NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Monte Carlo

4.5

31 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/6/2015 9:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

One of the best reds I have ever tried!

For around CAD $10, this is a true gem to have. The finish is an absolute matte yet it's not that drying at all. I find that using ELF lip exfoliator before applying this helps. The coverage is full-on and once it dries, it transfers very little and feels like you've got nothing on.

Smells like super sweetened vanilla like their lip glosses. Stays on for an impressive amount of time too. I feel like I should try the neutral colours to truly test out its staying power.

I feel like this is close in colour, texture and finish to NARS Velvet Matte lip pencil in Cruella.
:3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/17/2015 2:48:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this! It's a dark red on me. It's slightly sheer, but build-able. It lasts through tea but not a meal for me. It takes about 10 minutes to fully dry and set and become fully matte for me. Once dry it feels kind of sticky/powdery. Overall I really love it.


on 3/14/2015 12:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is such a beautiful darker red color. It reminds me of the sephora lip cream stain in always red but it is cheaper and isn't as drying on the lips. It's matte and lasts a long time but doesn't have that paint like feeling that other brands are marketing as these "24 hour lip colors" or some other nonsense. It's cheap, easy to work with, smells nice, and feels nice on the lips.


on 2/7/2015 1:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Nyx Monte Carlo.....an Ulta sales associate said this is a dupe for Mac's Ruby Woo. I have never tried Ruby Woo. However, this product is awesome!! A great red (to me leans cool) and is actually one of those reds that makes teeth look whiter, at least on me. Pleasant, non-sticky feeling. Easy to apply, easy to layer and build up. No glopping and wears nicely thoughout the day, does not turn funny colors throughout the day and if there is any scent, I do not detect it. Does not settle in lines or slip around. Just wears very nicely. Will definitely re-purchase and already have it on my list to get as a back-up on my next trip to Ulta! I am not one to buy backups, but that is how much I like this lip product!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lip cream is a very vibrant blue-based pink-red. For me, it's a little sheer and the applicator makes it hard to get a sharp line if I want to build up a few coats. I find it too bright for daily wear, but I have found a brand new way to wear this--as a blush! I've been using lip/cheek stains such as benefit's benetint instead of powder blushes because I feel like they look much more natural than a powder blush. I like how my freckles/skin show through the color and make it look like i'm not wearing blush at all but rather just have a very healthy flush to the skin. I dab this on my cheeks over my makeup or bare skin and blend it out with a small stippling brush (real techniques), and I think it looks amazing. I also like using a little bit of this on my lips and wear it as a stain alone or with a little bit of a nude gloss for a natural flush. I posted a pic of me wearing this as a lipstain and blush. If you own this but are afraid to wear it b/c it's a little too bright, try it as a blush and lip stain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2015 8:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

For the price, I am very happy with this product. It is a beautiful, bold red shade that settles down to a very flattering flush of red colour. I like the sponge tip applicator which allows for precise application and buildable coverage. This lasts at least 4 hours on me, although it does fade to a softer, more natural looking red after an hour or so (which I personally like). I also like that it's a true matte, yet applies like a cream lipstick.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/14/2014 6:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a nice product. When used without a lip liner it doesnt look pigmented enough because its such a vibrant color. When used with lip liner it looks gorgeous. Maybe a bit too shiny but I think its a pretty good dupe for high end deep red lip products.


on 12/5/2014 10:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this product! It is a matte, creamy vibrant red. It is a bit blue based. On my lips which are pretty pigmented (a rosey red) this product appears more like a true red then pink or blue based like RiRi Woo. When I swatch it on my hand it pulls way more cool toned and pinker. I do need to exfoliate my lips before wearing it and it does stain my lips which I like. I have a very tiny thin lip scar on my lip line and this goes apply nicely over it. If I fill my lips in with a nude lip liner and then top it with this it pulls more cool toned. I do wear a lip liner with this because I have had it travel on me since I put lip balm on when I first start putting on my makeup in the morning. It is comfortable matte lip cream and it smells like cake. It will transfer a bit onto your cup if you drink anything but not a ton.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/24/2014 9:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is such a pretty pretty red. It's very nice on brown/dark skinned girls. Like nice retro themed red.
PROS:
- Price (Really cheap for such a cool forumla)
- Color
- Matte (ABSOLUTELY matte)
- Transfer resistant when dry (Doesn't bleed, may need to reapply after eating or drinking)
CONS:
- Extremely drying (Exfoliate your lips before! Like even if you put chapstick on before you can feel the dryness on your lips. While wearing it you'll want to put chaptstick on so bad, but if you do you'll rub it off kind of and need to reapply)
- Takes awhile to dry (If you do one swipe you don't get the true color, very lip stain like. So to combat this you have to apply multiple layers, but you have to wait for it to dry or you're just mixing product and it's not helping anything. It takes like 30 seconds to dry, which is annoying. It takes me about 4 to 5 layers to get it PERFECKT)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2014 10:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Woo hoo!!!! Another AMAZING red to add to my collection! But Monte Carlo is a major stand-out in terms of shade, color payoff, and formulation.

Lemmie tell you something - I own a LOT of reds. But I didn't have anything like this specific shade. There is something unique about this color and I can't quite put my finger on it- its just a perfect pure palette shade o' red. The formulation is hands down perfection! Super creamy and dries matte YET my lips are never dried out when I use this. And no stickyness, yes please! It dries with the same finish as the Nars Lip Gloss Stains which I adored (now sadly discontinued) but those were $25 a pop while this is $6.

If you are a red gal, grab this shade stat!


Back to Top