Anastasia Of Beverly Hills • Lash Genius Waterproof Topcoat • Mascara

rated 3.6(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 PrincessOddPie on 7/5/2014 11:06:00 AM more reviews by PrincessOddPie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have a couple of mascaras (tarte smart amazonian clay, lancome hypnose drama) that I absolutely love but just can't wear because they aren't waterproof. I searched for a while for a mascara that would offer the kind of volume I desired but that was waterproof. So imagine how excited I was to find this. I read on all the reviews I could find and then purchased from Ulta for $22 bucks.

The packaging is nice; very sleek and professional looking. I tried three different ways of applying it. One was to let my mascara dry and then apply Genius. Another was to wait a few seconds and then apply Genius. And the last way was to apply Genius with no dry time at all. I did this for both my tarte and lancome, and unfortunately, my mascara still smudged. Maybe there are particular combinations that work well for this, or maybe I didn't use the right technique, but I was so sad that it didn't work for me. My search continues :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ginaxav on 5/6/2014 10:34:00 AM more reviews by ginaxav

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've never really thought about using a topcoat on my mascara but came across a sample of it a few months ago. I hoard samples so I have no idea where or when I go it. After I found it I had the worst week of my life. On my son's birthday I found out about my husband's girlfriend, and then a few weeks later went to see Lone Survivor (as a military wife and daughter I know I should avoid these types of movies, but I wanted to see it). Needless to say I probably cried my body weight in water that week, and none of my mascaras so much as smudged despite none of them being waterproof. I've used it over Smashbox, Benefit, NYX, and MAC mascaras. I will rebuy this as often as I need to and I bought a 2nd one to keep in my purse quick touch up kit just in case.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MbMinx on 4/25/2014 8:38:00 AM more reviews by MbMinx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My father died Last January. I was devastated, but I was also practical. With the viewing and the funeral and all the social obligations, I knew I was going to need the most waterproof mascara I could get my hands on. This was recommended to me by a friend, and it is the BEST. It stood up to hours of crying and eye-wiping without a smudge or a flake.

It's a clear-ish top coat that waterproofs and seals, making whatever mascara you like virtually impenetrable. With this product, mascara does not budge until you decide you want to take it off. It came off easily with my cleansing oil.

This product isn't cheap, but I only needed one good coat to seal my regular mascara. I don't know if I'd use it every day, but it's an absolute must for special events or family tragedies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 maye8384 on 4/5/2014 9:19:00 PM more reviews by maye8384

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this product because I had heard great things about it on YouTube, but I was disappointed. I have long, straight, blonde eyelashes and I have fairly long lower lashes as well, which I like to apply mascara to. I was hoping that using this mascara topcoat (which claims to waterproof) that I would stop having mascara transfer under my eyes from my lower lashes. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case. I found absolutely no difference with this product. I did like the fact that you could layer it over your mascara and it wouldn’t change the look of it – no clumping up the lashes or sticking them together! Because of the high price tag, I returned this product to Sephora, and I wouldn’t recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 incognito on 2/17/2014 6:57:00 PM more reviews by incognito

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I applied it over my regular non-waterproof mascara. Later in the day I jumped in the shower and even though I didn't put my face in the water, it still got a bit wet. I wasn't worried though because I thought my mascara was waterproofed. Imagine my surprise when I looked in the mirror after my shower and saw big black smudges under my eyes. Total fail! And such a disappointment because the concept really is genius (haha). UPDATE: I saw on Sephora's site that some people are using this as a pre-mascara lash primer. I tried this and wasn't impressed. It made my lashes really spiky and crunchy. And all the comments about it making your black mascara look a bit grey are sadly true.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thirdeye32 on 12/8/2013 2:13:00 PM more reviews by thirdeye32

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This came as a sample in my Sephora order and I'm so glad it did. I dislike it for the intended purpose of a mascara waterproof topcoat. I'd use it that way if I felt my mascara application of a non-waterproof looked amazing and I knew it would be in the rain or snow. I have a lot of waterproof mascaras I like so its not a mascara necessity for me.

I love love love this for my eyebrows. This is the exact some product that comes in the Brow Genius Kit just with a mascara wand instead of the spatula type thing. So if you have a HG brow powder color but would like to make it stay bulletproof, this it the product. I was going to buy the Brow Genius kit but was unsure which color would be best. I have a lot of brow products I already know the color works so I just compared the ingredients and realized I already had the product I was buying the kit for. The Brow Genius Kit is $24 and the full size waterproof topcoat is $21. The full size topcoat is .19 oz and my sample is .11 oz, and I'd say I'm going to get a good amount of use...at least six months.

This really make for a waterproof, rub proof eyebrow. There is a learning curve to see how much brow powder to mix to get a good application, it tends to darken my colors just a tiny but more than other products. It also dries fast once the powder is added to it so I just but some on the back of my hand keep it as its own pile and dip and add color and mix it on a different part of my hand as I go.

Cut to the chase: If you have a brow powder you like but want to make it bulletproof, just buy this instead of the whole Brow Genius kit. Its just $3 less than the whole kit, but if you don't want another powder to lay around and it looks like there is more product than what comes in the kit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 musiqphile on 10/29/2013 4:35:00 PM more reviews by musiqphile

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my holy grail items and I don't have many. I love everything about it except the price. It's $28CAD or $21USD which is definitely in the higher price range of all the items in my kit. But wow does it perform. Lash Genius is a cloudy/clear formula in a sleek black tube with a decent brush similar to the Hypnose Waterproof spooly. You apply mascara as usual, let dry, then brush this over top and you're good to go for the rest of a long, long day. No extra combing or fussing needed, you are now smudgeproof, waterproof, oily lids-proof, sweatproof...you name it. It doesn't add to or take anything away from your existing mascara so no clumping, drooping, lengthening, or volumising. It simply bombproofs what you already have on and does so indetectably. Lashes are left maybe a little stiffer than before but it's not a complaint for me. I have super oily lids that causes any mascara except Hypnose Waterproof to smudge but Lash Genius prevents this from happening, which means I get to wear any mascara I want, even the ones that otherwise wouldn't last more than a couple hours. A splurge item and addictive but well worth it, especially during humid days or allergy season.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saspants on 7/12/2013 2:15:00 AM more reviews by Saspants

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely love this product. It is ingenious and I wish I had found it years ago and saved myself the headache of looking for some non-existent perfect waterproof mascara!

What it is: a clear top coat that seals any mascara thus making them all waterproof. I especially love this since I have been doing a retro bombshell eye here lately where I take nude color eyeshadows and heavy black eyeliner on the top eyelid only. I curl my lashes and then apply two coats of Tarte eyelash primer (another HG product that I will not live without) to my top lashes only and then 2-3 coats of whatever mascara I am using at the time. Again, only applying to my top lashes. I take a spoolie or lash comb and just make sure there are no clumps then I apply 1-2 coats of lash genius on both my top and bottom lashes. I do not use mascara on my lower lashes but the lash genius does magnify my natural lashes so that you can see them but keeps them natural looking.

There have been mornings in which I have hurried and forgot to apply Lash Genius and within hours I have the raccoon thing going on and look hideous. This stuff works! It is so much easier to remove on top of regular mascara than any waterproof mascara on the market. I highly recommend and have repurchased numerous times.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 finnybite on 4/26/2013 7:43:00 PM more reviews by finnybite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am not sure what to say about this product. I think it does a pretty good job of waterproofing my mascara, though I have never tried swimming with it on or anything. It doesn't weigh down the curl on my asian lashes (normally I have to buy waterproof formulas to hold a curl and ward off under-eye smudges). BUT... it makes my lashes look gray! Since I have black hair, I always go with the blackest mascara possible and a coat of this over my lashes always makes them look a little ashy. I don't think I will buy it again, but I will say that I like using it on my lower lashes because that is where I experience the most smudging and the slight gray cast doesn't bother me as much on the lower lashes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xtinahb on 3/1/2013 11:12:00 AM more reviews by xtinahb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this. This is an absolute Top 5 I can never be without product. It 100% delivers on converting smeary, wet mascaras into absolute smudgefree formulas with all day (12-14 hour) endurance. I am actually mad I threw away so many mascaras before I discovered this. As a monolid, small-eyed Asian woman, I am plagued with raccoon eyes except for tubular mascaras. I was so envious of people who could wear L'oreal Voluminous or Diorshow since they just run down my face. No more! I literally top any mascara with this (currently Maybelline Plushies or Nars Volumizing) and it renders these formerly smudgey messes into longwearing beauties. HIGHLY recommend!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Anastasia Of Beverly Hills products

More Mascara products