DDF • Benzoyl Peroxide Gel 5% with Tea Tree Oil • Treatments

rated 4.2(185 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* egilsdottir on 3/3/2014 3:35:00 PM more reviews by egilsdottir

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have sensitive, combination skin that's getting drier as I get older. Occasionally I get a pimple or two and I find myself looking for a spot treatment product like this.

I think this product does and adequate job of drying out pimples. However, I feel like it dries out my skin a bit too much, and causes me to get dry patches that I have to then exfoliate and double up on the moisturizer. Also, for the price ($36 for 2 ounces), I think you can find cheaper spot treatment products with the same amount of Benzoyl Peroxide.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Keiraoswin on 5/30/2013 6:29:00 PM more reviews by Keiraoswin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Game changer! I never had acne in my life till about 21, And just hoped it would go away. Fast forward 3 years, the problem lingers. I came across this on here actually, decided to give it a whirl! At first I panicked over how dry my skin was, but I invested in a really good moisturizer, and within a week my cystic acne was cleared, even my little sweat spots on my forehead went away! As a result I don't need to use heavy duty concealer and thick foundation, I'm almost just happy with a tinted moisturizer and some bronzer. Don't invest in any heavily advertised, celebrity infested 1000 step skin care system. They destroyed my skin, and bank account. Waste of time.
My bedtime routine is now:
Clinique facial soap cleanse
(I also occasionally tone with Aesop facial toner if I'm not being lazy)
DDF peroxide gel
Origins night-a-mins oil free moisturizer.

In the morning I only cleanse.

Definitely recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lexabee on 5/3/2013 12:52:00 AM more reviews by lexabee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This product is seriously amazing. I have very sensitive skin on my face, if i accidentally scratch my face it turns super red, just to give you an idea. So this being 5% bp, i thought there was no way my skin would like it. I was wrong! it cleared up my skin so fast and kept it clear but since i wasnt using a moistuizer because every one ive tried breaks me out, it dried up my skin like a desert so i stopped using it and im going to try to use it less often until i find a good moisturizer. It is worth the price, and if you've tried everything with no luck please try this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jihunnie23 on 12/26/2012 3:46:00 PM more reviews by jihunnie23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

So this basically changed my life. My skin was craterface pizza for a year, with cystic acne getting out of control and multiplying every day. Very worrisome.
.
My skin does not respond well to salicylic acid. It didn't respond to anything, really, and I dumped a bunch of money into skincare. Tried oil cleansing too, Beh. I didn't realize I was a benzoyl girl. A friend recommended this so I bit the bullet and purchased.
.
Worth the investment. This in conjunction with a sensitive, non-abrasive cleanser and strong moisturizer/spf started clearing me up instantly. It was insane. I followed Dan's acne method (pls Google so mua doesn't think I'm advertising!!), which was aimed at minimizing inflammation. He requires you pile on the BP over time, but I've never needed to go that far.
.
The first time you use ANY BP, you WILL experience redness, itchiness and peeling.. fight through it! follow acne.***'s suggestions on method and dosage. the website provides helpful tips and tricks to work with that. Ideally, you should start off very sparse and use it every other day, working up to daily..
.
After my skin adjusted to it, the inflammation around my acne began to subside. When my skin was flat (only badly scarred by then), I got my first pore extraction which unveiled massive clogs (huge plugs probably years old). My aesthetician explained that these plugs prevented bacteria from cleansing, so they would inflame around the site. Benzoyl shrinks the fk out of the things trapped in your pores, so you would still have to get them out so they don't inflame again. After that first extraction, I barely need to go back. My skin has remained clear and the scars have all but faded.
.
This is the first time in my life I have ever, EVER had clear skin. I used DDF every day for the first five months. Now it is wb effective spot treatment.
.
Step 1: gentle, non-abrasive Cleanser with a pH of 5.5 or higher (I used purpose). Light washing for less than 10 seconds. Pat dry.
2) Let skin dry completely. Smooth BP generously and evenly across skin. First time will lead to shitty, itchy skin. I reduced my dosage and usage because skin turned leathery, but others may handle more.
3) good, solid moisturizer with spf of at least 15. I used olay regenerist spf, but have since shifted to Yes to Carrots spf because products with dimethicone ruin your skin over time.
.
I'm sure there are cheaper BPs out there but I'm gonna be loyal to this. I like the consistency, I like the simple packaging, I like how little of it I had to use, and I trust the quality of other ingredients.
.
Don't be deterred by the side effects of BP - that is a given with this product no matter who the carrier is. Not fair to judge based on a given. Power through!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* viennah on 11/24/2012 12:21:00 AM more reviews by viennah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this on and off for a few years, and I'm not certain if I will buy again. I like it, it feels nice and it reduces blemishes, but it's not a miracle worker either. I don't think my skin likes BP, so I may find another product with tea tree oil and see how that works before i give this another try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 michaela1pacalajova on 10/9/2012 3:33:00 PM more reviews by michaela1pacalajova

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this after reading such a amazing reviews, but when I used it I woke up crazy red all over my face! It was also sensitive and almost painful. It took like a week to get my skin back to normal. I just too scared to ever put it on my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 danicaislucky on 9/3/2012 1:45:00 AM more reviews by danicaislucky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product.. I bought it about 3 months ago and I'm just about finished. I like using it as a spot treatment because it does zap the zits practically in a day. I also use it as a facial wash AFTER I've cleaned off all my makeup with a face wash, in which case I use Purpose and I love that. So I use this after and kind of let it sit a few minutes whether I'm in the shower or not, to me I feel like it helps. ( I have OCD :P) And I don't use it everyday, because there isn't all that much and it works just about the same using it every other day or every other two days, no lie. More like keeps the pimples at bay for a while until you use it again, which is a reason why I love this product. I purchased it at Sephora, and I think I'll be looking online in hopes of finding a cheaper place to get it. I know DDF have upped their prices so we will see. I love the BP with tea tree oil.. Very good if you react well to it :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SmallTiki on 5/16/2012 12:45:00 AM more reviews by SmallTiki

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like all of the DDF products I've tried and this one certainly didn't disappoint. My skin has a bad time with BP treatments (easily causes redness and peeling on me), but it's so effective for acne-prone spots I do occasionally have to go back to it. I never had a BP product I actually enjoyed and didn't dread using until I tried this one. I'm not sure what is so different about their formulation or processing of the ingredients, but it really does zap the pimples and clear up oily or clogged areas WITHOUT hurting my skin. It also doesn't smell nearly as bad as some other BP treatments. Pleasant smooth texture, nice packaging as well. The price seems high at first, but you only need a dab or very thin layer, so ultimately it's worth it. I highly recommend trying for all types of stubborn acne.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nico678 on 4/14/2012 10:05:00 AM more reviews by nico678

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've used this for about a month now and nothing has been as effective for my skin in years. I've been scared to write a review thinking I might "jinx" the effectiveness, but I strongly believe in spreading information that may help others. Over the last three years my skin has had stubborn, persistent breakouts with long lasting hyperpigmentation. It hasn't been terrible, just persistent in spite of multiple treatments; over-the-counter and prescription. I was prescribed differin and benzaclin which in combination used to work wonderfully for me but the benzaclin stopped working. I have read all of the reports that 2.5% benzoyl peroxide is just as effective as 10% without the side effects, yeah yeah, but 2.5% for me (again this is anecdotal) was not working. I also get scared of regular use of BP because of dryness (I'm 30 and it can make me look wrinkly). But I was having this awful breakout along my hairline that nothing was helping and going to my derm is a pain. So I started my google searching for some BP product stronger than 2.5% and voila, found this product. Again, at risk of jinxing myself, this product is wonderful. My skin looks better than it has in years, it has helped with the hyperpigmentation, and is controlling oil. I was at the point of blotting my skin all the time and using Dr. brandt pores-no-more to control, but this DDF 5% product has really normalized my skin. I just woke up and looked in the mirror and it keeps improving; I feel younger and look more even everyday. I'm mad I didn't find this sooner. So I still use differin every other night and the ddf 5% every morning and alternate differin nights. I have to use a good moisturizer with BP or I am screwing myself; philosophy's hope in a jar for dry skin in small amounts works outrageously well for me. Hope this continues working and works for anyone who tries it!
*I also want to add that about two months ago I started using Pur Minerals makeup and I think this has also contributed to the betterment of my skin. It's honestly the best, lightest, easy-to-use powder I have ever used.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bleuday on 4/3/2012 9:30:00 AM more reviews by bleuday

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Great product.


Although I am over the 40 mark, I have combination skin, and still break out if I am not scrupulous in my routine, or if I have major hormonal issues (cannot control the latter, they little vermin have a mind of their own).


During either the extremely humid months of the east coast summers, or during those times when my hormones are deciding to make my life miserable, this has become a very good friend.


Years ago, I had to visit the dermatologist for a BP script. Was very expensive, and also very harsh. I then discovered MD Forumlations BP @ 10 percent, which I used for several years. However, as I have gotten older, the 10 percent was proving way too harsh: it was drying my skin too much. I needed less of a workhorse and more of a maintenance manager.


As I've used the DDF Glycolic toner for several years, and my MD Formulations BP was out, I decided to try the DDF 5 percent. I love the way it goes on, has proved to be the answer to my needs.


A lighter BP formulation, it goes on like silk, sinks in instantly, controls the oil, and the tea tree oil controls bacteria effectively during strenuous workouts, all without excessive drying.


Highly recommend, especially for women over 35 who need oil control but are concerned about excessive drying. At one time, this would not have been strong enough for my needs; now, it is the solution to my combo skin issues.


3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DDF products

More Treatments products