Kat Von D • Lock-It • Liquid

rated 4.0(374 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 jxnnifxr1 on 4/24/2014 5:13:00 PM more reviews by jxnnifxr1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

loved this foundation at first, but now i just dont like how it looks on my skin. i have dry to oily skin and i feel like the matte finish just looks so cakey. another thing is i have yellow undertones, and this foundation pulls through pink undertones, so it looks very ashy on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JaydeLife on 4/24/2014 3:36:00 PM more reviews by JaydeLife

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't get the hype over this foundation. I was so excited but I am completely let down. The coverage is not good, it makes my face look splotchy & cakey & it doesn't blend well. I have tried applying with my beauty blender, brush, fingers; none work well. And I even heavily moisturized beforehand bc I was told that it's drying but that still didn't help. I will be returning this to Sephora.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Blondebeauty2 on 4/20/2014 2:41:00 PM more reviews by Blondebeauty2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been trying this foundation out for over a week now. It's full coverage and if not blended well on moisturized skin, can look dry or cakey. I was using my F80 from Sigma to apply this but it was just cakey looking so I tried my beauty blender and I like that look much better. The sales associate described this foundation as just sitting on top of ur skin and not ever really sinking in for a more blended natural look. I would say that he's right. With that being said, it does cover very well and if applied correctly on top of very moisturized skin, it will look flawless. I've wore Estee Lauder's Doublewear for years so I've been comparing it to that. Doublewear is my absolute holy grail, full coverage, number one foundation. IMO Doublewear wins hands down. That foundation doesn't rub off at all and is long wearing. With the lock it foundation, my only problem is that it doesn't last all day.. If u rub ur nose lightly a few times or blow it or anything, the foundation will come off and then ur left with a patchy looking face. Doublewear isn't like that at all. I also found that this does excentuate ur fine lines and wrinkles big time, so keep that in mind. So I will say that this is a good contender and I can see why so many ppl like it but IMO it isn't the best of the best for full coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 keliece on 4/20/2014 4:30:00 AM more reviews by keliece

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This foundation has changed my life. I have scars from acne and this is the only foundation I have ever used that actually COVERS without concealer. Light 44 matches extremely well and I have had so many compliments on how beautiful my skin looks in the past 6 months. I use a few spots all over my face and blend with a flat foundation brush. I am beyond happy with this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 debpeters on 4/18/2014 5:49:00 AM more reviews by debpeters

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Such a gorgeous foundation, and I love the odd hazelnut ish scent it has, as weird as that sounds. It comes in a variety of shades and for the price, it definitely does what it promises. The only problem I have with it is building it up. It goes patchy when I try to stipple more on in areas where I need more coverage. It also tends to crease abit in the corners of my mouth. But its really no biggie, its just one of those foundations you need to play around with abit before you find the best way to apply it. It can look cakey if you put too much on, so be careful, it covers like a concealer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ctmorgan on 4/17/2014 9:59:00 PM more reviews by Ctmorgan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The only foundation I've ever bought twice in a row (yes, I may have commitment issues). I have CRAZY pregnancy skin right now that is super oily and super dry depending on the day and these horrible brown (malasma) spots have appeared all over. This is my FAVORITE makeup in the world. Seriously. Don't leave home without it on. Yes it's very thick, too think for me to wear solo, so I mix half primer and half this foundation and apply with just my fingers and it works perfectly. Nobody knows (or at least they don't comment) only makeup, they think I just suddenly have awesome skin! Little do they know, it's a nightmare under this wonderful product. I'm a dental assistant so I have to wear a mask all day and it does tend to rub off on there but not nearly like you would think. 1 fl oz has lasted me over 6 months using it every single day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AgentMakeup007 on 4/17/2014 3:47:00 PM more reviews by AgentMakeup007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

After trying many different full coverage foundations, and being very demanding on their longevity and quality, I can say I am extremely pleased with this product. It is very pigmented, and a little goes a LONG way. It covers my broken capilaries and my acne scars perfectly, and the finish is a medium matte, which makes my skin look like it's naturally flawless! I can't comment on it's ability to cover up my super dark bloodshot eye area because I normally use concealers for that sensitive area of the face. I haven't noticed my skin breaking out, or developing rashes with this, but I do recommend you ladies use a good moisturizer before applying this, because, like with any other matte finish foundation, this might accentuate dry spots of the face. It's coverage reminds me of my all time favorite Estee Lauder's Double Wear Full Coverage Foundation, only the arrange of shades with Kat Von D's is much more diverse and spot on. Estee Lauder's has a few array of pink undertones whilst Kat Von D's Lock It Tattoo Foundation in the shade Light 48 matches my yellow undertoned skin perfectly.
This foundation is very thick in consistency, whilst Estee Lauder's foundations are very liquidy. Maybe that's why I have read many people complaining this product makes their face cakey at the end of the day. But here's a tip! Use half a pump (that's really all I need) and dab many spots all over your face with it. Then use a damp squishy sponge applicator to blend it all out with bouncy motions, and voilá. Using your fingers or a brush can definitely pack on more product than needed and it might crack up after a while.

Finally, for $34, this foundation is amazing! It's 1 full ounce for the price! And you will need to apply so little each time this will last a lot of time too! I have learned to pay more than $50 on foundations that have done NOTHING for my problematic skin, foundations that only provide the client 0.8 oz per bottle (Dior, Lancôme, Clinique, you name it).

So, to resume it all up, I DO recommend this!
*****Update*********
I thought this would oxidate after a whole day of wearing it just like EVERY other foundation I've tried in my life. I was surprised to see this remained the same color after a long day of use! It's coverage didn't budge and it certainly didn't transfer! Amazing product!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bethanydb on 4/16/2014 11:49:00 PM more reviews by bethanydb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

my holy grail foundation!! I have severe roseaca (sp?), cystic acne, and oily skin and this is the only thing that covers and lasts throughout the day. I'll never buy another foundation. love this stuff. best applied with a flattop brush, for me personally it does not apply well with fingers. I don't have to use concealer with this as it is so pigmented, and if you don't have oily skin, you could probably get away without having to use a setting powder as it is matte and stays on a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mhoelzer2988 on 4/16/2014 2:50:00 PM more reviews by Mhoelzer2988

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After going through several drugstore foundations and trying mac I definitely prefer this over it all! It is very thick and covers we'll so it's great for people with blemishes or scars! I don't think it's buildable because it cakes up but you don't need to build this because it covers so we'll the first time! I love the pump bottle and just the way it looks. It is more than I'm used to paying for makeup but a little goes a very long way so don't put too much on your face! I usually use two pumps and sometimes still have some left over! I will keep buying it until something better comes along if that ever happens!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Bunnieskat on 4/15/2014 12:04:00 PM more reviews by Bunnieskat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so mad I returned this product for te tarte foundation!!! I'm going back this weekend to repurchase this is the only foundation that covers all my acne scars . Even tho it's very hard to blend and emphasizes dry patches. I found that when I mix it with my loreal true match , I just add a few drops . It goes on so much smoother and creamier I love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kat Von D products

More Liquid products