Revlon • PhotoReady 3D Volume Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.1(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Staaarlit on 6/10/2014 6:21:00 PM more reviews by Staaarlit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wasted my money on this crappy mascara.
How can this be rated as "best" on beautypedia...what are you thinking Paula?
I needed a new mascara and was very excited to try this one after reading some positive reviews AND seeing that it was rated as "best" on Beautypedia. The packaging was also really sleek and expensive-looking, I figured much work was put into the quality, too. Boy was I wrong.

There is definitely no clumping or flaking, but there is NO VOLUME, NO LENGTH, NO CURL. How frustrating that I spent about $8 for this piece of junk. The wand is great at covering my lashes, but as soon as it coats, my curled lashes wilt. Every single time I used this, my lashes ended up looking sparse and droopy --not a good look for anyone.

I tried really hard to make this mascara work (because I didn't want to waste my money), but to no avail. It's now set aside, untouched...I can't get myself to toss it because that's 8 bucks right there. Anyways, I needed a new mascara desperately, so I went out and picked up one of the bunch that I'd always been curious about: Covergirl Professional all-in-one waterproof mascara (it's blue). It was a really random pick, and luckily, it turned out awesome! Anyways, I will rave about it on its own review page.

I do not recommend this 3D mascara to anyone....unless.....you're someone with an extremely thick set of beautiful and luscious lashes and you like to take risks >_>
Otherwise, don't buy it. It is garbage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 paperdoll66 on 5/14/2014 6:57:00 PM more reviews by paperdoll66

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good mascara, but it isn't right for me. It lengthened my lashes a lot, but it is a little bit of a struggle to curl them. It's very waterproof, but I didn't have a problem removing it with my No. 7 Beautiful Skin wipes. It feels really light on my lashes. The brush is huge, but it does do a good job of separating my lashes and doesn't leave any clumps.

Unfortunately, it does a lot more to lengthen my lashes instead of adding volume. My lashes are already long enough for me, so I'm not going to be using this in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 popnote on 11/18/2013 12:28:00 PM more reviews by popnote

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

WORST. MASCARA. EVER. It's ridiculously wet and clumpy. It makes my lashes stubby, no matter what I try. Total waste of $8.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shanx on 11/14/2013 7:44:00 PM more reviews by shanx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Most mascaras smudge on me. So I usually rate primarily based on this.
This mascara stays put all day so in this respect it is a clear winner. It also separated and lengthens well, looks “natural”. Only issue I have is the wand/application. I often find myself flinching as the wand seems to scratch my eyeballs. Odd I know and very annoying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 elixmia on 10/26/2013 11:43:00 PM more reviews by elixmia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Applying this mascara was a nightmare. It was so wet that it straightened out my curled lashes, it was clumpy when I first opened the tube, and it stuck my lashes together in bunches. It was messy and the result was stubby looking lashes with no added volume. Part of the mess I can attribute to the wand, which was stiff and probably too big even for my large eyes. Within an hour of application, the mascara was flaking off. There was a slight chemical smell, which bothered me. Removal was also very difficult. It would not come off with just makeup remover. I got most of it off with hot water and then the rest with makeup remover. I do not intend to buy this again and I would not recommend it for others.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lossea on 10/20/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by Lossea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Revlon has become my go-to makeup line, so when I wanted to step up from waterproof wet'n'wild, I had to try out Revlon's mascara shop before "straying" to other makeup lines. Since Lash Potion seems to not be quite impressive here on MUA, I decided to give 3D Volume a try. I have been using it for about a week now, and feel like I am still test driving. Overall, I find that this is a high quality every day mascara, but I am not completely sold.

I love the most the creamy consistency of this mascara - I have never felt mascara come on so smoothly. Brush design is spectacular - hugs and coats every lash, so the lashes get nicely separated. (I posted a pic of how mine look with two coats.) I also appreciate the tiny brush strokes at the tip, which helps to get to those hard-to-get corner lashes. There isn't too much mascara at the end of the tip and the amount of product on the actual brush is perfect.

The tube says 3D Volume, and this product gives pleasant volume, with lashes still natural looking, but no outstanding thickening, at least for me. I find that I am missing the length with this product, but it does not claim to provide much length, so it's not a valid complaint.

The staying power of 3D Volume is strong, as many have noted; I have never had any transfer even on my lower eye lashes, which other waterproof mascaras have successfully managed to do. It never clumps or flakes, and leaves lashes quite soft. Despite this mascara being very waterproof, it does comes off with some rubbing and Dr. Bronner's soap (this soap is a killer). First night, I used some oil to "pre-remove" this mascara, thinking just the soap will not work, but the next night got lazy and used just Dr. Bronner's. Tough mascara comes off with implicit obedience.

Overall, 3D Volume is a great every day mascara for soft, naturally full-looking lashes. It does not provide falsies effect, but rather enhances the natural beauty. I find that I often wish for thicker and longer lashes, so when this tube is done, I will most likely try a different mascara. I will file this in the 'great every day mascaras' section the back of my mind, though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 OSusieQ on 8/1/2013 8:34:00 AM more reviews by OSusieQ

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I have short thin eyelashes and I have always tried to find something to lengthen and thicken my lashes. I have had "okay" results that included a thick clumpy, flakey mess by the end of the day.
So after years of trying different mascaras I just accepted thats what I had to deal with or learn how to put on false lashes (which I love! I just can't apply them correctly....that's truly an art form for the gals that can do it correctly)

So fast forward a few years....I needed some as a new mascara so I started looking around for good reviews and decided to give this Revlon 3D Photo-ready Waterproof mascara a try and I must say I'm actually impressed.

Pros: Goes on easy, light weight, did not clump, super black color, waterproof, stays put all day, extended my short lashes nicely (it looked like it had those individual lashes put on, but not as full and beautiful as a full set of glue on false lashes) but hey that was a great improvement over my short thin lashes! I'm happy getting these results out of a bottle!

Cons: it did seem a little hard to remove using Revlon Eye-make-up remover (in the blue bottle)
I think a "oil-based" remover would work better

**Don't forget to add a little smear of Vaseline or any type vitamin E to your lashes before bedtime. (Conditions and helps your lashes grow)

Thanks for reading !
Q

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aperfectsonnet on 6/25/2013 12:55:00 PM more reviews by aperfectsonnet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was on the hunt for a mascara like Benefit's They're Real! That wouldn't drain my wallet. I normally splurge on high end mascaras, but use them up so quickly I can't justify the expense anymore. When I got a coupon from Target for any Revlon mascara, I thought what the heck?. And I grabbed 3D Volume, and holy moly! My eyelashes look amazing! Long, voluminous, dark- incredible! I can't believe it took me so long to try this one! I paid $6.79 at Target for the blackest black waterproof. I think, after searching since I was 16, I have found my HG mascara! I will be purchasing again and again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emstx on 3/23/2013 2:02:00 PM more reviews by emstx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Admittedly, I am not that experienced with mascara. As long as it can get on my lashes and make them look thicker, I am happy. My lashes are a light brown, so it is kind of necessary to define them with mascara.

When I first purchased this product, I thought it was amazing, I loved the brush and how my lashes were defined and separated by it. And in my opinion, it really is the brush that matters for a mascara, because it's pretty much the same polymer in every bottle. After a few months I noticed some major clumping issues happening when I used this mascara. I had to get a lash comb to actually separate my lashes like before.

This mascara does give your lashes a more 'spider-y' or pointy appearance, which is great if that is the look you're going for.

My review says that I would repurchase, but in all honesty, I don't know that I would.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmburk on 3/1/2013 11:02:00 AM more reviews by pmburk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I generally like the PhotoReady line, and decided to pick this up. I have watery eyes (seasonal allergies) so opted for the waterproof version. On application, this is a nice enough mascara. No crazy volume or length, but it does add some length, volume & separation, and gives a nice, black look. Not false lash good, but nice enough. A good, basic, daytime mascara. It does make your lashes hard/crunchy, so be warned. They aren't messing around when they say "waterproof" - this stuff will NOT budge, even with multiple applications of eye makeup remover, makeup remover wipes, and cold cream. I wore this mascara twice before I threw it away, because the removal was such a nightmare. I started with eye makeup remover - no dice. Tried another eye makeup remover - nope. Then cold cream - again, very little came off. Soap & water - nope. Eventually I ended up getting *most* of it off, but I could tell it still didn't come completely off my lashes, and that was after probably 8 applications of remover products, including some formulated for waterproof eye makeup removal. Perhaps paint stripper would do the trick? For Esther Williams this product would have been amazing. For me, not so much. Will definitely not repurchase.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Mascara products