NYX • Soft Matte Lip Cream in Monte Carlo • Lips

rated 4.5(28 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 budgetbeauty87 on 1/18/2015 2:49:00 AM more reviews by budgetbeauty87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This lip cream is a very vibrant blue-based pink-red. For me, it's a little sheer and the applicator makes it hard to get a sharp line if I want to build up a few coats. I find it too bright for daily wear, but I have found a brand new way to wear this--as a blush! I've been using lip/cheek stains such as benefit's benetint instead of powder blushes because I feel like they look much more natural than a powder blush. I like how my freckles/skin show through the color and make it look like i'm not wearing blush at all but rather just have a very healthy flush to the skin. I dab this on my cheeks over my makeup or bare skin and blend it out with a small stippling brush (real techniques), and I think it looks amazing. I also like using a little bit of this on my lips and wear it as a stain alone or with a little bit of a nude gloss for a natural flush. I posted a pic of me wearing this as a lipstain and blush. If you own this but are afraid to wear it b/c it's a little too bright, try it as a blush and lip stain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laumar27 on 1/13/2015 8:02:00 PM more reviews by laumar27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

For the price, I am very happy with this product. It is a beautiful, bold red shade that settles down to a very flattering flush of red colour. I like the sponge tip applicator which allows for precise application and buildable coverage. This lasts at least 4 hours on me, although it does fade to a softer, more natural looking red after an hour or so (which I personally like). I also like that it's a true matte, yet applies like a cream lipstick.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Florida555 on 12/14/2014 6:14:00 PM more reviews by Florida555

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a nice product. When used without a lip liner it doesnt look pigmented enough because its such a vibrant color. When used with lip liner it looks gorgeous. Maybe a bit too shiny but I think its a pretty good dupe for high end deep red lip products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 allyson85 on 12/5/2014 10:27:00 AM more reviews by allyson85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this product! It is a matte, creamy vibrant red. It is a bit blue based. On my lips which are pretty pigmented (a rosey red) this product appears more like a true red then pink or blue based like RiRi Woo. When I swatch it on my hand it pulls way more cool toned and pinker. I do need to exfoliate my lips before wearing it and it does stain my lips which I like. I have a very tiny thin lip scar on my lip line and this goes apply nicely over it. If I fill my lips in with a nude lip liner and then top it with this it pulls more cool toned. I do wear a lip liner with this because I have had it travel on me since I put lip balm on when I first start putting on my makeup in the morning. It is comfortable matte lip cream and it smells like cake. It will transfer a bit onto your cup if you drink anything but not a ton.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MoniBarlow on 11/24/2014 9:31:00 PM more reviews by MoniBarlow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a pretty pretty red. It's very nice on brown/dark skinned girls. Like nice retro themed red.
PROS:
- Price (Really cheap for such a cool forumla)
- Color
- Matte (ABSOLUTELY matte)
- Transfer resistant when dry (Doesn't bleed, may need to reapply after eating or drinking)
CONS:
- Extremely drying (Exfoliate your lips before! Like even if you put chapstick on before you can feel the dryness on your lips. While wearing it you'll want to put chaptstick on so bad, but if you do you'll rub it off kind of and need to reapply)
- Takes awhile to dry (If you do one swipe you don't get the true color, very lip stain like. So to combat this you have to apply multiple layers, but you have to wait for it to dry or you're just mixing product and it's not helping anything. It takes like 30 seconds to dry, which is annoying. It takes me about 4 to 5 layers to get it PERFECKT)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* antolin1 on 11/7/2014 10:17:00 PM more reviews by antolin1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Woo hoo!!!! Another AMAZING red to add to my collection! But Monte Carlo is a major stand-out in terms of shade, color payoff, and formulation.

Lemmie tell you something - I own a LOT of reds. But I didn't have anything like this specific shade. There is something unique about this color and I can't quite put my finger on it- its just a perfect pure palette shade o' red. The formulation is hands down perfection! Super creamy and dries matte YET my lips are never dried out when I use this. And no stickyness, yes please! It dries with the same finish as the Nars Lip Gloss Stains which I adored (now sadly discontinued) but those were $25 a pop while this is $6.

If you are a red gal, grab this shade stat!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yuwannano on 10/3/2014 11:52:00 AM more reviews by yuwannano

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Forget Ruby Woo, this here is THE perfect RED! Vibrant bright berry red with hella staying power. AND only $6! Very matte, doesn't bleed and looks good on just about everybody. Throw that Ruby Woo out and try Monte Carlo!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 10/3/2014 10:08:00 AM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I KNOW I have enough Red Lippies! But when I hear or see a new one that is said to be so awesome I gotta try. Zabrinna from myeyeshawdowconusltant.com loved this one so I when I was out I picked it up along with Transylvania. This is a Bright Bright Red. so so pretty to stand out against a neutral eye. It's a matte although the wear time isn't as long as with a stick matte lippy I still find it wears well which for me is a big problem with Reds in general. Again this is a matte you have to have your lips hydrated and non flaky or this will look like a hot mess. I like the doe foot applicator big enough that it does it job. Remember though this is red one of those notorious colors if you don't take your time and look in a mirror you will get the crazed housewife look. But no dark drama colors IMHO are good to do without a mirror or in a moving car. I love these and will replace them when they are empty!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vintjus on 8/15/2014 1:20:00 PM more reviews by vintjus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Yes, yes, and yeeeessss! God, this lip cream! Is just WOW! On my lips, it turn out to be really deep red and I love it! This is definitely a dupe for lime crime velvetines, red velvet. Cheaper yet high quality. Enough said, I found my one true red lipstick. I would not try any other red lippies. Thank you. LOL

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skandelouslala on 7/6/2014 8:03:00 PM more reviews by skandelouslala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This is flipping awesome. I bought several of NYX's Soft Matte Lip Creams last year and to be honest I have barely worn them but ended up purchasing a couple more at Ulta's 40% of sale so thought it was time to pull them out and actually get some use out of them. Monte Carlo was one of the recent purchases and I have fallen absolutely in love with everything about it.

First of all the color. It is a cool berry red that will make your teeth look whiter and brighter. It's actually different enough that it doesn't feel like a dupe of any of the other reds I have in my collection.

Secondly, the texture is pretty phenomenal. I love the whipped mousse texture of these lip creams and this applies like a dream. Very lightweight, extremely pigmented and easy to work with when applying. You can also build up the color to crazy intensity with multiple layers or you can blot it on for a matte stain. These are matte so they are going to be a bit drying but it isn't a so dry you can't stand it type of feeling. They set and feel kind of soft and velvety.

Lastly... the staying power. It is crazy good. I'm used to wearing red lipstick and constanty worrying about how it looks because it comes off on everything or fades super fast. Once this stuff sets it is almost worry free. I drank a bottle of water and iced coffee while first wearing this and none came off on the water bottle and there was none on the straw.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lips products