Essie • Nothing Else Metals • Polishes

rated 3.6(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Squarebulb on 4/13/2014 10:02:00 PM more reviews by Squarebulb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This polish is a lovely light metallic lilac color, however it shares the same terrible streaky formula that a lot of Essie polishes unfortunately have. Even when my first coat was totally dry, when i applied the second coat the brush rubbed off streaks from the first coat. Do not waste your money on this polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tabloid on 6/9/2013 8:52:00 AM more reviews by tabloid

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a very shiny, bright lavender-silver foil polish. It's a beautiful color, although some people might find it a bit too flashy for daytime, especially if you work in a conservative work environment, in which case you would keep it for evenings or other special occasions.
It was fairly easy to apply, without streaking or pooling (which has been my issue with some other Essie polishes). Be aware, though, that it is thicker than other polishes so that if you try to apply thin coats, it probably will leave bare patches. I found the three-stroke method works well: one stroke down the middle, then one down the left and one down the right. If you just sort of glide the polish down the nail, so the brush doesn't actually touch the nail, you should have a flawless application.
It dries much more quickly than other polishes (probably because of the metallic finish) and wear is very, very good.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flylikeacg on 4/29/2013 10:24:00 AM more reviews by flylikeacg

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

THE BEST NAIL POLISH EVER. Its so metallic and it shines pink under flash photography and i wish they made more colors for this type of polishes like maybe say, aqua blue, turquoise, rose gold!!!!!!! im in love <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NinaSun on 3/10/2013 9:31:00 PM more reviews by NinaSun

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this color so so much. It's a metallic lavender with a silver sheen to it and it's really gorgeous. One coat is crazy pigmented and you could get away with just one coat and a top coat to make it last. I wore one coat to test out and the tips started chipping slightly but that's probably due to lack of top/base coat and me being very hands on with my work. Overall, I love this color! I think it would look great on anyone and I'm impressed with the formula being so pigmented and non runny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 RiceBunnyy on 1/24/2013 10:12:00 PM more reviews by RiceBunnyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I first saw this instore, I was so excited to try it out because the colour was just so gorgeous! It looks like a metallic-y lilac purple that would compliment my skin tone. When I applied my first coat, it was extremely streaky, but by the second coat it was opaque. However, apply the second coat was a pain because if I applied too much pressure, it would take off the first coat and cause an extremely rough texture. I suggest dropping a blob of polish onto the nail then slowly spread it out evenly to avoid the first coat being taken off. Also, the streak-y ness does go away after 30 seconds of application. However, I wasn't happy with the longevity of this polish. It lasts (without chipping) for the maximum of 2 days with top and base coats. After that, the polish will chip like crazy, so I am not happy with this because I am an Essie polish freak and I know that their polishes last for weeks! Although the colour is really nice, I will for sure not buy this again. This is a one time purchase only!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 screamteam on 12/13/2012 2:38:00 AM more reviews by screamteam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Essie's Nothing Else Metals in a gorgeous metallic lilac, although, in some lights, it appears silver. When I first applied this, I almost took it off immedietely, I just couldn't see myself wearing it, but I applied a second coat due to curiousity(it was opaque after the first coat), and it looked much better, all the streaks dissapeared when the polish dried. I would reccomend buffing nails down before hand, I used the revlon ultra shine buffer to give myself a smooth nail. I'm on day three on this polish, and only one nail has a bit of wear on the tip. I'd give this 5 lippies, but I'm not the biggest purple fan and Essie's other colours from this collection(eg. Penny Talk and Good as Gold) applied better.
If anyone has a stamping kit, I think this would be a great colour to stamp with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prplepolkadotz on 12/5/2012 1:30:00 PM more reviews by prplepolkadotz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this nail color. It's a metallic-y lavender/lilac purple and it's just gorgeous on both short and long nails. I bought mine at Walgreens for $8. I suggest filing your nails until they are extremely smooth because if you have ridges in your nails this will look silly because it is a mirrory type nail varnish. Other than that, no complains. Beautiful color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tvvinkle on 11/11/2012 7:46:00 PM more reviews by tvvinkle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's a very unique color and I love purples but this is a difficult polish to apply smoothly. You have to be quick and apply with minimal strokes to get a smooth application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dizzielittlerascal on 8/12/2012 11:55:00 AM more reviews by dizzielittlerascal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is quite a tricky polish to apply as its rather thick. There is no room for error on this as it seems to dry quickly and can get rather goopy when applying. However, it does seem to even itself out to a certain extent. I had better luck on one hand than the other, only needing one coat (I am a bit wobbly anyway when using my left hand to do my right nails). The finish is a chrome lilac, which can actually look rather silver in some lights, but it is fun and different. This is my first 'metallic' polish and got it as I wanted something different - and it certainly is that! But I don't think I would buy again. I can see this formula getting rather gunky in the bottle later on, due to it being that thick.
Update: I have inadvertently ended up doing an experiment. The hand where there is two coats applied has lasted a lot longer than the hand with only one coat on. After 3/4 days of wear the one coat is fairly worn at the tips from heavy pc use/washing up etc whereas the two coated nails have no wear at all! Its still looking exactly like it did when first applied!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 6/27/2012 7:43:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is the purple metallic from the new Mirror Metallics display. It's so unique that I had to pick it up. It's like a silver alloy purple. I love icy lavender shades like that. It looks good mixed with the other shades in this line mixed up. I'm going to pair it with silver and rose gold cuff bracelets and rings.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Essie products

More Polishes products