Tarte • Glamazon Pure Performance 12 hour lipstick • Lipstick

rated 4.1(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skandelouslala on 4/4/2014 8:01:00 PM more reviews by skandelouslala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

First off, I think any 12 hr wear claim should be taken lightly. It *might* stay on 12 hours if in those 12 hours you did not eat or drink, sat in a room and just looked pretty ;) So when a brand says 8... 10... 12 hr wear I just assume it is their way of calling it long wear aka not as creamy so it isn't going to slide off your lips or transfer quite as easily.

I hate the price of this product. Especially when you get considerably less than other brands. Perhaps Tarte's reasoning was, you are going to need to touch up less so you don't need as much. I don't know. The packaging is cute though, I just wish it held more actual product inside.

The color I have, Inspired, is fabulous. It is a midtone mauvey-pink that does that whole MLBB thing. It gives my face an overall finished polished look without being obvious lipstick or gloss.

The formula is nice. It goes on so smoothly for a drier type of lip color and doesn't get cakey as you build up layers. It sets almost instantly to a finish that is somewhere between matte and satin. It doesn't really have any type of sheen yet the finish looks very natural. I also like the the texture you apply it as is the texture it stays. It doesn't suddenly decide to dry down and suck all the remaining moisture out of your lips and turn them into a dry flakey mess. That said, no it is not very moisturizing so prep your lips accordingly... most long wear lipsticks are a bit on the dry side but this is definitely one of the more comfortable ones I have worn.

This formula actually does hold up substantially to eating and drinking. It will transfer to the mouth of your bottle/glass/whatever and you are going to lose some pigment, but at least in the case of Inspired I could eat my lunch and drink a full bottle of water and absolutely get away with not retouching the color if I had no other choice. That's pretty awesome. Yes there was fading of the color, most noticably in the center of my lips but everything was still pretty uniform looking and definitely presentable. Of course it will also depend on what you are eating... biting into a big greasy hamburger might yield different results.

Otherwise normal wear yields a few hours of wear before the color starts to break down and badly need reapplication. Hardly 12 hours but could be a whole lot worse. I really do like this product and would like to investigate other shades but I do think the price vs the amount you get is an issue.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OMGURTEEF on 1/16/2014 8:56:00 AM more reviews by OMGURTEEF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have this lipstick in the shade "Playful", which is a very pretty muted plum/berry shade. It's dark enough to wear during the colder months, but also bright and...well, playful enough to wear during the Spring and Summer, depending on how you do the rest of your face. For that reason, I love it. Any lipstick that grants that kind of versatility is a win in my book. I can pair this with any eye look - smokey and dark, a thick winged liner, just mascara - whatever. It works with anything. And despite the fact that it's plummy, it's also quite neutral at the same time, so you can play around with a variety of colors around the eye and cheeks.
Texture-wise, I enjoy this lipstick. I don't know that it lasts twelve hours, but it is well long-lasting. It's quite creamy upon application and doesn't tug or drag at all. I don't find it to be drying or moisturizing - it sits in the middle. The finish is creamy rather than matte, with a satiny sheen, which is uncommon for a longwear lip color.
The packaging is cute, but dysfunctional to a fault. I like that it's wood, but the glue holding the metal lining in the lid comes out easily, basically making you have to open the lipstick twice. The twist-up mechanism is stiff and difficult to operate one-handed, which kind of aggravates me. Applying lipstick shouldn't be a two-handed job, kids.
The price is unacceptable. While the product inside the packaging is quite nice, you get much less of it than an average lipstick, despite the misleading size of the tube. An average MAC lipstick comes with 3g of product, whereas this lipstick only clocks in at 2g. Given that you pay $26 USD for this lipstick, it brings it nearly to the point of extortion. Yes, I want to use natural products. Yes, I respect the Tarte name and have often enjoyed a number of their products. But will I repurchase this product despite its highly inflated price tag? That's yet to be seen. I love the lipstick, but I suppose I'll have to see how long it lasts in my collection before I run out of it. If this can't make it past the 3-month mark, then I absolutely will not repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jdhall89 on 12/21/2013 10:26:00 PM more reviews by jdhall89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was so taken by the color of Enlightened that I scooped this up at Ulta today. After wearing it for a few hours, I am considerably less smitten.

The first thing I noticed was the ridiculously small amount of product that you get for $26. While the tube is very large, the actual product weight is 0.07oz, which is about half the typical product size. For that price/oz, I'd rather have a higher-end product.

I was also not impressed by the formula. It goes on tacky and stays tacky, even over a primer (which generally dries down my lipsticks). The wear really isn't bad, but obviously it's not going to last for 12 hours either.

I have a feeling this one will be going back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joiseygirl27 on 12/15/2013 12:37:00 PM more reviews by joiseygirl27

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this lipstick. It lasts a few hours on me until I eat (I have never found a lipstick that lasts through a meal). Not sure about it lasting 12 hours because being realistic, who goes that long without eating... While this lipstick isn't transfer proof, I have still found it long lasting despite frequently drinking out of a water bottle while wearing it. The shade selection is great & I have 5/10 of the colors currently offered- : Pure, Inspired, Bold, Playful & Foxy. I also really like the Tarte lipsurgence lip tints & have found the lasting power to be similar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 9/24/2013 1:41:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Glamazon does not last any longer on my lips than my usual lipsticks ( Clinique, Smashbox, LORAC etc.). I own this in Inspired which is a pinkish mauve. Formula is not creamy and dries with a tacky feel to it. Dries my lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 9/21/2013 10:03:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this lipstick! For a long time, I was hesitant to try this because the thought of a long-wearing lipstick dries out my lips. This actually was a lot more moisturizing than I expected. The formula went on smoothly and it was only after four or five hours that it started to dry a bit. I do not actually believe the claim that this is a 12-hour lipstick because it does not stain the lips, which means that it wipes off over time, but I was still satisfied. I purchased the color Inspired which is a pinky-mauve and complements fair-skinned girls. I was quite impressed with my purchase; this was a definite win!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Therealslayergrrl on 2/11/2013 9:03:00 PM more reviews by Therealslayergrrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I received this in "Fierce" in February's glossy box. The color is a bright orange red. Sadly it doesn't mesh well with my skin tone. But I love the weight of this. It doesn't feel like I have anything on. It's very creamy and buttery. Applies like a dream. I'm more of a blue red girl though. But I'll definitely pick this up in a different color. I can't vouch for lasting power. I only had it on for a few minutes before I took it off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Meech25 on 2/9/2013 5:10:00 PM more reviews by Meech25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this lipstick in "fierce" and it really IS fierce! It's a bright red/orange, the texture is so buttery and it goes on like a dream! I wouldn't say it lasts 12 hours, but I got a good 5-6 hours in before it faded, after that It was still on a little around the rim of my lip.
Really nice product, packaging is fabulous too'

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heather on 1/22/2013 8:31:00 PM more reviews by heather

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I wear this in "Pure," which is a lovely light, natural rose. It is creamy, has a nice non-glossy, satin finish, and lasts several hours without fading or making my lips dry, which makes this one of my favorite long-wearing lipsticks. Excellent for a pulled-together, professional look. I'll pick up "Enlightened" next. Given how well this applies and resists feathering, the price is a little high but not prohibitive.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sam23 on 11/14/2012 11:36:00 AM more reviews by sam23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I like this a lot! I got it in bold which is a very bright coral pink color and its definitely completely matte. I don't think it's necessarily moisturizing but its not drying at all either IMO. It lasts a long time but not 12 hrs, it leaves a nice stain though when it rubs off so you don't necessarily have to reapply immediately. This reminds me of Mac satin texture in a way. I will definitely get more colors in this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Lipstick products