Stila • Stay All Day Foundation & Concealer • Foundations

rated 4.0(69 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Hilly87 on 7/28/2014 7:33:00 PM more reviews by Hilly87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is by far my HG foundation!!!!

I have been searching for a foundation that keeps me matte but looking hydrated without needing to blot by lunchtime! I have a fairly oily t-zone by lunchtime no matter what season I'm in!

I got a sample of this from Mecca Cosmetics in Melbourne's CBD and i have to say, after the first day, i documented it every hour, and it looked BETTER as the day went on!

By lunchtime to 1pm-ish, i was getting ready to blot, and upon looking, i didn't need to, my skin looked hydrated, no caking, and my everything was looking perfect!

So I finished the sample and decided to buy the full bottle. The concealer is a little too thick for my personal preference but it is great for spots if you have any. Under the eye i find it creases too much though.

The foundation comes with a random useless brush which i don't find usable with the foundation. I actually use it for applying a mud mask instead of my fingers now, so it did come in handy in a way.

It is the first foundation i have ever seen with a spatula inside for scooping the product out, and when i first saw it, i hated it, but when i used it, i found it to be very easy to control the amount of product you took out. Plus its hygienic, as you don't touch the foundation with your fingers like say, the color stay whipped foundation... I just take some on the back of my hand and go in from there with my sponge.

I use a real techniques sponge or my sigma flat top kabuki brush for application of this foundation and it is flawless. I also apply hourglass mineral veil primer for my base as i find this is the best primer i have used for oil control without making my skin flaky.

The price was $60 or so dollars, and everything is more expensive in Australia, but i felt for a foundation, brush and concealer in the lid, that's a pretty good price point.

I am always getting asked what skincare i use, and i have to tell them its not just my skincare, its the foundation!

Best I've ever tried, my MAC studio fix fluid, Loreal True Match and Estee Lauder double wear will stay in the vanity cupboard for quite a while!!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lauramvig on 7/23/2014 2:49:00 AM more reviews by lauramvig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I can't say much for the useless concealer in the lid, but this foundation is rather nice.

I was recommended this by the SA at Mecca Cosmetica when I said I (gasp-shock-horror) hated NARS Sheer Glow because I found it thick and heavy. I'm such a foundation-phobe, I absolutely hate the feeling of heavy makeup on my skin.

I can still feel this on my face, but it's pretty lightweight and has reasonable coverage. I find the colour slightly yellow at first, but it blends really well and doesn't separate or oxidise. Good stuff Stila!

Hate the packaging though. I would prefer it to be in a tube, like the By Terry Cover Expert (my other favourite foundation) or least without the bulky lid and spatula thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashbeard on 7/19/2014 3:07:00 AM more reviews by ashbeard

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation! Most foundations don't last at all on my skin, unless i pile on a primer, setting sprays, and powder. I can literally put this on in the morning with nothing but moisturizer underneath and not worry about touching it up at all throughout the day. It doesn't cling to any dryness, and has the perfect yellow undertone for my skin.

My favorite feature is how buildable it is. If i want a natural look, i just dab 3 dots on my face and blend it in with my real techniques brush (forgot the name), it lasts much longer than any bb cream i would typically use.

The concealer isn't particularly bad or good, but i will use it under my eyes as a base sometimes, as the yellow tone counteracts redness and brightens things up, but i would never use it on its own or on a blemish because of its creamy nature. it just doesn't stick around that long.

The brush is completely wrong for liquid foundation. I honestly have no idea what those executives at stila were thinking. However, I have found that it's helpful when applying cream products to REALLY contour & highlight. Obviously it isn't the best at blending, though.

If they took away the concealer and brush then reduced the price I would be much more ecstatic. However, I definitely will be repurchasing when i run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SamanthaSueBrown on 7/12/2014 2:15:00 AM more reviews by SamanthaSueBrown

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

PROS-
It looks nice upon application
The packaging is neat.

CONS-
It feels very thick and sticky.
It's not easy to blend.
It does NOT stay on all day. Which is the one thing I definitely thought it would do.
The foundation costs way too much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jlb91 on 7/2/2014 4:46:00 PM more reviews by Jlb91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this foundation!! Looks very natural but gives a lot of coverage without feeling heavy/cakey. I did have to get a few shades darker so that my face matches the tan on my body. I was worried the shade I got was way to dark but it did adjust to my skin and looked flawless. It doesn't even look like I am wearing foundation.
So far I haven't broken out. I've been using this for about a week or two
The only downside is that I get oily around my nose within 4-5 hours... All I do it mix this foundation with a matte foundation and problem solved. Lasts all day and looks perfect after a long day of work :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iloveurbandecay on 6/17/2014 9:38:00 AM more reviews by iloveurbandecay

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

It's my second day wearing this foundation and here are my observations: It's not tested on animals, so that makes it a 5-star product in my book. I use the lightest colour, which is called "bare", and which is a perfect fit for my own fair, yellow-toned skin colour. Now here's what I've learned from the other reviews here: I need to ditch that little brush. I've been applying this makeup with the brush and it has been doing me no favours. The brush leaves the foundation streaky. Many other reviewers have commented that they disliked the brush. I thought getting a brush with foundation was such a bonus but it's really not. I am sure that when I apply the foundation with my fingers I will get a much smoother application. I like the bottle and the little spatula that scoops out the product for you. I deposit the foundation on my back of my clean hand and go from there, I never touch my face with the spatula, as I apply this foundation on top of primer and sunscreen.

As for the concealer, I'm going to ditch it. The foundation works well underneath my eyes so I don't see the need, plus the colour is a bit darker than the concealer I'm already using (Cargo OneBase).

I like the texture of this foundation and though I have oily skin and it's very humid in Toronto in the summer, I find that a little powder and some blotting papers help enormously.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* STACEYFFF on 6/16/2014 7:14:00 PM more reviews by STACEYFFF

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Ok. This is really, really good medium coverage foundation that, stays all day. Impressed. I have replaced my EL double wear light with this.

I'm really oily and my skin eats ALL makeup. Even EL Double Wear, which is WAAY more mask-like than this. This feels light on the skin and is semi-matte.

Good job Stila!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Milkpotato on 6/3/2014 3:42:00 AM more reviews by Milkpotato

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i live in Singapore and its pretty much like Summer all year round. My skin only gets oily after i perspire and its usually the T zone that gets oily after the whole day. I do not apply thick make up. my make up purpose is only to even out skin tone and make my face looks more radiant. i go for the natural look. i do not have acne/pimple problems. only some black spots/scars from squeezing stubborn pimples.. whiteheads between cheeks and nose.

Foudation:
I use this foundation only on days i want a stronger coverage or "flawless" skin. i use this on top of my Etude House's Face Conditioning cream. it stays on well, but probably about 4pm onwards, my nose and forehead looks a little "caked".. it isn;t very obvious unless you're upclose. but overall, this stays on really well.

Concealer:
i only use this concealer for my dark eye circles because it works so well on it. it brightens my eye up and really does conceal the dark eye rings.

currently, i switch on and off between Stila and Laneige's BB Cushion. love the both of it. if i finish Stila, i would buy it again :D

Cons:
-Spatula isn't very hygenic..
-Brush that came with it is pretty useless. (ps: i use a sponge to apply the foundation)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ayliinxo on 5/23/2014 9:52:00 AM more reviews by ayliinxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE this foundation and concealer combination. I have oily skin and it didn't slide off my face at all, it literally lasts all day! The concealer is full coverage and the foundation is about a medium coverage, once you combine the two together you'll get flawless skin. The only thing I don't like about this is that since I'm from Australia it costs $60!! at Mecca Maxima.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 5/10/2014 11:45:00 AM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I received a sample of this product along with the BB cream. Overall, I liked the combination of products together but wasn't amazed by any of them. The concealer definitely was my least favorite of the combination. I mixed some of my Marc Jacobs concealer with it because I didn't feel the coverage was good enough on its own. Part of me likes that this product comes with a brush and concealer, but I think I would prefer to be able to choose my own shade of concealer.

Anyway, I found the foundation itself to be buildable and long lasting. It lasted for the better part of a 10 hour day without any touchups. The formula is very creamy, but it's heavy and does feel like you're wearing a lot of makeup. If this is something that bothers you, you may want to try it first or another product. I'm a huge fan of Stila products, but I can take or leave this one. My Make Up For Ever HD is still the front runner on my list!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Foundations products