Vichy Capital Soleil SPF 50 mattifying face fluid dry touch

4.4

13 reviews

92% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Homosalate, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Ethylhexyl Triazone, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Bis-Ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine, Drometrizole Trisiloxane, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Aluminium Starch OctenylSuccinate, Octocrylene, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Parfum (Fragrance), Caprylyl Methicone, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Caprylyl Glycol, Cinnamomum Cassia Bark Extract, Dimethicone, Disodium EDTA, Inulin Lauryl Carbamate, PEG-8 Laurate, Phenoxyethanol, Inulin Lauryl Carbamate, PEG-8 Laurate, Phenoxyethanol, Potarium Officinale Root Extract, Stearic Acid, Stearyl Alcohol, Terephthalylidene Dicamphor Sulfonuc Acid, Titanium DIoxide, Toicioherokn tromethamine, Xanthan Gum, Zingiber Officinale Root Extract/Ginger Extract.


on 6/22/2015 2:30:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Have been using this day in, day out for about 5 years now and would not be without it. I'm very pale (don't tan at all) but have quite oily skin and this matifies perfectly without making me look like a ghost. It feels quite thick on application but soaks in well, so that you can actually wear enough to feel you are getting SPF50 protection. Mexoryl sunscreen means it's photo-stable and works all day - and I haven't had a problem with 'bobbling' or breakouts. I had a wobble last year when it became very difficult to find in the UK for a while (had to import it from France!) - but it now seems to have been re-launched as "Ideal Soleil" and it back in stock. Phew!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/18/2015 12:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm very hard to please with sunscreen but this is one of the better I've tried for sure.
The texture is classic cream but lightweight. It goes on nicely, can't feel it on my skin, really mattifies without looking flat and doesn't clump under foundation.
The scent is quite noticeable and fairly summery. Hasn't broken me out. Classic tube packaging, readily available and fairly priced.
The only reason for knocking a lippie off is that I absolutely adore cooling gel-cream sunscreens so this inevitably comes second. Still a great product though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2015 12:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Black

Iíve been struggling to find my Holy Grail sunscreen since I was a teenager. Magazine do repeat multiple times that we need to use sunscreen daily to prevent aging. I do believe the sun is our biggest enemy and I do want to use sunscreen daily. But itís so hard to find one that best for your skin type. It is nearly an impossible task. Iíve tried so many brands from Korea, Japan and US but they all broke me out after just one use, some of them absorb into the skin so fast because they have a lot of alcohol which will dry out your skin and your skin will react by producing my oil, causes clog pores and break out. My finding finally stopped when I thought of Vichy. What took me so long to try their sunscreen? Their stores are everywhere and easy to buy products, plus Vichy is a well brand name. This is the best sunscreen ever! At first, it quite hard to blend to my skin because it dry fast, now I found a way, I donít rub it in, I flap it into my face. It has a matte finish and control my face shine free for whole day. I donít break out either. Two birds with just one stone. I am very pleased with my purchase and definitely recommend to everyone.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this sunscreen daily for about six months, and it's definitely the best I've tried! I have quite dry skin and this sunscreen feels moisturizing without being greasy or oily. It dries in seconds and leaves hardly any white cast (though you must be sure to rub it in properly). As others have said, I does have a fragrant smell, which might put some off but I think it's nice. For the price (9Ä here in France), I'll buy it again every time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2014 9:57:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a very nice sunscreen for oily skin. My skin is very oily but I also sometimes get dry patches and it can get very dehydrated, especially during the winter. This sunscreen although very thick in consistency, dries quite matte and can stick to any area of dryness (not a nice look). Also this has to be blended very quickly and quite hard or it will leave whiteish lines. I first bought this product during the summer and quite liked it, but with colder weather I must say it's just too drying even for my oily skin,

Over all I would recommend this for people with combination/oily/very oily skin who don't have a problem with dehydration or dry patches. Great UVB/UVA protection and if blended good does not leave white marks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2014 6:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I found this while looking for an alcohol-free sunscreen with a high PPD. While they do not tell you the exact PPD, it is at least 16. The texture is thick and yet it absorbs instantly, no need to wait. It is not perfectly matte but it is not greasy either. I would say it gives me skin a glow - in a good way. And I use about 1/4 teaspoon for my face. It has a very strong perfume scent but it fades after an hour or two. The perfume is actually pleasant but I'm sure there are people who won't like how strong it is. It might not be great for sensitive skin because I feel a slight burn as I apply this. No white cast. I certainly would buy this again, but it is hard to find and not listed on the Vichy website, so I feel that it has been replaced by the SPF 30 version.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2014 8:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Sunscreen is a must for me. I have typically English fair skin that burns and freckles in an instant - no exaggeration! However, I've also been cursed with incredibly oily (yet sensitive) skin that makes finding a decent facial sunscreen an absolute nightmare.
Until I found this product, that is.

On application, I nearly had a heart attack, because the cream (which comes in a flip-lid tube, and admittedly smells incredible) felt greasy and sticky on my face. However, 5 minutes later, after mixing it with my favourite Simple light moisturiser, there wasn't a trace of stickiness. My skin felt silky-smooth, clean and oil-free - and stayed like that for the rest of the day! No grease, no breakouts, no allergies.

This is a miracle product from an awesome brand. Vichy is literally the ONLY product that has ever done anything for my sensitive, oily, acne-prone skin. I'd recommend it to anyone!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2014 11:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

One of my all-time favorite sunscreens, and I've probably tried at least a hundred. Background on me: NC10-15, rosacean, dry/sensitive, acne-prone, reactive skin. I tend to burn right through sunscreen, but not this one. Here's why I love it:
- it doesn't irritate my rosacea
- doesn't cause acne
- doesn't leave a white cast
- doesn't cost a fortune (though it's a bit spendy to import from France to US)
- has a very high PPD
- doesn't make me greasy
- lasts hours
- wears beautifully under makeup
- doesn't dry out my skin like mineral sunscreens
- despite the name, has a demi-matte finish so it doesn't make me look dead or powdery
I buy it from Pharmamundi on Amazon (I am not affiliated). This product is pretty darn perfect - the one issue is that I wish I could buy it in the US. Highly recommend!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am using this sunscreen for last 2 months now and I am reallty happy and staisfied that I bought it. It is pure matte, does not make my face shine like a bulb. You can check its detailed review here: Vichy Matte Effect Sunscreen Review! It is one of the best sunsccreen I have used so far.. For the record I ahve oily skin tone.


on 8/3/2012 11:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am posting the same review for the spf 30 version as the spf 50 version because so far I cannot tell much of a difference. Saying that I suppose I might as well wear the spf 50 for the extra protection. Basically, I have been trying for years to find a sunscreen my skin can tolerate and so far this is the best I have encountered in quite sometime. I am oily/combo and this goes on smooth, dries totally matte, and does not leave a white cast. I wish I could get this easier in the US but I order online and its not horribly expensive but not cheap. I also wish it was fragrance free but the scent is not overpowering and doesn't seem to be affecting me. My skin breaks out from everything sometimes immediately sometimes delayed. This is just my initial review and so far I have not had any breakouts from this but we shall see but it is a good sign. Most s/s I have tried lately I can't stand to have on my skin for more than 5 minutes and I have worn this for 3 days in the sun and did not burn at all. It is a pleasure to wear. Yes it is a little hard to spread but i do it in small sections with no issues. As long as I don't break out I will be rebuying.

EDIT - this does break me out a little but what doesn't? may use this occassionally but will probably still keep on looking

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top