Stila • In the Moment Palette • Eye Shadow

rated 3.6(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 diepset1 on 11/16/2014 10:00:00 PM more reviews by diepset1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for $20 during the beauty steal month at Ulta. I was attracted to this palette because I love purple so much! The packaging is really standard, but seems flimsy. It's cardboard and doesn't have a mirror. There are 10 shades and their names are written under them, so no annoying plastic liner to have to look at. The eyeshadow is pretty pigmented and beautiful looks can be achieved with it, but I don't think it's worth the full price. All of the colors seem rather common and not very unique, but I love improvise, which is a plum. Each pan seems to come with a lot of eyeshadow and there is a purple eyeliner included, which is great. All in all, don't pay full price, and I think there are better palettes out there. Purple eyeshadow quads would also suffice if you need a color fix.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeFineFilipina on 7/18/2014 11:36:00 PM more reviews by BeFineFilipina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Update: Looks like Ulta has a deal for $10 off a $50 purchase today. Just got the code in my email!

I have a love-hate relationship with this palette.

Packaging is not ugly, but it's not attractive either. It doesn't stay shut that well and came with a flimsy clear plastic protector inside.

I first thought the eyeliner was absolute crap, so I took it out and threw it in my makeup bag and forgot about it until months later...now, I think it is just ok, probably better suited to other skin tones than mine. It tugs and I have other liners I reach for, so I'm taking this to the trash.

Shadows in the pan are gorgeous. Stunning in fact. They aren't hard, more soft and creamy going on. They do crease though if you go overboard, and having a primer/eye base on your lids definitely helps with the staying power for these shadows.

But they are tricky to blend together and the purple hues just don't translate that well on my tan skin tone. However the bottom row of colors work well on me. It just takes a lot of playing around with this palette to figure out how to make it work...but it does and you honestly can't beat the price.

I still think Urban Decay makes better quality shadows. But if I could buy just one palette it would be It Cosmetics Naturally Pretty Vol 1 palette, which has all matte shades plus a larger shimmery transformer shadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 devotadaniellee on 3/26/2014 12:29:00 AM more reviews by devotadaniellee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I returned my palette a few days after I got it. The colors are absolutely gorgeous, the purples and golds were beautiful. I swatched the colors in the store and they seemed well-pigmented so i was eager to try them on my eyes. However, when I got home and actually used it, I was so disappointed. The colors were difficult to blend and after a few hours, it would become a blob of all the colors mixed together into one. Overall, it wasn't worth the $40 in my opinion, but it was a good deal for the amount of shadows along with the eyeliner- if the shadows had actually worked.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sushiomelette on 3/14/2014 5:42:00 PM more reviews by sushiomelette

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I haven't tried the whole palette yet, only Desire, Captivate and Catalyst and when I tried to apply Captivate to my lid wet, it creased on me! I tried applying more to fix it, and it still creased! I was even using UD Primer potion. I have to say that left me unimpressed. We'll see how the other colors work, but Captivate has left me very put out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sabrinalovesmakeup on 1/4/2014 11:25:00 PM more reviews by sabrinalovesmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a very beautiful palette! If you are a fan of purple eye shadow I would recommend that you go out and give this one a try! It's got so many beautiful shades & so many looks can be created using this one palette! The texture of the eye shadows aren't chalky and the go one soooo super soft. I even love the eyeliner that's included.. It's pretty great! I also love that they added cards to show you step by step how to achieve different eye looks! I would recommend this palette to anyone rather your a makeup junkie or a beginner.. I think you'll enjoy this!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lisaachristine1 on 12/30/2013 4:30:00 PM more reviews by Lisaachristine1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love the purple in this palette!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SaturnineScribe on 10/4/2013 2:43:00 AM more reviews by SaturnineScribe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this palette. Love. I hesitated to buy it at first because of the second row of shadows-- neutrals of any stripe, shimmery or not, are not my style at all. However, it swatched well, so I gave it a try because I loved the purple shadows.

Instinct is a great, frosty bright white I use sparingly for highlights or to blend with other shades to lighten them. Key word: Sparingly! It's intense!

Impulse is a pretty pale lavender-- almost too pale for most of my looks, but I enjoy using it as a light point if I'm doing a gradient.

Glance-- I LOVE this color in the pan, love the duochrome element of it, but it's so hard to wear because it's so intense and bright! It makes a statement, and you have to be careful that it doesn't read as being too much. I tone it down by mixing it with Improvise.

Improvise: I love this dark plummy shade as a liner-- there's no fallout that I Can detect from the glitter, and it pairs with the pencil (Tetra) so beautifully. I love it for smudgy purple eyes.

Catalyst is a fantastic dark, cool black. The glitter doesn't seem to show up how I apply it (wet, as a liner) but it's such a great intense black I still love having it.

Desire is a peachy light color-- too peachy to be a natural color to even out my skin around my eyes. it's also very matte-- almost chalky.

Wonder is a blushy peach shade, and works great for blending into Wonder for a neutral toned shimmery eye.

Spontaneous is the strangest color-- I always think it's rose gold, emphasis on the gold, in the pan, and I put it on and it becomes a peach copper shade much darker. I'm not sure if it's just the undertones in my skin or what, but it makes for some interesting effects. It paired with wonder makes a nice outer eye accent color, with Whim as a crease.

Whim is a nice warm brown-- and unlike most browns, doesn't make my very fair (MUFE115) and neutral skin look dirty or irritated. I use it as a crease color and to darken up Spontaneous in gradients.

Captivate is a great, dark brown lining color-- my skin seems to bring out the cooler tones in it. It also blends out very well.

Almost all the shades are shimmery in some regard, but I've had no trouble with fallout or with the shadows staying put with UD Primer Potion.

The Pencil Tetra is my favorite thing about this palette-- I love it. Adore it I layer it with my black liner for a wash of color, I layer it with the browns to give it a dash of purple and break up the monotony, I use it as a stand alone liner for a less elaborate eye-- I LOVE this pencil. I'd buy it all over again just for the pencil and Catalyst! it smudges decently, but I wouldn't suggest it if you want a heavy ring of smudgy liner from this tiny pencil alone.

The packaging is okay-- I'm not a huge fan of cardboard and prefer plastic or metal, but considering it's just hanging out in my make up case, it's fine. I would very much recommend this palette, but would definitely swatch it first-- the colors have undertones that are not obvious on first glance that can make or break your experience with this palette.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sheenab on 9/11/2013 2:07:00 AM more reviews by sheenab

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I once had a lavender Stila pot of shadow that performed better than any lavender. I was happy to see a similar shade in this palette, so I reached out for it as soon as I noticed it. I wear shades of purples, shades of nudes & shimmers & shades of browns exclusively. This shadow palette has ALL of those, so I'm winning around the clock with this set up. It also comes with a dark plum/purple liner. As a bonus, there's a super sheer shimmery color that i've been using as a highlighter on brow arch, cheekbones & bridge of nose.

Price? Fantastic; at $39 I can't expect to beat it. Pigment? Full & easily adjusted with light, or heavy hand. Blends well, stays put & I only use a powder as base to set. Its been lasting me quite awhile, and I use it a great deal. Not too worried, as I clean my brushes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lavenderwig on 7/28/2013 7:37:00 PM more reviews by lavenderwig

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I returned this and Kat Von D's Saint palette to get Naked. In the Moment wasn't at all flattering like I'd thought it'd be on my very light, yellow skin. When I saw it, I loved it. When I swatched it, I loved it even more. I had a hard time choosing between ITM and Saint but in the end I chose Saint, but after a month the number of shades I was using didn't warrant the price, and that happened with ITM too. I pretty much loved only the bottom 5 colors on me. I could use Wonder, Desire, and Whim on a daily basis. I tried to find them separately, but they didn't exist.

If you're interested, buy it from a place you can return it. I've personally learned that I cannot do cool purples as much I like them, and the pencil is crap. Though it smudges good, it broke the night I was trying it. Good quality of shades, they feel kind of powdery but there's never any fallout. Good price if you use the whole palette. No mirror inside, that was a big letdown for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 julilynmashy on 7/26/2013 4:15:00 AM more reviews by julilynmashy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love the colours in this palette but unfortunately I discovered I had an allergy towards them. At first, my eyelids were itchy and I ignored it and continued using the palette. By the third day, my eyelids were so swollen when I woke up in the morning and I discontinue using the palette. It was itchy and almost burning sensation on my skin. I passed it on to my friend and she had no problems with it so maybe it was just an ingredient that I was allergic to.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Eye Shadow products