MAC Mineralize Skinfinish - Medium Plus

4.3

32 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I use this to set my foundation and I love it. I never use powders because they have all made me look very cakey but this foundation does not AT ALL. It is amazing. I apply it right after my foundation with a large powder brush.



on 4/29/2015 1:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this powder after reading the reviews on here. I am 41 and have started to get some lines underneath my eyes, which seem to be accentuated when I use face powder to set my concealer. This powder is lovely, it doesn't mattify my face to the point where it looks flat and dull, but instead gives a more dewy finish which is far more natural. Unfortunately it does nothing for the lines under my eyes and still makes the lines look more prominent. That said, I love the coverage that it gives and will definitely invest in it again when I run out. Maybe it's just time to accept the fact that my wrinkles are there to stay!


on 3/30/2015 9:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I usually don't splurge on Mac makeup but after reading reviews about the skinfinish powder I decided to give it a try. I typically use a BB cream and a drugstore powder to set it, in my daily routine. I wasn't happy with the drug store powders i had previously purchased and was looking for a better all day setting powder.

I purchased the skinfinish powder in medium plus, a shade that could carry me through summer. I love love the way it feels on my skin and instantly gave me a nice glow. I wanted to see how it would wear all day without a touch up and I am very pleasantly surprised. I had slight shine but nothing outrageous.
Although it's a bit pricey, $32.00 per compact, I will purchase again.


on 11/6/2014 11:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I used to think this made me break out - but it definitely does not (I just had acne and was struggling to manage it). That being said, I wear this pretty much every day now, and have been for about 6 months (and still haven't used it all up). I use a MAC 109 brush to buff it into my skin. I like to dab Maybelline Fit Me concealer (in "sand") on face, apply that with a damp beauty blender, then buff the skin finish on top. While it's not "full" coverage, I love the natural & glowy coverage it gives me. I wear this every day to work (at a law firm). It makes my natural skin look better and brighter. Medium plus is the right shade for me as I live in south Florida and am always in the sun. I would definitely recommend and will definitely repurchase when I use it all up.


on 9/19/2014 5:00:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

They changed the packaging on this product which I love!! All black super sleek look with a little mirror.

I have a mixed review on this product, the first time I ever bought it I feel in love with it, my skin looked amazing. It added coverage to my Face & Body foundation and gave me a matte look to my rather oily skin. When I ran out I rushed to the store (Mistake) I had super dark skin since i was tanning all summer and I go about 5 shades darker then I am the rest of the year. For some reason I let the girl talk me into getting a shade that matched my skin then (I know HUGE mistake) not only did I loose my tan and I'm not able to wear it anymore but I didn't love it as much, maybe it was the colour, but it broke me out and looked shiny. I'm using it as a bronzer for my cheeks since I spent so much money on it and I love it since its not as dark as all the mac bronzer.

Once i'm all out of my cheap drugstore powder (which I brought as a replacement) I'm going to try the lighter shade again and give it one last shot.


on 6/18/2014 3:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have already purchased another one. :) And I still love it! I think I will continue using it until mac never sells them (hopefully not!!!!) They actually don't stay on my combination skin that well, but I love the look on my face even after my nose starts getting oily. The best thing with mac is they always has perfect color for me. I love this one also because its coverage, it's not that full coverage so it doesn't give me a cakey look. Just right there! And it's also very convenient to apply them with brush, it's perfect for me when I need to get up very early and don't have much time to put foundation and then setting powder....Anyway, I love it!


on 4/3/2014 1:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

personally I do not like it, I told the rep I wanted coverage and I have oily skin... she said I could wear it alone or over makeup so I returned the foundation I bought as well (which did cover up oil), she also just kept trying to sell me more products...I had one powder from bare minerals that covered and did everything all in one (just wrong color) . My first Mac purchase and Im taking pictures this weekend with my fiancé, Im sure its great for some peoples skin :-( I don't recommend it alone wear. Next ill try there match foundation...Im just trying out all makeup brands to find the right fit.


on 12/25/2013 1:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I went in to purchase MAC studio fix foundation and was recommended to use this powder over it. When I first used it, I remember thinking to myself how "natural looking" this product is because I couldn't even feel it on my face..or tell that I was putting something on. I noticed that it took quite a few applications for SOMETHING to show up.

Over time, little to no product came out for it. I don't know if that's how all of the powders are or if I just got a sucky batch. It seems like over time, I was able to get less and less. Right now when I attempt to use it, NOTHING comes out. Even when I rub my fingers across it, NOTHING. I feel like the first layer may have dried off so I tried scraping it and all I got was a flakey mess afterwards. Kind of sad considering how pricey they are. I have about 75% left. So sad.

Definitely will not be repurchasing.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this powder. I use it over top of my liquid foundation, usually as a setting powder. It gives the most natural looking finish. I would say its light coverage, probably buildable to medium coverage. I apply this with an elf powder flat top kabuki brush and I just pat it I'm and then buff it out slightly. Medium Plus is the perfect shade for my NC25 skin tone. At first I didn't think I was going to like this because it has the slightest bit of shimmer in it. But once applied the shimmer isn't noticeable at all. I haven't had any breakouts from this. The only reason I took off a lippie is because I feel like it doesn't have the best staying power. I feel like after 4 hours or so I need to reapply. But overall it's an amazing powder and I'm thoroughly impressed. I would repurchase and recommend in a heartbeat.


on 9/29/2013 7:50:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have been using this product for a long time now. I use it over my liquid foundation. It makes my skin look so smooth and my makeup will last all day (doesn't sink in). It doesn't block my pores or break me out. My daughter came home and mentioned how great this powder was so I bought her one too!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top