Burberry • Sheer Luminous Concealer • Concealers

rated 3.0(6 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.33%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* littlemj on 10/8/2013 2:16:00 PM more reviews by littlemj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Update 4/9/14: Now I LOVE this pen, used over The Body Shop 02 concealer pencil. I'm using the technique from Candice Chen's makeupbox dayre Day 80 under eye concealer routine. Covering my circles better than every other review/combo I've done.

Original 10/8/13: NC25 Chinese. BATTLE MATCHUP CONCEALER & CORRECTORS!

Scenario: Yellow, warm toned skin. Left eye, starting to be shadowy but skin firm. Right eye, more shadowy due to skin / circles sinking in. :( Some crepey skin in general under eyes. Nothing major but circles dark enough needing some kind of corrector.

Environment: natural lighting in house. Overhead (bathroom) lighting always casts shadows, so mirror checks were done straight on w/ a hand held mirror. The results:

>Burberry #2 insufficient coverage by itself.
>Like: Bobbi Brown Concealer Sand under and BB#2 over. Good coverage and skin like finish.
>Very good: Salmon Concealer #2 under and BB#2 over, skin like finish. Some light reflecting along the circles to deal with, but very good coverage and skin like finish. The peachiness in this corrector does more than the sand in this combination.

Comparisons:
YSL TE 2.5 is more light reflective.
Clinique Airbrush 04 Neutral Fair is same amt of 'flat' and more yellow.
Givenchy Mister Light Mr. Macaroon has some shimmer and little more peachy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 2/6/2013 5:12:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was on a concealer binge for a few months and wanted to try this given how much I love Burberry's other cosmetics but it didn't work for me. I chose the lightest shade, No. 01 Light Beige, and it wasn't light enough for my skin and I could clearly see it under my eyes. Compared to Dior's Skinflash in No.02 Candlelight, the Burberry is slightly darker and more peach. I imagine that due to the strong peach undertones, this particular shade would be a great choice for a fair complexion looking to cancel out blue-toned undereye circles. For reference, I'm pale, cool toned, about a NC10 at a guess, and I wear Porcelain in Laura Mercier's TM, No. 2 in Armani's LSF, and Ivory in Cle de Peau's concealer.


The texture is thicker than I expected, more so than YSL Touche Eclat or Dior's Skinflash. It feels more like a wand style liquid concealer with a very creamy consistency. It blends well but not as smoothly and easily as a thinner texture would so it kind of sits on top of skin and never truly melts into it. It feels noticeable on my skin too. Also, strangely, it doesn't seem to set at all. Even with the thinnest, most sheered out blending I could still move it around hours later and it transferred onto my finger if I touched my eye area. So eyeshadow and liner didn't sit on it at all without smudging and creasing. After a couple hours I had eyeliner smeared below my eyes and waterproof mascara smudging all over my lids. I couldn't believe it, especially since I always set everything with a loose powder. Even the worst concealer I've ever tried hasn't been that pliable after a few minutes, let alone all day. My skin is normal to dry so I'm certain it's just this concealer. I tested it on my forearm just to make sure and sure enough after about five hours my little test swatch was still semi-wet and I had no problems smearing it around.


Coverage is decent, not as sheer as the name suggests. There's a faint rose fragrance as well but it wore away quickly. The packaging is the typical click-dispenser pen like YSL's Touche Eclat, etc., and it has a polished gunmetal finish with the Burberry pattern.


I think they need to offer a better color range with more variety in cool and warm tones. But even so this isn't a good concealer by any means and I wouldn't recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jaimee on 12/28/2012 6:40:00 PM more reviews by Jaimee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good concealer. I use it with another concealer if I have heavy duty circles. The click pen is convenient. I will probably not repurchase because it doesn't cover all my under eye darkness on its own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Adara on 11/16/2012 4:40:00 PM more reviews by Adara

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a decent pen concealer, not the best, but ok. I got #3 for the pink tones as I was going to use this under my eyes. It works fine, looks seamless, easy to blend - coverage could certainly be much better. It looks to be a straight up liquid concealer that doesn't have any light reflectivity, which could explain why it doesn't cover much. Otherwise, it's got a smooth and light texture if that's all you really need.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* reddplanet on 8/14/2012 2:40:00 PM more reviews by reddplanet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

I am actually irrationally angry that this is considered "concealer" since it's NOT. It conceals nothing. It's a pen filled with silicone with a sheer wash of foundation in it. It settles in every nook and line, and will NOT dry. It's not buildable. It's not opaque at all, and has literally no coverage to it.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flauros on 7/22/2012 6:12:00 PM more reviews by flauros

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a brand new product for Burberry Beauty in 2012 and is currently priced at 40$ for .08oz. This has a little less product than the YSL Touche Eclat but having used both myself, these products are definitely not the same. This is just a straight-up concealer (no highlighting properties) in a sleekly silver packaged click-pen. The coverage is definitely medium and is good for covering red spots, but you can still see the skin underneath (as in, it's not too heavy, but not full coverage either). A truly natural looking concealer. I use this under eyes as well, because the consistency is thin. It's a really versatile product, and because I have really good skin already, I've been skipping foundation and covering small red spots with just this product by applying straight from the pen and then patting it in with fingers to blend. I don't detect any scent when I use it. It's fairly moisturizing but it doesn't help with flakies (I had a flaky spot, and after applying the concealer, it was still flaky, big surprise). The color selection does seem to be ok, with a total of 8 colors available right now. I am around NW15-20 or so, and number 2 Soft Beige was a good match for me for the summertime, number 1 was too pink and ashy. If you can, get a sample before you buy. Overall, a great purchase for me because it's so versatile and quick/easy to use. Haven't had any bad reactions to this yet.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Burberry products

More Concealers products