Stila • In The Know Palette • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(23 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 2cute4freckles on 5/16/2014 9:44:00 PM more reviews by 2cute4freckles

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Normally matte eyeshadow is just plain boring, so I honestly wasn't expecting much when I first looked at this rather un-assuming palate of mostly neutral shades. After falling in love with the Stila in the light palette I decided to give this a try. There really aren't any super can't live with out them shades on this, but I do like that you can get a couple of great looks out of one palette and believe it or not there isn't one color that I don't use. It seems to me that when ever I buy an eyeshadow palette there is always one color that I just don't use, and one color that I use the heck out of and use up first. That is not the case with this one.
I also like that it comes with an eyeliner and generous mirror. Let's face it I'm lazy about my make-up and travel a lot for work I love that I can grab this and go, and it works well for day (meetings) and night (cocktails). Basically I can grab this, my CC cream and mascara and be more or less good to go for whatever.
So in a nut shell great neutrals (though as previously mentioned nothing really special). This palete would be perfect for someone lazy (hey that's me) or someone young that needs a fool proof palette that won't make you look like a clown.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jennigo on 5/7/2014 7:36:00 PM more reviews by jennigo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this palette at the suggestion of a Sephora salesperson and am very impressed by the unique combination of colors and that all the shades are matte. The colors are just different enough from other "natural" palettes. The shades also flatter my green eyes as many have a bit of red (clay and rain are my favorites). Am using matte shadows in order to minimize signs of aging lids. However, the formulation of these eyeshadows looks and feels just a bit too powdery, which emphasizes those aggravating signs of aging lids and somewhat negates my "matte is better for aging lids" strategy. I wish these shadows felt and looked just a bit creamier. I do experience a bit of fallout, as well. Because of this "over-powdery" effect, I probably don't benefit from the full potential of looks achievable from this palate since I'm reluctant to apply too much. Please note, I am applying these to well-moisturized and primed (Urban Decay primer potion) eyelids. The palette is packaged well - attractive, tidy and containing a little instruction booklet to get you started on different looks/combinations. I've always felt Stila offers great value in terms of quality/price, but I would gladly pay a bit more for a matte eyeshadow that doesn't look like I went crazy with the powder-puff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeupjenn on 4/11/2014 1:56:00 PM more reviews by makeupjenn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

before purchasing I searched this palette like crazy and watched videos and really did my research before going to sephora and swatching and eventually purchasing this palette. first off it's a very expensive palette in my opinion (50$ cdn) but I wanted something all matte and neutrals and I'd heard great things about stila eyeshadows. this is not a horrible palette, the colours are very nice being more of pinky/orange based neutrals along with dark browns and greys, although it is a bit chalky and may not last verrrry long....I don't personally recommend this palette I would have liked to have maybe tried the Lorac pro, but over all it's very nice colors and quite a few options, although the colors are all very similar, so maybe not your sole palette. don't regret it, but will not re purchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 java752002 on 3/23/2014 9:50:00 PM more reviews by java752002

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

love the creaminess of these shadows. would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HGL on 3/19/2014 3:59:00 PM more reviews by HGL

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I just uploaded the ingredient list here for any who are interested. I tried this the other day at Ulta and was about to buy it as part of the 21 days of beauty special ($20, what a steal!) but decided to look up the ingredients and decided against it.

On the upside, the colors are really great and unlike Lorac Pro and most other palettes, does not lean towards the red browns as much. The colors are more neutral, which works better for my skin tone. I was pleasantly surprised by how great the bright orange color ("Fire") looked in the crease. I normally wear only neutrals and would not have expected this to look subtle enough, but it did. I put the gray smudge pot on the lid, which was slightly heavy and dramatic, probably better to use the gray shadow for day and then Fire in the crease and it was a great color combo for blue-green hazel eyes. No fallout. Great blending.

The downside, which caused me to decide against it, is that the shadows contain not only bismuth and aluminum, but also PTFE, better known as Teflon. Now, I know there is no proof it is harmful to humans but the stuff kills birds who inhale it when pans are heated, and anyway, I would just not put that on my eyes. Maybe that is why some reviewers complained of eye irritation? Too weird for me. I'm a natural, organic least toxic kind of gal and just can't get onboard with putting something like that on my eyes on a daily basis.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosateh on 2/10/2014 1:27:00 AM more reviews by rosateh

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am so in love with this palette. This clearly trounced my Christian dior, Chanel, Clarins and Laura Mercier eyeshadows hands down. First of all, it is matte and just perfect for my aging eyelids and the colors are so pigmentated and gives you long lasting wear. I don't have any favorite color and I just love each and every colors equally and the price is so affordable.
I just can't rave and rant about this and this will be the only palette I will bring on my holidays.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Esmerelda55 on 1/29/2014 12:05:00 AM more reviews by Esmerelda55

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this palette 6 months ago and have used it steadily since then. Although I use some of the colors more than others, I've used every color semi-regularly.
Matte shadows! All of them! Woohoo! I have aging eyes, so, although I love those sparkly, shimmering shadows, I can't wear them.
The red one (fire) was what pushed me over the edge to purchase it. What a great color.. who knew?! I put a touch of it below my bottom lashes, just to the outer side of center and it does something very cool to my hazel eyes.
I use the black to go over my liquid liner.. it's just the right black to soften it just the way I like.
But, my most fave is the grey! I do browns on my lid, maybe a little color, then put the grey as on about 1/3 of my bottom lid just below the lashes. It just is very cool looking. There's something about that grey below the browns that gives everything more depth and oomph. Love it!
I don't mind the packaging.. I like it just fine.
I have never used the smudge stick... mine is broken and won't twist up, but I probably wouldn't use it anyway.
My only complaint is that I do find some specks on my cheek after wearing it awhile. Plus, the powder I put on the bottom lash doesn't last. I don't use a primer there, so suspect that may have something to do with that.
I would love, love, love to see them do another all matte palette in some wonderful summer colors. If they do, I'm in all the way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lfrueh on 1/25/2014 1:33:00 PM more reviews by lfrueh

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was disappointed in this palette. The looks are all achievable with 3-4 mattes you can get in almost any brand. It's a lot of shadows for $39, but in practical terms too much for the looks you can get.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scareyj on 12/8/2013 1:31:00 PM more reviews by scareyj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is simply a lovely palette. These shadows are soft and descently pigmented. I'll be 40 in a couple of months and I have realized that matte eyeshadows don't emphasize lid creases as much as shimmery ones. I do still love my shimmery eyeshadows. But, this is a nice, versatile matte palette.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 greenobsession on 11/8/2013 3:43:00 AM more reviews by greenobsession

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Why aren't there more reviews for this?

Anyway. This is the perfect. neutral. matte. palette. ever. I am not kidding. I have been looking a lot into matte palettes before I bought this one - Meet Matt(e) did not appeal to me, Too Faced's Matte Palette looked super dull. I settled on this one. It had such perfect colours for everyday and such earthy tones - in fact, even the names are earthy!

I reach for this more that I reach for my Naked 1. I have just been into matte eye looks lately.

Let me just say that that one orange shade - Fire - is so freaking versatile? You don't even need to use it as an overall lid colour. Add a tiny tiny smidgen of it on a blending brush if you feel like your shadows are too cool or looking a little blah - and I promise you, this shade will brighten and warm up any look instantly. Fire is such a fitting name. It's such a standout shade.

Only downside (not for me though) is that this palette is predominantly very, very neutral except for the orange If you love colour, this is not for you. The colours here are basically shades of white, cream, shades of brown, black, grey and an orange.

Oh. Staying power. I can't comment on it since my eyelids DO NOT FORGIVE ANYTHING! I always wear a combo of UDPP + Soft Ochre paint pot as soon as I found out it stopped the crazy shadow creasing. But these are my lids' fault.

Anyway, if you're looking for an all-matte, neutral, everyday palette - this is it. Look no further.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Eye Shadow products