L'Oreal True Match Lumi Healthy Luminous Makeup

3.5

449 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Octinoxate (7%). Inactive Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Isotridecyl Isononanoate, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxethyl Dimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone/Polyglycerin-3 Crosspolymer, Sodium Chloride, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Chlorphenesin, Disodium EDTA, Acrylates Copolymer, Propylparaben, Ethylhexyl Hydroxystearate, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Aluminum Hydroxide, PEG-9, Ethylparaben, Dipropylene Glycol, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben; May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Bismuth Oxychloride.


on 8/2/2015 12:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Definitely one of my favorite drugstore foundation, I recommend it if you have dry skin, I have dry skin and this foundation looks and feels amazing on my skin.



on 8/1/2015 11:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I rarely ever leave reviews, especially negative reviews, but I really felt the need with this one. While this foundation doesn't specifically state that it is made for dry skin, the claims it makes led me to believe it would work for me. I have SEVERELY dry skin; dry to the point that my face always feels tight and sometimes it hurts to fully open my mouth. This foundation did not cling to my dry patches at all, which was awesome. The coverage was nice (medium to full) and it is definitely buildable, BUT holy mother of god, did it leave me greasy! It was so insane to see my face shiny and greasy. I literally slather my face with intense moisturizers and still, my skin is so dry that within a minute or two, my face is back to being normal (dry). As I was applying it, I was so happy that there was definitely a "dewiness" about it, but about 5 minutes after application, my face felt so slimy and greasy. There is nothing cute about this level of "luminosity." When I think of luminosity, I think of a slight sheen that catches the light in all the right places. This just made me oily ALL OVER. I looked sweaty. Looking at it up close made my stomach turn. Every little bump and pore on my face was accentuated. I never even knew I had such bumpy and rough skin until I put this foundation on. I am so so so upset that this didn't work for me, and I'm not really sure who it would work for because I thought skin couldn't get any drier than mine. For that reason, I would never recommend this to ANYONE, and if you are oily, don't even look at this the wrong way in the drugstore, lol (but seriously... stay away).


on 7/30/2015 9:22:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Nothing in the True Match line ever works for me and it's true for Lumi as well. I really don't see a difference between this and the other True Match foundations. It's just too thin and doesn't cover well. It seems to fill my pores and nothing else. And I tried the two colors closest to my skin tone and they were just too yellow. I wish they'd bring back Visible Lift Age Perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/18/2015 12:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product looks great when first applied however it wears off very quickly.


on 7/9/2015 3:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to love this foundation - at night. When I was younger I'd put this foundation on in a badly lit room and thought it looked great....it didn't. I don't know what it is with these foundations, but I end up looking like an orange peel. It isn't only with one shade either, it has happened with several shades. Other than the orange look, the formula was easy to blend and I did receive compliments on how glowy my skin looked. Also, this will come off. So if you're going to go see your boyfriend, try a long wear foundation. This just rubs off. I didn't break out from this either. If they reformulated it so that you don't end up looking like an orange, and it didn't come off so easily I'd repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/8/2015 9:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think this is a decent foundation. I'd say the coverage is on the lighter side, and it feels pretty light as well. The consistency is a bit thinner than the Pro-matte foundation, but it's not runny. The pump dispenses just about the right amount of product for me.
It doesn't set in the fine lines and pores, and it doesn't look cakey. I guess it's somewhat dewy but not overly so. Towards the end of the day it does fade a little.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/8/2015 1:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This used to be my favourite foundation. I initially used the original l'oreal true match foundation but they didn't stock it at the shops one day so I figured this would work. I love the color selection and W4 is a lovely color match for me, I also enjoyed the dewy finish and the high coverage this gave me despite having very very oily skin. If you have oily skin stray from this foundation! Try the original one instead. After I switched to a different foundation, I have come to realize how bad this one was. There are many pro's though, it had a dewy finish which looks nice at first, it has a great color selection, it has medium to full coverage and is super buildable. Cons, it will make you oily, it feels disgusting on the skin when you put it on, it has a gross scent, it transfers easily (every time i hugged someone, foundation would get on their shirt and i'd always powder), it looked cakey even with minimal application, and this broke me out. I had nice clear skin until I tried this foundation but because of its full coverage I never tried anything else and I hate myself for it. I have acne scars all over my skin and the breakouts IMMEDIATELY stopped when I got a new foundation. Haven't had a pimple since.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/22/2015 7:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

SHADE SELECTION: W6 (NC37 for reference)
METHOD OF APPLICATION: brush or sponge
SKIN TYPE: combination

PROS

- light to medium coverage
- easy to blend
- dewy finish
- does not settle into fine lines
- does not cling to dry spots
- lightweight
- pump

CONS

- more product is used
- can get oily fast

COMMENTS: This is a dewy, light to medium coverage foundation. I find this similar to MAC's Face and Body (which I love), but with more coverage. It looks so natural on and blends so easily. The consistency is thin and does not settle into fine lines nor does it cling to dry spots. You will find yourself using more product because it can be pretty sheer, especially with a sponge (it soaks up a lot of product). You will certainly get oily and longevity will be affected if you have oily skin. I didn't have any issues with this lasting on my combination skin and it looked beautiful as the day went on. It's a nice, hydrating foundation.

Will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2015 10:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

It was patchy in the winter, and works fine in the summer. Very little coverage and feels heavy.


on 6/17/2015 11:00:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Meh...1st a bit about me for your reference: MAC = NC15; EM (semi-matte) = Fairly Light; Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 hour = #100 Ivory; Revlon ColorStay = #150 Buff; Avon Smooth Minerals Pressed Foundation = T04 Nude; EL Double Wear = Desert Beige; Jane Iredale = pressed base in Bisque; Lumene CC Cream = Fair; Smashbox Camera Ready CC = Fair; IT Cosmetics CC + = Light


For me, n1-2 soft ivory/classic ivory out of their neutral shades is perfect match for me :)


Coverage = medium to medium full. Luminous finish = yes. Color transfer = unfortunately YES (even setting w/ UD All Nighter, my mu didn't last a full 8 hours and before I used UD, quite a bit of color transfer when rubbed nose w/ kleenex (I had a runny nose - sorry if TMI) :)

I get better coverage and far less transfer w/ a similar luminous finish when I add L'Oreal's Lumi primer to my Hokkila Hokkila BB cream and my EL Double Wear.


Would I repurchase - nope since I can get better results doing the DYI as described above.



Back to Top