Neutrogena Ultra Gentle Foaming Cleanser

3.3

100 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Lauryl Glucoside, Potassium Accylates Copolymer, PEG 120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Sodium Cocoyl Sarcosinate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Caprylyl Glycol, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance


on 8/13/2015 12:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This cleanser is great! It's mild and it thoroughly cleanses my face, even removes all my makeup. This is the first cleanser I've ever used regularly that does not contain an acne medication (except Dove bar soap, which I've never had a bad experience with). I really like how it foams because I have oily skin. Yet, I don't feel dry after using this. Now, if my skin is experiencing some dryness, I use the hydrating cream cleanser from this line which is great too; sometimes just to make sure my skin doesn't get dry, I mix the two. I am on my second bottle of this. I plan to buy more until I either can't or my skin changes (gets dry with age).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This cleanser is good but not amazing. I have dry skin and my husband has oily skin and this works well for both. I use oils to wash my makeup off so this cleanser has been good at cutting through the oils. Leaves skin slightly dry but my regular night time routine makes up for it. Great value though as it's almost twice as large as the Olay cleanser we were using before.


on 7/18/2015 2:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Terrible :( doesn't cleanse well and caused me to break out

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/24/2015 11:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm on the fence about this one. It's nice because it's a mild formula, the bottle is a pump and it's huge and the price is OK, however that's about it. It left my face kind of irritated and thigh so I'm not entirely happy with it. The scent is ok but I would prefer and unscented version if we are supposed to get a really gentle product.

I would not purchase again.


on 5/17/2015 3:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I usually use products for sensitive skin, so I bought this to gently rebound after some hormonal blemishes. This product was not gentle to my oily, acne-prone skin at all. I resumed using my usual Olay Sensitive Cleanser and my skin improved overnight.
Pros: generous quantity, pump packaging
Cons: broke my skin out immediately, left skin red and irritated, overpowering fragrance

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2015 7:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

HG CLEANSER. My husband and I both use this cleanser and refuse to buy anything else. We've probably bought 10 or more of these by now. I have dry, sensitive skin and this does not break me out or irritate my skin. It does a great job of removing makeup. I'll continue to buy this until it's discontinued.


on 4/30/2015 10:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This cleanser isn't terrible, but it's not my favorite....it works but then it starts to dry out your skin over time when used once a day. It has a very strong chemical scent which kinda freaked me out and made me think it wasn't good for my skin...it also has fragrance in it!! (Why would they label it as "Ultra Gentle" but throw some fragrance in there?) Does not make sense.

PROS:
Removes makeup
cleans well
does not break me out (which is a miracle)

CONS:
Drying after overtime
Fragrance
Smells like chemicals

Edit: I wanted to give this another chance, but it started to irritate my skin. My skin would be red and really raw looking after washing with this. This happened over time... The dryness was also too much to deal with. It's not so gentle after all ... I gave it a lower rating


on 3/18/2015 9:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Best face wash for my sensitive skin. I unfortunately have developed psoriasis and my regular cleansers were aggravating it so I found this after trying a few others that claimed to be for sensitive skin. This one worked the best at removing my makeup gently. It is a bit drying overtime if you don't moisturize regularly but I do religiously so that isn't an issue for me. The big bottle lasts forever too and it's not that expensive!


on 3/11/2015 12:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is honestly one of the best facial cleansers I have ever used. I am now on my third bottle and I cannot go without this. Having naturally oily skin, I find that this formula is gentle enough to remove all of my makeup yet gentle enough so that my face is not overly dry after using the product. Compared to the Neutrogena oil free acne face wash, I much prefer this cleanser because true to its title it is much more gentle and does the job without sucking all the oil off of your face leaving you with clean skin that is not too dry.

You do get you bang for your buck with this product. And the packaging is great as well. One pump with some water does the trick for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Not quite sure what the people at Neutrogena's definition of "extra gentle" is but it definitely differs from mine. Perfumey and broke me out. Returned it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top