Neutrogena • Ultra Gentle Foaming Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.3(85 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* icarle on 1/25/2015 7:23:00 AM more reviews by icarle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I wish this one was also fragrance-free like the more gentle one, because fragrance can cause various skin issues/allergies/reactions. I do not have dry skin, but it's very sensitive especially in the winter. It can get oily on the T-zone and very flaky elsewhere (I live in Canada...)
I need a gentle face wash. I do NOT wash my face twice a day. Only once at night to remove dirt and makeup. Several well-known makeup-artists and celebrities do the same: your face is not dirty in the morning, and you need natural oils to protect your skin especially when it's dry/cold. This cleanser is not super special, but it does the job: my skin feels fresh, clean and ready for makeup. You have to use a good moisturizer though, because it contains alcohol and can be drying. For the price though, it's an ok product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 maybom on 1/16/2015 3:21:00 AM more reviews by maybom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This cleanser came in a special Christmas package that also included the oil free lotion and oil free eye makeup remover all for $8 Cdn, that's why I gave it 1 star for price - it was such a great bargain.

This the first time I've tried this cleanser and I'm not really liking it. For starters, it doesn't foam very well which isn't a huge deal. The formulation feels very thin even when I've used 2 pumps worth of product. I don't feel like the product is sufficiently "cutting through" a day's worth of the makeup and oil on my face when I use the cleanser with my fingers.

Even after rinsing, my face still feels like there's makeup left. I usually end up washing my face twice. I've also used the product with a facial brush and this seems to spread it around better and my face feels cleaner afterwards.

For me, this is a very mediocre cleanser and I'm glad I hadn't paid full price for it. Won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Heather999 on 1/15/2015 9:07:00 PM more reviews by Heather999

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I started taking Accutane about 4-5 months ago and knew I needed a gentle cleanser for my soon to be very dry skin.
I found this product on the internet and decided to buy it. I got it in the foaming formula and the creamy formula. I loved the foaming formula but wasn't a big fan of the creamy so if your buying this product stick with the foaming. It is great for sensitive skin which I temporarily have and I also use it to clean my makeup brushes and it does a great job. It does a good job cleaning and you don't have to use much. I have been using the same bottle since I started Accutane and still have quite a bit left in the bottle so you get a lot of product for a good price. I bought mine at Shopper's Drug Mart and it's also available at Walmart.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 1/11/2015 2:24:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This mild foaming cleanser did not remove all my makeup. It has a light scent and rinses clean, without overdrying the skin. Free & Clear cleanser and First Aid beauty cleanser perform better for me and are unscented products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msitch on 12/30/2014 9:07:00 PM more reviews by msitch

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Great cleanser. It takes all my makeup off and foams nicely. Totally different from cetaphil gentle which does not remove my makeup. The scent is noticeable but not overpowering.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Juno77 on 12/24/2014 12:02:00 PM more reviews by Juno77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This should have a higher rating. Im suprised some users whine it doesnt remove waterproof mascara or hydrate their skin. Its not supposed to. It says FOAMING on the label. For god's sakes, if you have very dry skin WHY would you buy a foaming cleanser?. Anyway. Its hard to find non-stripping, gentle, water soluble cleansers in the drugstore (in my town). This fits the bill, and you get a lot of product for the price -and a pump-. Has medium cleansing power, between Cetaphil and a traditional foaming cleanser. Doesnt irritate my skin, and rinses clean. Doenst have a very strong fragrance either. Its a straightfoward, simple, gentle, water soluble cleanser. This is what I wanted Cetaphil for oily skin to be. But It IS a completely water soluble cleanser, it will not leave emmollients behind to please those expecting moisturizing powers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aenflex on 10/27/2014 10:29:00 AM more reviews by aenflex

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

For years I have been washing my face with Dr. Bronner's Castile soap, which I adore, but it's far from gentle. Getting into my 30s I thought it might be time to try something a little less stripping and more gentle.
I do not have sensitive skin, I do not suffer from acne or breakouts, my skin is basically normal - not too dry and not too oily.
So far I really like this cleanser. I always use a buff puff when I wash my face, and I find no problems getting plentiful lather. It rinses away clean, and afterwards my skin feels just the right amount of tightness, of clean-ness. Nowhere near as tight and dry as after using the Castile soap. I don't feel any build up or residue from this cleanser, and don't feel the need to tone afterwards. Rather, I always moisturize right away after washing my face. This cleanser removes my make up fully, although this might be due to the fact that I use a buff puff.
The packaging is good, as is the price. Unless this causes some long-term problems I believe I will continue using this for a while. I will update after I've used it for a month or two.

The only con is the fragrance. It's relatively strong, and though it doesn't bother me at all I could imagine someone with sensitivity having a big problem with this wash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 QAlice on 10/13/2014 12:52:00 AM more reviews by QAlice

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE and would definitely repurchase!

Ingredient-wise:
With Glycerin listed second after water, how could it be bad?

Texture-Color-Fragrance-wise:
Watery liquid in transparent slightly yellowish color, remind me a diluted Liquid Neutrogena, with same scent just not as strong.

Performance-wise:
Usually use 3/4 to a full pump, foam up quite easily but I wouldn't say it produce a rich dense foam like normal foaming cleanser (especially those from Japanese brands).
It provide medium cleansing strength, in between normal foaming cleanser and Cetephil cleanser.
I use it every other day in place with my Sofina Cushion Foam Cleanser (very dense foam with excellent cleansing strength, work with foaming net), as the second clean after take off my sunscreen and make-up with Bioderma water.

My though:
Best foaming cleanser for dry skin, if you love Cetephil but wish something lighter for warmer weather, this is it!
I love it on day when I want a simple cleanser for quick clean. Personally I used to use the Liquid Neutrogena years ago, so find the scent pleasure, but I guess this might not be for everyone.
Huge bottle and very good value for money. Again how could thing load with Glycerin be bad!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* admilly101 on 9/28/2014 12:11:00 PM more reviews by admilly101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I used to use the Olay Sensitive Skin face wash for a long time, but I felt that it really wasn't doing my skin any justice. My sister have my this one to try and I must say that it is pretty nice! Firstly, I love the scent. It smells like lavender, it is very attractive. I also feel like the foam really gets all the dirt and grime off my skin, without being too harsh or drying (I have very sensitive, acne prone skin that is combo-oily). The only thing I don't like is the packaging. It's so big and bulky and hard to travel with it. Overall though, this is a good wash.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennlw5 on 9/18/2014 4:40:00 PM more reviews by Jennlw5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am surprised to see such a low rating for this cleanser. I used the hydrating one in the winter and switched to this one in the spring. I love this cleanser. My skin feels smooth and refreshed, it rinses cleanly and leaves my skin looking healthy. I use a make up remover for removing eye make up and then wash my face and this works well for leaving my skin clean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products