Bumble & Bumble thickening conditioner

3.2

60 reviews

51% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/2/2015 3:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

(A lot of this is copied from my review on the Thickening Shampoo, as the results are similar.)

My hair is so fine, Mickey would lose his mind.

A feather would weigh it down and keep it down for the rest of the day. I've tried a few different "volumizing conditioners" and I feel like this is the one my hair responds to very well. It does become thicker and it does feel softer after use.

In using the product, I use a little bit more than a dime-sized amount, but only using it through the middle to the roots to not weigh down the top of my head. I find this helps to keep it from being too heavy, and also, the top of my head doesn't really need the conditioner as it doesn't tangle or get frizzy as much as the middle and roots. I do make sure to leave it on and alone for about 1-2 minutes before washing out, as the instructions recommend.

Now, because I do exercise 6 days a week, my hair does become greasier and finer after the first day. However, much less so than other shampoos/conditioners I've used and I typically don't use anything (hair spray, etc.) to maintain it. My hair also still gets frizzy after using this.

The $27/8 oz is a little steep (especially because it's $2 more than the shampoo), but as I really like it a lot, I do think I will be repurchasing and most likely in the 33.8 oz form on the Sephora website for a better value. I don't necessarily know if I find anything in this protects my hair as the description for it states, but it does work in thickening my hair.

Pros:

- Thickens hair as it states
- Softens hair
- Available in travel size (2 oz), regular size (8 oz), and jumbo/value size (33.8 oz)

Cons:

- Does not reduce flyaways or frizziness
- $2 more expensive than the shampoo in all sizes



on 5/8/2015 1:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm happy to say this conditioner works for me, though from the reviews it appears to be hit or miss. My last stylist used this, so I was able to test run it a little bit before buying, which probably helped. I love the smell and the straightforward container that's easy to handle in the shower and stays pretty clean. It makes my hair soft and smooth but still light, and there's something about the formula that makes it easy to distribute evenly in my hair.


on 4/27/2015 5:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I used this in combination with the matching shampoo, which I also reviewed, and while the shampoo was dreadful this was at least adequate. It left my baby fine hair soft and easy to comb through, smelled nice and I love the Bumble and Bumble packaging. However, definitely not worth the money in my opinion so I would not repurchase or recommend to others.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Black

I bought the shampoo and conditioner. Have been on the lookout for a thickening type shampoo and condish for some time. best i have found is loreals volume filler something and i liked lush big but find it hard to use. anyway, this did nothing for me. no smoothing softness no volume it made my waves disappear-__-


on 9/24/2014 4:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this conditioner. I have normal, healthy hair, but a lot of it! My problem is that it's long and heavy, so I usually can't or don't use conditioner when I want to style my hair because it makes it smooth and really difficult to keep a hold. This conditioner keeps my hair healthy but also gives it a little pump of volume/thickness regardless of whether or not I blow-dry. This product is expensive, and for my long hair, I have to use a normal/large amount, so I try not to use it as my daily conditioner. That being said, I do like the conditioner much better than the shampoo, and I will probably purchase again until I find something that works better for a better price.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I thought that since I love B&B's Thickening Shampoo, that I would also love the Thickening Conditioner - WRONG.

It only made my hair the tiniest bit thicker - not enough to notice a change. I'll be trying B&B's other conditioners, to see if they suit my hair better (the Seaweed conditioner?)

I'm kind of disappointed - I thought that this matching shampoo & conditioner would go well together :-(


on 8/16/2014 7:04:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have mixed feelings about this conditioner and also the shampoo (see separate review). Whilst it does what it says, i.e. provides obvious volume and thickness to fine hair, the trade-off for me and why I will not repurchase is that it dries out my fine, bleached (foiled), shoulder-length hair and it feels horrible to touch. It provides absolutely no moisture at all and I understand that in order to get that thickening and volume it can't be too moisturising, but I may as well not bother with putting the conditioner in my hair at all, such is the lack of smoothing and moisturising. Even though I alternate with a moisturising shampoo/conditioner any effect those products have on moisturising my hair is negated by the Thickening Shampoo/Conditioner duo. The conditioner has a terrible cheap men's cologne smell that turns my stomach. It is also hideously expensive at AU$39. I'd rather use a moisturising shampoo and conditioner and spend up on B&B styling products which I do like and find work well.


on 1/25/2014 11:24:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

**review for shampoo and conditioner**
I would give this pair a 3.5, but I'll give it a 4 because it DOES do what it says, it really does thicken your hair and give it that healthy weight and substance, however, it doesn't really volumize, at least not when you air-dry (which is how I do my hair 95% of the time). It doesn't make your hair limp or flat at all, but it doesn't give you that light, swingy feel. It didn't dry out my highlighted hair at all, and it made my hair very bright and shiny. It smells really nice, kind of hard to describe, just a fresh air sort of scent. I only bought the travel size bottles so when I use these up I think I'll try the seaweed line, which is probably better for my needs (fine hair, which I like to be light and swingy) and maybe just use the thickening spray if I ever want extra volume.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2013 1:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This definitely is a thickening conditioner! I applied this from the middle of my hair to the ends (I have hair that's currently halfway down my back) and left it in for about 10 minutes. After I rinsed this out, my hair felt so much thicker and like there was so much more of it! It doesn't feel heavy but it detangled and didn't weigh my hair down. My only gripe is the scent - it's almost like a men's cologne scent which was a little strong for my taste, but makes it suitable for both sexes.


on 7/27/2013 7:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

i like to put this on from the middle of my hair down to the ends. i stay away from conditioning the scalp altogether because it will just weigh down my hair. this makes my hair very soft and i do notice that the individual strands look MUCH thicker when i use this (along with the shampoo).

it doesn't give much volume, but this isn't a volumizing conditioner. it's a thickening conditioner that will coat the strands of your hair to make them look thicker. when i ran out of this product and couldn't repurchase it (overseas traveling for months), my hair got noticeably thinner and the only thing that changed was that i didn't have the thickening products anymore.

it's not perfect but it's definitely made a difference in how thick my hair looks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Bumble & Bumble Products

image

Brilliantine

155 reviews
image

Defrizz

104 reviews
image

Sunday Shampoo

80 reviews
image

Prep

107 reviews
Back to Top