L'Oreal • Infallible Gel Lacquer Liner in Dark Slate • Eyeliner

rated 4.8(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 CODYKERI on 1/24/2015 1:07:00 PM more reviews by CODYKERI

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I loved everything about this but it totally smudged and disappeared.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tlee on 1/14/2015 6:32:00 PM more reviews by Tlee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Yes, I agree with all the reviews here. ALSO, however, I want to add: great on the eyebrows, too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 apowerfulbeat on 10/9/2014 3:03:00 PM more reviews by apowerfulbeat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This liner is soft, creamy, yet doesn't smudge easily on my (somewhat) oily lids. The color is a deep grey that is great to wear for a softer, more casual look. A good alternative to a black liner, which could sometimes be harsh. It also lasts on my lids all day. I wore it for about eleven hours the other day and by the end of the day, it looked as good as it did when I first applied it.

I've also had my jar for a little over a year now and it has shown no signs of drying up. The little brush the pot came with is also very usebale and not too bad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KathieL on 3/5/2014 11:36:00 PM more reviews by KathieL

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this. I have always had trouble with liquid liner so this is a fantastic alternative. It takes a while to dry, so that means you have time to fix errors with a qtip. The slate is a great colour for those that feel black is to harsh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Naeiii on 2/22/2014 2:47:00 PM more reviews by Naeiii

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing!!!
This is one of the few produts I'm tempted to hoard from fear of it being discontinued.

Color:
Like many fans of this item, I cannot wear harsh black eyeliner. Even though I am raven-haired, black liner looks like Sharpie marker on my fair skin. Dark Slate is a PERFECT NEUTRAL softened black/ dark taupe...NOT blu-ish or silver like some greys or slates; NOT reddish or khaki like many browns. Some comparable (but not perfect) shades for reference are Clinique's Smoke Grey Cream Eyeliner, Clinique's (Discontinued) Blackened Taupe Kohl Pencil, Prestige's Charcoal Brown Waterproof Eyeliner.

Packaging/Applicator:
High-end looking glass pot with metal exterior to the lid. (Plastic-only lids can crack letting the product dry.) The brush is long enough to manage and short enough to pack. The bristles are soft enough to get right at lashline yet not so soft that they loose their shape. The texture is perfectly suited to the formula.

Formula: *Angels singing*
Somehow this formula is soft and creamy, BUT stays put on your eyes, YET removes easily without scrubbing. The formula goes on smooth, can be fine and defined, OR smudged out...even blended out with a shadow. The liner lasts all day; I've only needed touch ups if I rub at my eyes on bad pollen days. Also a pot lasts several months of almost daily use. Mine is about a year old and it is still as creamy and smooth as the first day I opened it.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Silmarien on 1/31/2014 11:51:00 AM more reviews by Silmarien

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

As one who hesitates to call anything a "holy grail", dare i say, i've found it. This is my HG eyeliner on so many levels. I have soft coloring (light brown hair, pale cool-toned skin, green-hazel eyes) and this is my perfect neutral. It gives the look of black, without the harshness of black that those of us with softer coloring can't take. That said.. this little gem is worth every penny. I have many eyeliners and have tried hundreds over time (gel, liquid, pencils galore, you name it, i love my eyeliner) and this is about the only thing i ever reach for anymore now. This is a high-quality product with a very smooth, lightweight, creamy gel-like consistency that glides on like a dream. I even love the brush (did i just say that?!) as it's an exponentially better quality than most brushes that come with their products. The brush and the product are absolutely perfect for tightlining, and this is almost all i ever do anymore, except when i want a little more subtle drama and do a thin line on the upper lashes with a very slight cat wing. I tend to go for subtle yet polished natural looks and the texture, finish and color of this product are just perfect for this, though i'm sure it would also serve well those who would want a more dramatic type of look. I can't imagine there's anything this product wouldn't do and do well. It also has amazing staying power and, unlike some other gels i've tried in the past, stays right where you want it and removes fairly easily. Perfect, perfect, perfect. Thank you, L'Oreal for such a great product at such an affordable price point. I'll be buying this forever.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 veelui on 11/30/2013 12:26:00 AM more reviews by veelui

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i like to combine this color along with a black or black-brown eyeliner pencil on most days. by itself, the color is also nice, a light charcoal gray. it doesnt stay as long as i would like it to and its not waterproof 😞

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LovelyThistle on 5/6/2013 1:07:00 PM more reviews by LovelyThistle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a good basic gray gel eyeliner. The pigment is fairly intense but since it is gray it is not overly dramatic. I use it for light makeup days. The texture is slightly dry, more so than the Espresso. I guess something in the different pigments affects the creaminess of the different shades. Otherwise it wears very well and does not flake or fade. The one thing I do notice is that it feels "thick" on the eyelid. Again it is only with the Dark Slate that I notice this.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a true gray liner. It wears very well and it is easy to apply for a gel/cream liner.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peacefulheart on 4/29/2013 8:43:00 AM more reviews by peacefulheart

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Grey, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this for well over a month now & I must say, it is an excellent gel liner! I don't care so much for the brush, however. But the product itself, is absolutely great, as is the color! Not too dark or light. Very natural look to the shade. I have always preferred not to use a pencil liner on the top lid-so it is liquid liners, or gel/creams for me. For a gel/cream liner of this quality, it is dirt cheap!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shugee on 3/10/2013 2:35:00 PM more reviews by shugee

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Silver, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My stupid sensitive eyes have made makeup difficult for me lately. I had to give up mascara as I kept messing with my eyes, so I definitely need eye definition. My eyes don't like particles so I've had to give up powder eye products and shimmer anything above eye level. They've also been protesting the friction of pencil eyeliner so gel liner seemed like the next logical step. Even cream eye products are game for causing me chemical sensitivies so it was with a leap of faith that I tried L'Oreal Dark Slate. WINNER! Looks so great with Maybelline's Tough as Taupe. Creamy yet long lasting, non-shimmery, non-irritating (to me), deep natural color (flattering warm dark gray), stays workable for a bit for smudging if you wish. Pretty close to perfect - wish it were a touch more pigmented - but I'm always wishing for more pigment in all my products. Includes a nice brush for detail work, but the gel liner is not brush-dependent and works with whatever brush you want to use for various effects. I've been able to create nice ombred effects on the lid or in the crease with Tough as Taupe as a mid-tone taupe and Dark Slate as a deep taupe. I've even used a touch on the tail of my eyebrows with the included brush. Versatile product and HG for me. I'll be comparing all future gel liner purchases to this.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eyeliner products