Mario Badescu • Glycolic Foaming Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 4.0(166 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 laurenmoody on 2/26/2014 2:59:00 AM more reviews by laurenmoody

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great face wash! I have very acne prone and oily skin, with acne scarring as well. This wash is a good chemical exfoiliator, as mechanical exfoiliators are not good for acne prone skin (irritating, and eventually will exarcerbate acne) I actually love Mario Badescu's full ine of products. This is one out of 3 face washes I have by him, along with tons of other masks, and acne products. He has a great line for people who like products without tons of ingredients, and materials that are more natural. This product does help even out your skin tone, and as an African American woman who struggles with bad acne scarring, I can say this is my favorite MB product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blondebeaute on 2/13/2014 11:07:00 AM more reviews by blondebeaute

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This product keeps my skin looking and feeling soft and healthy.
This is a HARSH cleanser, definitely not recommended for everyday!
I have a very active lifestyle, work and exercise consuming the majority of my time. And living in the FL heat, makeup and sweat tend to get trapped in my pores, but this keeps it looking great!

Of the two MB cleansers I own, this one is a top favorite. I wear medium-heavy coverage makeup almost everyday, and I typically need some kind of exfoliation at least 2-3 times a week that isn't too harsh. I got this product many months ago, and have used it many times. Since then, I have still managed to have an almost complete bottle. A little of this goes a long way. I use this cleanser two different ways depending on my levels of laziness... 1. Just washing my face. I apply a few drops of product onto my hands and lather it onto my face, while rubbing it in with circular motions for about 5 minutes, and then wash it off. I feel like this is an effective way for just gentle exfoliation. If I feel exciting and less lazy, I will put out my spinbrush and give it a go. Sometimes I have even gone on for 20 minutes with just massaging the product into my face with the brush, and afterwards it feels amazing.
I've mixed in a bit of silver powder with this and put it on the spin brush and let it sit for 5-10 minutes once massaged into the skin, and the results were great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hmhanke89 on 2/11/2014 11:41:00 PM more reviews by hmhanke89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've given this about a month and a half of regular use and the verdict is in- I love it! I can't help but notice how glowy and even-toned my face is without makeup after every shower. I use this every other night with my wannabe-Clarisonic Olay cleansing brush and I am loving the results. I have very oily skin so it can handle this 3-4 times a week without any dryness issues, but people with drier skin should probably stick to the recommended 1-2 times a week. Foams great, removes makeup, and leaves my face freshly exfoliated and glowing. This is my new HG deep cleanser!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jennajenkins on 2/7/2014 7:17:00 PM more reviews by Jennajenkins

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product. I think it has cut down on the number of break outs that I would normally have, as well as blackheads. It does a great job at removing dirt, oil, and even make up! It doesn't dry my out like some other reviewers say. I've even been using it as my daily cleanser with my clairsonic. The only reason I didn't give it five lippies is because it hasn't completely banished my break outs and blackheads. But then again, that's probably unrealistic for a cleanser alone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 labesitos on 1/24/2014 3:15:00 PM more reviews by labesitos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It bought it at Ulta. I explained to the lady that I wanted a good cleanser. I have oily, acne prone, sensitive skin and she recommend this one to me. I only used it for about three days because I didn' t feel like it was cleaning my face. I returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NicoleM96 on 1/20/2014 10:36:00 PM more reviews by NicoleM96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is the bomb dot com. I use it once to twice a week just to really deep clean my face and get all the build up and crap out. And it does wonders. My face feels so great and clean and fresh after I use this, and my skin look so much less tired. Its a must use product for me, and considering I only use it once or twice a week a bottle has lasted me months and months, so the price is worth it forsure!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joooliagoolia on 1/14/2014 10:55:00 PM more reviews by joooliagoolia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is HG. I started using it in September and my cheeks were littered with PIH and some semi shallow scarring. I used this stuff daily (even though it's not recommended) and my breakouts were definitely few and far between - skin was soft, and not dry at all. Usually have combination skin. Fast forward to December and all of my scarring and PIH is gone. Mario Badescu's whole line is pretty great for us acne suffer's, but I would definitely check this out if you're trying to clear up those pesky post acne marks. Couldn't believe it helped with my shallow scarring (which I thought was permanent), but the scars aren;t even noticeable anymore and don't bother me at all. Try this out ASAP, you have nothing to lose (except some well spent moolah!)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mamojo on 12/20/2013 2:08:00 PM more reviews by mamojo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've used this product twice a week for a couple of months and I really like ut. Makes my skin super soft and fresh. My skin is normal to dry so I need to put on a moisturizer straight away, but overall it's a good product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cp326 on 10/7/2013 4:48:00 PM more reviews by cp326

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First, I will describe my skin. I have combination skin that is pretty much oily but with very dry patches (contact dermatitis according to a dermatologist) around my nose, especially the creases of my nostrils, and chin. Despite being oily, my skin is rather dry - I started doing the oil cleansing method but have been lazy lately and reverting to the Body Shop Tea Tree Gel Cleanser. I'm sure if I get into a good regimen with the oil cleansing method, this dryness will no longer be an issue. My acne is pretty much non-existent now (I'm 24) but around my period, if I eat bad, or simply don't get enough sleep I will "break out" with some very small bumps on my forehead and base of cheeks underneath my cheekbones. I also have some slight discoloration from former pimples. I never had cystic acne, so I don't have any major scarring, etc. However, because of the extreme dryness around my nose and chin, I have a tendency to over moisturize and have a lot of small red pimples in this area. This area is also very red and what I target in the morning when it comes to hiding it with foundation.

I had used the drying lotion by Mario Badescu in the past, but often times it really is of no use to me because my pimples just aren't large enough for it to "dry them up" properly. However, I did notice it worked when I would get the occasional large pimple now and then. So when looking for a new cleanser, I decided to give his brand a try again. I wanted a cleanser that would really deep clean my skin (to effectively remove layers of makeup that I had applied during the day) and, if possible, help with the slight discoloration I have because up until this point I had never really bothered trying to remedy it. I came across the Glycolic Foaming Cleanser on the brand's website and checked numerous rave reviews that claimed it worked really well. So I decided to purchase it and give it a try.

Right now, I am only using it a few times a week at night only (how it recommends using it on the instruction label) and have only been using it for about a month, so far. I didn't want to overuse this product just because I do have those very dry patches and didn't want to aggravate them further. I'm not lying when I say I think this product is the reason my skin has been looking great lately. My roommate even complimented me the other day (late at night when I was makeup free) telling me I had "really great skin". My skin had been kind of broken out prior to using this product, and it is now almost perfectly clear and really looks much much more even in terms of tone and discoloration. I think it is actually HELPING my dry patches as well - my chin/nose area is much smoother and not as flaky as it originally was. Also, the pimples in this area have basically all but vanished with only a couple of stragglers remaining. It's also nowhere near as red as it once was - I can get away with no foundation now!! Overall, my skin just feels softer and smoother and I feel like it has a "glow" that it never had before.

I'm tempted to start using this cleanser every night before bed just because I wear makeup every day. Since this cleanser really deep cleans, it's perfect for removing makeup and seems like it would be a great nightly (or near nightly) ritual. However, I will ease into this experiment and if I find my skin is getting too dry or just reacting badly to the increased usage, I'll go back to using it 3 times a week again. Nevertheless, I give this product two thumbs up!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 huankai on 10/5/2013 3:13:00 AM more reviews by huankai

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Very harsh cleanser, difficult to use and dries out my skin. not recommended for people with sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Cleansers products