Neutrogena Shine Control Primer

3.4

85 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Dimethicone, Methyl Trimethicone, Silica, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Isododecane, Butylene Glycol, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Titanium Dioxide, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Sodium Chloride, Nylon-12, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Seed Protein, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Fragrance, Disodium EDTA, Silica Silylate, Sorbic Acid, Triethoxycaprylylsilane --- may contain (CI 77019/Mica, CI 77289/Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI 77510/Ferric Ferrocyanide)


on 3/12/2015 2:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm a little disappointed: I read on multiple blogs/reviews that this was the holy grail of primers for oily skin. So I rushed to the nearest CVS to buy it and this morning I eagerly opened and applied it. I found that it was difficult to apply. It was thick and didn't spread out easily. Also, by 9 am my face was just as oily as it usually is. I feel like it was a waste of time and money. Didn't make my make up last longer either.



on 3/4/2015 11:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Made me more oily


on 2/16/2015 5:22:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This might be the best primer on earth. I'll never know. Could not stand the fragrance, so didn't even try it. It's going back.


on 1/28/2015 2:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

LOVE this primer! HG primer for oily skin right here! This is my favorite primer so far, and I've tried many. This controls oil very well and gives me a nice smooth canvas to apply my foundation over. If you have oily skin and need something to help your makeup stay on longer and control oil, GO BUY THIS!


on 1/21/2015 9:17:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product because my skin is very oily, and I have to use this among powders, and setting spray. My day begins around 8 and ends at 5, and by lunch time, my face is plenty oily. But on the bright side, it does help to keep about 40% of my makeup where its supposed to be.


on 1/20/2015 12:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Not for everyday use. In love with this but it broke me out. I only use it for concerts festivals weddings and other special events. When I do use it it is BEAUTIFUL it doesn't move and makeup last for hours and hours in the rain and through sweat. Have purchased multiple times but use laura mercier for a daily primer


on 1/18/2015 10:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After a week of using. It became very GRITTY, and scratched my face. Caused my skin to be Irritated & breakout


on 1/10/2015 1:26:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've tried a LOT of primers, and have been disappointed by most. This one falls right in the middle of the pack. Yes, it is a white liquid, but it spreads thinly and evenly, and dries to a clear finish. I use it over a light moisturizer and it keeps my oily skin shine-free for a few hours. But that's it. It doesn't minimize pores or soften lines, it just reduces a bit of shine for a few hours. As far as drug store primers this, this is okay, and I would re-purchase as a primer to use for casual days. It's not a primer that will make you stop your search for a better one, but it IS a decent primer at a fair price point in the meantime.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2014 8:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I've wanted to try this primer for awhile. So I finally bit the bullet and bought some at Target on a whim. I think I paid $11.99 for the usual 1 once. I've tried primers before that claimed to control shine, but usually that isn't true for me. So I didn't really expect much from this primer. But I was pleasantly surprised. This primer is very lightweight. It is very easy to blend, and a little goes a long way. It also dries super fast.

To me, this primer is a perfect dupe for Pop Beauty's Face Magnet Primer. (which is my all-time favorite primer) This one performs just as well as the high end version. This is the only other primer (other than the Pop Beauty) that keeps me shine and oil free all day. I've never been one to do touch ups on my foundation. I don't have the time or the desire to do that. Even on my major grease ball of a nose, my foundation stays on. It doesn't fade away or separate.

If you love the Pop Beauty Face Magnet Primer, I highly recommend you give this one a dry. Aside from how well it works, there is another major plus to this foundation. The price. The Pop Beauty Primer sells for $26. This baby is around $12. This is well worth the money, and I will definitely repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2014 3:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I rarely wear foundation, unless I'm going out, but I always had a problem with my foundation staying on since I have oily skin. I was excited to see that Neutrogena had a shine control primer and decided to take my chances. The first time using it I was Highly impressed on how amazing this primer works! It made my foundation glide on so smoothly and it controlled my shine perfectly. I also love the smell and how much a little of primer goes a long way! I definitely recommend this primer for anyone who has combo to oily skin. So far I've had no problems with my skin breaking out, which is a huge plus!


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top