Vichy • Capital Soleil SPF 50 mattifying face fluid dry touch • Sunscreen

rated 4.4(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluestar21 on 8/29/2014 6:46:00 PM more reviews by bluestar21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I found this while looking for an alcohol-free sunscreen with a high PPD. While they do not tell you the exact PPD, it is at least 16. The texture is thick and yet it absorbs instantly, no need to wait. It is not perfectly matte but it is not greasy either. I would say it gives me skin a glow - in a good way. And I use about 1/4 teaspoon for my face. It has a very strong perfume scent but it fades after an hour or two. The perfume is actually pleasant but I'm sure there are people who won't like how strong it is. It might not be great for sensitive skin because I feel a slight burn as I apply this. No white cast. I certainly would buy this again, but it is hard to find and not listed on the Vichy website, so I feel that it has been replaced by the SPF 30 version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladyjadem on 7/29/2014 8:02:00 AM more reviews by ladyjadem

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Sunscreen is a must for me. I have typically English fair skin that burns and freckles in an instant - no exaggeration! However, I've also been cursed with incredibly oily (yet sensitive) skin that makes finding a decent facial sunscreen an absolute nightmare.
Until I found this product, that is.

On application, I nearly had a heart attack, because the cream (which comes in a flip-lid tube, and admittedly smells incredible) felt greasy and sticky on my face. However, 5 minutes later, after mixing it with my favourite Simple light moisturiser, there wasn't a trace of stickiness. My skin felt silky-smooth, clean and oil-free - and stayed like that for the rest of the day! No grease, no breakouts, no allergies.

This is a miracle product from an awesome brand. Vichy is literally the ONLY product that has ever done anything for my sensitive, oily, acne-prone skin. I'd recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 7/13/2014 11:20:00 AM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

One of my all-time favorite sunscreens, and I've probably tried at least a hundred. Background on me: NC10-15, rosacean, dry/sensitive, acne-prone, reactive skin. I tend to burn right through sunscreen, but not this one. Here's why I love it:
- it doesn't irritate my rosacea
- doesn't cause acne
- doesn't leave a white cast
- doesn't cost a fortune (though it's a bit spendy to import from France to US)
- has a very high PPD
- doesn't make me greasy
- lasts hours
- wears beautifully under makeup
- doesn't dry out my skin like mineral sunscreens
- despite the name, has a demi-matte finish so it doesn't make me look dead or powdery
I buy it from Pharmamundi on Amazon (I am not affiliated). This product is pretty darn perfect - the one issue is that I wish I could buy it in the US. Highly recommend!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShailjaVashisht on 6/18/2014 7:22:00 AM more reviews by ShailjaVashisht

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am using this sunscreen for last 2 months now and I am reallty happy and staisfied that I bought it. It is pure matte, does not make my face shine like a bulb. You can check its detailed review here: Vichy Matte Effect Sunscreen Review! It is one of the best sunsccreen I have used so far.. For the record I ahve oily skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondchick12 on 8/3/2012 11:56:00 PM more reviews by blondchick12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am posting the same review for the spf 30 version as the spf 50 version because so far I cannot tell much of a difference. Saying that I suppose I might as well wear the spf 50 for the extra protection. Basically, I have been trying for years to find a sunscreen my skin can tolerate and so far this is the best I have encountered in quite sometime. I am oily/combo and this goes on smooth, dries totally matte, and does not leave a white cast. I wish I could get this easier in the US but I order online and its not horribly expensive but not cheap. I also wish it was fragrance free but the scent is not overpowering and doesn't seem to be affecting me. My skin breaks out from everything sometimes immediately sometimes delayed. This is just my initial review and so far I have not had any breakouts from this but we shall see but it is a good sign. Most s/s I have tried lately I can't stand to have on my skin for more than 5 minutes and I have worn this for 3 days in the sun and did not burn at all. It is a pleasure to wear. Yes it is a little hard to spread but i do it in small sections with no issues. As long as I don't break out I will be rebuying.

EDIT - this does break me out a little but what doesn't? may use this occassionally but will probably still keep on looking

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Saagelo on 8/3/2012 2:11:00 AM more reviews by Saagelo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I hate this sunscreen. It's really thick and tacky, not fluid, more like a paste! Hard to blend. When I try to apply foundation on top of this it flakes off immediately. I like clarins uv+ better, its almost liquid like and easy to blend and dries fast to a matte finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jootje on 7/29/2012 12:53:00 PM more reviews by jootje

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm absolutely in love with this product. I've been searching high and low for a sunscreen that meets my needs and this fits the bill in every aspect.
My skin: I have slightly sensitive, dehydrated combination skin that is extremely clog prone. My skin doesn't like alcohol and because my t-zone is oily I need something non-greasy, but most of the fluid-type sunscreens do contain a lot of alcohol.
What I want in a sunscreen:
- no white cast
- non-greasy
- no alcohol
- no clogging ingredients (for me, this is very YMMV)
- high spf
This product has all of that! It doesn't contain alcohol (yay). It is slightly thicker than most sunscreens for oily skin I've tried and I wouldn't call it a 'fluid', but even with this slightly thicker consistency it sinks in fast. Once it's sunk in it leaves absolutely no white cast whatsoever. I have a habit of trying new face products on one side of my face only for a week or more to really see the effect. I could honestly not tell the difference between the side of my face that had nothing on it and the side that had this sunscreen on it. No white cast, no sheen. I checked in different angles and in different lightning. It's just invisible.
It's also actually mattifying. It doesn't keep my face matte all day (nothing ever does), but I prefer the finish of this over my regular moisturizer because it's more matte. I still have to apply powder and blot because my skin is just oily, but less than with a regular moisturizer.
All of this goodness would have been useless if this product clogged my pores, like most products do. But miraculously, it doesn't. As I said, I tested it on one side of my face for over a week and it didn't clog my pores then, at which point I dared to use it on my entire face. I've used it on my face every single day for months now and it has not clogged my pores at all.
As for the actual sun protection I can say this: I went to the caribbean for 3 weeks and put this on in the morning (not reapplying during the day, bad I know) and I never burned. I also didn't stay out of the sun or anything. I did tan, of course, but no burns. So from what I can tell, this works pretty well. (Without sunscreen I would've burned within 20 minutes.)
As for the packaging, it's just a tube with a flip cap. Nothing fancy, but functional and hygienic.
The price is great too. It's not cheap, but it's also not overly expensive. I think it's a very reasonable price.
So overall I am very happy with this sunscreen because it's completely invisible and even mattifying, it contains no alcohol, it doesn't clog my pores and it protects very well.
I've tried many many sunscreens (incl. LRP, PTR, Clarins, Chanel, Lancome, etc.) and this is the best I've tried so far.
I don't believe in calling products HG before I've repurchased them, but I don't see why this wouldn't become my HG once I run out. I'm even using this instead of my daycream now (with a HA serum underneath) because I just love the finish.
Update: I've repurchased. HG :)

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondchick12 on 7/22/2012 8:28:00 PM more reviews by blondchick12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am posting the same review for the spf 30 version as the spf 50 version because so far I cannot tell much of a difference. Saying that I suppose I might as well wear the spf 50 for the extra protection. Basically, I have been trying for years to find a sunscreen my skin can tolerate and so far this is the best I have encountered in quite sometime. I am oily/combo and this goes on smooth, dries totally matte, and does not leave a white cast. I wish I could get this easier in the US but I order online and its not horribly expensive but not cheap. I also wish it was fragrance free but the scent is not overpowering and doesn't seem to be affecting me. My skin breaks out from everything sometimes immediately sometimes delayed. This is just my initial review and so far I have not had any breakouts from this but we shall see but it is a good sign. Most s/s I have tried lately I can't stand to have on my skin for more than 5 minutes and I have worn this for three full days in the sun so far and it seems to offer the protection I need and be a pleasure to wear. Will update after a month of use! Definitely worth trying if you have oily/combo skin. If you have try skin it is prob. not for you hence the "dry touch" name.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Vichy products

More Sunscreen products