Stila • Stay All Day Foundation & Concealer • Foundations

rated 4.0(76 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Elizabeth82 on 10/20/2014 10:12:00 PM more reviews by Elizabeth82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is literally the only long wearing foundation I have ever tried that DOES NOT oxidize on me. The coverage is med. - full (one layer is medium, two layers is full); I apply this with a cosmetic sponge as the texture is pretty thick; I just stipple it on, and buff it in with the sponge before it sets. I could see this working well with a Beauty Blender too, but I prefer not too sheer it out that much as I have a lot of redness to cover. There is no pump, but a plastic application to scoop some of the product out. The only thing I didn't care much for was the concealer as it is too thick and does not blend well on my skin; it also creases like crazy under my eyes.


I would say that this foundation lasts about 8 - 9 hours on me before any noticable fading, and my skin usually EATS my foundation within 4 hours. All in all, a good foundation if you need coverage, don't have time to touch up your makeup all day AND fall into the narrow colour range this foundation has.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LWLook on 10/18/2014 2:04:00 PM more reviews by LWLook

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Not my favorite.

I have this in Bare, the lightest of the shades. It looks pretty good upon first application, but after an hour it oxidizes and looks extremely yellow and a bit too dark for my complexion.

It comes in an open container with a scoop/spoon on the top to get the product out.
Not very hygienic, but better than using your fingers.
In theory, I like the idea of having a matching concealer in the cap of the foundation, but it's not great. It's medium coverage at best and is a little too emollient for my taste.

It lasted a few hours before I had a bit of oil breakthrough, but I think "stay all day" is a bit of a stretch.

I can't even bring myself to finish the bottle.
For the price, I think there are much better foundations out there.
I'd pass on this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lms526 on 10/9/2014 9:26:00 PM more reviews by Lms526

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I hate to say it, but I honestly can't find a single positive thing to say about this foundation. I was recommended this by a SA at Ulta. She matched me to Shade 3 Light. It seemed okay in the store, but this foundation oxidizes something awful. Shade 3 was sold out at Ulta, so I ended up buying it at Sephora. Since it oxidizes so bad, the Shade 3 was way too dark. So I exchanged it for the next shade down. Shade 2 Fair.

Packaging-I really HATE the packaging of this makeup. The little scoop thing is pretty much useless. Either you don't get hardly any out, or you get a ton. I felt like I was wasting a lot of product.

Price-in my opinion, this foundation is way overprice. It isn't worth $44.

Coverage-the coverage was okay. It amplified the flaws on my face. It settled into the bumps in my face. I found it really hard to blend evenly.

But probably my biggest complaint about this foundation is that it never dried completely. Even at mid-day, it still felt sticky to the touch.

Staying power-again, okay, but nothing spectacular. I found it lasted about 7-8 hours. Even with primer. That isn't bad, but I would expect more from a foundation that claims to last 12 hours and has "stay all day" in the name.

In the end, I ended up returning this to Sephora.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 boda55 on 10/4/2014 11:12:00 AM more reviews by boda55

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a big fan of this foundation! I have pretty dry skin which seems to be what it works best with, it gives me a nice dewy finish and especially when I use a beautyblender it makes my face look flawless!! I have NC40 skin and the Medium 9 is a great match for me in the summer, but a little too orangey for winter. The concealer is a really good color match but I find it pretty average in terms of coverage.

The only thing I HATE is the packaging!!! I don't get why you would need the unnecessarily long top where the concealer is, cause there sure as hell isn't that much concealer in there! The top part just slides off so it comes off easily in my makeup bag, but thankfully there is still a screw top for the foundation so it doesn't spill. Also the brush that comes with it is sooooo streaky and terrible, I dont know what they were thinking on that one. But thanks to a tip here I use it to apply my Mint Julep mask because I hate getting it under my fingernails and it works great!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 luusk1125 on 9/30/2014 2:40:00 AM more reviews by luusk1125

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This foundation is great idea foundation and concealer in one. The conealer is great the color match is great but wish you can by it seperate because it runs out before the foundation. The foundation is pasty and sticky and has medium to full coverage but to get full coverage you have to cake it on. Its not good for oily skin or combination dry skin oily mess but good on the dry parts. It hate how it feel on pasty sticky and skin can't breath.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 domonique815 on 9/13/2014 1:11:00 AM more reviews by domonique815

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

The only reason I don't like it is because I have combination skin. Some areas of my skin is dry and it works beautifully, and some are oils and it makes me look greasy. This would for sure be for someone who has dry skin, and they want a dewy finish. Also it says medium to full coverage, and for me, I feel like I had to cake it on too really get the full coverage. Also the concealer is no good. I would rather use my $1 elf liquid concealor and get better coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SaraKMakeup on 8/28/2014 1:41:00 AM more reviews by SaraKMakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Seriously obsessed with this foundation concealer. Works best with clean moisturized and primed skin ( I love Nars Radiance Primer) and must use translucent or tinted setting powder with this product to get best results. I am a makeup artist and hair stylist so I do wear makeup to work and after work I head to the gym for a serious grueling 2 hr workout. I don't recommend wearing makeup to the gym but there are days I don't make the time to wash my face and I had several people compliment my face AFTER my workout!!! This foundation doesn't move! It's amazing and I'm obbbbsssssseeesssased!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hilly87 on 7/28/2014 7:33:00 PM more reviews by Hilly87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is by far my HG foundation!!!!

I have been searching for a foundation that keeps me matte but looking hydrated without needing to blot by lunchtime! I have a fairly oily t-zone by lunchtime no matter what season I'm in!

I got a sample of this from Mecca Cosmetics in Melbourne's CBD and i have to say, after the first day, i documented it every hour, and it looked BETTER as the day went on!

By lunchtime to 1pm-ish, i was getting ready to blot, and upon looking, i didn't need to, my skin looked hydrated, no caking, and my everything was looking perfect!

So I finished the sample and decided to buy the full bottle. The concealer is a little too thick for my personal preference but it is great for spots if you have any. Under the eye i find it creases too much though.

The foundation comes with a random useless brush which i don't find usable with the foundation. I actually use it for applying a mud mask instead of my fingers now, so it did come in handy in a way.

It is the first foundation i have ever seen with a spatula inside for scooping the product out, and when i first saw it, i hated it, but when i used it, i found it to be very easy to control the amount of product you took out. Plus its hygienic, as you don't touch the foundation with your fingers like say, the color stay whipped foundation... I just take some on the back of my hand and go in from there with my sponge.

I use a real techniques sponge or my sigma flat top kabuki brush for application of this foundation and it is flawless. I also apply hourglass mineral veil primer for my base as i find this is the best primer i have used for oil control without making my skin flaky.

The price was $60 or so dollars, and everything is more expensive in Australia, but i felt for a foundation, brush and concealer in the lid, that's a pretty good price point.

I am always getting asked what skincare i use, and i have to tell them its not just my skincare, its the foundation!

Best I've ever tried, my MAC studio fix fluid, Loreal True Match and Estee Lauder double wear will stay in the vanity cupboard for quite a while!!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lauramvig on 7/23/2014 2:49:00 AM more reviews by lauramvig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I can't say much for the useless concealer in the lid, but this foundation is rather nice.

I was recommended this by the SA at Mecca Cosmetica when I said I (gasp-shock-horror) hated NARS Sheer Glow because I found it thick and heavy. I'm such a foundation-phobe, I absolutely hate the feeling of heavy makeup on my skin.

I can still feel this on my face, but it's pretty lightweight and has reasonable coverage. I find the colour slightly yellow at first, but it blends really well and doesn't separate or oxidise. Good stuff Stila!

Hate the packaging though. I would prefer it to be in a tube, like the By Terry Cover Expert (my other favourite foundation) or least without the bulky lid and spatula thing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashbeard on 7/19/2014 3:07:00 AM more reviews by ashbeard

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation! Most foundations don't last at all on my skin, unless i pile on a primer, setting sprays, and powder. I can literally put this on in the morning with nothing but moisturizer underneath and not worry about touching it up at all throughout the day. It doesn't cling to any dryness, and has the perfect yellow undertone for my skin.

My favorite feature is how buildable it is. If i want a natural look, i just dab 3 dots on my face and blend it in with my real techniques brush (forgot the name), it lasts much longer than any bb cream i would typically use.

The concealer isn't particularly bad or good, but i will use it under my eyes as a base sometimes, as the yellow tone counteracts redness and brightens things up, but i would never use it on its own or on a blemish because of its creamy nature. it just doesn't stick around that long.

The brush is completely wrong for liquid foundation. I honestly have no idea what those executives at stila were thinking. However, I have found that it's helpful when applying cream products to REALLY contour & highlight. Obviously it isn't the best at blending, though.

If they took away the concealer and brush then reduced the price I would be much more ecstatic. However, I definitely will be repurchasing when i run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Foundations products