Neutrogena Ultra Gentle Foaming Cleanser

3.3

94 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Lauryl Glucoside, Potassium Accylates Copolymer, PEG 120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Sodium Cocoyl Sarcosinate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Caprylyl Glycol, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance


on 4/30/2015 10:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This cleanser isn't terrible, but it's not my favorite....it works but then it starts to dry out your skin over time when used once a day. It has a very strong chemical scent which kinda freaked me out and made me think it wasn't good for my skin...it also has fragrance in it!! (Why would they label it as "Ultra Gentle" but throw some fragrance in there?) Does not make sense.

PROS:
Removes makeup
cleans well
does not break me out (which is a miracle)

CONS:
Drying after overtime
Fragrance
Smells like chemicals



on 3/18/2015 9:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Best face wash for my sensitive skin. I unfortunately have developed psoriasis and my regular cleansers were aggravating it so I found this after trying a few others that claimed to be for sensitive skin. This one worked the best at removing my makeup gently. It is a bit drying overtime if you don't moisturize regularly but I do religiously so that isn't an issue for me. The big bottle lasts forever too and it's not that expensive!


on 3/11/2015 12:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is honestly one of the best facial cleansers I have ever used. I am now on my third bottle and I cannot go without this. Having naturally oily skin, I find that this formula is gentle enough to remove all of my makeup yet gentle enough so that my face is not overly dry after using the product. Compared to the Neutrogena oil free acne face wash, I much prefer this cleanser because true to its title it is much more gentle and does the job without sucking all the oil off of your face leaving you with clean skin that is not too dry.

You do get you bang for your buck with this product. And the packaging is great as well. One pump with some water does the trick for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Not quite sure what the people at Neutrogena's definition of "extra gentle" is but it definitely differs from mine. Perfumey and broke me out. Returned it.


on 3/9/2015 10:27:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this for my face, not expecting something called ultra gentle to contain fragrance. I didn't like the scent at all. It smelled to me like hospital grade antibacterial soap. I couldn't use it on my face because of the fragrance, so I tried using it on my body for a while. I found it a little bit too drying, especially during the harsh winter. But the fragrance was just so unpleasant I couldn't use it any longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/24/2015 6:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this product!! Its really good at taking off your makeup and its still affordable. I wish neutrogena didnt test on animals but until i can find one better than this that doesnt test on animals ill be sticking with it for awhile. I use one pump for face makeup and 1 pump for eye makeup. Could probably get away with only 1 pump but i wear alot of makeup so i use 2 just to be sure. Packaging is great and i just went and bought another one today, it lasted me a good amount of time aswell.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this cleanser. I started using it because I was looking for something gentle but effective at removing makeup. This cleanser can be slightly drying, but I find that works well for my combo-oily skin (even in conjunction with prescription acne products). I have extremely sensitive skin (due to retinol use) and the fragrance does not bother me or my skin at all.


on 2/6/2015 12:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. I have been purchasing this product for several years. I absolutely love it. As it states "it thoroughly cleanses" and removes my makeup at night. When it goes on sale, I buy every one in the store that's how much a love this cleanser. I love the pump dispenser - great for the shower.


on 2/2/2015 7:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

First off, I am honestly surprised and amazed by how well this removes a light/moderate face of "washable" makeup (i.e., not waterproof, not long-wearing; I always use separate makeup removers on those, and that's mostly eye makeup anyway). It doesn't foam so much as it lathers--it feels really nice on the skin, and you can tell it's removing makeup because the lather on my fingers gradually becomes more skin-toned because that's the makeup coming off! It has a super light fragrance, and the product is clear so there's no added dyes. I've also used it on my eyes (again, for washable mascara) and have experienced no irritation.

Used with no other skincare products, I do think it is *slightly* drying on my skin; however, it's also the beginning of February and my skin is quite dry this time of year. A good toner/exfoliant and moisturizer combo negates any such tightness for me, though, and I think this cleanser will be great when the sweatier, oilier summer months come around.

It's a bit pricey for a drugstore cleanser ($10.99 at my CVS), but you can get coupons/sales frequently. Besides, it's a hefty 10oz which is ~2-4oz more than your typical drugstore cleanser, so the price per ounce ends up being comparable if you're okay with committing to a slightly larger bottle.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2015 7:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is very drying even though it's meant for sensitive skin. I don't understand why there is that many bad ingredients: perfume, dye, alcohol, etc...
It did not do any good to my dehydrated, sensitive skin. I used it for a month and threw it out...Disappointed because usually i like Neutrogena. I bought Desert Essence instead: same price range and WAY BETTER option for my skin!!


Back to Top