MakeupAlley has a FREE Android App!

Neutrogena • Shine Control Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.5(75 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 MarJH on 9/10/2014 11:13:00 PM more reviews by MarJH

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Did not notice a bit of difference. No shine control.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChoiLatte on 9/10/2014 11:04:00 PM more reviews by ChoiLatte

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
- keeps my makeup lasting all day
- makes my skin smooth
- blurs my pores
- keeps me oil-free
-- I have combination oily skin
- does not leave a cast

Cons:
- I still have to blot at least once but no more than twice

I have nothing left to say. This product just works so well that I don't know what to say. I would recommend this to you unless you have very oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kitty55 on 8/30/2014 4:38:00 PM more reviews by kitty55

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have tremendously oily, acne prone skin. This primer had initially worked very well for me, although I really don't think ANY primer will keep me completely shine-free for 8 hours!
I don't have a clue about any "gritty" feeling to this cream?? And yes, it is a white cream that will make you look pale ONLY if you use too much product and/or don't rub it in completely. No issue with paleness, wearing this alone or under foundation/BB.
The problem is that this primer dried out my skin TERRIBLY, causing more oil production, breakouts, redness and dry patches. It made my face an absolute mess. I have since switched to Laura Mercier's oil-free primer which has been working beautifully for me..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 letty114 on 8/25/2014 6:00:00 AM more reviews by letty114

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Picked this up because I was on holiday and had forgotten my entire make-up bag at home. Was very pleasantly surprised by this product that is very mattifying without leaving my skin dry, and glides on easily. Blurs fine lines and pores, and I usually wear alone, over day cream and sun block because it gives me just the right amount of coverage I need during the hot summer.
I usually use The Present - Philosophy, but like I said, I walked into a store and just picked up a low priced item on the way to sephora.
Still bought Smashbox and The Present, because I wasn't sure about this Neutrogena Primer, however I continued using it and will go back to my usual brands in winter.
Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HeyItsLiv on 8/8/2014 8:22:00 PM more reviews by HeyItsLiv

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love this primer! I have crazy oily skin and I've been looking for a primer that controls my shine because my face is always super oily by the end of the day, and this does that amazingly. I also wanted something that doesn't break me out because I get acne and cystic acne, and this doesn't break me out! If you put a lot on it gets kind of white and flaky but not to bad extents. I put a small amount on and a little bit more in my heavy oil zones and though it gets a little white it isn't bad, and my foundation smooths it out. If you don't where foundation I would say don't load a lot on but it is an amazing product that isn't crazy expensive and does what it says.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SmaugtheMagnificent on 8/5/2014 9:07:00 PM more reviews by SmaugtheMagnificent

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i had got this the other day and was excited to try it out but it just didnt work for me. it didnt do anything for shine, it took a lot to smear on my face and it was soft on me at all. it was very dry and made it hard for me to apply my foundation. i'm sure it works for some people, but not me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jordanxoxxo on 7/4/2014 6:08:00 PM more reviews by Jordanxoxxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This product isn't my favorite but I do recommend trying it if you have oily skin & just want to splurge on something new. I noticed that it did reduce how oily my skin usually looked mid day. I was pretty impressed because usually I don't see results. I only gave it a 4 because it didn't reduce the oil completely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cblazer973 on 6/26/2014 4:10:00 PM more reviews by cblazer973

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm pretty impressed with this primer. I've been using it now for two weeks and I definitely saw a difference compared to some of the other primers I've used. In the past year or so I've been trying new primers trying to find out that I can call my HG and does everything I could want. Easier said than done. I like the functionality of the tube, its slim and easy to toss into a bag. I don't mind that it doesn't have a pump feature, in fact I like the tube even more especially because it stands "upside down" regularly so you can really use up all the product.

Price wise was okayyy being that I used to spend $18 on primer from Victoria Secret and was appalled at the prices of primer at drugstores. I don't know why I was justifying spending that kind of money in a "department store" when I wouldn't drop $10 on a primer in a drugstore, strange. Anyway, I picked mine up at CVS where it was $12 USD or so. Maybe more, maybe less, I'm not positive. And for the amount you get for the price, again its okayyy. But a little really does go along way in my opinion.

So the actual product itself is white, mines kind of grainy (rice technology perhaps). This is the first white primer I used but I don't see it affecting the color of my skin or foundation. I apply this to my t-zone concentrating it where I'm most oily and then I smooth some onto my cheeks as well. The part that I LOVE is that I'm not stuck waiting 5-10 minutes for my primer to dry and sink into my pores like I had with silicone primers. While I loved how silicone primers made my skin look and feel so flawless, they also made me look messy if I didn't allow it to dry in time. This stuff dries in seconds and I can get back to applying my makeup.

I do notice that I get oily around hour 6 or 7 but that's expected for me and I'm not really concerned about it. It's not a cure all for oily people but it does help me from becoming a total grease pot especially in these hot summer months. I think I want to test run NYX shine killer after this and between the two make up my mind because I'm loving this product at the moment!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 flowerpan10 on 5/30/2014 2:32:00 AM more reviews by flowerpan10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This primer doesn't do an amazing job at oil control but it does do a way better job at keeping my oils at bay than when I don't wear any primer at all; not great but not so terrible I wouldn't repurchase it. I've used my mother's Mary Kay primer with SPF 15 & that does a way better job at keeping me matte & oil free than this does but for a drugstore primer I can't complain & it's more easily accessible for when I run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vidkalahya on 4/11/2014 1:31:00 PM more reviews by vidkalahya

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this item did work fine for couple of times..but after a week my face started get oily again..i have to blot it in 1 hr or so...waste of my money....surprisingly my face isnt dat oily if i dont wear this primer...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Primer/ Corrector products