E.L.F. Tone Correcting Powder

4.2

69 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mica, Talc, Magnesium Myristate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Nylon-12, Titanium Dioxide, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Silica, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Boron Nitride.


on 5/19/2015 2:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

(This is a review on the cool-toned powder as I have not tried the warm one.)

I keep buying this powder again and again. The quality is amazing and it's super cheap. I use all of the colors swirled together to set my face makeup and I love it. I feel like I look brighter and more alive when I wear it and my overall skin tone appears more even. The powder itself is finely milled which makes my skin look flawless. It smooths over my imperfections (especially large pores) and leaves an airbrushed look. I've used it on it's own for a long time, but I recently have started using a setting spray and now it's even better.

Something to keep in mind is that though it's not a very pigmented powder, it can sometimes give a white cast or chalky look when applied all over. This is no problem for me, as I'm ghostly white, but it might be better to use the colors individually if you aren't so fair. The setting spray really helps cut down on the white cast.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this when I was unsuccessfully looking for the NYX color correcting palette, and I'm pretty pleased with the results. I originally wanted an affordable color corrector to deal with redness on my nose (my nose is pretty big so I get uneven sun!) and under eye circles.

The website states the colors should be blended together, but I think it makes more sense to use individual colors on areas you want to correct. I apply my concealer and foundation, then use a concealer brush to set problem areas with one or two colors of powder. The yellow tone worked great for my purple under eye darkness. My eyes have never looked so bright. The green still left me with some noticeable redness, but it was a definite improvement.

Overall, I was able to get much better results with less product. I didn't have to build up concealer like I normally do, which is the biggest benefit for me because I prefer very light facial coverage. While this wasn't a problem under my eyes, the powder was slightly more chalky than I prefer for my nose.


on 4/4/2015 8:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This is a decent setting powder, but it doesn't do what it's supposed to. I like the fact that it doesn't look valet or chalky, and it does help to set my foundation, but it does absolutely nothing in terms of color correction. Will not repurchase.


on 3/10/2015 2:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I use this everyday and I it really is nice I use the yellow shade to set my under eyes and on days that I'm looking extra shiny I use it on my whole face and it does leave a a white powdery layer on top but I use the elf setting spray and the powderyness goes away


on 1/27/2015 8:57:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Overall I found this product quite nice. I applied it with a bare minerals brush all over my face and found that it makes pores look smaller and I was told that it made my face look airbrushed (in a good way) and if I didn't point out that I was wearing makeup no one noticed. It kinda reduces redness, not fully but it does a pretty good job of hiding it. I have pretty light skin so it worked good for me in the shade cool. The only thing I have against it is like many powders, it's drying. I bought mine at target but since target is closing I will have to stock up because I haven't seen elf products anywhere else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2015 2:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like the concept of this, but this was a disappointment. It didn't correct any tone (I have some redness and some dark circles, both mostly allergy/sinus related), but this really just came out looking white and chalky. When blended in (to eliminate some of the chalky effect), it still cast a bit of a palor and still didn't correct tone.

For the price, it's probably worth trying. I don't regret buying it but won't repurchase and probably won't finish the one I have.

The packaging is very nice and almost reminds me of MAC or Nars.


on 12/30/2014 11:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have fair skin with mild rosacea and I really like this powder for reducing redness. I use the E.L.F. tone correcting green primer (which does not do much on its own), then blend a layer of this powder all over my face, then finish with medium-coverage foundation and sometimes a second layer of this powder to set. Used in this way it significantly reduces my redness versus primer and foundation alone. It does not make my skin flawless, but it is the best tone-correcting product I've tried. Definitely worth the $3.


on 12/5/2014 10:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

its very white even when you mix the yellow, blue, green, and pink together but using a good blending face brush will do the job. studio line $3 tax $3.25


on 11/11/2014 7:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I was very skeptical of this product at first simply because I thought the cheap price would indicate it would be a poor product. I gave the product a try it surprisingly exceeded my expectations.

color: I do about one swirl of the elf powder and it hasn't given me any white cast or ashy look. My skin tone is around nc25-30. I have olive tones and most of my foundations tend to have some pink or super beige base in it (haven't found a hg foundation). When I use the powder over the foundation, I noticed my "foundationed" skin tone looking better - less pink, more neutralized and evened out. If my foundation ends up making me look more grey or ashy, this elf powder seems to make me look less washed out and bring out my skin color more afterwards. So yeah, no cast with this powder-- looks translucent but gives a neutralizing color correcting effect on me= good.

Oil control - I don't have much experience using a lot of powders, but I do know that this powder does not make me more oiler. It does give some oil control and my makeup does not feel slippery.

Packaging: I like how the packaging is simple, thin, black, and it comes with a mirror. The amount of product is good.

Price: great value price.

Overall: would buy again. Great price. Nice packaging. I like how the powder serves two purposes for me - oil control and color corrector. I feel like it does have some contribution in neutralizing the off colored foundation on me - but for me, it is a desired effect and doesn't make me look worse.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2014 9:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this powder. It is an excellent setting powder. It truly finishes my makeup with an airbrushed effect. I have bought many of these. I even carry one in my bag. My only caution is to be light while swirling in the pan. It sometimes can deposit the color... which is easy to remedy. I swirl the whole things and sometimes I feel like I can see the blue. At this price, give it a try. It works great on my summer medium and winter light/fair skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top