Vichy Capital Soleil SPF 50 mattifying face fluid dry touch

4.4

11 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Homosalate, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Ethylhexyl Triazone, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Bis-Ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine, Drometrizole Trisiloxane, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Aluminium Starch OctenylSuccinate, Octocrylene, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Parfum (Fragrance), Caprylyl Methicone, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Caprylyl Glycol, Cinnamomum Cassia Bark Extract, Dimethicone, Disodium EDTA, Inulin Lauryl Carbamate, PEG-8 Laurate, Phenoxyethanol, Inulin Lauryl Carbamate, PEG-8 Laurate, Phenoxyethanol, Potarium Officinale Root Extract, Stearic Acid, Stearyl Alcohol, Terephthalylidene Dicamphor Sulfonuc Acid, Titanium DIoxide, Toicioherokn tromethamine, Xanthan Gum, Zingiber Officinale Root Extract/Ginger Extract.


on 4/15/2015 12:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Black

Iíve been struggling to find my Holy Grail sunscreen since I was a teenager. Magazine do repeat multiple times that we need to use sunscreen daily to prevent aging. I do believe the sun is our biggest enemy and I do want to use sunscreen daily. But itís so hard to find one that best for your skin type. It is nearly an impossible task. Iíve tried so many brands from Korea, Japan and US but they all broke me out after just one use, some of them absorb into the skin so fast because they have a lot of alcohol which will dry out your skin and your skin will react by producing my oil, causes clog pores and break out. My finding finally stopped when I thought of Vichy. What took me so long to try their sunscreen? Their stores are everywhere and easy to buy products, plus Vichy is a well brand name. This is the best sunscreen ever! At first, it quite hard to blend to my skin because it dry fast, now I found a way, I donít rub it in, I flap it into my face. It has a matte finish and control my face shine free for whole day. I donít break out either. Two birds with just one stone. I am very pleased with my purchase and definitely recommend to everyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this sunscreen daily for about six months, and it's definitely the best I've tried! I have quite dry skin and this sunscreen feels moisturizing without being greasy or oily. It dries in seconds and leaves hardly any white cast (though you must be sure to rub it in properly). As others have said, I does have a fragrant smell, which might put some off but I think it's nice. For the price (9Ä here in France), I'll buy it again every time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2014 9:57:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a very nice sunscreen for oily skin. My skin is very oily but I also sometimes get dry patches and it can get very dehydrated, especially during the winter. This sunscreen although very thick in consistency, dries quite matte and can stick to any area of dryness (not a nice look). Also this has to be blended very quickly and quite hard or it will leave whiteish lines. I first bought this product during the summer and quite liked it, but with colder weather I must say it's just too drying even for my oily skin,

Over all I would recommend this for people with combination/oily/very oily skin who don't have a problem with dehydration or dry patches. Great UVB/UVA protection and if blended good does not leave white marks.


on 8/29/2014 6:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I found this while looking for an alcohol-free sunscreen with a high PPD. While they do not tell you the exact PPD, it is at least 16. The texture is thick and yet it absorbs instantly, no need to wait. It is not perfectly matte but it is not greasy either. I would say it gives me skin a glow - in a good way. And I use about 1/4 teaspoon for my face. It has a very strong perfume scent but it fades after an hour or two. The perfume is actually pleasant but I'm sure there are people who won't like how strong it is. It might not be great for sensitive skin because I feel a slight burn as I apply this. No white cast. I certainly would buy this again, but it is hard to find and not listed on the Vichy website, so I feel that it has been replaced by the SPF 30 version.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2014 8:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Sunscreen is a must for me. I have typically English fair skin that burns and freckles in an instant - no exaggeration! However, I've also been cursed with incredibly oily (yet sensitive) skin that makes finding a decent facial sunscreen an absolute nightmare.
Until I found this product, that is.

On application, I nearly had a heart attack, because the cream (which comes in a flip-lid tube, and admittedly smells incredible) felt greasy and sticky on my face. However, 5 minutes later, after mixing it with my favourite Simple light moisturiser, there wasn't a trace of stickiness. My skin felt silky-smooth, clean and oil-free - and stayed like that for the rest of the day! No grease, no breakouts, no allergies.

This is a miracle product from an awesome brand. Vichy is literally the ONLY product that has ever done anything for my sensitive, oily, acne-prone skin. I'd recommend it to anyone!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2014 11:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

One of my all-time favorite sunscreens, and I've probably tried at least a hundred. Background on me: NC10-15, rosacean, dry/sensitive, acne-prone, reactive skin. I tend to burn right through sunscreen, but not this one. Here's why I love it:
- it doesn't irritate my rosacea
- doesn't cause acne
- doesn't leave a white cast
- doesn't cost a fortune (though it's a bit spendy to import from France to US)
- has a very high PPD
- doesn't make me greasy
- lasts hours
- wears beautifully under makeup
- doesn't dry out my skin like mineral sunscreens
- despite the name, has a demi-matte finish so it doesn't make me look dead or powdery
I buy it from Pharmamundi on Amazon (I am not affiliated). This product is pretty darn perfect - the one issue is that I wish I could buy it in the US. Highly recommend!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am using this sunscreen for last 2 months now and I am reallty happy and staisfied that I bought it. It is pure matte, does not make my face shine like a bulb. You can check its detailed review here: Vichy Matte Effect Sunscreen Review! It is one of the best sunsccreen I have used so far.. For the record I ahve oily skin tone.


on 8/3/2012 11:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am posting the same review for the spf 30 version as the spf 50 version because so far I cannot tell much of a difference. Saying that I suppose I might as well wear the spf 50 for the extra protection. Basically, I have been trying for years to find a sunscreen my skin can tolerate and so far this is the best I have encountered in quite sometime. I am oily/combo and this goes on smooth, dries totally matte, and does not leave a white cast. I wish I could get this easier in the US but I order online and its not horribly expensive but not cheap. I also wish it was fragrance free but the scent is not overpowering and doesn't seem to be affecting me. My skin breaks out from everything sometimes immediately sometimes delayed. This is just my initial review and so far I have not had any breakouts from this but we shall see but it is a good sign. Most s/s I have tried lately I can't stand to have on my skin for more than 5 minutes and I have worn this for 3 days in the sun and did not burn at all. It is a pleasure to wear. Yes it is a little hard to spread but i do it in small sections with no issues. As long as I don't break out I will be rebuying.

EDIT - this does break me out a little but what doesn't? may use this occassionally but will probably still keep on looking

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/3/2012 2:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I hate this sunscreen. It's really thick and tacky, not fluid, more like a paste! Hard to blend. When I try to apply foundation on top of this it flakes off immediately. I like clarins uv+ better, its almost liquid like and easy to blend and dries fast to a matte finish.


on 7/29/2012 12:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm absolutely in love with this product. I've been searching high and low for a sunscreen that meets my needs and this fits the bill in every aspect.
My skin: I have slightly sensitive, dehydrated combination skin that is extremely clog prone. My skin doesn't like alcohol and because my t-zone is oily I need something non-greasy, but most of the fluid-type sunscreens do contain a lot of alcohol.
What I want in a sunscreen:
- no white cast
- non-greasy
- no alcohol
- no clogging ingredients (for me, this is very YMMV)
- high spf
This product has all of that! It doesn't contain alcohol (yay). It is slightly thicker than most sunscreens for oily skin I've tried and I wouldn't call it a 'fluid', but even with this slightly thicker consistency it sinks in fast. Once it's sunk in it leaves absolutely no white cast whatsoever. I have a habit of trying new face products on one side of my face only for a week or more to really see the effect. I could honestly not tell the difference between the side of my face that had nothing on it and the side that had this sunscreen on it. No white cast, no sheen. I checked in different angles and in different lightning. It's just invisible.
It's also actually mattifying. It doesn't keep my face matte all day (nothing ever does), but I prefer the finish of this over my regular moisturizer because it's more matte. I still have to apply powder and blot because my skin is just oily, but less than with a regular moisturizer.
All of this goodness would have been useless if this product clogged my pores, like most products do. But miraculously, it doesn't. As I said, I tested it on one side of my face for over a week and it didn't clog my pores then, at which point I dared to use it on my entire face. I've used it on my face every single day for months now and it has not clogged my pores at all.
As for the actual sun protection I can say this: I went to the caribbean for 3 weeks and put this on in the morning (not reapplying during the day, bad I know) and I never burned. I also didn't stay out of the sun or anything. I did tan, of course, but no burns. So from what I can tell, this works pretty well. (Without sunscreen I would've burned within 20 minutes.)
As for the packaging, it's just a tube with a flip cap. Nothing fancy, but functional and hygienic.
The price is great too. It's not cheap, but it's also not overly expensive. I think it's a very reasonable price.
So overall I am very happy with this sunscreen because it's completely invisible and even mattifying, it contains no alcohol, it doesn't clog my pores and it protects very well.
I've tried many many sunscreens (incl. LRP, PTR, Clarins, Chanel, Lancome, etc.) and this is the best I've tried so far.
I don't believe in calling products HG before I've repurchased them, but I don't see why this wouldn't become my HG once I run out. I'm even using this instead of my daycream now (with a HA serum underneath) because I just love the finish.
Update: I've repurchased. HG :)

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top