Neutrogena • Shine Control Makeup • Liquid

rated 2.6(95 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.32%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 oreodewylola on 10/28/2014 2:15:00 PM more reviews by oreodewylola

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I don't quite know why everyone thinks this product is so bad. I have pretty oily skin and no makeup I've used before has kept the shine down for more than an hour. This product lived up to it's claims though and my face was reasonably shine free for most of the day. The little bit of oiliness that was there could easily be taken care of with a little bit of blotting or powder though. The bottle design isn't ideal, but it's certainly not a reason to not buy the product. I haven't broken out since using this product, and I'm happy so far. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because it was good, but nothing spectacular. Overall though, I would recommend this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 karat94 on 10/26/2014 1:47:00 PM more reviews by karat94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first time using this foundation, and so far so good. I see that a lot of you guys aren't liking the graininess of the foundation but I know it's from the rice which absorbs oils so I really don't mind it. I'm pretty shine free for a foundation which usually makes my skin appear extremely greasy. I like that it's not super heavy coverage and it looks very natural on my skin! My only pet peeve is that it rubs off and that always makes me feel like a cake face :( I also prefer a pump for my liquid foundation so this container makes things a bit messier. for a foundation that was on sale at Walgreens for 10 dollars I'm not too upset about my purchase. My recommendation for you ladies that are looking for a light to medium coverage and don't want your make up to rub off would be Almay TLC liquid foundation. I loved it but I have super sensitive skin and had to quit using it :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pinksk8wax on 10/18/2014 7:42:00 AM more reviews by Pinksk8wax

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't have "problem" skin as a lot of the reviewers of this seem to have so my review may not be valid, but I really didn't see how this was so horrific. I have medium skin (NC35 MAC and MUFE 128) I going the natural beige shade to blend easily. My skin did stay shine free all day at work and I'm a trainer so I get sweaty as well as oily though out the day. Also, because I don't have acne I didn't use a lot of product which may have some thing to do with why it didn't suck as bad for me. I bought this bc I wanted a less expensive product for everyday wear. My only complaints are that it is super hard to get out of the bottle ( I used a cotton swab) and it contains SPF which cause flashback in pictures. If I want SPF I prefer to apply it seperately . All in all I don't see why this got such bad ratings . I personally think that if your skin is bad, you should bite the bullet and fork out the money to buy a department store brand . But if you have normal skin this is perfectly fine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rachelking on 9/15/2014 2:35:00 AM more reviews by rachelking

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Meh. Didn't do much in terms of shine control unfortunately. It doesn't have a matte finish at all - in fact, I found that my face was shinier when I used this foundation. Ironic. Also, it is a BITCH to get out of the container. The liquid is quite thick, and eventually I had to use a cotton swab to scoop it out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jasthill on 9/2/2014 12:41:00 PM more reviews by jasthill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

"Shine Control" my butt! I have acne and oily skin, and this make-up did nothing to help that. I had high hopes for it because Neutrogena is generally acne concious and "shine control" implies it will have oil absorbing properties, but this foundation made me look ill. I have only had it on for 5 hours and I look like I'm not wearing an ounce of foundation - which is a problem, not a "natural/beauty" benefit.

Not only did the lasting power blow, but this was $13 at Walmart! That's pretty pricey for no benefits. Also, it's impossible to shake out of the bottle, leaving you to use your pinky or a q-tip to get any product out. I'm going to give this product a big fat wtf.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cristinabc on 8/12/2014 12:48:00 PM more reviews by cristinabc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

So I bought this thinking it would be good for me because I have super oily skin, and also acne prone. Thinking it would be great, lasting all day and all and it doesn't last long at all! The shine control is just BS!! I get shiny like an hour later and feels like it melts off my skin. And I also think its breaking me out aswell. I wish I could return it but I bought it out of the country. I do not recommend this foundation at all

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nanamisan on 7/25/2014 1:56:00 AM more reviews by nanamisan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Omg where do I start. I had a bad experience with this from the very beginning. Picking out a color is extremely hard and the closest match was the lightest shade as the others were too dark or too pink. I bought anyway because cvs has a good return policy but this thing was 16 dollars! The only reason I wanted it was because I wanted a foundation without cones. Okay so I go to try this and literally the foundation is so thick it won't come out. But it's a pour bottle! You need like a tool to get this out or a qtip or a scoop or something. Like someone else said it's like putting toothpaste into a jar with a narrow opening. I could get past that, but the formula was horrid. It was so hard to apply, it would not blend, it was grainy like I was putting on an exfoliator or something. It clung to every dry patch that I didn't even know I had! I have severely oily skin normally!!! I tried to blend it some more and take my time but it started balling up and flaking off and getting in my hair! It looked awful. I did not mind the smell, it smelled literally like rice flour. But the formula was so bad and I looked so bad that I immediately had to go wash it off because I could not go to work like that. This is the only makeup I've ever applied in my life that I felt justified washing it off immediately. Worst foundation formula I've ever used and I'm returning it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 arielise24 on 5/25/2014 11:18:00 AM more reviews by arielise24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I had such high expectations for this product because of the brand. I regret spending 12 dollars on this crappy foundation. It melts off my face in 3 hours! Even with a primer and setting powder it does not last. The coverage is light and it blends in with my skin nicely, but it does not last at all. I like the SPF so I'll probably just use this for the beach when I want something light that I can apply sunscreen over. I do not recommend this product, it is horrible for oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ilovemakeup15 on 5/17/2014 3:01:00 PM more reviews by ilovemakeup15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to grab this because I ran out of my revlon color stay and they didn't have my color in stock. The shine control caught my attention because it's summer and I get oily. I used it for a few days and omg I was a shiny mess in the middle of the day. The foundation was blotchy and just a mess. Definitely returning it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* velvetgirl on 4/27/2014 1:21:00 AM more reviews by velvetgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for something to replace my clinique acne solutions foundation. I break out super easy so I didn't have more hope to find anything at the drugstore that would work. I settled on this! First off I have not felt any grittiness or any grains. It's completely smooth and totally thick! It's next to impossible to get any out of the bottle. I finally decided to stick a q tip in and that worked quite well. Then I just smoothed it all over with my fingers. It smooths out well has a thicker/heavier coverage than I'm used to but it felt light on and gave great coverage. It did not hide my pores. But no foundation has done that for me, not even primer. I will update if I happen to notice it breaks me out. But hopefully this is a keeper. I feel overall this foundation is better than clinique's acne solutions.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Liquid products