Skinceuticals • Blemish + Age Defense • Treatments

rated 4.0(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 skeo423 on 10/24/2013 5:31:00 PM more reviews by skeo423

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I just recently quit my job and took a full load of classes at school and also joined some clubs. I have always had acne prone and oily skin that was controllable with this a simple regimen of Purpose Gentle Cleaning Wash and Clearasil's Rapid Acne Spot Treatment. Also, during T.O.M. (time of the month) I would occasionally receive a "big" pimple that normally go away by the next day.

A couple weeks into school, my face started to get really sore: I was getting cystic pimples. I do not remember the last time I've ever had these type of pimples, all I knew was that it would take really long to heal. Sleeping and waking up was always a nightmare due to the new acne kept constantly erupting. Eventually they would shrink, but twice as much would erupt. I started switching over to a stronger wash (Benzoyl Peroxide): Neutrogena's Clear Pore Cleanser/Mask and that has helped tremendously but my skin was still not at the current state it was a month ago. I started doing some research and was sold on this product. Alot of the users on here spoke about "hormonal acne" and how it is now their "holy grail." I am huge on customer reviews (such as MakeupAlley) and physician-grade products (such as Skinceuticals) and so I am betting my $$$ on this.

* Day 1, 10/24 AM - I just started using it today and I what I really like about it is that it is a serum, so it dries quickly. I will keep posting anything that I notice with this product. :]
-Also be sure to wear your sunscreen! Especially with a product like this which contains AHA's which may make your skin more sensitive in the sun. I am using Vichy's Normaderm Pro Mat Mattifying Oil-Free Lotion --> amazing!

* Day 1, 10/24 PM - I really liked how I didn't have to blot my face at all today! That saves a couple bucks if I don't ever have to purchase Clean & Clear sheets ever again. It could be that the serum is bit drying, but I am not complaining, my skin is very oily that I am not having that as an issue. I will continue to use this serum twice a day until every last pimple is completely gone!

* Day 10, 11/1 PM - Since Day 1, nearly every pimple or eruption I've had as shrunk and it has since prevented any new ones from forming. But today was a different story: I felt a bump on my cheek that was forming. I looked at my "Period Calendar" App and noticed that I am suppose to be ovulating so I think it could just be a time of the month exception.

* Day 11, 11/2 PM - By the end of today, the pimple quickly erupted and popped. I am continuing to use the solution not the pimple considering the pimple went popped/healed fairly quickly in less than a day!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmasun1989 on 6/16/2013 12:14:00 PM more reviews by emmasun1989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This is MAGIC! I bought the whole system for more than $100, including this, the cleanser, and the toner. I often had few acne when I was stressed out or before my period, and nothing was able to save my face until I found this! Usually I apply a few drops on the breakouts after the cleanser and toner before bed and next morning the breakouts will be gone (with some epidermis leaving my face). It doesn't erase my acne scars, which I have since I was in junior high, but I didn't expect it to do that. I would say this product, and the Skinceuticals LHA cleansing gel, are the MUST-HAVE's if you are ever bothered by acne; the LHA solution doesn't help much, though.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 brittwilliams on 4/16/2013 1:31:00 PM more reviews by brittwilliams

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ouch! This product wasn't for me. I bought this as the dermatologist office for mild breakouts and brown spots as a result of age. I tolerate glycolics & other serums well but this really burned and irritated my face. I didn't notice a huge difference a difference in my blackheads and because it was using it on my t-zone I was left with a red chin & nose. My pore-size was either exacerbated, or simply more noticeable due to the irritation. Not attractive. I think this product is really for more severe acne.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 galexy15 on 3/29/2013 5:13:00 AM more reviews by galexy15

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is worth the money. I had cystic acne along my jawline, and Epiduo (used it every night for at least 8mths) did reduce it but my skin was never clear. Then I added this serum in the mornings, and I'm now on my 2nd bottle and my jawline is finally clear. Expensive, but if it keeps working then I'll keep buying it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juliaschuster on 3/18/2013 5:10:00 AM more reviews by juliaschuster

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a miracle for me! For reference, I am 33 and have combination skin. I used to have fairly clear skin (with a few monthly breakouts, but no big deal) throughout my twenties, but since my pregnancy in 2009 my hormones went crazy. My skin was a disaster: constant breakouts all over my face and since I just cannot leave those pimples alone, I have really bad acne marks and dark spots. I tried everything from drugstore to highend - every new product improved my skin for about a week and then it went back to bad. As soon as I heard about Skinceuticals I wanted to try their products. So I started using the Blemish & Age Defense Serum and the Retexturing Activator in the a.m. and p.m. After one week I didn't notice any difference and thought it was just another waste of money. But then my skin started to clear up. I have been using this combination for 3 months now and I can say: my skin is better than it has been in a looooong time! No more mean breakouts, just the occasional (tiny) pimple on my chin. 2 weeks ago I started using the CF Phloretin in the a.m. and Blemish & Age before bed. Now I can see that my dark spots and marks are starting to fade. Now I don't need heavy foundation anymore, I can get away with tinted moisturizer. HAPPY!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cricricri11 on 2/10/2013 9:59:00 AM more reviews by cricricri11

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Did wait to write a review ; i now have been using the product since a month. My skin did look terrible for god only knows what reason since a few good months . Always has pimples and oily skin thou. This product is great. I would not call it a miracle since i still have the occasional spot , but overall my skin looks much better. Used it without a moisturizer for the few first days and it started to dry my skin really badly. I now always use a cream afterwards. Like it :) . Will keep on using it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 msweeneyttu on 1/27/2013 3:01:00 PM more reviews by msweeneyttu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This stings quite a bit on my sensitive skins the first few times you use it, so I would recommend only using at night, maybe every other night until your skin is used to it. I think if you use it religiously for 8 weeks you would get great results, but I tend to go on and off this depending on how my skin acts. I plan to repurchase and get a better night routine and see if that helps keep the blemishes away vs. trying to treat them once they are here.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SARAHD33x on 10/18/2012 12:07:00 PM more reviews by SARAHD33x

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Before I proceed with this review, I must add the following:

Before I tried this product, NOTHING worked for my skin. I was going to go onto an oral acne supplement that had a lot of dangerous side effects, until I met my current esthetician that got my skin care regimen to a tee. I must also add that if you have mild acne, and drug store products work for you- stick with them. This is a product that requires an experienced professional to recommend, and the best way to ensure that the product works well is to have frequent visits to the esthetician to make sure that you are using the product correctly.

This product is absolutely a holy grail for me. I am allergic to Benzoyl Peroxide, which eliminates the majority of acne solutions. I also for some reason cannot stand Proactiv. It made my skin break out in a horrible rash. When I first tried this product, I will admit, it did burn my skin just a little bit. It wasn't anything serious, it was just a slight tingling sensation on the surface of my skin that went away after a minute or so. The results came overnight. I get cystic acne spots on my cheeks, and a lot of smaller red pimples that are angry and sore. This product eliminated the "angriness" of the pimples, and I noticed immediately that the cystic spots were not as thick and sore. (NOTE: I am also on a low dose hormone supplement to minimize the cystic acne) The only thing I will recommend about this product is consistency. I noticed a MASSIVE difference, although I had established a routine to keep my skin clean. Routine is key. Another very important tip: This product is expensive. Although the price is high, you do not need a heaping amount of product. They are very concentrated, and with this serum I was told to only place 5 drops from the pipette onto my palm. A little goes a long way!

Hope this helps. If you have any questions please feel free to message me and I will try to answer them for you.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 candace4125 on 9/27/2012 2:37:00 PM more reviews by candace4125

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My esthetican recommended this sereum for my sensitive acne prone skin. I used two of the little samples up and decided to purchase the full size product. Beware, the full size product cost $80! I am seeing results with this product, my skin is currently acne free. This product will make your face peel like crazy, worse than retin A! Overall, this product does give results, it just gets worse before it gets better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ktpeluso on 7/29/2012 4:01:00 PM more reviews by ktpeluso

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Update: 4 weeks later, I bought the whole system. Pretty freaking awesome. Many of my scars have faded and I just get little breakouts here and there. I definitely recommend. If you have severe acne, this probably isn't potent enough, but perhaps the regular acne kit would be best. Oh and I bought the kit for $120 and I still have at least 3 more months worth, so don't let the price tag scare you away!


Update: still improving every day....so is it working? yes. Is it worth $80? still not sure... I will buy the bottle, use it all, then assess. It seems you could find a product that works just as good if not better for same price/cheaper.

UPDATE: 1 week later
my skin is improving, I must say...I will keep it at 3 lippies just to be sure. I might buy the full adult acne system. I'll keep you guys posted next week...


UPDATE: I'm sticking it out. There are just too many good reviews. And I recall aha/bha initial breakout for me. The rest of my skin looks damn good. And, I forgot I used Eucerin which I don't normally so I'm going to blame that for now. I'll update in a week!


Initial Review: OMG...worst product ever. I have used it about 3 times now (yesterday, last night, and this morning) and it's made me break out like crazy. I don't get it...but it's getting tossed because I'm not about to sit through this to see if it gets worse before it gets better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments products