Anastasia Of Beverly Hills Lash Genius Waterproof Topcoat

3.7

22 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

0.19 oz -Jellified Triglycerides: Provide a creamy, lightweight texture. -Silicone Resin: Provides long lasting hold and a waterproof film. -High Melting Point Wax: Provides high definition and lasting effects. Isododecane, Polyethylene, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Synthetic Wax, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Propylene Carbonate, Gossypium Herbaceum (Cotton) Seed Oil, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butylhydroxyhydrocinnamate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol.


on 2/17/2015 11:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I couldn't believe that I'd found this product - for the first few weeks of using it anyway! My mascara didn't end up under my bottom lashes on my face. It worked absolutely wonderfully! I always waited until my mascara was dry before putting the gel on, but stil wondered about product transfer to the brush. The inevitable has happened - now the gel is coming out a dark grey colour; I put it on my lashes and within 20 minutes I have mascara on my face again. I've started wiping the brush off after each time I put it anywhere near my lashes, but the gel is still coming out dark grey so it's now too late to do anything about the problem with the one I'm using. I will purchase another one and make sure that I wipe it each and every time before inserting the brush / wand back into the gel to help alleviate this problem. Has anyone else had this problem? Any tricks to stop this from happening?



Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

LOVE that they made a waterproof topcoat so you can still wear regular mascara underneath and just put on the waterproof when you need it. A must for sure.


on 1/30/2015 4:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've repurchase this over and over again. Unlike the name of what this product says "top coat" I use this as a base. It holds the curl after curling my lashes with my shu uemera curler on my otherwise super straight downward pointing lashes when I use this as a base. When I use other mascaras all the work I did to curl my lash sadly goes away because those masacaras don't hold my curl. If you have super straight lashes and my problem you will understand what I'm talking about. If you don't have my issue then I doubt you need this product. I haven't found anything the holds my curl this well yet which is why I continue to repurchase. It's pricey but since it works for me I keep going back. I try to catch it on 20% off with Sephora or Ulta.


on 10/25/2014 1:13:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Hmmm....I'm in a love/hate relationship with this. It works with some of my mascaras, but not with others. One of my favorite mascaras is Laura Gellar's Glam Lash, but it smudges on my brow. So I put the Anastasia Genius on top and it still smudges. I put it on both sides of my top lashes and it still smudges. For the record, I have very oily eyelids, so a lot of mascaras and some waterproof mascaras will smudge on me. I don't know what I'm going to do because I love LG's Glam Lash and have to find something that really works. Like I said, on some mascara's it does work like PTR's, which I also like, but prefer LG's.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have a couple of mascaras (tarte smart amazonian clay, lancome hypnose drama) that I absolutely love but just can't wear because they aren't waterproof. I searched for a while for a mascara that would offer the kind of volume I desired but that was waterproof. So imagine how excited I was to find this. I read on all the reviews I could find and then purchased from Ulta for $22 bucks.

The packaging is nice; very sleek and professional looking. I tried three different ways of applying it. One was to let my mascara dry and then apply Genius. Another was to wait a few seconds and then apply Genius. And the last way was to apply Genius with no dry time at all. I did this for both my tarte and lancome, and unfortunately, my mascara still smudged. Maybe there are particular combinations that work well for this, or maybe I didn't use the right technique, but I was so sad that it didn't work for me. My search continues :(


on 5/6/2014 10:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I've never really thought about using a topcoat on my mascara but came across a sample of it a few months ago. I hoard samples so I have no idea where or when I go it. After I found it I had the worst week of my life. On my son's birthday I found out about my husband's girlfriend, and then a few weeks later went to see Lone Survivor (as a military wife and daughter I know I should avoid these types of movies, but I wanted to see it). Needless to say I probably cried my body weight in water that week, and none of my mascaras so much as smudged despite none of them being waterproof. I've used it over Smashbox, Benefit, NYX, and MAC mascaras. I will rebuy this as often as I need to and I bought a 2nd one to keep in my purse quick touch up kit just in case.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/25/2014 8:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

My father died Last January. I was devastated, but I was also practical. With the viewing and the funeral and all the social obligations, I knew I was going to need the most waterproof mascara I could get my hands on. This was recommended to me by a friend, and it is the BEST. It stood up to hours of crying and eye-wiping without a smudge or a flake.

It's a clear-ish top coat that waterproofs and seals, making whatever mascara you like virtually impenetrable. With this product, mascara does not budge until you decide you want to take it off. It came off easily with my cleansing oil.

This product isn't cheap, but I only needed one good coat to seal my regular mascara. I don't know if I'd use it every day, but it's an absolute must for special events or family tragedies.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2014 9:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I purchased this product because I had heard great things about it on YouTube, but I was disappointed. I have long, straight, blonde eyelashes and I have fairly long lower lashes as well, which I like to apply mascara to. I was hoping that using this mascara topcoat (which claims to waterproof) that I would stop having mascara transfer under my eyes from my lower lashes. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case. I found absolutely no difference with this product. I did like the fact that you could layer it over your mascara and it wouldn’t change the look of it – no clumping up the lashes or sticking them together! Because of the high price tag, I returned this product to Sephora, and I wouldn’t recommend it.


on 2/17/2014 6:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I applied it over my regular non-waterproof mascara. Later in the day I jumped in the shower and even though I didn't put my face in the water, it still got a bit wet. I wasn't worried though because I thought my mascara was waterproofed. Imagine my surprise when I looked in the mirror after my shower and saw big black smudges under my eyes. Total fail! And such a disappointment because the concept really is genius (haha). UPDATE: I saw on Sephora's site that some people are using this as a pre-mascara lash primer. I tried this and wasn't impressed. It made my lashes really spiky and crunchy. And all the comments about it making your black mascara look a bit grey are sadly true.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2013 2:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This came as a sample in my Sephora order and I'm so glad it did. I dislike it for the intended purpose of a mascara waterproof topcoat. I'd use it that way if I felt my mascara application of a non-waterproof looked amazing and I knew it would be in the rain or snow. I have a lot of waterproof mascaras I like so its not a mascara necessity for me.

I love love love this for my eyebrows. This is the exact some product that comes in the Brow Genius Kit just with a mascara wand instead of the spatula type thing. So if you have a HG brow powder color but would like to make it stay bulletproof, this it the product. I was going to buy the Brow Genius kit but was unsure which color would be best. I have a lot of brow products I already know the color works so I just compared the ingredients and realized I already had the product I was buying the kit for. The Brow Genius Kit is $24 and the full size waterproof topcoat is $21. The full size topcoat is .19 oz and my sample is .11 oz, and I'd say I'm going to get a good amount of use...at least six months.

This really make for a waterproof, rub proof eyebrow. There is a learning curve to see how much brow powder to mix to get a good application, it tends to darken my colors just a tiny but more than other products. It also dries fast once the powder is added to it so I just but some on the back of my hand keep it as its own pile and dip and add color and mix it on a different part of my hand as I go.

Cut to the chase: If you have a brow powder you like but want to make it bulletproof, just buy this instead of the whole Brow Genius kit. Its just $3 less than the whole kit, but if you don't want another powder to lay around and it looks like there is more product than what comes in the kit.




Top Rated Anastasia Of Beverly Hills Products

image

Brow Powder Duo

257 reviews
Back to Top