Unlisted Brand • Konjac Sponge • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 3.5(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 archt_marj14 on 12/8/2014 9:49:00 AM more reviews by archt_marj14

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This, in one word: Disappointment. I bought 2, 1 for face (with the charcoal) & 1 for body (with the red clay), & after using them for a month, I found no significant changes/improvement to my combination-oily skin. Compared to BufPufs, they're expensive & more high-maintenance to clean/take care of, & at least with them I get to see all the gunk scrubbed off from my face & body! The "gentleness"/lack of grit from the konjac sponges left me feeling dissatisfied. So yeah, I've gladly gone back to BufPufs & probably won't stray from it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 daisyismydog on 12/1/2014 9:37:00 PM more reviews by daisyismydog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have dehydrated-normal acne-prone skin that is prone to uneven texture and flakes. I do use chemical exfoliation regularly which has helped a lot but after seeing all the konjac sponge raves I decided to give it a shot

I agree with another user that the texture felt somewhat more plastic-like than a soft kitchen sponge, and I think that is part of what makes it so gentle. For my skin, I found it too gentle as it didn't seem to do anything. After using it regularly for about a week and trialing different methods with it (without cleanser, with various cleansers) I forgot about it and left it neglected in the shower.This particular sponge didn't come with a string, so it was left on a rack where I store my other bath & body products.

I remembered it about a month later, and I found a lot of black spots had started to grow inside of it, presumably mold. I know that this is in part due to user error because I didn't take care of it properly by storing it in a dry place, but given I did not see any noticeable improvement from using the konjac sponge I do not think it is worth its high maintenance routine. Especially since there is a more effective, hygienic, and easier to care for alternative in muslin cloths.

If you have very physically sensitive skin, then the konjac sponge might be worth trying. Otherwise, I don't think it's worth the hassle.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sassiko on 11/28/2014 7:27:00 PM more reviews by sassiko

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

So I have eczema on my nose, dry cheeks and acne T zone. My acne was going crazy recently - think it was the Bourjois CC Cream (even though I love it) so I decided to go organic. I've been using a Konjac sponge for combination skin to cleanse in the morning followed by a spritz of Balm Balm Frankincense Hydrosol Facial Tonic and 3 drops of Balm Balm Rosehip Serum and in the evening Origins Clean Energy Cleansing Oil as a makeup remover and Balm Balm Frankincense Deep Cleansing Balm as a cleansing followed by the facial tonic and serum again. Well this routine has done wonders.It has balanced out my skin more and has calmed down my acne. I think Balm Balm does simple but effective products although a little pricey for the amount. I'd recommend this routine if you have similar skin problems as myself, but I am on the look out for a day spf that doesn't break me out to complete the routine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 msdixiemom on 11/8/2014 8:00:00 AM more reviews by msdixiemom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a review for the konjac sponge. Someone mentioned it on this site-- had never heard if so did some searching-- ended up purchasing an assorted 5 pack on Amazon.
I have sensitive, aging skin and rosacea, but it's also oily and prone to clogged pores. It's difficult to find an exfoliating product that is both gentle AND effective.
I've used the sponge for a week, and while it doesn't FEEL like it is doing anything, it has left my skin remarkably soft, smooth, and glowing--- but not irritated.
So far I'm very pleased-- have only used the plain one-- haven't yet tried the infused sponges with things like charcoal or green tea--- will continue to use and post an update in a month or two.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laureg on 10/27/2014 2:49:00 PM more reviews by laureg

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the Charcoal Dr. Sponge Konjac sponge from a health food store a few months ago and really like it. I use it most evenings and love it for exfoliation. I let it soak in warm water while I use a rinse off oil cleanser, rinse my face, then use a tiny dollop of Dove baby wash on the sponge to massage the foam all over my skin. I find the sponge is super gentle and never over-exfoliates, and makes my skin smooth and radiant. I've had the same sponge now for about 2 months, and it's still in great shape with regular use (it isn't breaking down). I also keep my sponge on a plastic soap saver thingy that allows air to circulate all around the sponge so it dries completely, and I've never had a problem (that said, I also live in a very dry climate with low humidity, especially at this time of year, so that could make a difference). I will continue to repurchase.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 anonyym on 10/13/2014 10:27:00 AM more reviews by anonyym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It dosent do anything for my skin :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Iampo0kie on 9/22/2014 1:30:00 PM more reviews by Iampo0kie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this on days when I don't do OCM. It's especially great in the mornings for clearing away dead skin before applying makeup. Lightly exfoliating, not irritating in any way (except if you scrub over your eyes...). It doesn't suck up cleanser as much as the clarisonic does. Helps cleanser foam, so it makes my skin feel cleaner. I use the charcoal kind. Not sure if the charcoal does anything, used the sponge without cleanser once and it didn't suck up all my oil. The charcoal also makes it smell funny.

BAD: breaks down after a month or two. Never gets completely clean or dry, so be careful to keep your bathroom clean and mold free or the mold will get in your sponge!

I use this with Garden of Wisdom's tea tree cleanser, which is anti-bacterial and fungal so it helps keep the sponge clean.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetfart on 9/3/2014 2:38:00 AM more reviews by sweetfart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I ordered the original white konjac sponge from the Dr. Sponge company after reading so many rave reviews.

Umm, so why exactly is this sponge so great again? Sorry to sound like the jealous ex-girlfriend here, but what do you people see in this sponge that I don't? It just felt like rubbing dimpled plastic on my face and the result wasn't much different. It didn't exfoliate worth jack. In fact, all it did was rub in all the dirt and residue on my face, so that it burrowed into my pores even more. Face did not feel clean whatsoever, with or without cleanser. This sponge is overrated and no I am not going to keep wasting money and trying 50 different companies' konjac sponges. I'm not doubting that this worked for some people, as I see great reviews. However, I believe that this is another fad product that will be off the market in another 6 mo- 1 year once another dud product comes into popularity. Moving along now...

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yolanda71 on 7/29/2014 2:38:00 AM more reviews by yolanda71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I learned for this sponge accidentally. I bought it and i am completely satisfied. I use it alone for gentle exfoliation or with liquid facial soap for a deep cleaning. It helps me a lot with my rough skin (due dermatitis). I saw big improvement. I use it daily. I bought it from hqhair.com.
I will buy it again because it became stable product for my beauty routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elajean on 7/4/2014 4:26:00 PM more reviews by elajean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I almost love these entirely.

I use the French Pink Clay Konjac sponge from MyKonjac. I use two, actually, to alternate so that each has time to dry between uses. This is because I learned the hard way: if you don't let the babies dry completely, they start to smell like an old dish rag pretty quickly. This is one thing I hate about it. The other thing is that I can't hang them in my bathroom because the ventilation sucks, so I have to hang them in my bedroom and they're not exactly pretty. But doubling up and decorating the house with them is totally worth it because of the results.

I cleanse with just water and my konjac sponge in the AM. It exfoliates just enough to get any dead skins cells my skin may have shed in the night off of my face and leaves my otherwise tired, dull, dehydrated skin looking polished, bright and feeling INCREDIBLY SOFT. This is the key, right here - I have NEVER felt my skin this soft before Konjac. It's like silk. I highly recommend using the konjac sponge with water alone in the AM.. get the grime off at night and this is all you'll need. Of course it can also be used with a cleanser.

And MORE: I swear this speeds up the lightening of red marks left from my blemishes. I strategically use vitamin C serums and honey and turmeric masks and AHAs and I wear my sunblock like a good little lady, and these things all help in time, but get a Konjac sponge and watch those things just fade fast! And this might make the Konjac sound kinda harsh - it's NOT, Konjac sponges are the softest! Fear not, baby-sensitive skin, even you can handle this!

So IN A NUTSHELL: Konjac is a very useful tool for gentle, soap-free cleansing and mild exfoliation that helps to SOFTEN SOFTEN SOFTEN, brighten, and even out the skin tone.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Misc Beauty Tools products