NYX • Bohemian Chic • Palettes

rated 4.2(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 fesherton on 3/5/2014 3:14:00 PM more reviews by fesherton

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I do like this palette very much and I'm surprised I don't read more mention of it! I give it 4 lippies to leave room to fairly rate other even better matte palettes like the awesome "Stila In the Know" and the top row of the "Lorac Pro" palette.

There are all neutral colors on top then some more adventurous shades in the drawer. All are in matte finish. It is true that it is a little bit powdery. However, I always use a primer and/or cream base so it is not a problem. The colors adhere very nicely, blend smoothly, and last pretty much all day.

It is not strongly pigmented, but I actually I do like that about it. I am fair skinned and it shows nicely on my skin tone. I agree with the other reviewers that ultra pigmented shadows can be unforgiving if you make a mistake (i.e. Lorac Pro)

I use the darker bolder eyeshadow from the bottom tray instead of or on top of eyeliner.

Extra bonus is that the blushes are also lovely.

This is a good-sized kit that travels well too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Catsmeow2324 on 8/21/2013 8:23:00 AM more reviews by Catsmeow2324

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this palette!!! I mostly buy high end products but now I only reach for this palette! These are perfect natural shades and both blushes are incredibly pigmented and apply very nicely. I love how this palette also has some purple and blue colors to experiment with. This is the perfect palette for all ages!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rhdran on 6/15/2013 12:43:00 AM more reviews by rhdran

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

OMG I signed up just to write review of this great product! I have medium Indian olive skin and the colours are a perfect matt for daytime. The blushes are too light and too pink for me but I have my own shades, so I don't use them much. I absolutely love it and I hope it doesn't go out of stock, because as soon as this one's over I'm going to pick up another one!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 susan1326 on 11/6/2012 9:31:00 PM more reviews by susan1326

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my treasure trove of matte shadows for my maturing eyelids. I agree with others that they may not be highly pigmented, but that allows for careful buildup instead of time spent fixing a mistake with an intensely pigmented shadow. The shadows give a soft focus to the eyes, and there are so many to choose from, plus the two blushes, that this could be my only travel palette packed for a trip. Amazed to find so many matte shadows in one collection at such a reasonable price.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MadHattress on 10/23/2012 1:36:00 PM more reviews by MadHattress

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I adore this palette for the same reasons mentionned by Stephani in the previous comment. She said things better than I could myself, in fact I love that the eyeshadows in this palette are not very pigmented, it helps me build my look up instead of having a hard time blending harsh overpowering ultra-pigmented matte eyeshadows. The lack of pigmentation makes this palette soft enough for a variety of natural looks, but the fact that the eyeshadows are matte gives defined and sultry eyes.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 10/9/2012 5:56:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I understand the "bad" reviews about the pigmentation of this set being a bit lacking for some but for me, that's exactly why I like it. I needed more matte options for daytime and could never find a set with just those, until this came out. The other nice thing is that there are no lipglosses or lipsticks in this, which I never use anyway, and they just get murky from e/s fallout anyway. THey have a couple blushes in there instead, also mattes. The e/s don't give a ton of pigment payoff , but for me mattes are harder to blend, esp over primer, so not having to worry about overdoing it was a blessing in disguise as it turned out. Once on, they stay just fine for me over a primer and also work well when wet, if you want to really darken them up. Pretty good shade variety for a neutral palette, although a few look so simliar to my eye which is my only reason this doesn't get a five. For the price I paid, the size, options and portability it offers, I like it and would repurchase.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pelini on 9/19/2012 12:10:00 AM more reviews by pelini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Edit: I originally gave this a good review after swatching the colors on my hand but changed my mind about it I after actually trying to wear it. I have medium-olive skin. Even the darkest shades didn't show up on my skin, despite trying them on with two different primers (NYX and Too Faced) and lots and lots of layering. Also, the colors flake A LOT when you go on there with a brush. The blushes are pretty, but also don't show up well. I have another NYX palette (Nude on Nude) and that too suffers from similar problems. Neither palette is comparable in quality to NYX trios. It is a shame because this palette has especially beautiful colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimpleNSexy on 9/3/2012 2:26:00 PM more reviews by SimpleNSexy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What. A. Steal. 24 gorgeous, pigmented, silky matte shadows for under $20 (on sale)?! A must have.
Price: $16.79 CAD
Colours
Top Row L-R: crème, cool beige, pale peach, light silver, fleshy beige, golden beige
Middle Row: light salmony beige, light taupe, camel, light auburn, dark cool brown, medium taupe
Bottom Row: medium cool brown, pale pink, off-white, pale peachy beige, medium warm brown, white
Pull-out Left T-B: dusky blue, peacock blue, blue-black
Pull-out Right: aubergine, dusty teal, dark olive green
Blushes: plummy mauve and light peach
Texture: smooth
Pigmentation: light to medium
This is such a wonder palette for the beginners because this is 100% shimmer free, aka more natural! And all the colours on the top are natural and super versatile.
Unlike some matte e/s, blending isn't much of an issue here and most aren't chalky.
Go get it :)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Statkix on 8/28/2012 3:47:00 PM more reviews by Statkix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so surprised about the quality of this palette! Lots of matte eyeshadows with wearable colors for all occasions. The pigment in general is very good! The blushes are awesome and go well with the shades. You can create a lot of looks with this palette, for day or night. The eyeshadows have a soft texture and are easy to apply. The package is really pretty and the compact size makes easy to take the palette in the bag if necessary! Just a great product for a really nice price!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 princesshorn on 8/23/2012 3:42:00 PM more reviews by princesshorn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This eyeshadow gave me a rash! I'm so disappointed, most NYX eye shadows don't bother me but this one made me break out badly. :-(
It looked promising.. but no. Most of the colors are too light, and the dark ones aren't very pretty. I don't think I'll buy another NYX palette, and maybe no singles either.

I never broke out from makeup before so this is surprising!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Palettes products