Pixi • Brilliance Balm • Lips

rated 3.6(13 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* englande on 7/23/2014 10:16:00 AM more reviews by englande

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really wish I would have known about these sooner! I invested in a bunch of the NYX chubby sticks, which are very similar, but I like these Pixi balms better. I got Pretty Pink and really like the color. It is very bold and bright at first, but soon starts to match my skin tone and lips. It really does work with your ph and gives you a flattering color. It doesn't get dry and cakey and seems to last a while. It lasted me through breakfast and drinking coffee all morning. It isn't goopy or sticky. It goes on very smooth and pigmented. I don't have to use a lip liner because it hasn't feathered or smeared on me. Lastly, the slight mint feels very good and soothing. I really like these and will probably buy a couple more shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 7/20/2014 10:15:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have this product in the shade Unique Pink, which actually translates to a clear lip color once worn. Although I like the fact that it is clear, I find this and the packaging to be the only redeeming qualities. This balm fades quickly, I mean in under an hour I need to reapply. It would not be so bad if there were a moisturizing effect or a soothing effect, but I find that this balm does absolutely nothing for my lips. I am not impressed by this, and it is too expensive to do nothing. I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jmistak on 7/19/2014 6:46:00 PM more reviews by jmistak

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I received Pixi Brilliance Lip Balm in Unique Pink in my July 2014 Ipsy bag. When I saw it I was disappointed. It looked like a clear lip balm. I tried it and love the color payoff. This was the shade I hoped for when I purchased Dior Addict Lip Glow. Unique Pink is a perfect pink for fair skin tones. I will definitely purchase this when my sample runs out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OMGURTEEF on 5/15/2014 9:51:00 AM more reviews by OMGURTEEF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I held off on purchasing one of these balms in the past because something about dropping something like $18 at Target sat wrong with me. But they're on sale this week for $11 and change, and I thought what the heck - why not give it a shot?
I picked up the shade Baby Bare, which is a pretty, muted sheer pink.
First off, the color is exactly what I was hoping for. A lot of balm stains are quite bright and super pigmented, not to mention apt to leave behind a nearly fuchsia stain which isn't always what I'm going for in a lip tint. So I was pleased to discover that the light wash of pink that's left behind from this balm is quite natural looking - almost as though my lips are just perfectly pink on their own. When I'm going for a minimal look, I want a light wash of color that will brighten my complexion, not make my lips enter the room before I do. So in that area, these balm sticks knock it out of the park.
I also like that it's not a super glossy finish. It looks like a balm, which is great because it only adds to the natural look.
So far, it feels quite hydrating. The texture is very light - almost weightless, and it doesn't cause my lips to feel flaky or dry, even after a couple hours of wear (which some of the best balm stains of this ilk tend to do).
The packaging is standard to balm stains. It's a twist-up crayon, and the light green color with coppery print is quite girly and sweet.
Price-wise, I thing these out-perform the Tarte balm stains and cost significantly less, so I can't complain. Even at their full price, it's not bad.
I'll likely explore other shades in this line. Maybe the color adapting shade, just to see what it does.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HeatherDiva on 4/6/2014 7:32:00 PM more reviews by HeatherDiva

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

These are Pixi's answer to Clinique Chubby Sticks and other lip crayons on the market. The color I bought, Pretty Pink, was quite heavy and opaque for a tinted balm product. I do like color payoff in my balms but I want them to be buildable so I can choose the intensity. This color is bright Barbie pink right off the bat. I found the formula to be streaky, not smooth. I wasn't impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeccahH on 11/11/2013 5:41:00 PM more reviews by BeccahH

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I got this in Lucent & I love the shimmery rose gold tint. It's sparkle for grown ups & also has a little bit of plumping action to it. This must be what LipFusion was trying to do with their lip liners, but they failed. I can't wait to try more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 starburst1824 on 6/21/2013 10:58:00 AM more reviews by starburst1824

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So I love the finish and texture of these balms but I'm not crazy about the color (orchid petal) or the price! I love how the product is packaged and it does just glide on your lips very smoothly. I would describe the color as a frosted very light bubble gum pink. I definitely would try this product in a different shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saraht2890 on 5/3/2013 3:41:00 PM more reviews by saraht2890

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The Tinted Brilliance Balms from Pixi are one of my favorite products from their line. They are so moisturizing yet are able to leave a stain on your lips all day long! Love this product and will continue to buy this product. Cant wait to try all the shades!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 soppimon on 2/8/2013 8:51:00 AM more reviews by soppimon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great colour range on this balm and perfect for those with dryer lips.
I snatched up the craving coral and rosey red which are absolutely gorgeous.

The best feature about this product is the nourishing and moist feeling it leaves on your lips after applying and i find it much better than lipstick. It also seems to have longer lasting powder compared to lipstick due to the staining factor. I'm one of those girls that cannot wear lipstick because it always dries and cracks my lips and won't even last 1 hour.

This won't stain your lips as well an an actual stain but it will leave a lovely after colour for couple hours.

Some people have previously complained that the colour appears differently than the packaging mainly due to the fact that the balm alters to your personal PH level. This wasn't a problem for me as the colour appeared very similar and only slightly different but nevertheless still very beautiful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sooee on 11/28/2012 9:35:00 PM more reviews by Sooee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The brilliance balm is not drying, so actually works well. I tend to have dry lips, so I still use a chapstick. Also, the color came off stronger than I expected and feels very heavy. I originally wanted an everyday color, and I still will wear this color everyday, but I hate that it is quite obvious I am wearing a lip color... :( But sometimes I think I could have bought a better product for my purpose. I definitely won't be buying it again, especially since the price wasn't worth the outcome. I'll definitely be trying Just Bitten or the Chubby Stick next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pixi products

More Lips products