Dermalogica Age Smart Skin Perfect Primer

4.0

27 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Titanium Dioxide (4.0%), Zinc Oxide (14.0%). other ingredients: Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Diisopropyl Adipate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Silica, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Hydrolyzed Pearl, Silanetriol, Arginine/Lysine Polypeptide, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Palmitoyl Dipeptide-5 Diaminobutyroyl Hydroxythreonine, Palmitoyl Dipeptide-5 Diaminohydroxybutyrate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Lavandula Spica (Lavander) Flower Oil, Lavandula Hybrida Oil, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Sodium PCA, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Alumina, Stearic Acid, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, PEG/PPG-20/15 Dimethicone, Glycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Tin Oxide (CI 77861), Iron Oxides (CI77491), (CI 77492), (CI 77499)


on 1/21/2015 2:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have such mixed feelings about this primer. I got a sample sized tube but have been using it daily for about a week so I do feel I can adequately review it. It is quite expensive so I'm happy I had a sample because if I had paid for a full size I would probably return it. The texture is pretty thick, it takes awhile to fully blend it onto my skin. It's got a nude tint to it but I don't see any actual color on my face, I also don't really notice the shimmer many other reviewers mentioned. I see it a little bit but only if I really look for it. Due to it's thickness it does a decent job of minimizing my pores and the fine lines on my forehead. But, also due to it's thickness it feels heavy on my skin. I love that it has SPF 30. I hate using separate sunscreen so any product that has SPF is great for me. It also has a fairly strong scent, it's not unpleasant but if you are sensitive to fragrances you might not like it. I don't get too shiny with this and it does help my foundation stay put throughout the day. Sounds pretty good, right? So why don't I love it? It all comes back to the thick, heavy texture. I can feel it on my face, all day long. I use it under a powder foundation and my skin feels slightly sticky to the touch. It's almost like this just never quite sets on my skin. It never quite blends in, it just sits on top. Despite the many pros I can't get over how it makes my skin feel, my face can't "breathe" with this stuff over it. I won't be buying a full size of this one.



on 1/17/2015 9:34:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Adds a greasy sparkly irredesence . No pore minimising. Too bad Clinique discontinued their excellent primer.
Packaging is a $48 USD tube. An expensive experiment for me to attempt to replace Clinique"s poreminimiser


on 1/2/2015 3:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this! The color is great and it has a nice luminous effect on my skin. The price is steep for the tiny tube, but to me it's worth it. The smell is...funky, but it goes away very quickly.


on 12/26/2014 9:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Yeah I has a funky smell but I really like how big lights on. I can explain why like this but I do


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Admittedly I didnít like this the first few times I used it; Iím not sure why, but I REALLY like it now. This product truly provides a nice finish/glow to the skin and helps minimize my pores. I use a moisturizer first, then apply the primer. It truly creates a nice canvas in which to apply foundation, and although tinted, it doesnít make my skin orange or discolored. I usually canít use silicone based makeup, but like other reviews, this product hasnít made my face break out thus far, but everyoneís skin is different of course. Iíll probably purchase this product again and definitely recommend it.


on 11/30/2014 8:27:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Horrible. Clay like finish and weird smell. Worst primer I've hag

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/15/2014 5:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use this on my no make up days after cleansing and toning. Smooths and evens out skin tone with a soft semi matte finish. I haven't tried this under my mineral powder...I prefer to prime with pure aloe...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/14/2014 9:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I tried several primers because I wanted my makeup to last on my wedding day. Most of the silicony primers made my acne prone, oily skin break out, so honestly NOTHING was good at controlling oiliness, making my makeup last 12+ hours and did NOT make me break out. I couldn't get a sample of this Dermalogica primer so I just had to be brave and order it online with the crazy price tag! Well, I'm glad I did cos this was the ONLY primer that fulfilled all that I needed! It controls my oily t-zone, makes my makeup stay in place 12+ hours (if needed) and does not break me out. Highly recommend this if "normal" silicone based primers do not work for you or make you break out. I read somewhere that the silicones in this particular primer are somewhat different and should not make you break out, which I noticed is 100% true.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/9/2014 7:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this product! I put it on and my skin looks great, I almost feel I could just wear it out instead of foundation!
I also think it helps my makeup go on smoothly and last much longer.
I didn't buy it myself, so I can't comment on the price, although knowing dermalogica, I'm sure it costs a pretty penny! I will buy it regardless because it's the best primer I've used so far and you only need a tiny bit!
I would recommend trying this for sure :)


on 9/22/2014 3:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I received a sample of this in my livbox. I was initially a bit skeptical due to the anti-ageing agents and SPF, I thought it was going to end up really oily on my T-zone. But after reading the reviews here, I finally dared to wear it alone without my body shop tea tree lotion or clarins beauty flash balm as an oil absorber. And the dare worked pretty well during my 8 hours of shift today. The consistency was quite thick, matched my skin tone perfectly. A little goes a long way and it spreaded out velvety. I didnt apply my compact powder until 3 hours after application just on the T-zone.

But 5 hours after application, the foundations on my cheeks started flaking up and gets really patchy, nothing could hide that, not even the compact powder. I guess tomorrow I will try to moisturize on the dryer parts of my skin and use it alone without moisturizer on the T-zone.

It was also hard to take off by the end of the day. Have to add cleansing milk again to an extra part of the routine :)


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top