Chanel Coco Noir

3.7

60 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/1/2015 10:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I rarely wear perfume as most give me a headache or make me nauseous. Never this though. Its a beautiful, sexy, sophisticated perfume. Cons - price.



on 5/23/2015 2:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm in my early 20s and I tend to lean towards very girly feminine clean-floral scents but I wanted something that was more nighttime appropriate, a little sexier and darker. I tried a few scents like Tom Ford Black Orchid, which was too heavy for my head to handle, and others just didn't have that IT factor I was looking for. I'm a huge fan of Chanel Chance Eau Tendre so I decided to see what other fragrances Chanel had to offer. I was immediately attracted to the gorgeous black and gold bottle, gave it a spritz on my shirt and my wrist and walked around the rest of the mall for about an hour. Every time I moved I kept getting a whiff of something and I loved the stages that it went through with my body chemistry. I also had complete strangers at other counters telling me I smelled good. I immediately went back to the Chanel counter and purchased it. This scent is definitely different than what I normally go for but it's incredible. I would describe it as a warm-sexy scent that also has some floral and aromatic touches. The top notes are bergamot and grapefruit so it opens as being a bit citrusy but that quickly floats away and then you're brought into the middle notes were the most flowers come into play. I get a lot of jasmine and lots of patchouli in the heart of the fragrance, the die down is a vanilla, Tonka bean and somewhat smoky trace on my skin. What I love most about this fragrance is that it keeps me on my toes, I love the way all the notes unfold and I love it's a bit sexier and more masculine than what I usually go for. I would definitely describe this as a nighttime fragrance, perfect for a date night or a special occasion. I did purchase this on a hot summer day in Florida and even though it's strong and dark I wasn't suffocated by it, even in the 93 degree weather so it could be an every day fragrance but I think it's too sophisticated for a day of shopping for my personal taste. The only down side is that you pay an arm and a leg for it, the only sizes available are 1.7 (98 dollars) and 3.4 (130 dollars), they don't sell a 1 oz size unfortunately. To me it was worth every penny, and because I usually use it for special occasions I know it will last me a long time. I have 3 day time fragrances that I rotate back and forth with but as far as night out fragrances go, nothing will ever compare to this. 10/10

TLDR;
-1.7 oz (98 dollars) 3.4 oz (130 dollars)
-found at Macy's, Dillards. Saks Fifth Avenue, any Chanel counter.
-TO ME, its a warm-spicey scent with aromatic and floral touches.
-longevity is an 8/10, sillage is a 8/10
-feminine but also has some masculine qualities to it. Definitely a night time fall scent for the most part.
-Packaging is a 10/10
NOTES:
Grapefruit, Bergamot, Geranium, Rose, Jasmine, Narcissus, Vanilla, Tonka Bean, Patchouli, White Musk, Olibanum, Sandalwood.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2015 9:17:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am a very difficult mid age lady. In many things. It is very hard to please me. Nobody gives me perfumes for bithdays or any other occasions. Everybody know I am "so heavy":-)
I find most of modern perfumes too owerpowering, too heavy, too sweet, too "headache and nausea", too powdery.

I can't stand Coco Mademoiselle, I can't stand Chance Eau Fresh, Coco is to heavy for me, Allure and Allure Sensuelle are like a noose arround my neck with to many vanilla arround, Chanel 5 is a headache, Chanel 19 too stuffy and smells like lead pencil...

But this one is something for me!

I loged in today just to write few words on Coco Noir. Hm, I read review and can't belive there are so many people who think this perfume is just a big empty cloud on Chanel's sky. However I must tell you one thing - there are two points of Coco Noir which are very, very misleading in perception of this perfume.
First is the bottle - most people are visual types, we first see an interesting item in shop then reach our out hand to grab it. Black is to much for this. The bottle should be beige. Or even navy. Not black. Black is for other perfumes. When you see black you expect something misterious. Powerful. Difficult. This one is not at all like this.
The other this is its name. It is not NOIR, not at all. As one lady noticed well - it should be named TENDRE. Coco Tendre or Coco Lumiere. Then lot of people would know to appreciate its beuaty. Coco Noir is type of fragrance for feminine, elegant woman who just like to give hint a sexyness to her daily routine and to be loved. Coco Noir is Chanel definitely, it is a is nice mixture of Coco, Mademoiselle, Allure, and even Chance - but on the other side it has its own delicate, different DNA profile.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2015 12:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This fragrance is one that I am in love with but no one seems to comment on. It makes me feel empowered, elegant and polished.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2015 2:49:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Drying my toes at the nail place last summer/early fall, I caught a whiff of something really different, intriguing. Aha! It was definitely worn by the chic lady sitting next to me. Of course, I asked her, "What is your lovely fragrance?" The answer was gently delivered in a genuine French accent: "Coco Noir." Well, knock me over with a feather. I had sampled it several times a couple of winters previously, and not been that impressed. Bought it, of course. Then reverted to being unimpressed. After the lovely flacon had lived among all my other fragrances for months, I gave it a random spritz last week, and now can't get enough of it! Go figure. Fragrance is so mysterious. Haven't received any compliments or complaints about Coco Noir yet, so we'll see how long this honeymoon lasts. Meanwhile, it seems to help me fall asleep, whatever that indicates aside from my bliss at sniffing my wrists day and night!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2015 1:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My favorite nighttime perfume! This perfume is so addictive and I just can't get enough of it! It's more appropriate for nighttime than for daytime because it's really strong. This perfume to me is sex in a bottle. I love it!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2015 12:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have sampled the EDP version of this several times, hoping that I would eventually come to love this, but I can't get over my feeling of being duped or tricked or some such thing. I have both the original Coco: I got a dram bottle of pure perfume at the department store when it was first launched and they were giving away little bottles filled from an urn. It has lasted me all these years, used judiciously. I have Coco Mademoiselle, which to me only hints at the original, but still contains some of the "sass" of the "Madame." But this? Where is the Coco? Where is the Noir? Don't get me wrong: it's a nice enough floral fruity scent. The name and glorious black bottle suggest a depth and mystery that is utterly lacking in the actual scent. Reading the reviews, I understand why people swoon over the bottle. But you can't wear the bottle! Well, I suppose you could string it on a lanyard and wear it as an accessory, but I doubt the look will catch on. I suppose I will never really understand why multiple "versions" of a fragrance have to be released. Well, not really: it all boils down to sales and profits and I sort of understand that. But it is, to me, the fragrance version of multiple movie sequels such as the Friday 13th, Saw and Nightmare on Elm Street franchises. Each successive version gets a little worse... What next? Coco Blanc? Coco Vanille? Coco Oud? That seems to be the trend. I can imagine Coco Chanel herself thrilling over the bottle of this scent, but actually wearing it? Nope.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

My new signature winter/fall scent. This was my first high end perfume and I debated between all the Cocos but this was the one for me in the end. It is basically a compromise between Mademoiselle and Coco so if the first is too sweet for you and the latter too overpowering/musky for you, try Coco Noir. On warmer days the scent is more sweet and on colder days it is more sharp. It has detectable notes of grapefruit, rose, tonka bean, vanilla, and sandlewood to me, and I love rose amd sandlewood so I had to get it. It definetely changes throughtout the day to a more floral and then to a more sweet, musky scent. The bottle looks elegant and sleek but the sprayer is tricky for me. The scents lasts the whole day if used with an unscented lotion for me. One thing to bear in mind is that the name is misleading, it is not a dark scent but simply a more toned down, warm version of Mademoiselle. It is not a masculine scent in the slightest, it is very femine in my opinion.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2014 11:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

As much as I liked the perfume on its own, mixing it with lily of the valley takes it to a whole other level. Sophisticated, beautiful, complex; my boyfriend can't get enough of it, either. Signature scent. The only caveat is that it doesn't last as long as long as I'd like it to.. Most perfumes disappear on me quite quickly, so I'm the type that re-spritzes during the day.. But the Chanel can be a little too strong for a quick spritz in certain situations! :( Seriously considering getting a similar scent made for me.


on 9/21/2014 10:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just tried the new Coco Noir pure perfume and body Creme. It smells so beyond amazing I turn myself on!! The notes are totally different than the EDP. The pure perfume contains vanilla sandalwood and bergamot. Run, don't walk, and experience this incredible scent

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1371 Reviews
Chance
959 Reviews
No.5
943 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
Si
43 Reviews
Back to Top