Stila • In the Garden Palette • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 elli0711 on 1/1/2014 9:43:00 PM more reviews by elli0711

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I recently purchased this palette on Sephora's website as it was on sale. I am so happy I went with this purchase! The palette has wonderful colours with good pigmentation and the pencil that is included with the palette is a great addition. I just wish that they sold it separately so I will have to use it sparingly. I use the two matte colours as highlighters and the rest of the shades you can wear alone or mix it up to create different looks. I still have to try all the different colours but in time I'm sure I will have the chance to test them all out. The case works for me as I leave my palettes at home but I'm sure that it will be easy to travel with if needed. I would definitely buy this palette again hopefully on sale again as I love deals :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 7/18/2013 6:55:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

So, here's the story. I have maybe half a dozen Stila shadows that I love. They make great eye shadow. But I really wasn't interested in the palettes UNTIL I saw In the Garden featured on a beauty blog and suddenly, I needed to check it out. I swatched all the colours I really liked and then headed home to compare them to my pretty extensive stash, figuring I'd have dupes for them all. WRONG! So a few days later, back to the store I went and came home clutching this beautiful assortment of neutrals (and a wee pop of colour).

I am CRAZY IN LOVE this palette (and for an old dame like me to be talking this way says a lot). Initially, I got it specifically for the shades Bark, Sage and Moss but every single colour in this palette (with the exception of Rosette) is a colour I wear (and though I've only had this for 4 days, I've worn a different colour combination every day and so have tried all the other shadows at least once). Juniper, which looks a bit too "spruce green" in the palette, looks so much prettier and more subtle on the lid - the colour becomes far more flattering (still intense but less harsh looking). Chinois is a perfect matte highlight or lid shade or an all-over base for neutralizing any lid discolourations. Breeze is a great lid colour and looks fantastic worn all on its own for a quick and easy look. To my surprise, Nectar works well for me too. The 3 shades I loved initially are every bit as wonderful as they seemed when I first swatched them. The twist up liner pencil in the colour Starfish is also gorgeous. The only downside is that it's not available individually so I think I'll have to be careful not to waste it (it says put very well and doesn't need sharpening - BONUS). The instruction booklet included is a REALLY nice addition (I know UD has done this recently with one of their palettes also and I think it's a great idea). The palette is well put together and although I'm not a huge fan of cardboard, this seems less "cardboard-y" than some other palettes I have. Indeed, a mirror would have been a nice addition bit it's not a deal-breaker.

SO....the long and short of it is that this is a FABULOUS palette - great colours put together in a very co-ordinated way and great quality and value - in Canada, this is an annoying $50 (as compared to $39 US) but even so, 10 great shadows (well, 9 if you don't count Rosette) and a terrific eye lining pencil for 50 bucks is still a good value.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KarinaRose12 on 5/4/2013 5:31:00 PM more reviews by KarinaRose12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this palette it is perfect for spring and transitioning into summer

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 madcancer7 on 4/12/2013 3:29:00 PM more reviews by madcancer7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

Only 4 reviews? This palette deserves better. I got this as a Christmas gift from a friend and have been using it regularly. The colours are very wearable even though they are not neutral and work appropriate giving my eyes that pop of colour. I love all the colours in the palette but my favourite has to be chinosis, nectar, moss and Jupiter. Chinosis and nectar are the best highlight I have used better than MAC shroom or rice paper they are very buttery and highlight wonderfully. Moss and Jupiter makes very good liner colours. I also love that it comes with a look book with examples on how to create eye looks with the palette. I have tried some of the looks and gotten many compliments. Great for beginners who need help with makeup!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 12/5/2012 12:35:00 PM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This was one of the worst palettes I've ever purchased. The shadows look beautiful in the pan and even swatched heavily, but on the eyes, they are sheer and fade away to nothingness in a matter of a few hours (and yes, I wear primer). The eyeliner pencil that I got with my palette broke upon first use (couldn't twist up anymore). I wanted to love this but it was just a big, fat NO for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dwautier on 12/4/2012 11:20:00 PM more reviews by dwautier

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Good colour selection and minimal fall out. The packaging is kinda crappy but it is very compact which is nice. All the colours work on my NW15 complexion & blue eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Judeanna on 10/18/2012 2:14:00 PM more reviews by Judeanna

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a fair, warm skin toned blonde with eyes that are a combo of blue, green and gold. The colors in this palette are very flattering to my eye color,. If you have similar coloring I think this would work for you. I also think fair, green-eyed redheads could easily wear these colors, as well as women with hazel eyes.

The previous reviewer gave a good description of the individual colors in the palette.

I like that they included two colors in the palette that contrast with the four muted greens -- the Rosette and the Freesia (violet)color. The Juniper shade is a great liner. The two pale mattes, Chinois and Nectar, are excellent base shadows.

Also included is a smudge stick pencil liner in Starfish, a muted mossy green with subtle gold shimmer.

The quality of the shadows is excellent with a soft texture, blends easily and very true to tone over a primer.

The palette comes with a little booklet that shows six different eye shadow combinations from understated to glamorous.

It comes in a hard cardboard type container. Some people prefer a plastic container, but I like this because it's fairly light weight if I want to carry it in my bag.

Overall I think this is a very good quality palette and reasonably priced as compared to similar high-end palettes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jellyblob on 8/23/2012 1:06:00 PM more reviews by Jellyblob

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

In the Garden is one of the four "IN THE..." palettes released by Stila. I have In the Light and will be receiving In the Know from Sephora any day now (I ordered it a couple of days ago - will review it once I've tried it out a bit). In the Garden consists of the following eyeshadows (I copied it from the website because I transferred my eyeshadows to a YABY freestyle palette and tossed the cardboard box).


•Chinois - matte creamy white
•Breeze - shimmery beige
•Bark - shimmery taupe
•Freesia - shimmery violet blue
•Rosette - metallic pink violet
•Nectar - matte creamy beige
•Honey - metallic bronze gold
•Sage - shimmery translucent green
•Moss - dark olive green with shimmer
•Juniper - deep shimmery forest green
Palette also includes an exclusive Smudge Stick shade in Starfish (black with gold)


The colors are really buttery and pigmented. One swipe with your finger and the color you get on your tip is the color you see in the pan. On me, they last for about 8 hours with primer and less without. The two mattes are the lightest shades so they are great for highlighting under the brows or to accent any part of the eyes.


Even though four out of the ten colours lean green, they are very wearable and flattering because they tonal greens - imagine taupe or beige with a tint of green. Even the deepest green looks like a greener version of teal. There isn't a single eyeshadow with glitter in it. The smudgestick does have some but it is not very visible. The palette retails for $39 but Skinstore is selling it at 30% off right now! (I got mine at 20% off).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Stila products

More Eye Shadow products