Neutrogena Ultra Gentle Foaming Cleanser

3.4

90 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Lauryl Glucoside, Potassium Accylates Copolymer, PEG 120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Sodium Cocoyl Sarcosinate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Caprylyl Glycol, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance


on 2/24/2015 6:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this product!! Its really good at taking off your makeup and its still affordable. I wish neutrogena didnt test on animals but until i can find one better than this that doesnt test on animals ill be sticking with it for awhile. I use one pump for face makeup and 1 pump for eye makeup. Could probably get away with only 1 pump but i wear alot of makeup so i use 2 just to be sure. Packaging is great and i just went and bought another one today, it lasted me a good amount of time aswell.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this cleanser. I started using it because I was looking for something gentle but effective at removing makeup. This cleanser can be slightly drying, but I find that works well for my combo-oily skin (even in conjunction with prescription acne products). I have extremely sensitive skin (due to retinol use) and the fragrance does not bother me or my skin at all.


on 2/14/2015 7:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

A cleanser should not be called "ultra gentle" if it contains fragrance. I would not have purchased it if I had known this was the case. This one in particular is drying and somewhat irritating to my combination skin.


on 2/6/2015 12:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. I have been purchasing this product for several years. I absolutely love it. As it states "it thoroughly cleanses" and removes my makeup at night. When it goes on sale, I buy every one in the store that's how much a love this cleanser. I love the pump dispenser - great for the shower.


on 2/2/2015 7:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

First off, I am honestly surprised and amazed by how well this removes a light/moderate face of "washable" makeup (i.e., not waterproof, not long-wearing; I always use separate makeup removers on those, and that's mostly eye makeup anyway). It doesn't foam so much as it lathers--it feels really nice on the skin, and you can tell it's removing makeup because the lather on my fingers gradually becomes more skin-toned because that's the makeup coming off! It has a super light fragrance, and the product is clear so there's no added dyes. I've also used it on my eyes (again, for washable mascara) and have experienced no irritation.

Used with no other skincare products, I do think it is *slightly* drying on my skin; however, it's also the beginning of February and my skin is quite dry this time of year. A good toner/exfoliant and moisturizer combo negates any such tightness for me, though, and I think this cleanser will be great when the sweatier, oilier summer months come around.

It's a bit pricey for a drugstore cleanser ($10.99 at my CVS), but you can get coupons/sales frequently. Besides, it's a hefty 10oz which is ~2-4oz more than your typical drugstore cleanser, so the price per ounce ends up being comparable if you're okay with committing to a slightly larger bottle.


on 1/25/2015 7:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is very drying even though it's meant for sensitive skin. I don't understand why there is that many bad ingredients: perfume, dye, alcohol, etc...
It did not do any good to my dehydrated, sensitive skin. I used it for a month and threw it out...Disappointed because usually i like Neutrogena. I bought Desert Essence instead: same price range and WAY BETTER option for my skin!!


on 1/16/2015 3:21:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This cleanser came in a special Christmas package that also included the oil free lotion and oil free eye makeup remover all for $8 Cdn, that's why I gave it 1 star for price - it was such a great bargain.

This the first time I've tried this cleanser and I'm not really liking it. For starters, it doesn't foam very well which isn't a huge deal. The formulation feels very thin even when I've used 2 pumps worth of product. I don't feel like the product is sufficiently "cutting through" a day's worth of the makeup and oil on my face when I use the cleanser with my fingers.

Even after rinsing, my face still feels like there's makeup left. I usually end up washing my face twice. I've also used the product with a facial brush and this seems to spread it around better and my face feels cleaner afterwards.

For me, this is a very mediocre cleanser and I'm glad I hadn't paid full price for it. Won't be repurchasing.


on 1/15/2015 9:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I started taking Accutane about 4-5 months ago and knew I needed a gentle cleanser for my soon to be very dry skin.
I found this product on the internet and decided to buy it. I got it in the foaming formula and the creamy formula. I loved the foaming formula but wasn't a big fan of the creamy so if your buying this product stick with the foaming. It is great for sensitive skin which I temporarily have and I also use it to clean my makeup brushes and it does a great job. It does a good job cleaning and you don't have to use much. I have been using the same bottle since I started Accutane and still have quite a bit left in the bottle so you get a lot of product for a good price. I bought mine at Shopper's Drug Mart and it's also available at Walmart.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2015 2:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This mild foaming cleanser did not remove all my makeup. It has a light scent and rinses clean, without overdrying the skin. Free & Clear cleanser and First Aid beauty cleanser perform better for me and are unscented products.


on 12/30/2014 9:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Great cleanser. It takes all my makeup off and foams nicely. Totally different from cetaphil gentle which does not remove my makeup. The scent is noticeable but not overpowering.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top