Unlisted Brand • Konjac Sponge • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.0(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 abluesgirl on 4/13/2014 4:53:00 AM more reviews by abluesgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

It's a really nice cleansing tool. I have the charcoal one and I use it with my cleanser. Just beware, these only cost 3 dollars in Korea (where I live). I paid 9 pounds on Cult Beauty and got totally ripped off. They are so cheap in Asia.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 GlamSheep on 2/18/2014 2:38:00 PM more reviews by GlamSheep

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm probably the only person who didn't have a good experience with this product. My skin did feel pretty smooth after using it, but after about 3-4 days use my skin would be extremely irritated and break out. I might purchase the one for sensitive skin because I'm about 5 months post-accutane which might be the culprit. The only thing I feel it does well is remove most of the gunk from my pores on my nose which is only a good thing because it's the only product I have used that's done so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 magnisky on 1/15/2014 12:36:00 AM more reviews by magnisky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Firstly, I think the picture that makeupalley has for this product is wrong. I have the half sphere shape that is white. I guess look it up on another site?...okay, so this sponge is pretty much aaaaaawesome! No kidding, this is probably better for the skin than the clarisonic which has so much hype. And it is completely natural. So how do you use? You wet it first (it's a lot like the beauty blender in a way) then, use your favorite cleanser (right now, I am digging the clarins one step cleanser) and wash! After you get done washing, omg, your skin probably has never felt so smooth in so little time ever! For people with sensitive skin, you are in luck, because it is almost guaranteed to not break you out. Even though it is so gentle, it is truly one of the best exfoliators out there. Remember to hang dry it after use, in non-humid area.

FYI, if you don't want to spend that much on a sponge, and you are not sure it is worth the investment, not to worry because you can buy konjac sponges from various different companies online. Not only Boscia. They will be much cheaper and some even come in variety of cleansing formulas (e.g. Charcoal, moisturizing, etc.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laizagrace on 1/12/2014 5:01:00 AM more reviews by laizagrace

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This one is heavenly. I am using the pink one for sensitive skin.

It does not promise it takes away makeup. In fact it says to take off makeup from face. I use it after I take all make up away. In circular motion I massage it all over my face including the back of my ears and my neck and nape. Because of the cold weather now I like to soak it in warm water. It does not only relax me but also exfoliates my skin. The soft lovely texture of the sponge helps in the blood circulation.

When I pat my face dry, I then proceed to my usual moisturizer. It is important to moisturize! If you don't it has tendency to dry up your skin after you use anything that exfoliates your skin.

My skin has brightened and even I've been looking for something that does exfoliate but harmless. Will buy it again.^^

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missnat on 1/2/2014 9:47:00 PM more reviews by missnat

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have a red konjac sponge that a friend gave me. It's teardrop shaped, so it's a different brand than the round ones rated here on MUA. I use it with no additional cleanser in the morning. It is more than enough to clean and gently exfoliate my skin in the AM or when I'm not wearing makeup. It is gentle enough to exfoliate my eye area. It's nice to not bother with cleanser anymore, unless I'm removing makeup. I would not want to get makeup or mascara into the sponge because it would get dirty and need to be replaced more frequently, and I don't think it's enough to remove makeup and heavy sunscreens, anyway.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cello24 on 10/25/2013 3:50:00 PM more reviews by Cello24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I started using Konjac Sponge about few months ago. I've tried several other brands made in Korea or China before I finally settled with the Japanese Konjac Sponge brand that are original from Japan. My skin became very smooth and radiant after using it every night. My skin also absorbs moisturizer very well and my blackheads are less.

Their brand products are very different from other Konjac Sponges brands because they have slightly more porous textures that grip and cleanse my pores from blackheads, dirt or oil. I can also use it to clean my face from make-up, and ever since using it, I never use my Clarisonic MIA brush again.

You can check out their website at www.japanesekonjacsponge.com and see the reviews. It's a good value for the product. It's about $11 per sponge and it's free shipping in the US! Highly recommended!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sospiro on 7/1/2013 1:05:00 PM more reviews by sospiro

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I grabbed this to push myself over the free-gift-free-shipping-checkout limit as it was inexpensive, seemed like it might be useful, and intriguing–apparently it’s big in Japan. The sponge has charcoal in it and as some of you may know, charcoal is often touted for its beneficial properties combating oily skin and acne–of which I have both. I used this sponge for about 6 weeks–initially on its own and later with my facial cleanser. To be honest, I didn’t notice any differences whatsoever. I don’t think the special charcoal properties had any effect on my skin acne wise (still had spots, still had blackheads), and I don’t think washing my face with the sponge did much in terms of exfoliation as I tend to need more astringent products to get the job done properly. It was lovely and soft on my skin–but other than that it’s headed to the bin the last week as I don’t really have much use for it. Those of you who like to use sponges in their cleansing routine should give it a go though! It’s terribly affordable at only £6.50 per sponge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yixie on 5/7/2013 4:06:00 PM more reviews by yixie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I use the charcoal sponge, and I like how clean and soft my face feels after cleansing with it. I don't use scrubs anymore. This is a great alternative.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Carybear on 2/1/2013 5:56:00 AM more reviews by Carybear

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ugh. I fell onto the bandwagon again.
These sponges are novel...I have three, and I have to admit washing with them is *fun...but that's all that's fun.
I tried the Pink Clay ( I bought two) and the white "natural" one from The Konjac Sponge company. At first I loved them. I thought they were really making my skin look vibrant and happy. Within a week my skin started looking dry, and I got a few deep pimples. I have not changed my cleanser, or moisturizer. I tried the Pink Clay ones without cleanser and with, same for the white one. My skin felt grimy, dry and bumpy.
Konjac is just too alkaline. I tested my wet sponge with a pH Strip. It has a pH of 7.0! Skin needs to stay at 5.5 or thereabout to retain the lipid barrier.
Fun, novel thing...but I am going back to my muslin cloths and Clarisonic 2x a week.

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goldrauschengel on 8/31/2012 4:51:00 PM more reviews by goldrauschengel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This sponge is a natural product made from an ancient plant that the Japanese have been using for more than 1,500 years, appearantly. Konjac is naturally alkaline and hence ideal for facial cleansing. Check out videos on youtube to see how to use.

I have discovered these sponges only a year ago and find them very reccomendable. They come in a plastic packaging that keeps them moist, but once you have used them you just hang them to dry, and simply wet them with water every time you want to reuse them...What makes these very special is the peculiar consistency of the sponge, it is very moist and soft yet also firm, so it provides the gentlest exfoliation one can imagine....I would call this a facial "buffer". It leaves my skin radiant, smooth and sqeaky clean without any drying. I simply use in the shower for a minute every morning. The price is around 8 on zuneta.com, which I find very decent considering you can use them 3-6 months.

Only negative point I want to point out is that contrary to the claims in some videos, this sponge alone will not get rid of all makeup, particularly not the waterproof kind. I actually cleanse with a face wash before using the sponge to " buff" my face.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Unlisted Brand products

More Misc Beauty Tools products