Alpha Hydrox • Intensive Serum 14% Glycolic AHA • Treatments

rated 4.4(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 11/13/2013 2:24:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have been using this everyday for the last year. It is a watery serum that quickly absorbs into skin. It is at an effective pH level to be beneficial to the skin. I have combination skin and this is not enough moisture for me so I usually add a light moisturizer on top and then sunscreen. It gently exfoliates my skin and keeps my pores unclogged.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 10/4/2013 9:26:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It's hard to find AHA products with more than 5% glycolic acid. This serum is both affordable and contains high levels of glycolic acid (14%) at just the right PH level to make it super effective. When I first started using this product, I did experience some mild stinging, which quickly abated as my skin built up a tolerance to the glycolic acid. Now I use it every other morning followed by SPF 50, and my skin looks clearer and feels smoother because of it. My normal to oily combination skin loves the water-like texture of this product. Dryer skin might need a layer of moisturizer afterwards. Although I have sensitive skin, I haven't had any problems with this serum. I'll edit if I do. However, if you're super sensitive you might want slowly increase how often you use this until you build up a tolerance. I think as long as you listen to your skin and apply some common sense, most people could benefit from using this product.

EDIT:
After using this product for a while, I've developed a sensitivity to it. I'm not sure if it's from overuse or from preservatives in the product. It might just be from product overload in general. Needless to say, I'm very disappointed, because this serum really did exfoliate well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GiGiQue on 2/7/2013 1:31:00 PM more reviews by GiGiQue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a very effective product. It has a consistency like water. It dries very quickly, and makeup wears well over it; it does not affect makeup application. I've had no irritation/stinging, and it leaves my skin radiant after usage. I am very clog-prone and break out very easily; this has not broken me out, and it appears to have faded some of my sun spots and acne scars. I've used this for 6 months and will continue to use. I only purchase when it's on sale.

Update: I was given MD Forte Lotion II and MD Forte Lotion III; I loooooove them! However, I will not be able to afford them when finished, so then it will be back to Alpha Hydrox Intensive Serum.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 puppyhead5150 on 11/28/2012 8:01:00 AM more reviews by puppyhead5150

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This product is AMAZING! and the BEST product I have ever found!! I have adult cystic acne that gets really bad at times (bad enough that my derm always wants me to go on Accutane) and I find one of the only things that helps me is using a glycolic acid product. I have used this product line for over 10 years and was excited when I saw this product and read the ingredient list which included things like sodium hyaluronate (a great moisturizer and fine line plumper) plus aloe and the decent concentration of glycolic acid. What I really love about it is that it works, the small ingredient list and the thin watery consistency. It absorbs in to my skin so well and has not broken me out (miracle) and in fact has really helped my current acne situation. My skin is SO oily so I use this as a moisturizer and it's amazing. I use a very drying BP wash and a topical but after using this my skin is so plump and moisturized but not greasy. Of course, the oil always comes later in the day, but now my skin is so refined and fresh looking. My skin is so smooth now and my scars are really starting to fade. This product truly is a miracle and the best over the counter purchase I have ever made.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GulieQ on 11/22/2012 8:06:00 PM more reviews by GulieQ

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I concur with the first reviewer. I tried this as an AHA replacement for the swipes (also a good product). This IS oil free, it dries completely with no residue, makeup goes on well over it, and no burning/irritation--for me--and I'm allergic to most everything. I bought backups when it went on sale After 2 months of morning use, I'm very pleased with the product and it's results. Yes, I would buy it again--and recommend it to others.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mellern on 11/14/2012 3:35:00 PM more reviews by mellern

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This serum has fantastic ingredients which do not exacerbate acne issues. I've been using it for 2 months to get rid of acne and post-acne hyperpigmentation, and it's been working very well in that regard. My skin is a little less oily and a lot smoother and my acne scars are fading faster than they would without anything. however, the preservative that they use (methylisothiazolinone) is very irritating to me...I googled it and it causes contact dermatitis in a good part of the population. So, while the serum itself is great, I won't be using it anymore because of itching and would recommend that sensitive skins stay away.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aa2204 on 9/26/2012 6:26:00 PM more reviews by aa2204

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this serum for the past 14 days, twice a day (in the morning under sunscreen and at bedtime). Results to date: my skin is smooth, pores on my forehead and cheeks look great, pores on my chin and nose (the ones that have usually been very clogged) are in better shape. I wash my face with Alpha Hydrox foaming wash and I use Elta MD physical tinted sunblock. I can see significant difference in the state of my pores and conidition of my skin after using this serum consistently. I will repurchase.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 8/8/2012 4:05:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have finally found the best regimen of products for my combination-to-oily, acne-prone skin. I use the Alpha Hydrox foaming face wash to cleanse my face with twice a day. I use their 14% AHA swipes once every 3-4 days. And, I use their Intensive Serum 14% Glycolic AHA either once or twice a day.

The intensive serum is what I consider to be the BEST product that Alpha Hydrox makes. It sinks into my skin effortlessly, it doesn't have any odor to it, and it doesn't break me out at all. And, it it is absolutely to use boost one's facial clarity, better even out one's skin tone, suberbly provide one's face with a smoother and more taut look than without.

This is one product that's worthy to be praised!!!!!!!!!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 inkonapin on 7/24/2012 10:39:00 AM more reviews by inkonapin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So far I love this. I have been using this for almost 2 weeks, will update over time. I have also used AH souffle, swipes and oil-free. I've never had any acne issues with any of them. The swipes and souffle can tingle and be uncomfortable to use every day.


This serum is my new favorite AH daytime treatment. Unlike other AH products, this completely disappears into my skin, and I don't experience any burning or tingling sensation so far which makes me more likely to use this. I use about 3-4 drops for my entire face. I also am using it to lighten some recent scars on my arm. I think it will last a long time. My skin looks really good since I started using this. Time will tell, but I am enjoying the glow now.


There are preservatives, check the ingredients. If the serum drips somewhere, it will crystallize and turn white, and I see that on that cap sometimes. That is noted as normal on the mfr website. I like that I am able to drip out a drop at a time, no waste.

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Alpha Hydrox products

More Treatments products