Skinceuticals Blemish + Age Defense

3.5

22 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Salicylic Acid 1.5%. Alcohol Denat., Water, Methylpropanediol, Glycolic Acid, Diisopropyl Adipate, Octadeceneioic Acid, Hydroxyethylpiperazine Thane Sulfonic Acid, Citric Acid, Capryloyl Alcicylic Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Polyquaternium-10


on 3/16/2015 12:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have combo-oily, sensitive (among others, my skin takes the habit of breaking out in hives when it doesn't like something I eat or put on my skin), SD/PD-prone skin. OSPW. Fitzpatrick IV.

I got a slew of Skinceuticals samples from local aesthetic clinic. I had high hope on this given the rave review, simple ingredients list and price tag.

I have been wary to try using salicylic acid due to past bad experience with Olay Anti Wrinkle Toner with Vitaniacin. But, I thought it was just the formulation and was hoping that SkinCeuticals's formula would fare better on my skin.

Wrong.

I put it on one night, there was very minor tinglong, but immediately some little red bumps popped out along my nose bridge, just like with Olay toner. I thought it may be a fluke and my skin felt alright. The next day, in addition to the aforementioned red bumps, I woke up to a few real itchy hives, weird small zits above right corner of mouth and back left jaw. The small zits occurrences were weird because those spots are the last place I would ever get break out. I couldn't stop scratching my face the whole day.

I stopped it immediately and slathered my face with Skinoren and SebaMed Clear Face Care Gel and my face calmed down pretty immediately. I presumed my use of Olay Regenerist Night Elixir the following night and my face recovered after 2 days.

Obviously enough, I won't repurchase or even finishing the sample, at least not on my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This expensive piece of crap broke me out like crazy. Wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For my skin this is too strong to apply all over regularly. I use this as a gentle exfoliator for problem areas. If you have ingrowns or areas on the body that you need clear ( back or chest), this is fantastic. The dead skin just rubs off the next day. Careful if using all over the face if you have sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2014 2:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Firstly a bit about my skin. I'm prone to acne, I have acne scarring, and my skin gets really oily in the t-zone. I'd probably say my acne is mild but persistent now. Over the years, I've used everything to get rid of my acne. I've used dermatologist prescribed treatments such as doxycycline, minocycline, differin, epiduo, isotrex, retin-a, retin-a micro, tazorac and skinoren. I've used many skincare lines such as Jan Marini, estee lauder, clinique, neostrata, obagi, paula's choice and make up artists choice. Basically, you name it, I've tried it! These products either didn't work at all for me or they were just ok, but didn't produce the results I was after.
I've finally come to the realization that I've been pretty hard on my skin. I've used so many exfoliating products at the same time that I now believe have probably done more harm than good.
I'm now thinking that acne prone skin is sometimes sensitive skin, and using too many harsh products just exacerbates the problem. I know the more I strip my skin, the more my skin produces oil to compensate. And the more oil, the more blocked pores I get. I believe my skin is dehydrated from all the products i've used, and whilst some exfoliation is important, there's such as thing as too much.
Anyways, on to this product. I felt it helped my skin feel smoother, and did help to reduce acne. However, I also found my skin becoming excessively oily! I also thought my skin looked dehydrated, lacklustre and older.
I know this product has alcohol as a main ingredient and from my research there is conflicting information as to whether alcohol is good or bad. I certainly have used other products which contain alcohol, but usually it's much further down the list.
Everyones different, but I think alcohol doesn't agree with my dehydrated, over processed skin these days. I think it makes my skin over produce oil, and makes it look worse for wear over time.
So, because of this, I would not repurchase this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/27/2014 9:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!! I have been using it for over a year because I have a very oily T-zone and am prone to blemishes and blackheads. This product controls oil and diminishes blackheads.


on 8/20/2014 10:19:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product really irritated my skin, so disappointing, and worse it brought out the worst in my acne breakouts and scars on my cheeks, and showed no real difference to my skin after using it a little while, I could tell just after a week or so that it didn't make even the slightest difference in skin texture, and no 'glow'! Save your money I say, but with products it's seeing what works out there, but good thing I found one now that works for me, but it's not this one that's for certain.


on 8/1/2014 5:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A total waste of money. I have a resistant and oily skin so I wasn't expecting miracles from this... but instead of helping, it left my skin glowing, oilier and with pimples on the forehead. I was very disappointed in this product... maybe it works for normal and dry skins, but for oily I don't recommend.


on 6/16/2014 12:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

it works! literally, overnight, u put this on a spot, gone or reduced more than half its size. it DOES sting but with time, u get use to it. i first used a sample of it and after the sample ran out, i went ahead and bought a jar! on the side of my cheek (near the ear) i have a large area of congestion (blackheads,whiteheads, small bumps) and nothing would get rid of it! sometimes i will try squeeze those congested areas but of course it always leaves a mark! for MONTHS, that area was congested ---enter this, within a week, it dried it up slowly, peeling skin but revealing new skin underneath. it seems to kill off the congested bumps too.

my only concern is the price..its expensive for alcohol and the ingredient list...alcohol being #2, i don't know if its good for the skin in the long run...

also, i am afarid, will the skin start getting use to it and prove not to be effective with long-term use?


on 10/24/2013 5:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just recently quit my job and took a full load of classes at school and also joined some clubs. I have always had acne prone and oily skin that was controllable with this a simple regimen of Purpose Gentle Cleaning Wash and Clearasil's Rapid Acne Spot Treatment. Also, during T.O.M. (time of the month) I would occasionally receive a "big" pimple that normally go away by the next day.

A couple weeks into school, my face started to get really sore: I was getting cystic pimples. I do not remember the last time I've ever had these type of pimples, all I knew was that it would take really long to heal. Sleeping and waking up was always a nightmare due to the new acne kept constantly erupting. Eventually they would shrink, but twice as much would erupt. I started switching over to a stronger wash (Benzoyl Peroxide): Neutrogena's Clear Pore Cleanser/Mask and that has helped tremendously but my skin was still not at the current state it was a month ago. I started doing some research and was sold on this product. Alot of the users on here spoke about "hormonal acne" and how it is now their "holy grail." I am huge on customer reviews (such as MakeupAlley) and physician-grade products (such as Skinceuticals) and so I am betting my $$$ on this.

* Day 1, 10/24 AM - I just started using it today and I what I really like about it is that it is a serum, so it dries quickly. I will keep posting anything that I notice with this product. :]
-Also be sure to wear your sunscreen! Especially with a product like this which contains AHA's which may make your skin more sensitive in the sun. I am using Vichy's Normaderm Pro Mat Mattifying Oil-Free Lotion --> amazing!

* Day 1, 10/24 PM - I really liked how I didn't have to blot my face at all today! That saves a couple bucks if I don't ever have to purchase Clean & Clear sheets ever again. It could be that the serum is bit drying, but I am not complaining, my skin is very oily that I am not having that as an issue. I will continue to use this serum twice a day until every last pimple is completely gone!

* Day 10, 11/1 PM - Since Day 1, nearly every pimple or eruption I've had as shrunk and it has since prevented any new ones from forming. But today was a different story: I felt a bump on my cheek that was forming. I looked at my "Period Calendar" App and noticed that I am suppose to be ovulating so I think it could just be a time of the month exception.

* Day 11, 11/2 PM - By the end of today, the pimple quickly erupted and popped. I am continuing to use the solution not the pimple considering the pimple went popped/healed fairly quickly in less than a day!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2013 12:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is MAGIC! I bought the whole system for more than $100, including this, the cleanser, and the toner. I often had few acne when I was stressed out or before my period, and nothing was able to save my face until I found this! Usually I apply a few drops on the breakouts after the cleanser and toner before bed and next morning the breakouts will be gone (with some epidermis leaving my face). It doesn't erase my acne scars, which I have since I was in junior high, but I didn't expect it to do that. I would say this product, and the Skinceuticals LHA cleansing gel, are the MUST-HAVE's if you are ever bothered by acne; the LHA solution doesn't help much, though.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
525 Reviews
Lemon Juice
396 Reviews
Nerium AD
66 Reviews
Back to Top