Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation

3.9

519 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Polysilicone-11, Butylene Glycol, Isononyl Isononanoate, Silica Dimethicone Silylate, Dimer Dilinoleyl Dimer Dilinoleate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Glycerin, Isododecane, Sodium Chloride, Methicone, Glyceryl Caprylate, Calcium Carbonate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Trihydroxystearin, Potassium Sorbate, Methylpropanediol, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Disodium Edta, Peg/Ppg-18/18 Dimethicone. May Contain (+/-):CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492 (Iron Oxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxide), CI 77499 (Iron Oxide).


on 2/27/2015 9:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I think I have finally found my favorite full coverage foundation. I am NC20 in MAC, and came up as 1R05 with Sephora's Color IQ, so I got Kat Von D foundation in Light 48.

Packaging:
Very cute plastic bottle with a PUMP! There is a plastic piece that goes over the opening from which the foundation comes - I choose to recap, rather than throw away that piece - to prevent drying and keep the foundation hygienic. The 1 fl oz (30ml) bottle is $34.

Application:
It is a rather thick foundation and can be applied with either a brush, your fingers, or a beauty blender. I have vitiligo (white patches) around my mouth and eyes, and a lot of redness on my cheeks. One pump is all I need to completely cover all my issues. I sometimes use another half pump to conceal pimples and dark veins around my eyes. I do not need any additional concealer with this product. I do not find this product too cakey or heavy on the skin.

Tips for application:
This one tends to dry very quick, so work in sections - apply on one cheek and blend out, then the other cheek and blend, and so on. It blends fairly easily, regardless of whether you dab, stipple, or buff. It does not look streaky at all. Some people suggest mixing it with the moisturizer to "thin/sheer" it out.

Longevity:
I have combination skin, with very oily nose and center of the forehead. Most of the foundations that I use give me about 3 hours of oil-free wear before I have to blot the oil off. With this one, I get about 5 hours without a primer, and longer with primer underneath. The longer it is on your skin, the more it "melts" into your skin (not OFF!).

Comparison:
I use Estee Lauder DoubleWear, MAC Studio Fix, Rimmel Stay Matte, Maybelline Fit Me Matte+Poreless, and Revlon Colorstay. And ALL of them look patchy and settle into fine lines around my eyes, chin, and forehead. Kat Von D foundation DOES NOT do that.

Although it is a very full coverage foundation, it does not feel heavy or uncomfortable on the skin. I am looking forward to seeing how it performs in the warmer months.



on 2/26/2015 1:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really liked this foundation however, there are a few things I did not like

Cons
Really thick
Made my t-zone greasy after four hours
A little hard to blend

Pros
Flawless finish
Covers Dark Circles and blemishes

I am still figuring ways to apply this. I have with a beauty blender which is my fav so far. Not so good with F80 Sigma brush. I wear a NC25 in Mac and Purchase the Light Medium 52 and it was a dead on match.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2015 9:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I wanted to love this foundation and initially did when the mua @ sephora first applied it to me. After purchasing though, when I applied at home I realized this foundation makes my pores 100x more visible. I've never had a foundation do that before😞 it really sucks because the coverage was good, and seemed to stay on my face with that 'just applied', which is hard for me to achieve. I remember reading someone else's review on here who said it made her pores look bigger, and thought that was weird bc I've never heard someone saying that.. unfortunately, have to agree with her👎

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2015 7:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have combination skin so finding a good foundation with good coverage is really hard but this is my absolute favorite! The price is great and a little goes a long way!


on 2/23/2015 6:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have Hormonal Acne scarring all over the bottom half of my face. I don't use this foundation every day as I save it for more of a "weekend" foundation because it is quite heavy (I try to keep it light during the week to allow my skin to breath)

Every time I put this foundation on it literally gives me a completely bare canvas to work with! It literally convers each imperfection/acne scar/ broken capillary on my face! This is definitely a FULL COVERAGE foundation, and the consistency is rather thick. Just be sure you are setting it properly and you shouldn't have any problems :)

You go Kat Von D!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2015 10:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For years my H.G has been Mac Studio Fix Fluid, but now I'm completely in LOVE😍 with Kat Von D's Lock It Foundation.
I went to Sephora for a color match. I was matched to Deep 72..it was too dark..so I matched myself to Deep 66. So NW 43 =Deep 66 lol.
I applied the makeup with a sigma F80 flat top Kabuki.I'm heavy handed when it comes to foundation, so i did 3 pumps, I buffed it on using circular motion. The foundation dries quick to a matte finish. This foundation COVERS everything. It's a thick creamy consistency! When i wear it I get tons of compliments. But its "Your makeup is beautiful! " not "Your skin is beautiful! " It last over 10 hours on one of the hottest days and I was working and breaking a sweat. The foundation holds true to color. No oxidizing.I Looked in the mirror and still gorgeous! No judging but i did one of the ultimate "No-No", I went to sleep in my makeup and when i woke up, the foundation was still on and it looked pretty!
If you are looking for a full coverage opaque foundation this is it!


on 2/16/2015 7:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

packaging is ADORABLE!!!price perfection ! 10 dollars less than taste amazonian clay and not nearly as greasy looking so MATTE love it !


on 2/8/2015 11:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

if you like cake foundation this is for you , as an oily skinned girl i definitely go towards to matte long wearing foundations however this foundation is just so thick ! It literally leaves you looking like you put cake on your face , it does leave you matte but as for long wearing i would say it gives me about a 6 hour wear

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2015 11:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have sensitive, oily, dehydrated skin. I'm currently an NC25; asian, warm undertone. I prefer light coverage foundations for everyday use. Then I decided I should go for a medium-full coverage foundation for when I go out. I've used other foundations of the type before such as EL Double Wear, LM Silk Creme, etc. but they either broke me out or couldn't work with my oily face.

Then I bought the Lock-It foundation and it's amazing. It doesn't break me out. Ngl, when I come home from a night out, I get lazy and don't remove my makeup. When I wake up the next morning, my foundation still looks really good.

I was originally going to purchase Medium 52 but it was really yellow and a tad bit dark. It could probably be my summer foundation. So I was matched with Light 48, which was a little gray and pale for my skin tone. I ended up purchasing both colors to mix them. The mix matches my skin perfectly.

I've tried a couple of ways to apply it. Fingers and brushes usually leave a pretty cakey finish no matter how much I try to buff it in; within a few hours, the foundation starts to separate and look like a mess. I found that the beauty blender gives the best, as-natural-as-possible application. The first thin layer is medium coverage. For full coverage, you just need a second thin layer. It covers hyperpigmentation scars really well, I never need to use concealer. One full pump is enough for the entire face.

I start off with a clean face and moisturize before I spray my face with Urban Decay's All Nighter Spray. Then I prime with Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer. I use my beauty blender to apply the Lock-It foundation. Set it with Nar's Light Reflecting Pressed Setting Powder. Contour, highlight, blush (all powder), and then another couple of sprays of UD All Nighter. Then I'm good for the rest of the night. It. Does. Not. Budge. I only need to blot my nose area once throughout the night.

The packaging is nice. It's not messy. Pretty straight-foward pump with a small plastic stopper. I will definitely repurchase when I run out, which won't be soon. You really don't need much product. Considering that and how well it holds up, the price ain't too bad. I've tried other high end brands that were way more expensive and ended up really, really disappointed. This foundation is solid.


on 2/5/2015 5:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If your not looking for full coverage don't get this foundation, but if you are you're in luck my friends :) This works great with people with acne it covers it so well. I hardly use concealer with it, because I don't want a caked look to my face. I don't use this everyday, because I want to save it for days when I want to look extra nice. The lightest shade is still to dark for my skin, so as I said before in my other reviews, just put a light powder over your foundation and it should lighten it up a bit :)


Video Reviews & Tutorials

First Impression:Kat Von D Foundation by ImogenHearts

Kat Von D Lock-it Tattoo Foundation | First Impression (F.I.F) by Chloe Luckin

Top Rated Kat Von D Products

image

Lolita

32 reviews
image

Tattoo Liner

281 reviews
Back to Top