Marc Jacobs • Dot • Fragrances

rated 3.6(45 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Curlycat on 3/20/2014 2:05:00 PM more reviews by Curlycat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

+
A sensual, flowery smell for the nights.

-
It doesn't stay on for long which is too bad.
The packagaing isn't as beautiful as the others.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 eatmyshort on 3/13/2014 7:06:00 PM more reviews by eatmyshort

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Violet    

I agree with ladybug151 review below me. I was attracted to the cute bottle, but the smell is quite vile and offensive. I can't pin point what it is. As I was sampling the fragrant, several kids nearby started making the vomit face, ventilating themselves with their hands, and head the other direction. End of my Marc Jacobs Dot sampling adventure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 3/13/2014 6:59:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The bottle is very cute but the fragrance is very generic to me. I have smelled this before and cannot for the life of me figure out which one it is. It's one of those scents that is very common and easy to replicate. That's just not my thing.

I appreciate the scent though, it's a very nice fruity fragrance with a hint of warmth. A very spring/summer scent. The longevity on this is poor. It lasts about 3 hours before it vanishes. I expect a designer fragrance to last more than 3 hours for the price. I don't detect any of the driftwood in it or musk. I just smell the fruits and a subtle warm scent that I think is the coconut. It's very subtle and mixed though.

I wouldn't waste money on this, it's just too common a fragrance to spend $$ on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ladybug151 on 2/8/2014 5:36:00 PM more reviews by ladybug151

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love the packaging. I liked the first 3 minutes of Dot and then it morphed into the most vile scent ever. I dislike this musky funeral home dry down. Horrible!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 keetandkeiko on 12/29/2013 11:09:00 PM more reviews by keetandkeiko

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this perfume so much! It's very light and perfect for daytime or a date. Heavy perfumes make my head hurt, but this doesnt do that at all! It's very fresh and clean, but it does have a floral scent. I'm not fond of the packaging, because it's a little over the top. Over all it is a fantastic product. Definitely will be repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 prplepolkadotz on 12/3/2013 4:01:00 PM more reviews by prplepolkadotz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The packaging is so cute but what Marc Jacobs perfume isn't adorable? Very girly, sweet but mature in some way.. Not musky at all also not powdery. Slightly floral maybe Love it! If you love daisy and honey you will love this too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MES on 9/30/2013 1:31:00 AM more reviews by MES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love, love, love the bottle for this. It's cute and fun, but at the same time reminds me of something vintage. I do not however care for the fragrance, it's very sweet, reminds me a bit of fresh melon. I'm just not a fan of sweet. I had the sad experience of coming of age when BBW was wildly popular and I craved nothing more than Gucci Rush. Dot would be good for someone who wants a fun, light, daytime fragrance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hrtbrkr78 on 9/15/2013 5:19:00 PM more reviews by hrtbrkr78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love most things MJ but this was such a huge let-down! This scent is analogous to the type of scent that every tween wears like Juicy Couture. Not only is this floral and sickeningly-sweet, it is overpowering; the scent arrives before you do in a room! I would love for the formulators to change this into a wearable scent by decreasing the amounts of sweetness or floral in it. I just cannot imagine anyone over the age of 25 wearing this and be taken seriously. Nice notes but done in all the wrong proportions. Great lasting power like most of his stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Caramel_Apples on 9/15/2013 12:46:00 AM more reviews by Caramel_Apples

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not at all a fragrance person, but being a fan of Daisy since it came out (though not so much Eau So Fresh), I'm always interested in trying whatever perfumes Marc Jacobs comes out with.

This, to me, is Daisy's sweeter sister. Whereas Daisy is a fresh burst of upbeat fragrance for daytime, Dot is a deeper, richer scent that is as suitable for evenings.

The reason I'm not a fragrance person is because even high-end fragrances too often are at least one of two things: 1) a heavy burst of alcohol, 2) a scent that barely lasts a half hour and/or I can't smell it unless my wrist is an inch away from my nose. "Dot" passes all my tests. I would give it a B- on lasting power, because I feel the scent fades a lot after at most 2 hours. But I like the scent itself enough that I enjoy spraying it a lot anyway. It doesn't hurt that the bottle is adorable.

I do think it's overpriced, but based on the merits of the product exclusively, I'm definitely a fan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 YassAndin on 8/14/2013 5:37:00 AM more reviews by YassAndin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this perfume! First off, I just love the cute packaging. The colours are vibrant and I was really attracted to it. The wings on the the lid is just the cutest thing I've ever seen on a beauty product. So then I decided to get this one instead of Daisy, which I have been using for a while and completely adore.

On top of that, the scent of this perfume is really nice as well. It's really sweet and it fits me pretty well. I didn't like it the first time I used it, but then when I used it the second time, I realized just how good it smells. It lasted longer than my other perfumes (VS Sheer Love & Anna Sui Dolly Girl are the ones I'm currently using) and I liked that. I don't use this everyday, however, because it can get a little overwhelming for me.

Overall, I think it's a really great product. If I run out, I won't go running to get it, but I'll repurchase again one day. Because as much as I like this one, I still prefer Daisy over Dot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Marc Jacobs products

More Fragrances products