Philosophy • Clear Days Ahead Oil-Free Salicylic Acid Acne Treatment Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 4.0(30 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 shoeshoeshi on 1/27/2015 4:49:00 PM more reviews by shoeshoeshi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

This is a workable product but did not wow me . can be drying. here is a more detailed two minute review :





    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BrittanyLee5 on 1/18/2015 2:07:00 PM more reviews by BrittanyLee5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have the most sensitive skin ever and was experiencing some breakouts in places I'd never had before (along hairline, on cheeks). I decided to try this face wash and it has done wonders for my skin. All clear! This is a great product. I even use it on my chest and back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelyvenice on 1/13/2015 1:37:00 AM more reviews by lovelyvenice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't think this cleanser gets the loves it deserves.
My skin was acting up so badly and out of nowhere as well. I would wake up every morning (for about a month) with new acne all over my cheeks and my chin and forehead-and it was the bright red kind. I was so desperate to find a cleanser to put a freaking END to these breakouts. And well the Clear Days Ahead cleanser saved my skin. Its $21 so I guess it's on the pricier side but honestly it is the best investment you can make to save yourself from breakouts.
Its a thin gel consistency and the smell is delicious!It smells really citrusy so it really makes you feel refreshed when you're in zombie mode washing your face in the morning. But anyway, this cleanser has stopped my breakouts. It has faded away some acne scars, and has overall improved my complexion. Also, it makes your face feel SO clean! Of course, as with any salicylic acid cleanser, it does have a drying-tightening effect but that's no problem at all if you apply a light moisturizer after. So, 5 stars for this life saver. So happy I found it and if your skin reacts well to salicylic acid you will love it too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aprice2017 on 10/4/2014 10:47:00 PM more reviews by aprice2017

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was so excited to try out this product. I don't have terrible acne, but I am in graduate school and getting married in a little under a year so I have been having some breakouts due to stress and really wanted something to help keep my face clear. And as excited as I was to try this, I was terribly disappointed.

The pros:
- This stuff smells amazing! Kind of like orange, and it's really strong but doesn't leave your face smelling like oranges.
- The first couple of times using this, I loved it. Initially it made my face feel SO nice and clean.
- While $21 for a bottle of cleanser seems very expensive, you don't need to use much and this bottle should last a VERY long time.

The cons:
- I have very oily skin, and this stuff dried my face out to the point that it started peeling and flaking off. And that was after only a couple of days.
- I'm not sure if this stuff broke me out or if I had an allergic reaction to it or both, but after the second day of using this I started noticing that I had these little tiny red bumps all over my face. Not pimples, but more like a rash or something. After reading some of these reviews, this appears to be a pretty common occurrence.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 9/26/2014 12:44:00 PM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have combo-oily skin, and I suffer from hormonal acne on my chin and jawline. Usually I get large cycstic pimples that are deep, painful, and can take weeks to clear up. I also get the occasional whitehead here and there. I use a prescription topical acne-treatment that has cleared up my skin considerably, but if I'm not using a good cleanser my skin will start breaking out again.

I tend to go for drugstore cleansers -- there are a lot from the drugstore that work well for my skin, so I never really felt the need to buy a lot of pricier cleansers. But I got this as a gift and was super excited to try it out. This product has a gel-like consistency and it lathers up well. I use 1-2 pumps, depending if I'm just cleansing with my hands or with my Clarisonic. This has an awesome orange-citrusy scent, and the smell doesn't linger on your face after it's rinsed off. This rinses off clean and doesn't leave any kind of residue on the skin.

Sometimes cleansers with salicylic acid can really dry my skin out, but this one didn't do that at all. I could use this morning or night since it left my skin just feeling nice and balanced, not dry and tight and itchy. I usually only used this once a day, but sometimes I used it twice a day and it still didn't dry me out. When I used this product consistently, I did notice fewer breakouts and my skin overall appeared brighter and smoother. If I was breaking out, this didn't irritate the pimple by drying it out too much, and it didn't burn or sting when used on active breakouts.

I'll definitely pick this up again. It's not too expensive for a high-end skincare product ($21) and the bottle lasted a long time. I'm also now interested in trying other products in the Clear Days Ahead line. If you're acne-prone and your skin responds well to salicylic acid, I'd recommend trying this out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 newslang on 6/11/2014 10:05:00 AM more reviews by newslang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this face wash for about 6 months now, and it has completely changed my skin.

I have acne prone skin and was extremely broken out when I started using this. I use it once in the morning when I shower. It smells sort of like oranges but the scent doesn't linger (like Purity Made Simple does). Within a week I didn't have any new breakouts. Within a month, my skin was more or less healed. It keeps my oily skin at bay all day and doesn't make my skin overly dry.

Absolutely worth a try if you're struggling with acne and active breakouts.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sandy1213 on 3/12/2014 12:45:00 AM more reviews by Sandy1213

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Omg turned my face into a pizza!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MikeyLauren on 2/23/2014 12:22:00 PM more reviews by MikeyLauren

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

This product can be a little drying but it does work. I use the CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser after I use this one and it balances my skin out again. I like the smell of this facewash, the foaminess, and it does work to clear my skin. If it wasn't so drying I would give it a 5 but if I don't use the CeraVe cleanser I'm all dry patches. Overall this is a really good cleanser and would work well on oiler skin but I make it work for my combination/dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rainbowhorse on 1/31/2014 1:01:00 PM more reviews by rainbowhorse

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I don't really suffer from acne but sometimes I will have the occasional menstrual breakout (if that was TMI-I do apologize). When does times come around I like to whip out this cleanser and use it at night because the next morning the pimples will be gone or decrease dramatically. After two or three nights of use my face is back to its pristine no acne zone face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linntolo on 1/31/2014 12:31:00 PM more reviews by linntolo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first review because I feel the need to let everyone know how adding this product to my skincare routine has does wonders for me. For the past 3 years, I've only been using Philosophy's purity cleanser day and night because it helped calm my eczema flare ups. The past year or so, I started breaking out with acne on my forehead and chin pretty bad but was afraid to try new products with the possiblity of eczema flare ups or worsen my acne. I bought this cleanser on a whim after reading that just 1% salicylic acid is safe and appropriate for skin so you get an exfoliation of your dead skin cells (eczema is dry skin condition so it may have led to acne). I am 30 yrs old and finally my skin has become the most BALANCED ever since before my teen years suffering from terrible cystic acne then eczema in my mid 20s. My skincare routine is Philosophy Purity only in the morning and Clear Days Ahead at night with Clean & Clear 10% benzoyl peroxide gel on acne spots. My moisturizer day and night is California Baby calendula cream (at Target and cured my eczema, amazing product). Once or twice a week I mask with Formula 10.0.6 Deep down detox ultra cleansing mud mask (amazing from Ulta) Just one last thing, the cleanser may leave you a little dry but with a cream moisturizer you are putting back the moisture your skin needs after its super clean.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Cleansers products