AG Hair Cosmetics • beach bomb • Styling Products

rated 4.0(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Arachne on 2/19/2014 10:15:00 AM more reviews by Arachne

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ugh. Hated it. The scent smells sort of like pineapple, but it's not a yummy pineapple, it was more chemical than tropical. The scent didn't last, so if you are sensitive to scent, I don't think you'll have a problem with this. Although it's called beach bomb, it doesn't contain salt. Oddly enough, this left my hair flat, crunchy and with major fly aways. I hate the packaging. The pump didn't work so well. Not the worst product I've ever tried, but pretty damn close.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tricyclesinskirts on 6/10/2013 9:46:00 PM more reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was a diehard AG recoil girl. It was the only product that actually encouraged curl in my coarse, wavy, frizzy hair. I say *was*, because then AG went and created beach bomb. Everything good about recoil remains true with beach bomb, except beach bomb is not nearly as difficult to work with. It plays friendly with other products, unlike recoil, and gives much more bounce. Fans of TIGI foxy curls and noodlehead will love this, I think, because it has a similar consistency with better results.

I don't often repurchase items that cost this much, but when something works, it works. Despite the packaging (not good,) i have only praises to sing about this product.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AnnabelleBronstein on 3/24/2013 3:41:00 PM more reviews by AnnabelleBronstein

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to try this but apparently it wasn't meant to be. I purchased Beach Bomb at Ulta. I was very excited when I got home to use it. When I attempted to push down on the pump nothing came out,
The next day I returned it.
The Sales Associate at Ulta was kind enough to go through several bottles of it before finding another one that worked.
I got home and tried it out. The results were okay, nothing great.
The next day I thought I would try it again and perhaps use it differently, only to discover that nothing would come out of the pump again.
Maybe my Ulta just got a bad batch?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 10/28/2012 7:13:00 PM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Beach Bomb is just not for me. I much prefer the stronger hold and chunkier curl formation of AG Recoil. Beach Bomb is noted as a level 3 hold and Recoil is noted as a level 4 (something like that). But Recoil just gives me better hold throughout the day, more volume, longer lasting volume and chunkier curls. I have very fine wavy hair that can be easily encouraged into curls, but also (at the drop of a hat) can be pulled down to stringy waves. I am always trying to bring out more curl and get it to hold. On the plus side, Beach Bomb is easier to apply, smells better, feels nicer going on then Recoil. But, it just didn't give me the extra oomph I need.

If you have a strong, solid curl that doesn't need the help mine needs or if you have much straighter hair and just want some texture...Beach Bomb would probably be your friend. The lady at Ulta was surprised I was returning it because it was flying off the shelves so fast. But I guess it is true, no matter how awesome a product is, it just isn't going to work for every body.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XoXoSinCity on 10/1/2012 10:28:00 PM more reviews by XoXoSinCity

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Love the A/G line of styling products. After reading the rave reviews for this curl product had tot ry it out and boy were they right. I have the fussiest combo of naturally loose wavy, super dry/frizz/pouffy hair. My hair without product and out fo showe ris nightmare status no matter how "healthy" it is. Nothing on planet earth I try product wise has ever managed to tame it and give me manageable hair aka leaving my always having to heat style to look like a polished human being for work/etc lol. I either flat iron/blowdry straight or when Im in a hirry and have no patiance with my demon waves I try to use a mousse or curl cream type product to airdry and head out the door. Anyone with similar hair knows how nearly impossible it is to find a product in existance that will not leave your hair crunchy/wet/dirty/weighed down/frizzy and actually define loose waves. I've spent more than salon owners I feel like on products on this quest lol. Beach Bomb is the closest I will officially find. Unlike other texturizers it isnt too sticky and doesnt make my hair looks dirty/weighed down and it doesnt look wet and crunchy like Recoil (really wanted that to work for me). It gives me as ncie of waves as I can ever hope for with airdrying. So not perfection but pretty close. As I am paranoid about using too much (can go bad really fast with these kind of products on fine hair lol), I mix it with a tad of my fav styling/straightening cream Goldwell Rich Repair or Color Rich Fluid for some added moisture. Worth the money considering this type of product lasts forever siince you don't use a alot and love the pump w/ lid bottle! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hotflashes on 9/19/2012 12:45:00 PM more reviews by Hotflashes

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

FInally. This stuff does what I always wanted ReCoil to do for me. Great for uneven curl/wave pattern, I can actually air-dry with this. No crunch either.

ETA: FYI the ingredients are nearly identical to Details, but I have no idea why this stuff works so much better. On my second pump and still loving it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tracyltrust on 9/5/2012 12:38:00 PM more reviews by tracyltrust

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm thrilled with this new offering from A/G. I'm a hairdresser and a loyal fan of A/G Re:coil. (I recommend it to clients despite it not being for sale at my salon) In my experience it is THE curl product. I have tons of fine wavy hair that becomes curly with some encouragement. Re:coil gives me the most curl of anything I've ever tried. My only gripe with it is it can leave my hair a little darker or wet/dirty-looking, can be crunchy if I use just a bit too much and doesn't always leave my hair soft to the touch-even if I "scrunch out" the crunch. It is a bit drying so it can make my hair look a little more matte than I like and is also why my hair feels less soft than I'd like. I am knit-picking really since it is more or less perfect for when I want my waves to become defined curls in minutes.

Beach Bomb is a welcome change for me however; it's kind of like a softer and gentler Re:coil. It does enhance my waves but I don't get as much of a springy curl as with the Re:coil. It's a more undone kind of look that leaves my waves loosely defined and full with a touch of hold but still soft. Once I got the amount right (I use 2 pumps for my very dense, just past shoulder length hair) I was in love! I feel like I have that Victoria's Secret model hair that is tousled and wavy but full. And it is so quick and easy! I just spread it evenly throughout my very wet hair with my fingers, scrunch a little, ruffle up the hair at my scalp and diffuse on low for 30 seconds or so. I can also let it air dry but I don't get as much volume that way. I used it yesterday and woke up this morning with crazy beautiful texture. My hair was in a loose ponytail and there are still medium sized waves that are soft to the touch. I feel like I could easily make a gorgeous updo with the texture my hair has from using this product yesterday.

If your hair is pin straight with no discernible bend or wave to it I'm not certain how well this would work for you. If you're looking to create texture where you have none I'd say the Re:coil would be worth a shot since the magnesium sulfate in it shrinks the cuticle of your hair-causing it to bend. You could maybe get a slight wave that way. A/G makes a spray product as well that contains magnesium sulfate,"Curl Trigger," that gives a similar result as the Re:coil in my experience. While I love the effect magnesium sulfate has on my waves, I also believe it to be one of the ingredients responsible for drying and dulling my hair.

Beach Bomb does not contain magnesium sulfate and is better suited to hair that is already wavy in my opinion. It enhances and softly defines my naturally wavy fine hair, giving me volume and separation without stiffness or a darkening/dulling effect. I have tried mixing Re:coil and Beach Bomb together and I prefer the effect of the Beach Bomb by itself. I am in love with this stuff so I hope everyone else likes it too and buys it up so A/G will keep on making it :-)

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 4paws on 8/10/2012 5:24:00 PM more reviews by 4paws

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have curly hair (3b) with uneven texture: left alone, the front likes to go into tight spirals and the side and back wave or just lie flat. Not a great look. I like A/G's Re:coil because it gives my hair volume and it helps to make the curl uniform, loosening up the tighter spirals and encouraging curl in the more wavy section, so I wanted to give their latest curl product a go. Beach Bomb is similar in texture to Re:coil, but the pump dispenser is an improvement. The product makes my hair curl more than Re:coil, and definitely gives it a wild and "tousled" look as advertised; lots of body, lots of big chunky curls and waves--but messy. Don't look here for slick style or discipline: it's a beautiful effect, and the product feels light and provides volume, but not if you want total control. Embraces and enhances multi-texture, in other words.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More AG Hair Cosmetics products

More Styling Products products