Revlon PhotoReady 3D Volume Waterproof


22 reviews

36% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$


on 8/9/2015 5:44:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Grey, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I just bought it today and I'm throwing it away. It goes on easily and wetly but its particles make my lashes look dirty, not naturally dark. Then the little particles stuck to my lids and under my eyes. Admittedly it's August in Florida, but this is worse than nothing. The price was $8.79. I would pay more for something useable.
As for the packaging, who cares? It's a plastic tube in a bubble pack, not pretty but adequate. The trouble is with the mascara itself.

on 10/25/2014 2:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am on the fence about this mascara. It is much better than any of the Revlon mascaras out there, but I find Revlon to have some the most disappointing mascaras in the drug store. I bought tihs because, like many that do, I love Benefit They're Real and dont want to pay 24 dollars a tube. The wands are definitely similar, but I don't think it performs close to Benefit. I put this as a no for purchase, but would reconsider if it was on sale for 40 or 50 percent off, or as part of a BOGO deal.

Tl; dr version: Sadly, NOT a dupe for Benefit They're Real even though the brushes are very siimilar.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This mascara is extremely clumpy, doesn't provide much length whatsoever, isn't very waterproof, doesn't last all day at all. I literally threw it in the trash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/22/2014 2:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like Revlon PhotoReady 3D Volume mascara - just not the waterproof version, apparently.

I didn't pay enough attention when I was re-purchasing mascara, and came home with the waterproof formula. Short on time, and in need of mascara, I opted to just go with the flow. The product is denser and drier than the non-waterproof counterpart, and it dried in the tube after only a couple of weeks. While it was still useable, it was OK - not the worst mascara I've ever used, but nothing to get excited about, either.

It was just a big 'ole tube of "meh"

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 6/10/2014 6:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wasted my money on this crappy mascara.
How can this be rated as "best" on beautypedia...what are you thinking Paula?
I needed a new mascara and was very excited to try this one after reading some positive reviews AND seeing that it was rated as "best" on Beautypedia. The packaging was also really sleek and expensive-looking, I figured much work was put into the quality, too. Boy was I wrong.

There is definitely no clumping or flaking, but there is NO VOLUME, NO LENGTH, NO CURL. How frustrating that I spent about $8 for this piece of junk. The wand is great at covering my lashes, but as soon as it coats, my curled lashes wilt. Every single time I used this, my lashes ended up looking sparse and droopy --not a good look for anyone.

I tried really hard to make this mascara work (because I didn't want to waste my money), but to no avail. It's now set aside, untouched...I can't get myself to toss it because that's 8 bucks right there. Anyways, I needed a new mascara desperately, so I went out and picked up one of the bunch that I'd always been curious about: Covergirl Professional all-in-one waterproof mascara (it's blue). It was a really random pick, and luckily, it turned out awesome! Anyways, I will rave about it on its own review page.

I do not recommend this 3D mascara to're someone with an extremely thick set of beautiful and luscious lashes and you like to take risks >_>
Otherwise, don't buy it. It is garbage.

on 5/14/2014 6:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a good mascara, but it isn't right for me. It lengthened my lashes a lot, but it is a little bit of a struggle to curl them. It's very waterproof, but I didn't have a problem removing it with my No. 7 Beautiful Skin wipes. It feels really light on my lashes. The brush is huge, but it does do a good job of separating my lashes and doesn't leave any clumps.

Unfortunately, it does a lot more to lengthen my lashes instead of adding volume. My lashes are already long enough for me, so I'm not going to be using this in the future.

on 11/18/2013 12:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

WORST. MASCARA. EVER. It's ridiculously wet and clumpy. It makes my lashes stubby, no matter what I try. Total waste of $8.

on 11/14/2013 7:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Most mascaras smudge on me. So I usually rate primarily based on this.
This mascara stays put all day so in this respect it is a clear winner. It also separated and lengthens well, looks “natural”. Only issue I have is the wand/application. I often find myself flinching as the wand seems to scratch my eyeballs. Odd I know and very annoying.

on 10/26/2013 11:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Applying this mascara was a nightmare. It was so wet that it straightened out my curled lashes, it was clumpy when I first opened the tube, and it stuck my lashes together in bunches. It was messy and the result was stubby looking lashes with no added volume. Part of the mess I can attribute to the wand, which was stiff and probably too big even for my large eyes. Within an hour of application, the mascara was flaking off. There was a slight chemical smell, which bothered me. Removal was also very difficult. It would not come off with just makeup remover. I got most of it off with hot water and then the rest with makeup remover. I do not intend to buy this again and I would not recommend it for others.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 10/20/2013 9:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Revlon has become my go-to makeup line, so when I wanted to step up from waterproof wet'n'wild, I had to try out Revlon's mascara shop before "straying" to other makeup lines. Since Lash Potion seems to not be quite impressive here on MUA, I decided to give 3D Volume a try. I have been using it for about a week now, and feel like I am still test driving. Overall, I find that this is a high quality every day mascara, but I am not completely sold.

I love the most the creamy consistency of this mascara - I have never felt mascara come on so smoothly. Brush design is spectacular - hugs and coats every lash, so the lashes get nicely separated. (I posted a pic of how mine look with two coats.) I also appreciate the tiny brush strokes at the tip, which helps to get to those hard-to-get corner lashes. There isn't too much mascara at the end of the tip and the amount of product on the actual brush is perfect.

The tube says 3D Volume, and this product gives pleasant volume, with lashes still natural looking, but no outstanding thickening, at least for me. I find that I am missing the length with this product, but it does not claim to provide much length, so it's not a valid complaint.

The staying power of 3D Volume is strong, as many have noted; I have never had any transfer even on my lower eye lashes, which other waterproof mascaras have successfully managed to do. It never clumps or flakes, and leaves lashes quite soft. Despite this mascara being very waterproof, it does comes off with some rubbing and Dr. Bronner's soap (this soap is a killer). First night, I used some oil to "pre-remove" this mascara, thinking just the soap will not work, but the next night got lazy and used just Dr. Bronner's. Tough mascara comes off with implicit obedience.

Overall, 3D Volume is a great every day mascara for soft, naturally full-looking lashes. It does not provide falsies effect, but rather enhances the natural beauty. I find that I often wish for thicker and longer lashes, so when this tube is done, I will most likely try a different mascara. I will file this in the 'great every day mascaras' section the back of my mind, though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top