L'Oreal • Visible Lift Repair Absolute • Crème

rated 3.6(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Mimsy on 2/26/2014 11:35:00 PM more reviews by Mimsy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

L'Oreal Visible Lift Repair Absolute is hands down my favorite out of all the drugstore foundations I've tried. I have very dry skin that never gets shiny or oily. Rather it tends to get drier and drier as the day goes on and naturally mattifies and dehydrates most foundations, so I prefer highly moisturizing foundations with satin or dewy finishes. I also never set my makeup with powder.

To give you an idea of how dry my skin is, here are a few of the drugstore foundations I've tried that have satin/dewy finishes on others and how they actually appear on me:
- Neutrogena Healthy Skin: Matte finish. Cakey. Clings to and accentuates dry skin. Medium-full coverage.
- Maybelline Fit Me Liquid: Powdery finish. Light-medium coverage. Clings to and accentuates dry skin.
- L’Oreal True Match Lumi: Natural matte/semi-matte finish. Light-medium coverage. It doesn’t emphasize dry skin like the other two foundations.

As someone with dry skin one of the most important things I’ve learned when looking for a foundation is to find one that’s targeted for mature skin since they're often the most moisturizing. Repair Absolute is marketed as an anti-aging foundation. It has a creme formula and comes in a small pot/compact. The texture is firm to the touch, kind of like a cool stick of butter and when I swirl my finger against the surface it feels slick and thin. It has SPF16 and is fragrance-free.

The thing I like most about this foundation is its finish. Finally, a suitable foundation for very dry skin! Everything else I’ve tried turns matte on me but Repair Absolute has a lovely satin/slightly dewy finish to it. There is absolutely no shimmer or glitter in this foundation.

It has medium coverage and my favorite way to apply it is with a dense foundation brush (Real Techniques Expert Face or Sigma Precision Flat P80) and stipple/stamp it onto the skin. I don't recommend buffing the foundation on with a brush as that can cause microexfoliation and flakes on those with very dry skin. I've also tried applying it with a damp beautyblender; I like the finish it gives but it sheers out the coverage too much for me.

One of my biggest foundation concerns is finding a formula that doesn’t turn powdery by midday. My skin sucks the moisture out of most foundations leaving a powdery layer of pigment behind. I need a moisturizing foundation and Repair Absolute seems to fit the bill. It looks as good, maybe even better, at the end of the day as it did at the start. It diminishes the appearance of large pores slightly, doesn't accentuate any dry skin or patches on me, and gives my skin a hydrated, healthy looking, satin finish.

I think Repair Absolute is best suited for people with very dry skin who are looking for some moisture and subtle dewiness to their foundation. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with even slightly oily skin. If you need oil control this isn't for you. It'll probably make you look like a greaseball.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 VintagePro on 2/15/2014 1:42:00 PM more reviews by VintagePro

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Like others, I wanted to love this, but I don't. It stays moist, even after setting it with powder, and it winds up on the clothes of everyone I hug. I have discolorations and need a full coverage foundation, and this one just doesn't cut it - it provides medium coverage at best. I've had BB creams that made my skin look better than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xenobia1968 on 10/22/2013 9:15:00 PM more reviews by xenobia1968

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is not for people with oily/combination skin. It separates in my t-zone (the oily part of my face) and looks like I took a pencil and scraped across my face with it. No matter which primer or setting powder I use, it looks awful in about an hour or so. Plus it transfers to everyone I hug. Won't purchase again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dellajaz24 on 8/13/2013 6:05:00 PM more reviews by dellajaz24

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to love this stuff I thought it would be perfect for my dry skin because it offers a dewy finish (which I love in a foundation) but this stuff was just not quite right.. The coverage is ok but not quite good enough for me. I like a full coverage. This is medium.
No matter how I apply it or what primer I use, it seems to never 'set' on my skin. Every time I look in the mirror it looks like I need to get out my beauty blender again and again to blend it in! because it seems to 'lift' off my skin or something and separate into a weird messy look which accentuates the hairs on my face and makes my face look totally un flawless it looks messy! Applying a setting powder over the top didn't work for me either. :( So I will be going back to my Revlon colorstay whipped I think...I have only used this stuff maybe three times and wont be attempting it again because it just doesn't work for me so I will sell it online. Price is ok. Not too bad.
One PRO about this foundation is it has SOOOO much in the jar! it could honeslty last months on end...a little goes a long way so that's one good thing about it.
Sadly it just wasn't for me :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Moaner on 8/9/2013 11:38:00 AM more reviews by Moaner

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation is just average for me. It has pretty decent coverage and goes on nice and creamy. But after a few hours, it definitely looks separated and weird on my oily parts (like my nose). It also made me break out after about 6 hrs of wear. No thank you- I won't be purchasing this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rav2b on 7/16/2013 6:51:00 PM more reviews by rav2b

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I SO love this! I'd been using Merle Norman's loose minerals, but having a harder time mixing to the right shade since they changed the numbering. So, tired of the hassle, I was ripe for straying. Tried a few that were "close, but no cigar," and I have absolutely no idea why I chose this. But, wow!, I've loved it from Day One a month or so ago, and continue to be just as impressed. I use my fingers, then cream blush, then a light application of pressed translucent powder--and it stays ALL day and evening. Seriously, from 7:30a to 11 or midnight, and it's all there, looking fresh. I have absurdly sensitive eyes and this doesn't bother them at all--even when I use it on my darkish under eye circles...which brings me to coverage...this has got it. I'm amazed. It reminds me a lot of the Gerda Spillmann that looked so gorgeous, but without the stinging and heavy scent, and at a fraction of the price.

EDIT 8/10/13-- it's still awfully good, but I've rediscovered an old love: Illuminare. I like not feeling the need for powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessrockstarrr on 7/11/2013 11:38:00 PM more reviews by Jessrockstarrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am in love with this foundation. I have very dry skin, so I was almost expecting this to look terrible on me. I exfoliated well, moisterized, then applied this foundation with a mac 187 stippling brush and I was SO surprised and happy with the result. The color is gorgeous. I'm the lightest shade, so I usually look ill before I apply bronzer/highlight/blush. But this is very warm toned and it makes me look alive as soon as I apply it. I have been wearing this since I bought it, it's so good. The packaging could be better, however. I feel like you're just scraping old foundation off the top with each use, but other than that it's a 10/10 for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NHarbison on 6/10/2013 2:00:00 PM more reviews by NHarbison

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this product, as I was looking for something for drier skin (my skin is changing) and I liked it at first. It goes on nicely, really smooth looking, and has a nice finish, however, as the day goes on it seems to get oily and any blush and/or bronzer I have put on top of it has vanished, even when I powder on top of the foundation. Price is average for a higher end drug store brand. Packaging is nothing special - typical of a sponge on type foundation. Bottom line is I won't be repurchasing this again, mainly because of the lack of staying power and not being able to use products over it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Shasta333 on 6/7/2013 2:32:00 AM more reviews by Shasta333

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This looks good at first, but throughout the day made my face very oily and just sits on top of it and smears easily. I've tried it with and without a powder over it. Maybe it would be good for people with very dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MIAHONEY on 5/29/2013 12:05:00 AM more reviews by MIAHONEY

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

As a makeup artist, I'm always looking for "flawless" but I'm also looking for "affordable" because I go through so much foundation. I had been using Chantecaille, but it was getting ridiculously spendy. Had been searching for the perfect full coverage cream foundation and bought this on a whim. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
Prime!! Either with De-Slick spray by UD or the old standby Milk of Magnesia (yes! look it up if you haven't heard) if you're oily.
Using a damp Beauty Blender sponge, stipple (don't rub) it on. Dabbing until melted into skin. Gorgeous coverage.
Set with translucent powder. This is the only cream foundation that doesn't settle into lines.
Perfect.
Other MAs on my jobs ask me what I use all the time. I pray they don't discontinue this.
ps. Most used: Creamy Natural is a great color for lighter/medium skintones. Classic Tan for contouring and warming up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Crème products