Neutrogena Shine Control Makeup

2.6

100 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

(Active Ingredients : Titanium Dioxide 3.2%) --- Water, Dimethicone, Methyl Trimethicone, Isononyl Isononanoate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Seed Protein, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Glycerin, Acrylates/Dimethicone Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Alumina, Caprylyl Glycol, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Aluminium Stearate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Silica Silylate, Disodium EDTA, Sorbic Acid --- may contain (CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77019/Mica, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides)


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So I have just purchased this product and I am currently testing it to see how it compares to my all time favorite foundation, Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H. I am 110 Ivoire C in the Lancome foundation and I selected the lightest shade, classic ivory (10), in the Neutrogena Shine Control foundation. I feel like the Neutrogena foundation has a bit more of a yellow tone to it, than my Lancome, but I like the color. It looks quite nice against my pale skin. I applied 1 layer of the foundation with a real techniques stippling brush and it blended into my skin very easily and gave a good medium coverage. I do have hyperpigmentation and acne to cover and this covered most of it. I just used a little concealer on top of this in a couple spots around my nose and mouth and finished it off with a setting powder. I really like the look of this foundation upon application. It feels light weight and leaves you with a flawless matte finish. It does not look cakey, and I don't feel a grainy texture with the formula like some of the other reviewers have mentioned. It also does not have a scent to it. I'm interested to see how this holds up and whether it will break me out since I have very oily skin. (I'll do an update shortly!) So far I am very pleased with the outcome and the only negative comment I have about this product is the bottle it comes in - it would be great if there was a pump!
UPDATE: So after 4 hours in 75 degree weather, my foundation still provides full coverage and is just starting to look dewy. It does not look overly oily but just like a healthy glow. I'll continue to test this out for extended periods and in hotter weather and give another update!



on 2/24/2015 8:47:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Pro's:

- Definitely mattifies and helps shine control
- Good color payoff
- Fantastic price
- Easy on skin
- Smells great
- Blends well

Con's:

- Wears off quickly


Overall:

I like this product for the most part. It does what is claims to do and the color is beautiful. It also blends like a dream. Unfortunately, it wears off within three hours of a normal day for me. Even after using a primer and setting with with powder, it still fades and by the end of the day, my redness shows through.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2015 8:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is fantastic makeup. You only need a tiny bit. It does what it says. It controls shines (I top with a powder). Has great coverage and lasts for hours.


on 12/31/2014 3:43:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought this was going to be a really good foundation since it is from Neutrogena, but I was wrong. First of all I could not even get the foundation out of the bottle so I had to use my pinky finger to apply it to my face. When I put it on my face it was really hard for me to blend it in. It is really thick. It sticks to every single dry spot on my face. I hate it and I will never boy it again. Very disappointed. Not recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2014 6:24:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Although there isn't a huge selection of shades to choose from, the natural beige color matches my skin perfectly! For reference, I am about an NC30 in MAC. I am more of a yellow undertone rather than a beige which is what I really need. I'm not sure why they named it natural beige? I like the finish that this makeup gives. It is semi-matte. While putting it on, you will feel a grittyness to it from the rice that is used in the product but it serves as a very nice exfoliator! My skin has actually benefited from the exfoliation from the rice. It stays on for at least 8 hours or more. My skin has not gotten oily from this foundation, so, I cannot relate to what others have said regarding this. I will definately be purchasing this product again in the future.


on 11/6/2014 10:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

IT'S GRAINY AND I HATE IT. Applying it practically exfoliates your skin. The shade range sucks. In sure I bought the second lightest shade Classic ivory and I figured it to be very yellow in comparison to the others but only because the others were so PINK! Neutrogena foundations are ALWAYS so pink or orange. It is so drying and hideous.


on 10/28/2014 2:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I don't quite know why everyone thinks this product is so bad. I have pretty oily skin and no makeup I've used before has kept the shine down for more than an hour. This product lived up to it's claims though and my face was reasonably shine free for most of the day. The little bit of oiliness that was there could easily be taken care of with a little bit of blotting or powder though. The bottle design isn't ideal, but it's certainly not a reason to not buy the product. I haven't broken out since using this product, and I'm happy so far. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because it was good, but nothing spectacular. Overall though, I would recommend this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2014 1:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my first time using this foundation, and so far so good. I see that a lot of you guys aren't liking the graininess of the foundation but I know it's from the rice which absorbs oils so I really don't mind it. I'm pretty shine free for a foundation which usually makes my skin appear extremely greasy. I like that it's not super heavy coverage and it looks very natural on my skin! My only pet peeve is that it rubs off and that always makes me feel like a cake face :( I also prefer a pump for my liquid foundation so this container makes things a bit messier. for a foundation that was on sale at Walgreens for 10 dollars I'm not too upset about my purchase. My recommendation for you ladies that are looking for a light to medium coverage and don't want your make up to rub off would be Almay TLC liquid foundation. I loved it but I have super sensitive skin and had to quit using it :(


on 10/18/2014 7:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't have "problem" skin as a lot of the reviewers of this seem to have so my review may not be valid, but I really didn't see how this was so horrific. I have medium skin (NC35 MAC and MUFE 128) I going the natural beige shade to blend easily. My skin did stay shine free all day at work and I'm a trainer so I get sweaty as well as oily though out the day. Also, because I don't have acne I didn't use a lot of product which may have some thing to do with why it didn't suck as bad for me. I bought this bc I wanted a less expensive product for everyday wear. My only complaints are that it is super hard to get out of the bottle ( I used a cotton swab) and it contains SPF which cause flashback in pictures. If I want SPF I prefer to apply it seperately . All in all I don't see why this got such bad ratings . I personally think that if your skin is bad, you should bite the bullet and fork out the money to buy a department store brand . But if you have normal skin this is perfectly fine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2014 2:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Meh. Didn't do much in terms of shine control unfortunately. It doesn't have a matte finish at all - in fact, I found that my face was shinier when I used this foundation. Ironic. Also, it is a BITCH to get out of the container. The liquid is quite thick, and eventually I had to use a cotton swab to scoop it out.


Back to Top