Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Ready Foundation

3.3

197 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Alaria Esculenta Extract, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Bambusa Arundinacea Stem Powder, Benzyl Benzoate, Benzyl Salicylate, Boron Nitride, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Cananga Odorata Flower Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cetyl Phosphate, Coco-Caprylate, Corallina Officinalis Extract, Geraniol, Iron Oxides, Jojoba Esters, Lauroyl Lysine, Linalool, Mica, Silica, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Tocopherol, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Zinc Oxide.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bare minerals claims it is for sensitive skin, however, I got a horrible allergy reaction to this powder! I had bumpy red spots all over my face and neck. As soon as I stopped using it my face slowly healed back to normal. For reference, I have dry, sensitive, acne proned skin. I would recommend staying away from this powder if you have the same skin distinction as I do.



on 3/24/2015 10:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This wouldn't be my first choice for a pressed powder foundation.

It has a bad tendency to still be very messy and powdery during application with a brush or a sponge. I've used this on clients with various skin types and it tends to be an OK option for those with dry skin although I tend to like powders better for those with oily skin as it tends to absorb oil and shin and this is no exception.

The shade range is pretty impressive I will say and the inclusion of SPF is a nice touch.

It does blend out well, doesn't get streaky and doesn't feel heavy on skin. I just don't like that it's still a little messy to apply out of the compact and that to avoid the same effect on skin, a primer or fairly heavily moisturized skin is a must.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I first started off absolutely loving this foundation and the whole Ready range (bronzer, veil and blush) as I loved the coverage it gave me (like seriously good coverage). I don't think this would suit dryer skin types as it is a powder foundation it's not too fab on my dry patches (I have combination skin). I started to hate it after a few months (mostly because I missed using a liquid foundation!) but also I did notice it started to go shiny throughout the day - not just in my oily zones but in my dry areas too). It didn't stay on the whole day, but I've heard it does for some people so maybe that's just my skin type. I think the absolute worst thing about it is the packaging! I like my makeup to stay clean but it has Matte packaging which is a nightmare to clean! Also all the products looks exactly the same on the outside so that's a bit of an annoyance. If you're looking for coverage and you don't have super dry skin I would say this is perfect

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/14/2015 11:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Even the sales assistant warned me about this product, suggesting I stick to the original loose product instead. But I was about to embark on some weeks of travel and wanted to have a compact mineral foundation solution to disguise my reddened sensitive skin. A last minute purchase this was, and a badly researched one.

I use the lightest shade in the original formula, and was matched with R101 in this formula. The SA applied this somewhat thickly (I had done *some* research and read that one should use the lightest touch) and then proceeded to add bronzer and blush, presumably to humanize the ghostly pallor this almost iridescent powder foundation provided me.

It is unheard of for me to meet a foundation lighter than my skintone, but here it is. Trying this alone, applying in a number of ways, it just doesn't work. Many reviewers describe this as more matte than the original, which was a selling point to me, but having used it I don't agree. The powder is not as smooth, and closeup appears in tiny patches, clinging to some unlikely micro flakes, even on well hydrated and exfoliated skin.
And then it shines. I have never understood the obsession with pores; I supposed I didn't really have any, but Bare Minerals Ready foundation has taught me that I do. I certainly do.
]

And so, I will not use this as foundation. It is a terrible foundation. Pale, shiny, difficult to apply and sits unhappily on my t-zone (i.e. The Place That Needs it Most). It even feels a little itchy at times, and I started to become paranoid that it was actually making my pores larger rather than just highlighting them. I was going to try and bring it back for a refund, or exchange for my usual Bare Minerals Original,
but then!
One evening before going out I happened to think to apply it with a small fluffy eyeshadow brush as a very subtle highlighter to strategic spots and Oh! what unlikely perfection!

This is just that one tiny shade too light for my skin and so over-glowy, that it is perfect for soft contouring. I've tried contouring and highlighting before, but it never really worked for me, pale as I am. This is exciting though.

I wouldn't recommend anyone purchase it for this purpose. Unless you're as very pale as I am there will probably be better products. But if you find yourself with this product because of some unfortunate decision you made while stressed about travel plans, then give it a try before going through the nuisance of trying to return it (as I was informed "we can't accept returns on opened products unless they've caused an allergic reaction, and not at all if you tried it on in store previously").


on 3/2/2015 3:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have sensitive, acne-prone skin with some blotchiness and uneven skin tone. This foundation is amazing at making my skin appear smooth and even. It takes a small amount to obtain full coverage; you need to be careful not to use too much or it gets mask-like. Because of this, it should last a long time. The color stays true and does not oxidize, and coverage lasts all day. It's difficult to find an a compact mineral foundation that is silicone-free; this is one of them, and it's phenomenal.


on 1/27/2015 3:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my new favorite. I tend to prefer powder foundations for the ease of application -- I'm the girl that's always putting her makeup on at red lights or AFTER I get to work, haha. (Sorry, everyone.)

Other powder foundations I've tried: Too Faced Cocoa powder (great), Sephora brand mineral foundation (great), Amazing Cosmetics (meh), IT Cosmetics Celebration foundation (decent), Cover FX (decent), MAC Mineralize (awesome but it broke me out), etc. I've used Lucy Minerals, Southern Magnolia Minerals, and Tarte Amazonian Clay too and while I liked them, if it doesn't come in a compact I'm just not gonna use it. I have indeed also tried the regular Bare Escentuals foundation and I was one of the lucky legions that experienced a negative reaction to the bismuth oxychloride.

This Ready Foundation though, like I said, is my favorite. I found a perfect color match immediately, it applies easily and is buildable to FULL, really full, coverage (unlike my other faves) without using a ton of product or looking like a powdery, cakey mess. It lasts fairly long; if I don't mess with my face it stays intact but something like, say, taking a nap will fade it considerably. Looks good over BB/CC creams as well as on its own. It continues to look good too after a later-in-the-day reapplication. I appreciate the SPF 20. It seems to have decent (but not ironclad) oil controlling properties (another thing lacking in my other powders) and has that nice mineral-y finish. Doesn't oxidize, doesn't break me out (hallelujah), isn't cheap but isn't crazy $$$. I'll spend $29 for the one thing that I use every day and makes me look presentable to the world.

I prefer setting this with something to take down the powdery effect a bit. I'll use Juice Beauty's moisturizing mist as a refresher during the day, or the NYX setting spray if I'm going out at night. I find it makes it look a lot better than on its own and increases wear time. Packaging is a slim, matte black rubber compact that doesn't take up too much space in my makeup bag (unlike... *ahem* my other faves).

Highly recommend. Honestly, I'll probably stop the foundation search unless this totally fails me in the summertime!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2015 2:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation!! I have extremely sensitive, acne prone skin and I've gone through so many different foundations, this by far is my favorite. I use this bare minerals oil control primer and hydrating mineral veil.
When I first bought this combo at ulta I really hated myself for how much I spending but it was so worth it!!
I have been struggling with acne for a while now and through the process of getting my skin back to normal this stuff really makes me feel confident no matter how bad my breakouts are that day.
I use a small concealer brush to cover my trouble areas then use the flawless face brush to cover the rest and blend. You have to careful about how much you use with this foundation which is why I do it this way. If I use the right brush I only need a little to cover breakouts.
One more tip with this foundation, getting the correct shade will make all the difference. Honestly I hated this foundation before I got the right shade. Wherever you go to buy this have someone match your skin tone!! I've tried the two shades closest to my shade (because mine was out of stock) and it looked awful. If they don't have the one they match you with, wait.
Hope this is helpful, again I love love love this foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2015 2:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Black

I will start by saying i loathed the original bm loose mineral foundation. I could never find a good colour match, always looking like a tin can due to the pink ashy undertones and shiny finish. It was very unflattering on my Indian Asian medium brown skin tone. I dismissed this brand, thinking they were clueless about catering for ethnic skin tones.
Forward a few years, i happened to try the ready version in a department store, thinking the colours looked much more yellow toned and more suitable for brown skin. The pressed minerals appealed to me and i liked the minimal packaging. It was a fantastic colour match (R330). Absolutely spot on, natural looking and undetectable. I have a dark red birth mark to cover and this does so beautifully and so naturally.
I can't believe this is the same company making the shades of make up. The ready is lovely for ethnic skins, but i still feel the same about the loose version.
The ready lasts all day long. I use it after moisturiser and primer (not always primer if I'm in a rush) and it lasts all day long with no touch ups required. Easily 12-14 hours. It also photographs amazingly. Beautiful, airbrushed and undetectable finish even close up. No flash back from the spf, no tin face, no shininess. Just perfect looking skin.
I'm so surprised at the negative reviews, but then again this always happens to me. A product that everyone seems to rave about never performs on me, and something most people complain about works great for me! I very rarely write reviews, but felt bad this product seemed to be doing poorly on the review front when its my holy grail product. And a small plea (nay - a grovel) to not change the formula or discontinue this product based on these reviews because it really is a massive improvement on the original for me (which i still continue to hate). I have repurchased this 4 times now, using each compact down to the pan and will continue to repurchase.
Well done and thank you BM !! 

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2015 1:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Grey

Love this product! I've used bare minerals original before when i was younger and had clearer skin. I came back to it after seeing one of the BM beauty consultants with it on looking flawless and remembering that this stuff saved my skin and really helped to clear it up!

I was helped to chose r330 golden tan( i think) which is yellowy toned to match my foundation!

As of yet i havent wore it alone because i haven't had time since i bought it! However i used it to set my smashbox studio skin as it has a dewy finish ( one for the girls who like a full coverage face of makeup) it was beautiful, its a very thick, highly pigmented powder but DOES NOT go on cakey if you apply it correctly & with a light hand! It blurs all imperfections and makes skin look flawless!
I applied it a few minutes after the foundation had dried with the large RT powder brush and it was the perfect combination and setting powder!

Skin looked flawless and did not break up or show any oil ( i'm very oily)! This combo lasted 8 hours through a night out clubbing so a massive thumbs up from me! One of the best powders i've ever used!

Just use it sparingly for a flawless non- cakey base! I can't wait to try it alone, even if that doesnt work for me i'll definitely keep buying it as a setting powder as its cheaper than the ELDW powder!!!!

Hope this helps:)


on 11/1/2014 9:41:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

If I can make one suggestion, it'd be that you go to a Bare Escentuals boutique or outlet and get shade matched. I used to work for Bare Minerals -- I provided shade matches all day, and even I had a hard time matching myself in this formula! I went to the BE Outlet here and they put me in Fairly Medium which is not a perfect match, but it's the closest match I'll get in this formula.

For reference, I wear Fairly Light in the Original formula, Bare Linen in the Serum formula and I'm usually NW 20 in Mac. -- But none of that matters because this formula is so different.

This foundation provides very full coverage and a little goes a long way. Less is more and if you use even a tiny bit too much, it'll look cakey and thick. In my opinion, if you like a natural or luminous look or you want a slightly more forgiving formula, stick with the BE Original.

To get the best coverage and results, you want to apply your moisturizer and primer (if you use a primer) then wait until your face is completely dry -- that part is crucial with this foundation. If your face has any lingering moisture or stickiness, this foundation will drag and get cakey.

I got the brush that is sold with the foundation (sold separately) but I don't think you really need it. For full coverage, any flat brush will do and for lighter coverage, I really like the fluffy Real Techniques powder brush.

Don't swirl or smear your brush in this product. You want to stamp your brush into the product one time. Then take your brush and dot four stamps on your face (forehead, chin and each cheek). Using long gentle strokes, gently brush it on. Buffing this foundation in as you do with the original and matte formulas can result in a thick and heavy look. If you want more coverage, go back and get a second stamp from the product, et.

For me personally, this foundation is alright. It does provide full coverage and for me, this foundation is dry skin friendly. It comes down to personal preference and I still prefer a very light and natural look. However, I think if you want full coverage or if you want something purse friendly and travel friendly, you may love this. Just please go get shade matched!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top