and short lashes. Applies easily (see my application tips.) Does well with separate coats if I want to amp it up. Long, voluminous (if I apply in layers), feathery, natural, beautiful, very black lashes. Inexpensive. Removes fine when washing off at night.


CONS: Without my clarins double fix on top, doesn't last all day without any smudging. (But I use the Double Fix on top, and it solves the problem.) If you want to be able to just throw it on, you can, but it will be a very light and natural looking coat. If you want to be able to quickly throw on some mascara (no coats or combing) AND have a voluminous or more dramatic look, this one wouldn't be for you. (see application tips.) Not the best at holding curl but not the worst either.


APPLICATION TIPS: Shiseido's primer (even the new one) helps this stay on with WAY less smudging/transfer/flaking. I am a recent convert to using Shiseido's popular curler too. This works best when using a light and feathery touch, instead of dragging the brush through the lashes. When I want to amp up the volume and get a lot out of this, I apply in coats. And it does much better if I let the coats dry just a bit in between. I then comb through for beautiful feathery lashes.


ALTERNATES: The Rocket Volum (waterproof) is good for volume and lots of length. Jordana's extreme volumizing is great for volume and length. For lots of volume and great length, I really like CoverGirl Remarkable Mascara. L'Oreal Telescopic Mascara (not the "shocking" one) gives beautifully long lashes with a bit of volume. The last two I mentioned also last a long time without flaking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joy2uandme on 9/12/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by joy2uandme

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought this after a personal rec but this didn't work for my pin straight fine lashes. It removed all curl I painstakingly put in my lashes immediately. Also I ended up with the look of 5 lashes on each eye instead of voluminous full lashes. Fail on that front.

But I had no smudging or flaking during the day and the spiky 5 lash look lasted all day. Too bad that wasn't the look I was going for.

I found the formula too wet to work with. Maybe after a month this formula is great but for me this mascara will not work and I don't have the patience to wait for this to become great.

If you have curly fine lashes this may be a great mascara for you--do those kind of lashes exist--or if you have beautiful lashes to begin with and are looking for a bargain then this may be your mascara. For me, I need so much more help in the lash department.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gracie114 on 8/19/2013 12:00:00 PM more reviews by gracie114

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this mascara! It holds a curl very well, as well as providing volume and definition. I also love Prestige My Biggest Lashes, but have been using this one more frequently because it holds a curl better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Luciferr on 8/8/2013 1:36:00 PM more reviews by Luciferr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

HG mascara right here. I saw this at Walgreens the other day, the packaging caught my eye. Then I saw the price.. $4.50! First off, the brush & formula is great. The brush is a straight traditional mascara wand. Which works wonders for me. As for the formula its not too wet or too dry, its a perf balance. This mascara holds a curl & doesn't clump. I love this so much I'll def repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* riotkitty on 5/24/2013 4:09:00 PM more reviews by riotkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a decent mascara for the price,but its still not as good a my favorite which is L'oreal Voluminous Carbon Black. It gives good volume and length but its very wet and it can make the lashes stick together and look spiky unless you are very careful with application. The brush is very thin, a bit too thin because it does a bad job of getting all the way through the lashes. If the excess product is not wiped of, it deposits big globs of mascara that clump up when you try to work the brush through. The mascara also flakes a little bit if you touch your lashes, but not as much as I've found Maybelline mascaras to.

It does have a very black pigment and its not hard to remove. The formula dries stiffer than the voluminous but not overly so. If it had a better brush I think it would be a great mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* peachesndream on 3/23/2013 6:36:00 PM more reviews by peachesndream

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great mascara! At first I found it to be a bit too wet but as with all mascaras, after you open and close the tube time and again, it dries out a bit and becomes perfect. The brush is on the medium to small side in my opinion and is a traditional brush (not the rubber kind) but the bristles are pretty short and I like how I can get very close to the lash line and apply with a good deal of precision.

What I like about it is that I can use it to build up my lashes with ease, and it holds the curl very well. I can use tons of coats and I don't get any clumping or sticking together of lashes and the color is very bold and black. No smudging or smearing during the day (yay!) and no flaking off either. Removal is very easy (comes right off with soap and water for me) and I feel that it is gentle on my lashes.

The price is very, very inexpensive (I paid around $5 with tax) and the tube it pretty good looking. Nothing out there but not plain either. So far I have only seen this sold at Walgreens (not at CVS even though they do have a Milani section) and at some Walmarts but not all.

This reminds me very, very, very much of the Jordana Best Lash Extreme, which makes sense since they come from the same ownership. If you like the Jordana, there is a very good chance you will also like this Milani one. There are some differences (the brushes are not identical and I feel the Jordana one is more prone to clumps and is a much wetter formula overall, the Milani is more expensive) and overall, I prefer the Milani one, although like I said, they have many similarities.

I think this is a wonderful mascara and I could see a lot of people enjoying it. I think there are not many reviews because for some reason, it is not widely available. I will for sure buy this again!!

EDIT: OK, after I wrote this review I became curious and compared this with my tube of the Jordana. Guys, it is the exact same tube (different colors but same size exactly), and the wand is 100% the same. Both are labeled as 0.30 FL ounces. I even had my brother (who knows nothing about makeup) look at them and he said they were obviously the exact same without me giving any hints, just said to look at them. I still think that the Jordana was wetter when I opened it, so I am not certain about the formulas. Only other difference I can tell is that Jordana is made in USA and Milani says made in Italy.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Milani products

More Mascara products