NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Monte Carlo

4.5

35 reviews

91% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/31/2015 5:53:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have a bunch of NYX lip creams, lipsticks, lip butters and everything they make, but I just noticed that this is the best one - absolutely perfect. It's a soft red that makes my lips look like they are perfectly shaped and actually does dry to a flawless matte finish without feeling dry. It doesn't last forever on the lips but it can be reapplied without ruining it. Of course I love the dark browns, purples, bright reds, nudes, but they do not give me this perfected look - they look like "she's wearing some lip product that failed." This one looks like "a Hollywood makeup artist stopped by and did her lips." I just love this shade which reminds me of Dragon Girl lip pencil by Nars. But that is a pencil that is harder to apply whereas this flows on with the brush and looks absolutely sculpted but natural. I've got to go and get another as this is almost gone - there wasn't very much in it even when it was new. But it is perfection and I am already wondering when they will discontinue it. The packaging gets a low score because the inner cap was loose from the outer cap even when it was new, and there is so little product in there.

Still, it has a brush that works. This is very much like my old holy grail, L'Oreal Rouge Pulp. It is impossible not to notice how good this looks, especially since I've been using browns for several days because I love them but they seriously do not brighten the face like this!!



on 8/26/2015 5:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

At first, I was worried about this color that it would look too plummy for me. Once I put it on my lips it felt like heaven gave birth to another heaven: the heaven of perfected makeup. This color is a berry toned red, but its bright in different lights. White lights show it as a true red color but in yellow it's like a berry toned. I love it. It feels matte and stable. The smell is so-so.
The packaging is simple and chic. Sadly, the smell is a bit off putting.


on 8/22/2015 11:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely love this lip color! Such a beautiful dark red, like others have mentioned very build able and doesn't dry out the lips. It doesn't bleed out of your lips and lasts awhile if you're not eating or drinking. The texture is "moussey" but very comfortable. The smell is sweet, similar to cake batter. This color is gorgeous and I feel would work for many skin tones and for every season! For 6 dollars you really can't go wrong!


on 8/5/2015 10:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is such a beautiful beautiful dark red lip colour....my favorite lip colour ever....I love it more than my hourglass icon and mac ruby woo <3 Even you don't love red lipstick , you can't say "No" for monte Carlo....Super duper affordable, great quality and amazing colour pigmented.....So worth for buying it....Don't Miss it ;-) ;-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2015 9:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

One of the best reds I have ever tried!

For around CAD $10, this is a true gem to have. The finish is an absolute matte yet it's not that drying at all. I find that using ELF lip exfoliator before applying this helps. The coverage is full-on and once it dries, it transfers very little and feels like you've got nothing on.

Smells like super sweetened vanilla like their lip glosses. Stays on for an impressive amount of time too. I feel like I should try the neutral colours to truly test out its staying power.

I feel like this is close in colour, texture and finish to NARS Velvet Matte lip pencil in Cruella.
:3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2015 2:48:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this! It's a dark red on me. It's slightly sheer, but build-able. It lasts through tea but not a meal for me. It takes about 10 minutes to fully dry and set and become fully matte for me. Once dry it feels kind of sticky/powdery. Overall I really love it.


on 3/14/2015 12:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is such a beautiful darker red color. It reminds me of the sephora lip cream stain in always red but it is cheaper and isn't as drying on the lips. It's matte and lasts a long time but doesn't have that paint like feeling that other brands are marketing as these "24 hour lip colors" or some other nonsense. It's cheap, easy to work with, smells nice, and feels nice on the lips.


on 2/7/2015 1:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Nyx Monte Carlo.....an Ulta sales associate said this is a dupe for Mac's Ruby Woo. I have never tried Ruby Woo. However, this product is awesome!! A great red (to me leans cool) and is actually one of those reds that makes teeth look whiter, at least on me. Pleasant, non-sticky feeling. Easy to apply, easy to layer and build up. No glopping and wears nicely thoughout the day, does not turn funny colors throughout the day and if there is any scent, I do not detect it. Does not settle in lines or slip around. Just wears very nicely. Will definitely re-purchase and already have it on my list to get as a back-up on my next trip to Ulta! I am not one to buy backups, but that is how much I like this lip product!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lip cream is a very vibrant blue-based pink-red. For me, it's a little sheer and the applicator makes it hard to get a sharp line if I want to build up a few coats. I find it too bright for daily wear, but I have found a brand new way to wear this--as a blush! I've been using lip/cheek stains such as benefit's benetint instead of powder blushes because I feel like they look much more natural than a powder blush. I like how my freckles/skin show through the color and make it look like i'm not wearing blush at all but rather just have a very healthy flush to the skin. I dab this on my cheeks over my makeup or bare skin and blend it out with a small stippling brush (real techniques), and I think it looks amazing. I also like using a little bit of this on my lips and wear it as a stain alone or with a little bit of a nude gloss for a natural flush. I posted a pic of me wearing this as a lipstain and blush. If you own this but are afraid to wear it b/c it's a little too bright, try it as a blush and lip stain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2015 8:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

For the price, I am very happy with this product. It is a beautiful, bold red shade that settles down to a very flattering flush of red colour. I like the sponge tip applicator which allows for precise application and buildable coverage. This lasts at least 4 hours on me, although it does fade to a softer, more natural looking red after an hour or so (which I personally like). I also like that it's a true matte, yet applies like a cream lipstick.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top