NYX • Soft Matte Lip Cream in Monte Carlo • Lips

rated 4.4(19 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skandelouslala on 7/6/2014 8:03:00 PM more reviews by skandelouslala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This is flipping awesome. I bought several of NYX's Soft Matte Lip Creams last year and to be honest I have barely worn them but ended up purchasing a couple more at Ulta's 40% of sale so thought it was time to pull them out and actually get some use out of them. Monte Carlo was one of the recent purchases and I have fallen absolutely in love with everything about it.

First of all the color. It is a cool berry red that will make your teeth look whiter and brighter. It's actually different enough that it doesn't feel like a dupe of any of the other reds I have in my collection.

Secondly, the texture is pretty phenomenal. I love the whipped mousse texture of these lip creams and this applies like a dream. Very lightweight, extremely pigmented and easy to work with when applying. You can also build up the color to crazy intensity with multiple layers or you can blot it on for a matte stain. These are matte so they are going to be a bit drying but it isn't a so dry you can't stand it type of feeling. They set and feel kind of soft and velvety.

Lastly... the staying power. It is crazy good. I'm used to wearing red lipstick and constanty worrying about how it looks because it comes off on everything or fades super fast. Once this stuff sets it is almost worry free. I drank a bottle of water and iced coffee while first wearing this and none came off on the water bottle and there was none on the straw.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Danielle2006 on 5/19/2014 3:23:00 PM more reviews by Danielle2006

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Dark   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I never wore a red lip let alone owned a red lipstick. I HAVE FOUND MINES. I purchased mines at Ulta for 4.99. My first impression was they smelled amazing and went on very smooth. I love how pigmented they were for a drugstore brand but than again we are talking about NYX Cosmetics. My only concern if I had to find one was they can be a bit drying so moisturize your lips good first. Another thing that WOWed me the most was the staying power. It stained my lips for hours even through eating. I will def purchase again. This is a must have product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladyflickermua on 4/4/2014 10:34:00 PM more reviews by ladyflickermua

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

very watermelon like color .. love nyx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheHipsterlicious on 3/22/2014 11:19:00 PM more reviews by TheHipsterlicious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I looooove this lippie. Seriously. It smells vanillary and delicious. You can put on a tad bit for a nice rosey stain, or put on quite a bit for a long lasting retro lip. I want to try this in some more colors!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KJette on 2/22/2014 3:59:00 PM more reviews by KJette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams, but Monte Carlo just didn't work for me. However, it's not completely the product's fault.

I got the shade for free in part of a promotion at my local drug store, which was great because I own Stockholm and love the formula of these lip creams. I was unsure though as to whether the colour would work with my skin tone. Unfortunately, it didn't. The cool blue undertones were just too much for my fair/warm/yellow toned skin and it wasn't flattering. That isn't really the product's fault, but then I also noticed that it turned from a cool toned red to a scary bright magenta while on my lips. It became even less flattering on me, and I admitted defeat.

The product itself is very nice, but just not the right colour for me at all. Be aware that the colour may change/warp a bit on your lips. It may look better on me when I have a bit of a tan in the summer, but I'll likely end up passing this colour along to a friend

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aquaprincess on 8/5/2013 4:19:00 PM more reviews by aquaprincess

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my second review, I messed up on the first. Monte Carlo is a gorgeous red and it is so pigmented like lipstick. It has such a thin slippery creamy feel, not thick feeling at all! I've never felt this kind of texture before and I love it. It dries within minutes and leaves your lips looking beautiful without the feeling of anything on your lips. When it dries it feels like I'm not wearing any lip product at all! It also smells great. This is such a bold color though and I'm not brave enough to wear it everyday lol. But this is definitely the lipcream for Christmas and valentines day! Love it so much.<3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 curlygirl03 on 5/31/2013 7:05:00 PM more reviews by curlygirl03

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a beautiful, cool toned, deep dark red. Its incredibly long lasting, like all day with very minimal fading or smudging. Like previous reviewers have said it gives the effect of having fuller lips. This lip cream is truly a unique product for a really good price! Its comparable to OCC lip tars, but much cheaper. Definitely a buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 astr323 on 5/29/2013 10:06:00 PM more reviews by astr323

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I loooove the matte creams, they're so fun to use and oftentimes you forget you even have anything on your lips because they're so dry and light. this color upon application reminded me very much of nyx's matte lipstick in perfect red, however as others have mentioned it does change color a bit over time and turn into something w more fuchsia/magenta undertones (as opposed to just blue). either way, I'm okay with it, the color is still flattering and it hardly budges at all. after it dries it can be tough to smear and the edges stay very precise. also doesn't leave too much of a stain afterwards (neither does the lipstick!) which to me is just mind blowing considering how freakin pigmented these products are.

pros: smells good, easy to apply, non-streaky, highly pigmented, inexpensive ($6), good staying power, cruelty-free (!!!)

cons: changes color during wear - may not complement skin tone as well as the day goes on

will definitely rebuy once I run out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 uhlizubeth on 2/3/2013 10:38:00 PM more reviews by uhlizubeth

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm surprised this isn't one of the most reviewed products because it is amazing! Many brands try to create liquid cream lipsticks and nyx is probably the only one that has it right. Monte Carlo is a beautiful deep red shade that I wish I'd be brave enough to wear more often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 loverlover1328 on 11/27/2012 11:50:00 PM more reviews by loverlover1328

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

On me (yellow toned Asian NC30) this is a blue toned cherry red, kinda dark, so looks sorta wintery. I also have Stockholm which I think would suit cooler toned girls better.
Overall I absolutely love this product and am going to start a bit of a collection :) The smell is divine, like cupcake icing, and the doefoot applicator is so easy to use! I never thought it'd be easier than a lip brush but it actually is. I think I'm going to get a doefoot applicator for my OCC lip tars.
The matte finish makes my lips look huge, much bigger than a shiny lipstick, and it makes the colour infinitely more wearable.
I think I'm going to get Amsterdam as well, as that one is a little brighter, for summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lips products