Skinceuticals • Blemish + Age Defense • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.7(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 SarahRae1 on 8/27/2014 9:17:00 PM more reviews by SarahRae1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!! I have been using it for over a year because I have a very oily T-zone and am prone to blemishes and blackheads. This product controls oil and diminishes blackheads.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sue90114 on 8/20/2014 10:19:00 AM more reviews by Sue90114

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product really irritated my skin, so disappointing, and worse it brought out the worst in my acne breakouts and scars on my cheeks, and showed no real difference to my skin after using it a little while, I could tell just after a week or so that it didn't make even the slightest difference in skin texture, and no 'glow'! Save your money I say, but with products it's seeing what works out there, but good thing I found one now that works for me, but it's not this one that's for certain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 luwjones on 8/1/2014 5:08:00 PM more reviews by luwjones

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A total waste of money. I have a resistant and oily skin so I wasn't expecting miracles from this... but instead of helping, it left my skin glowing, oilier and with pimples on the forehead. I was very disappointed in this product... maybe it works for normal and dry skins, but for oily I don't recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hautevita on 6/16/2014 12:31:00 PM more reviews by hautevita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

it works! literally, overnight, u put this on a spot, gone or reduced more than half its size. it DOES sting but with time, u get use to it. i first used a sample of it and after the sample ran out, i went ahead and bought a jar! on the side of my cheek (near the ear) i have a large area of congestion (blackheads,whiteheads, small bumps) and nothing would get rid of it! sometimes i will try squeeze those congested areas but of course it always leaves a mark! for MONTHS, that area was congested ---enter this, within a week, it dried it up slowly, peeling skin but revealing new skin underneath. it seems to kill off the congested bumps too.

my only concern is the price..its expensive for alcohol and the ingredient list...alcohol being #2, i don't know if its good for the skin in the long run...

also, i am afarid, will the skin start getting use to it and prove not to be effective with long-term use?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skeo423 on 10/24/2013 5:31:00 PM more reviews by skeo423

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I just recently quit my job and took a full load of classes at school and also joined some clubs. I have always had acne prone and oily skin that was controllable with this a simple regimen of Purpose Gentle Cleaning Wash and Clearasil's Rapid Acne Spot Treatment. Also, during T.O.M. (time of the month) I would occasionally receive a "big" pimple that normally go away by the next day.

A couple weeks into school, my face started to get really sore: I was getting cystic pimples. I do not remember the last time I've ever had these type of pimples, all I knew was that it would take really long to heal. Sleeping and waking up was always a nightmare due to the new acne kept constantly erupting. Eventually they would shrink, but twice as much would erupt. I started switching over to a stronger wash (Benzoyl Peroxide): Neutrogena's Clear Pore Cleanser/Mask and that has helped tremendously but my skin was still not at the current state it was a month ago. I started doing some research and was sold on this product. Alot of the users on here spoke about "hormonal acne" and how it is now their "holy grail." I am huge on customer reviews (such as MakeupAlley) and physician-grade products (such as Skinceuticals) and so I am betting my $$$ on this.

* Day 1, 10/24 AM - I just started using it today and I what I really like about it is that it is a serum, so it dries quickly. I will keep posting anything that I notice with this product. :]
-Also be sure to wear your sunscreen! Especially with a product like this which contains AHA's which may make your skin more sensitive in the sun. I am using Vichy's Normaderm Pro Mat Mattifying Oil-Free Lotion --> amazing!

* Day 1, 10/24 PM - I really liked how I didn't have to blot my face at all today! That saves a couple bucks if I don't ever have to purchase Clean & Clear sheets ever again. It could be that the serum is bit drying, but I am not complaining, my skin is very oily that I am not having that as an issue. I will continue to use this serum twice a day until every last pimple is completely gone!

* Day 10, 11/1 PM - Since Day 1, nearly every pimple or eruption I've had as shrunk and it has since prevented any new ones from forming. But today was a different story: I felt a bump on my cheek that was forming. I looked at my "Period Calendar" App and noticed that I am suppose to be ovulating so I think it could just be a time of the month exception.

* Day 11, 11/2 PM - By the end of today, the pimple quickly erupted and popped. I am continuing to use the solution not the pimple considering the pimple went popped/healed fairly quickly in less than a day!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmasun1989 on 6/16/2013 12:14:00 PM more reviews by emmasun1989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This is MAGIC! I bought the whole system for more than $100, including this, the cleanser, and the toner. I often had few acne when I was stressed out or before my period, and nothing was able to save my face until I found this! Usually I apply a few drops on the breakouts after the cleanser and toner before bed and next morning the breakouts will be gone (with some epidermis leaving my face). It doesn't erase my acne scars, which I have since I was in junior high, but I didn't expect it to do that. I would say this product, and the Skinceuticals LHA cleansing gel, are the MUST-HAVE's if you are ever bothered by acne; the LHA solution doesn't help much, though.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 brittwilliams on 4/16/2013 1:31:00 PM more reviews by brittwilliams

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ouch! This product wasn't for me. I bought this as the dermatologist office for mild breakouts and brown spots as a result of age. I tolerate glycolics & other serums well but this really burned and irritated my face. I didn't notice a huge difference a difference in my blackheads and because it was using it on my t-zone I was left with a red chin & nose. My pore-size was either exacerbated, or simply more noticeable due to the irritation. Not attractive. I think this product is really for more severe acne.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 galexy15 on 3/29/2013 5:13:00 AM more reviews by galexy15

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is worth the money. I had cystic acne along my jawline, and Epiduo (used it every night for at least 8mths) did reduce it but my skin was never clear. Then I added this serum in the mornings, and I'm now on my 2nd bottle and my jawline is finally clear. Expensive, but if it keeps working then I'll keep buying it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juliaschuster on 3/18/2013 5:10:00 AM more reviews by juliaschuster

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a miracle for me! For reference, I am 33 and have combination skin. I used to have fairly clear skin (with a few monthly breakouts, but no big deal) throughout my twenties, but since my pregnancy in 2009 my hormones went crazy. My skin was a disaster: constant breakouts all over my face and since I just cannot leave those pimples alone, I have really bad acne marks and dark spots. I tried everything from drugstore to highend - every new product improved my skin for about a week and then it went back to bad. As soon as I heard about Skinceuticals I wanted to try their products. So I started using the Blemish & Age Defense Serum and the Retexturing Activator in the a.m. and p.m. After one week I didn't notice any difference and thought it was just another waste of money. But then my skin started to clear up. I have been using this combination for 3 months now and I can say: my skin is better than it has been in a looooong time! No more mean breakouts, just the occasional (tiny) pimple on my chin. 2 weeks ago I started using the CF Phloretin in the a.m. and Blemish & Age before bed. Now I can see that my dark spots and marks are starting to fade. Now I don't need heavy foundation anymore, I can get away with tinted moisturizer. HAPPY!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cricricri11 on 2/10/2013 9:59:00 AM more reviews by cricricri11

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Did wait to write a review ; i now have been using the product since a month. My skin did look terrible for god only knows what reason since a few good months . Always has pimples and oily skin thou. This product is great. I would not call it a miracle since i still have the occasional spot , but overall my skin looks much better. Used it without a moisturizer for the few first days and it started to dry my skin really badly. I now always use a cream afterwards. Like it :) . Will keep on using it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments (Face) products