Ponds • Luminous Clean Cream Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 4.1(50 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 ashleyjjane on 3/30/2014 1:24:00 AM more reviews by ashleyjjane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin and this stuff made me break out with acne, blackheads, and dry patches. Like others have said, it leaves a residue behind and doesn't completely wash off.

Since I'm frugal I won't throw it away, but I will keep it on hand for those late nights after going out when I don't feel like going through my normal nightly skincare routine. It's really good for makeup removal, mascara included.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TracyNevins on 1/21/2014 3:10:00 AM more reviews by TracyNevins

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I am 45 and using my KIDS cleanser....that's how much I hate this stuff.! I was drawn in by the 1. Anti age factor 2. My daughter has had good experience with ponds moisturizers and cold creams 3. The price ...In today's economy...we all look for something that is affordable and will do the job. This stuff leaves a gummy residue on my face, and i don't "feel" clean. As much as I rinse...I still feel it. It has a creamy texture, with little exfloiating beads inside...but they seem to remain on your skin...unless you SCRUB HARD! I'm not doing that! I am for the most part blessed with nearly wrinkle free skin...with a few laugh lines, because I try to pamper my skin. It's not worth saving money to feel like your face still has cleanser on it. I would never buy this again...and plan on giving away or dumping the tube...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 L7997 on 1/4/2014 11:05:00 PM more reviews by L7997

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Conclusion:
Not for dry skin, sensitive skin, or those with moderate-severe acne.
Do not buy if you want a gentle cleanser.
Do not buy if you want a cleanser with a milky-creamy consistency.

About Me:
I'm asian (chinese), I have mild-moderate acne, and my skin is a bit oily after the day ends. I do not use makeup. Currently it is winter and the air is dry.

My Reaction:
This cleanser is not creamy, but more like a shampoo's consistency. Aquanil's cleanser or Neutrogena's extra gentle cleanser has a creamy, milky consistency.
I dislike cleansing with this. It required water for application and smoothed on more like a gel than a cream. The rubbing irritated my current breakouts. It also wasn't easy to just splash off so I needed to put some extra time to get the product off.
After patting my skin dry, it felt stripped and dehydrated. There was also residue. I applied my lotion but my face felt too weird. I had to wash it all off with Purpose cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lupita465 on 12/30/2013 9:43:00 AM more reviews by lupita465

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely love this product!!!! I stocked up when there was a sale at target (bogo) I cleared out the shelf!!! Lol... Anyways.. I was a big fan of yves rocher foaming cleanser (the one w the gold and red packaging) and although it did wonders for my skin, my wallet wasn't doing so good. I tried the aveeno naturals and that was a bust, I tried some garnier cleanser-thumbs down, then I saw this wonderful almost dupe for the yves rocher cleanser and I fell in love!!! I especially love the price and the scent and the product itself! It does give me a glow "luminous" look, I do think it removes makeup great but works even better w a brush ..... It isn't as moisturizing as if like for my dry akin, but beggars can't be choosers!!! I'll keep it until I can find a better product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ispania on 12/22/2013 2:58:00 AM more reviews by Ispania

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This cream cleanser is very mercyfull to my winter dry skin. It's doesn't dry out my skin, doesn't leave the feeling of tightness and removes make up very nicely.
Exactly what I was looking for!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NatalieJ on 12/8/2013 12:56:00 AM more reviews by NatalieJ

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

One star for removing makeup, another star giving skin a smooth texture after washing. However, this is so drying that I just can't recommend it to anyone other than oily types. It left my skin feeling stretched as tight as a trampoline. Even a heavy moisturizer couldn't it make it feel right again. I would have loved this in my early youth, but it's a definite no-go now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xenobia1968 on 12/6/2013 8:21:00 PM more reviews by xenobia1968

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely love this product! It has kept my skin clean and pimple free for awhile now. I started using this instead of CeraVe because this actually gets my makeup off without drying me out and/or leaving an icky residue behind. Highly recommend!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tinatac on 12/6/2013 8:12:00 PM more reviews by tinatac

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Clinique Rinse Off Foaming Cleanser had always been my go-to for a makeup removing cleanser. However, as a broke nursing student, I can't handle the 19.50 price tag. I came upon this cleanser for around $4 to try as an alternative. I have been using it for a few months now and it works just as well as the Clinique. It takes off all my makeup and my skin has not had any adverse reactions to it. I have extremely oily skin so this hasn't been drying for me. I don't think you can beat this product for the price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Missy on 10/6/2013 1:54:00 AM more reviews by Missy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I could only use this cleanser for 3 days before throwing in the towel. My skin is very sensitive, oily, acne-prone and reactive, so most cleansers don't work for me anyway, BUT, I thought I'd give it a shot after reading the glowing reviews. Unfortunately, it left my skin very irritated and red and was also extremely hard to rinse off. I could feel a slight film and never could manage to get my skin 'clean' while using it. Even though it seemed to leave a film, it also left my skin feeling absolutely parched. Weird, since you would think the film would be for moisture. My forehead also clogged up pretty badly, so it was just bad all around. =(

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BrittaBot on 8/27/2013 11:47:00 PM more reviews by BrittaBot

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I love most everything about this cleanser. It's white and pearly with a soft, floral scent that I find luxurious, and a pea-sized amounts creates a rich, balmy lather that always feels great during washing. It removes all my makeup (after I've removed mascara), and it rinses cleanly. I honestly think this product feels like something Shiseido would sell, even though it cost me $2.50 with a coupon at the grocery store. I've had no breakouts or allergic reactions after a few weeks of use.

The reason I give this a 4 instead of a 5 is that it can be drying. Sometimes my skin looks dry around my chin area after washing with this. It also caused my eye area to flake when I used it to remove my eye makeup (which required thorough, prolonged washing).

So it's not absolutely perfect, but it's very pleasant and soothing to use, has a great lather, and definitely works well for something so cheap. I have normal/oily skin, so other skin types may have different results. I think this is a quality product, overall, and it's a good choice for someone who wants a luxurious-feeling product without the high price.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ponds products

More Cleansers products