Stila • In The Know Palette • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 juleta23 on 10/16/2014 2:58:00 PM more reviews by juleta23

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love the colors in this palette so much that I bought a second one to keep in my office. I was looking for some great mattes and I use these colors a lot. My only complaint is that these colors always disappear mid day and I use the Nyx primer underneath which works for me with other brands of eye shadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 debbiedebbiey on 9/11/2014 9:40:00 PM more reviews by debbiedebbiey

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Oh how I love this ! I got it at ulta tonite for $20- 21 days of beauty- how could I not ? The eyeliner alone was worth it- smudge stick are easy to use & don't irritate my watery eyes.
As for the colors- fire & driftwood- well all of them really are unique to my collection. I have another stila palette - in the buff- and over 20 mac pans in a palette & the only 3 that are dupes- are the lightest ones that I go thru like crazy anyways ! I'm 46 and have no issues with these matte colors aging my eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 2cute4freckles on 5/16/2014 9:44:00 PM more reviews by 2cute4freckles

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Normally matte eyeshadow is just plain boring, so I honestly wasn't expecting much when I first looked at this rather un-assuming palate of mostly neutral shades. After falling in love with the Stila in the light palette I decided to give this a try. There really aren't any super can't live with out them shades on this, but I do like that you can get a couple of great looks out of one palette and believe it or not there isn't one color that I don't use. It seems to me that when ever I buy an eyeshadow palette there is always one color that I just don't use, and one color that I use the heck out of and use up first. That is not the case with this one.
I also like that it comes with an eyeliner and generous mirror. Let's face it I'm lazy about my make-up and travel a lot for work I love that I can grab this and go, and it works well for day (meetings) and night (cocktails). Basically I can grab this, my CC cream and mascara and be more or less good to go for whatever.
So in a nut shell great neutrals (though as previously mentioned nothing really special). This palete would be perfect for someone lazy (hey that's me) or someone young that needs a fool proof palette that won't make you look like a clown.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jennigo on 5/7/2014 7:36:00 PM more reviews by jennigo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this palette at the suggestion of a Sephora salesperson and am very impressed by the unique combination of colors and that all the shades are matte. The colors are just different enough from other "natural" palettes. The shades also flatter my green eyes as many have a bit of red (clay and rain are my favorites). Am using matte shadows in order to minimize signs of aging lids. However, the formulation of these eyeshadows looks and feels just a bit too powdery, which emphasizes those aggravating signs of aging lids and somewhat negates my "matte is better for aging lids" strategy. I wish these shadows felt and looked just a bit creamier. I do experience a bit of fallout, as well. Because of this "over-powdery" effect, I probably don't benefit from the full potential of looks achievable from this palate since I'm reluctant to apply too much. Please note, I am applying these to well-moisturized and primed (Urban Decay primer potion) eyelids. The palette is packaged well - attractive, tidy and containing a little instruction booklet to get you started on different looks/combinations. I've always felt Stila offers great value in terms of quality/price, but I would gladly pay a bit more for a matte eyeshadow that doesn't look like I went crazy with the powder-puff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeupjenn on 4/11/2014 1:56:00 PM more reviews by makeupjenn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

before purchasing I searched this palette like crazy and watched videos and really did my research before going to sephora and swatching and eventually purchasing this palette. first off it's a very expensive palette in my opinion (50$ cdn) but I wanted something all matte and neutrals and I'd heard great things about stila eyeshadows. this is not a horrible palette, the colours are very nice being more of pinky/orange based neutrals along with dark browns and greys, although it is a bit chalky and may not last verrrry long....I don't personally recommend this palette I would have liked to have maybe tried the Lorac pro, but over all it's very nice colors and quite a few options, although the colors are all very similar, so maybe not your sole palette. don't regret it, but will not re purchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 java752002 on 3/23/2014 9:50:00 PM more reviews by java752002

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

love the creaminess of these shadows. would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HGL on 3/19/2014 3:59:00 PM more reviews by HGL

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I just uploaded the ingredient list here for any who are interested. I tried this the other day at Ulta and was about to buy it as part of the 21 days of beauty special ($20, what a steal!) but decided to look up the ingredients and decided against it.

On the upside, the colors are really great and unlike Lorac Pro and most other palettes, does not lean towards the red browns as much. The colors are more neutral, which works better for my skin tone. I was pleasantly surprised by how great the bright orange color ("Fire") looked in the crease. I normally wear only neutrals and would not have expected this to look subtle enough, but it did. I put the gray smudge pot on the lid, which was slightly heavy and dramatic, probably better to use the gray shadow for day and then Fire in the crease and it was a great color combo for blue-green hazel eyes. No fallout. Great blending.

The downside, which caused me to decide against it, is that the shadows contain not only bismuth and aluminum, but also PTFE, better known as Teflon. Now, I know there is no proof it is harmful to humans but the stuff kills birds who inhale it when pans are heated, and anyway, I would just not put that on my eyes. Maybe that is why some reviewers complained of eye irritation? Too weird for me. I'm a natural, organic least toxic kind of gal and just can't get onboard with putting something like that on my eyes on a daily basis.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosateh on 2/10/2014 1:27:00 AM more reviews by rosateh

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am so in love with this palette. This clearly trounced my Christian dior, Chanel, Clarins and Laura Mercier eyeshadows hands down. First of all, it is matte and just perfect for my aging eyelids and the colors are so pigmentated and gives you long lasting wear. I don't have any favorite color and I just love each and every colors equally and the price is so affordable.
I just can't rave and rant about this and this will be the only palette I will bring on my holidays.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Esmerelda55 on 1/29/2014 12:05:00 AM more reviews by Esmerelda55

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this palette 6 months ago and have used it steadily since then. Although I use some of the colors more than others, I've used every color semi-regularly.
Matte shadows! All of them! Woohoo! I have aging eyes, so, although I love those sparkly, shimmering shadows, I can't wear them.
The red one (fire) was what pushed me over the edge to purchase it. What a great color.. who knew?! I put a touch of it below my bottom lashes, just to the outer side of center and it does something very cool to my hazel eyes.
I use the black to go over my liquid liner.. it's just the right black to soften it just the way I like.
But, my most fave is the grey! I do browns on my lid, maybe a little color, then put the grey as on about 1/3 of my bottom lid just below the lashes. It just is very cool looking. There's something about that grey below the browns that gives everything more depth and oomph. Love it!
I don't mind the packaging.. I like it just fine.
I have never used the smudge stick... mine is broken and won't twist up, but I probably wouldn't use it anyway.
My only complaint is that I do find some specks on my cheek after wearing it awhile. Plus, the powder I put on the bottom lash doesn't last. I don't use a primer there, so suspect that may have something to do with that.
I would love, love, love to see them do another all matte palette in some wonderful summer colors. If they do, I'm in all the way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lfrueh on 1/25/2014 1:33:00 PM more reviews by lfrueh

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was disappointed in this palette. The looks are all achievable with 3-4 mattes you can get in almost any brand. It's a lot of shadows for $39, but in practical terms too much for the looks you can get.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Eye Shadow products