Ponds • Luminous Clean Cream Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 4.1(53 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 saramason111 on 7/26/2014 10:34:00 PM more reviews by saramason111

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this at Giant on clearance for $3 and I'm almost finished with it. I use it every night to take off my makeup. Regardless of what I'm using, I always wash my face twice to make sure all traces of makeup are off. This cleanser removes every last trace! My toner picks up nothing afterwards.

As for adding "luminosity" to my skin I can't say that it has; it's just an effective yet gentle cleanser which has not caused any breakouts, tightness, or adverse reactions. One of the best cleansers so far I've tried! Will definitely repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cetoyant23 on 6/13/2014 8:50:00 PM more reviews by cetoyant23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Skin Background: My skin is normal, only oily/combo in the summer and normal/dry in the winter, but fairly normal feeling most of the time. I've been using this specific cleanser since October 2013. And really enjoyed it during the Winter season.

I use this cleanser after I've already removed about 95% or more of my makeup. This cleanser is just one of three that I switch back and forth with, because my skin is never the same every day of the month (periods, weather, and mood). I like this because I enjoy using a foaming net and this one makes some of the creamiest dense foam & I absolutely LOVE IT!!! If I was going to use it by itself, I feel like it’s just too thick and doesn’t rinse off well. And turning into foam gives it a fighting chance of fully rinsing off.

The texture is not creamy, it’s just like what another reviewer referred to “more like a shampoo's consistency”. There are no exfoliating abilities in this, at least from what I can feel. It definitely has a sheen to it, like they added pearlescent shimmer to it (probably where the “Luminous” came from). But I don't find that interferes with it's cleaning abilities.

But if you’re taking the time, and you’re cleansing your face properly, and using very little to foam it out, it should hopefully work well. As you might already tell, it doesn’t do anything for spots on the face. BUT, It’s not anything extraordinary to begin with, but it will clean your face which is what it should do.
So if you like foaming nets, give this one a try, maybe? :) Alright, Good Luck!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 leahblizz on 6/10/2014 10:52:00 AM more reviews by leahblizz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably a fine cleanser if you have no acne/blackhead problems. I'm blessed not to have too much of an acne problem (occasionally spot here or there while I'm on my period, of course), but I DO have a blackhead problem, especailly around my nose. I figured the 'exfoliating beads' in this cleanser would do something to lessen the problem, but the pores on my nose actually look a little bigger than they did before!

Anyway, if all you're looking for is something to take the gunk off your face before bed, this'll do the trick. But if you're looking for any sort of cleanser for acne or blackhead problems, I would not recomment this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ashleyjjane on 3/30/2014 1:24:00 AM more reviews by ashleyjjane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin and this stuff made me break out with acne, blackheads, and dry patches. Like others have said, it leaves a residue behind and doesn't completely wash off.

Since I'm frugal I won't throw it away, but I will keep it on hand for those late nights after going out when I don't feel like going through my normal nightly skincare routine. It's really good for makeup removal, mascara included.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TracyNevins on 1/21/2014 3:10:00 AM more reviews by TracyNevins

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I am 45 and using my KIDS cleanser....that's how much I hate this stuff.! I was drawn in by the 1. Anti age factor 2. My daughter has had good experience with ponds moisturizers and cold creams 3. The price ...In today's economy...we all look for something that is affordable and will do the job. This stuff leaves a gummy residue on my face, and i don't "feel" clean. As much as I rinse...I still feel it. It has a creamy texture, with little exfloiating beads inside...but they seem to remain on your skin...unless you SCRUB HARD! I'm not doing that! I am for the most part blessed with nearly wrinkle free skin...with a few laugh lines, because I try to pamper my skin. It's not worth saving money to feel like your face still has cleanser on it. I would never buy this again...and plan on giving away or dumping the tube...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 L7997 on 1/4/2014 11:05:00 PM more reviews by L7997

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Conclusion:
Not for dry skin, sensitive skin, or those with moderate-severe acne.
Do not buy if you want a gentle cleanser.
Do not buy if you want a cleanser with a milky-creamy consistency.

About Me:
I'm asian (chinese), I have mild-moderate acne, and my skin is a bit oily after the day ends. I do not use makeup. Currently it is winter and the air is dry.

My Reaction:
This cleanser is not creamy, but more like a shampoo's consistency. Aquanil's cleanser or Neutrogena's extra gentle cleanser has a creamy, milky consistency.
I dislike cleansing with this. It required water for application and smoothed on more like a gel than a cream. The rubbing irritated my current breakouts. It also wasn't easy to just splash off so I needed to put some extra time to get the product off.
After patting my skin dry, it felt stripped and dehydrated. There was also residue. I applied my lotion but my face felt too weird. I had to wash it all off with Purpose cleanser.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lupita465 on 12/30/2013 9:43:00 AM more reviews by lupita465

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely love this product!!!! I stocked up when there was a sale at target (bogo) I cleared out the shelf!!! Lol... Anyways.. I was a big fan of yves rocher foaming cleanser (the one w the gold and red packaging) and although it did wonders for my skin, my wallet wasn't doing so good. I tried the aveeno naturals and that was a bust, I tried some garnier cleanser-thumbs down, then I saw this wonderful almost dupe for the yves rocher cleanser and I fell in love!!! I especially love the price and the scent and the product itself! It does give me a glow "luminous" look, I do think it removes makeup great but works even better w a brush ..... It isn't as moisturizing as if like for my dry akin, but beggars can't be choosers!!! I'll keep it until I can find a better product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ispania on 12/22/2013 2:58:00 AM more reviews by Ispania

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This cream cleanser is very mercyfull to my winter dry skin. It's doesn't dry out my skin, doesn't leave the feeling of tightness and removes make up very nicely.
Exactly what I was looking for!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NatalieJ on 12/8/2013 12:56:00 AM more reviews by NatalieJ

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

One star for removing makeup, another star giving skin a smooth texture after washing. However, this is so drying that I just can't recommend it to anyone other than oily types. It left my skin feeling stretched as tight as a trampoline. Even a heavy moisturizer couldn't it make it feel right again. I would have loved this in my early youth, but it's a definite no-go now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xenobia1968 on 12/6/2013 8:21:00 PM more reviews by xenobia1968

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely love this product! It has kept my skin clean and pimple free for awhile now. I started using this instead of CeraVe because this actually gets my makeup off without drying me out and/or leaving an icky residue behind. Highly recommend!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ponds products

More Cleansers products