Jo Malone • blackberry and bay • Fragrances

rated 3.3(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fionarocks on 10/7/2014 1:51:00 PM more reviews by fionarocks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I usually blow through bottles of whatever I like at the moment, but I keep going back to this one. It's perfect for the summer-to-fall transition and smells irresistible. I know L'Artisan's Mūre et Musc is one of the best blackberry fragrances around (or it was, until they reformulated), so this is really satisfying my craving for something heady and lush and delicious. I don't believe in gendering fragrances but even if I did, this would work for men just as well as women.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* One1Cherry on 8/23/2014 1:43:00 AM more reviews by One1Cherry

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love this. It smells very simple, clean and uncomplicated. A fruity, blackberry scent. Lasts well too.

The packaging is classic, love it to bits.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Quilley on 5/26/2014 9:42:00 AM more reviews by Quilley

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Well, I had no expectations of this particular Jo Malone fragrance because I'd never sniffed nor worn anything like it. I love to eat berries of all kinds and that includes blackberries, lol. I like the way bay smells because I'd remembered the way the bay bushes smelled during Thanksgiving holidays in Virginia. Like all Jo Malone fragrances that contain fruit notes I found the blackberry to be authentic, meaning natural smelling.

As far as they bay is concerned, to my nose it's not the primary note in the fragrance, but it is still present and fresh smelling. Frankly I could take it or leave it as a stand-alone fragrance. The magic of this scent is how MIXABLE it is. I tried it with the Lime Blossom and it seemed to heighten the notes of all three notes. I tried it with Nectarine and found it to do the same thing! tried it with Roses and - no, not so much the Roses, lol.

So, if you enjoy Jo Malone fragrances in general, don't give up on this one! Simply ask for a sample vial and try it with those fragrances that you already own. Good luck! :>)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 3/26/2014 4:08:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This smelled promising on the tester strip, but on my wrist it briefly smelled like blackberries and turned into a very masculine cologne stench. I don't notice any bay leaf in this, just cologne. Disappointing because I enjoy blackberry-based scents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 luckyerialc on 2/21/2014 12:44:00 AM more reviews by luckyerialc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Received a sample of this recently. I've worn it alone and layered with other axents. Not a fan. A bit too sharp smelling for me and it gives me a headache.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* picklemesoftly on 6/27/2013 12:02:00 PM more reviews by picklemesoftly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Lovely fragrance! Summery, with a sweet hint. Can't say I smell blackberry but I didn't buy this fragrance for its name! Only complaint: does not last very long and that's a bummer because this perfume is not cheap.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jojobeebee777 on 6/23/2013 9:55:00 AM more reviews by jojobeebee777

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this scent. It is a hard to describe scent but it is not overly feminine. To me it does have a fruity scent but not a cheap sweet smell like some other berry fragrances. I think this is HG status for me. I have not found a scent like this anywhere else. It is just wonderful. I will buy the $110.00 bottle when I run out. This cologne makes me happy. Also BF likes it. I LOVE LOVE LOVE It. My favorite scent... pretty much ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 4/11/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love perfumes in general but the fruity category is one of the trickiest for me. Most of the times fruity perfumes smell synthetic and juvenile or plain syrupy - which is something I can't take. I want them to smell fresh, natural, juicy and realistic.
I really believe blackberry and bay fulfills my expectations. At first I get lots af grapefruit and less berries - stays that way for a while. I don't get floral elements. The drydown is definitely unisex with vetiver, cedar and the interesting twist of bay.
Low sillage and moderate longevity.
If you're looking for an uber feminine long lasting scent look further. But personally I love it because it smells natural and energizing, upbeat and uplifting. Would repurchase.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 oliviadell on 2/28/2013 5:35:00 PM more reviews by oliviadell

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It smells like cologne for men not for women. I'm still trying to scrub the smell off me. I told my boyfriend it would smell good on him and he should were it, but I myself don't like to smell like a dude.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 highmaintenancepanda on 1/8/2013 9:44:00 PM more reviews by highmaintenancepanda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't a huge fan of this perfume. I couldn't really smell the blackberry - it smelled more like grapefruit and bay leaves to me. Also "grassy". It smells nice when you first put it on, but the scent dissipates rather quickly. I took my sweater off after spraying this cologne on and put it on hours later and it smelled light and manly, not at all what I want in a perfume. Luckily I only received a sample of this and won't be purchasing the whole bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jo Malone products

More Fragrances products