L'Oreal Infallible Gel Lacquer Liner in Dark Slate

4.8

27 reviews

92% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/1/2015 2:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really, really like this eyeliner. It glides on smoothly and it stays put all day - doesn't melt off at all, and the pot doesn't dry out after three uses like other gel eyeliners. And the colour is beautiful - a wonderful softer alternative to wearing black eyeliner, but still strongly pigmented enough that my eyeshadow doesn't drown it out. I'm just not a fan of the brush as an eyeliner brush though. I prefer an angled brush to do a cat eye, and the one that comes with it looks almost like a tiny rounded paintbrush so it's a little difficult to use. I keep them however because they're great for doing my cupid's bow when I apply lipstick!



on 5/12/2015 11:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this a week ago and have been wearing it everyday since.

The Color:
This is a true gray. Not softened black, silver or blueish gray like some eyeliner. It's noticeable and defines my eyes without looking harsh, and it really compliments my blue eyes.

Texture:
This gel is so creamy that it glides on the lashline. A little goes a long way. I usually only need to the dab the tip of the brush into the gel once (twice at the most) to completely line top and bottom lashlines.

Performance:
It stays put once it dries. It may fade a bit as the day goes on but it doesn't smudge under my eyes at all.

The Brush:
Surprisingly good and easy to apply the liner with. Can make a thin or thicker line with it.

Ease of use:
Very easy even for a beginner.

I love the soft yet defined look this gives and the lasting power as well as the color. I see this being a staple in my makeup collection from now on.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/2/2015 5:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this on my brow and is a dupe of anastasia dep brown

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/8/2015 2:58:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I use this liner daily. I can make it work for not only my upper lash line but also for my water and tight line. A little goes a long way with this so it lasts a while. You get a liner brush that comes with it and works very well. Its a durable brush and cleans well. The brush is good for applying glitter too. Its not super shiny and can be made matte by setting it with a black shadow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/24/2015 1:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I loved everything about this but it totally smudged and disappeared.


on 1/14/2015 6:32:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Yes, I agree with all the reviews here. ALSO, however, I want to add: great on the eyebrows, too!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This liner is soft, creamy, yet doesn't smudge easily on my (somewhat) oily lids. The color is a deep grey that is great to wear for a softer, more casual look. A good alternative to a black liner, which could sometimes be harsh. It also lasts on my lids all day. I wore it for about eleven hours the other day and by the end of the day, it looked as good as it did when I first applied it.

I've also had my jar for a little over a year now and it has shown no signs of drying up. The little brush the pot came with is also very usebale and not too bad.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2014 11:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this. I have always had trouble with liquid liner so this is a fantastic alternative. It takes a while to dry, so that means you have time to fix errors with a qtip. The slate is a great colour for those that feel black is to harsh.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2014 2:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Amazing!!!
This is one of the few produts I'm tempted to hoard from fear of it being discontinued.

Color:
Like many fans of this item, I cannot wear harsh black eyeliner. Even though I am raven-haired, black liner looks like Sharpie marker on my fair skin. Dark Slate is a PERFECT NEUTRAL softened black/ dark taupe...NOT blu-ish or silver like some greys or slates; NOT reddish or khaki like many browns. Some comparable (but not perfect) shades for reference are Clinique's Smoke Grey Cream Eyeliner, Clinique's (Discontinued) Blackened Taupe Kohl Pencil, Prestige's Charcoal Brown Waterproof Eyeliner.

Packaging/Applicator:
High-end looking glass pot with metal exterior to the lid. (Plastic-only lids can crack letting the product dry.) The brush is long enough to manage and short enough to pack. The bristles are soft enough to get right at lashline yet not so soft that they loose their shape. The texture is perfectly suited to the formula.

Formula: *Angels singing*
Somehow this formula is soft and creamy, BUT stays put on your eyes, YET removes easily without scrubbing. The formula goes on smooth, can be fine and defined, OR smudged out...even blended out with a shadow. The liner lasts all day; I've only needed touch ups if I rub at my eyes on bad pollen days. Also a pot lasts several months of almost daily use. Mine is about a year old and it is still as creamy and smooth as the first day I opened it.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 11/30/2013 12:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

i like to combine this color along with a black or black-brown eyeliner pencil on most days. by itself, the color is also nice, a light charcoal gray. it doesnt stay as long as i would like it to and its not waterproof 😞

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top