Physicians Formula • Matte Collection Quad Eye Shadow in Canyon Classic • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(128 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 hesperia on 12/2/2014 1:46:00 PM more reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Classic Canyon is a real classic. It's been around for ages. For once, a company has the common sense not to discontinue a good product.

I got this a couple of months ago and I wonder why I always ignored it. Especially when I was running up and down looking for matte e/s. This quartet is terrific. Powder blends like a dream, not chalky at all. Colors are wonderful for an understated look. The off white shade is all I use for under the brows. Works better than a lot of h/e shadows I have. I'm very happy with this purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ccjcjl on 12/1/2014 11:56:00 PM more reviews by ccjcjl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Believe it or not, I use this to contour my face. All bronzers and face powders end up looking too yellow, pink, brown, peachy... you get the gist. People rave about the neutral-ness of Physician's Formula Solar Powder in Light Bronzer (this one: https://www.physiciansformula.com/en-us/productdetail/face/bronzers/03857.html) but it shows up yellowish orangish on me. I'm actually using it as a blush right now...

I bought this quad because I was having such a hard time finding matte drugstore singles (I dislike using duos/trios/quads/etc). It's a really nice quad, it really is, but I have too much gray in my skin (I'm cool yellow / olive toned with a cast of gray) and it made my eye area look... not radiant. Not bad, but it wasn't doing me any favors.

Funny story. I bought the light bronzer at the same time as the quad. I like messing around with my cosmetics when I first get them, and I ended up applying the lighter beige eyeshadow onto my cheekbones. Hey, it looks like the beginning of a nice contour. Applied the darker beige on the contour area. Wow, nice. I could totally rock this. I took a fluffy eyeshadow brush and dusted some of the darkest shade onto the contour too. Ok maybe not, but it works really well for brows. I have to be very light-handed with the cream shade because it's quite light, even as a brow highlight.

The blendability of these eyeshadows is one of the major reasons this product works as a contour palette. So yeah, just my two cents. For fair, grayish yellow/olive complexions, this might work better as a contour palette than as an eyeshadow palette. You really do find gems in the most unexpected places sometimes...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hayleyelwick on 8/13/2014 11:13:00 AM more reviews by hayleyelwick

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

ATTENTION MAC LOVERS I HAVE SOME DUPES!!!!!!

((these dupe discoveries are NOT mine, they are from this girls video---->



, I just wanted to pass them along to you! Please watch her video!!!))

Upper left = MAC Omega
Upper right = MAC Vanilla

I own a TON of PF eyeshadows, and these are some of my favorites! They are SOO good!! I never knew they contained dupes to MAC shadows, as I only own about 3 of MAC's, haha, but as soon as I found out, I was really excited. Knowing you have dupes of higher end shadows opens up many doors for looks, because so many tutorials contain high end makeup.

As far as the quality of these go, I am in love. They are so buttery and soft, and they blend like a dream. These are all matte, and I don't own any matte from MAC so I can't compare the consistency, but to Makeupgeek shadows, they are on par! Anything that is on par with MUG is good for me!

Like I said, the dupe discovery is not mine, so please watch the video I linked if you are interested in the details!! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laurasmom on 7/29/2014 10:45:00 AM more reviews by laurasmom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this recently off Ebay because I watched a review on YouTube. I've been using more matte neutrals lately so I was excited to try this quad. I must say that the lightest shade is just amazing. It is probably the most pigmented matte highlight shade that I have and that is saying a lot. These shadows are not at all powdery and they apply like a dream. I am going to see about getting the other quads in this collection but they are very hard to find, especially the nude one. I highly recommend this quad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jenglund on 5/12/2014 10:03:00 PM more reviews by jenglund

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Surprisingly good. Velvety smooth. Goes on like butter. Colors are great for a daytime "I'm not wearing any makeup, I swear" work look. Lasts all day and then some. No smudging. Doesn't smear everywhere. Bendable. Doesn't crease up when I get oily throughout the day like most drugstore shadows do...and I pack quite a bit on.

Sorry I waited so long to try! Only thing is, I have trouble distinguishing the two brown shades in the pan...they look identical, but on the skin one is slightly lighter.

Overall, excellent and classic. Great for enhancing natural shape of the eye without screaming for attention. Will repurchase...if it ever runs out!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rsanzio on 11/23/2013 7:00:00 PM more reviews by Rsanzio

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this for years and don't think there is any other drugstore shadow that can compare to it.

Strong pigment, smooth texture, great colors. I have the same quad shadow in other colors but this is by far my favorite. The dark brown is fine enough textured and dark enough to double as eyeliner and eyebrow powder.

If you are having trouble with it staying, try an eyeshadow base that won't crease like foundation will. I use Benefit Stay.

Having sat in many professional makeup chairs, most makeup artists will tell you that nobody over the age of 22 should use a sparkled shadow, especially in the era of HD. It highlights the texture of your skin and makes everyone look much older.

I recently saw the uber gorgeous Olivia Wilde in a Revlon ad with glimmer shadow and even on her you could see texture. I can't imagine why anyone involved with that shoot thought it was flattering. Stylist FAIL.

PF quad is the perfect matte. I recently ordered the new Urban Decay matte nakeds just to try it but it will have to be awfully good to beat out the tried and true PF.

The only reason it doesn't get a 5 is because you have to leave room for Chanel. But for the price point it is an excellent product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shortii53 on 11/18/2013 9:17:00 AM more reviews by shortii53

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wasn't sure how I'd feel about this quad but I wanted to try it anyway. Glad I did. I'm not too old to have wrinkly eyelids yet but I find some shadows make it appear that i do. So I decided it was time for me to try matte shadow though I usually am attracted to shimmer. I love this pallete. The colors are basic neutrals that I use all the time and they are pigmented enough. They are matte and apply smoothly. I use a sponge tip appplicator as I read on hear sometimes the shades apply sheer with a brush. Very flattering and subtle. Great for work or with a dramatic lip. Definitely reccommend. The grey is nice and the browns are flattering though they are both very similar, I do wish one was a deeper brown shade.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RustGospel on 11/4/2013 6:40:00 PM more reviews by RustGospel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Though I've only had this quad a few days, I'm reviewing it now because ultimately I plan on returning it as soon as I can.
After reading that, I suppose it might be a bit redundant to imply or even out right state that I am disappointed but...folks, I'm really disappointed in Canyon Classics. This quad had been on my list for a few months now but I had been hesitant about purchasing it due to my own reservations about PF products in general (see my review for their Eye Booster Pen if you're curious) and because I figured that it'd be wiser to simply save up to purchase the Sonia Kashuk Eye On Neutral palette which is filled with an array of both cool and warm-toned matte neutral colors.
What attracted me to this quad is that it is, first off, easy to locate. PF products are in most major retailers so basically if you throw a rock, you'll hit a drugstore that carries them. It beats driving around endlessly hunting something...especially if you're like me and you don't know how to drive at all! Secondly, the price wasn't too bad. Thirdly, and definitely most importantly, I lusted after Canyon Classics because I wear nothing but mattes and I was looking for a good, relatively subtle but still noticeable cool-toned brown to accentuate my crease. Warm browns tend to look quite red and unnatural on my skin tone, particularly around the eyes. I thought that I'd hit the jackpot because Canyon Classics has two of my aforementioned dreamy browns. No bueno.
Basically, my main gripe with this quad is that it isn't pigmented really at all. The light cream shade is alright. It's a nice highlight since it isn't stark white but is relatively unremarkable other than that.The grey shade is admittedly quite pleasant for use in my eyebrows but not amazing enough to salvage my opinion on the quad. It is surely the most pigmented of the four shadows in the set though. The browns...oh boy...well, I HATE THEM. They are nearly completely void of any pigmentation AT ALL. I took this especially hard because I bought this quad specifically for them. When layered over a flesh tone matte shade both of the browns must be built up to even slightly make themselves known. Building them up results in an over all sort of muddy appearance, like you had on a great brown shadow that broke down on your eyelids hours ago and is waiting to be washed off at the end of the day. Ugh!
What's sad is, I like the texture of these quite a bit. Really, I do. They are definitely creamy in texture (although a little dusty too because they're soft) and easy to pick up on a brush but all of this is rather irrelevant when the colors themselves are not very pigmented.
People seem to really love this quad but sadly I am not one of them. Reading others' reviews makes me wonder if the quad they're reviewing and the one that I bought are even the same product because my experience has been totally contrary to majority of the glowing reviews posted here. Try it for yourself- but keep the receipt just in case.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kahou79 on 10/28/2013 11:10:00 PM more reviews by kahou79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have all three of the PF matte quads and this is my favorite of the three. It's a little more dramatic on me than the other three but still looks natural and fresh. It is more cool-toned with the crease shade being dark grey but I can see it working on almost everyone. So pretty and I highly recommend!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jspnx on 9/24/2013 6:39:00 PM more reviews by jspnx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't get the love that this quad gets. I had it for years and didn't replace it. The two brown shades were indistinguishable from each other and looked okay on my skin, but were nothing special. The grayish shade looked like dirt on my face. And the highlight shade didn't show up on my skin. I'm glad it works for so many people, just wanted to add a differing viewpoint.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Eye Shadow products