St.Tropez • Self Tan Dark Bronzing Lotion • Self Tanners

rated 3.8(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 RT666 on 12/31/2013 10:49:00 PM more reviews by RT666

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First up, I'm with Kelchasepeas - the colour of this stuff is simply astonishing. I've used all the other St Tropez products and love them so I thought I'd try this one out as I got a fabulous 3 for the price of 2 deal on this product.
The standard St Tropez range goes on as a color that at worst, makes you look a little dirty. But this one? It goes on, and remains a bright green shade, which would be convenient should you wish to camouflage yourself naked amongst some shrubbery, otherwise there is just no way known you could leave the house with this on. It's been 6 hours since I put it on, and I'm still green! I'm relatively fair skinned, which may explain why the green is so startlingly bright (there's a picture of my legs standing up attached to the review).
Maybe I was in denial but I thought blasting myself with the hairdryer would cause the product to morph into brown, which of course didn't happen. It's also really sticky, and rubs off onto things quite easily so stay very well clear of light colored anything. In short, this whole green thing is something St Tropez REALLY should have put in the product description.
To make the whole exercise viable, this product would need to be used: 1. at night, 2. wearing black clothes and socks to bed to avoid staining bedclothes, 3. after informing your partner/family that you are about to use a product that will turn your skin green. In other words, don't just slap it on after your partner has gone to sleep without warning as they may react badly to waking up next to a green imposter of you.

I'll add to this after the product has fully developed into a (hopefully brown) tan.

Ok so it's now 24 hours later, or should I say 24 loooong hours later having been serenaded with "It's not easy being green..." by my partner (funny first time, no so much next 20+ times). I had a shower and the green color washed off leaving a very light tan that was maybe about 3 shades darker than my usual fair complexion. It wouldn't even rate as olive, more of light beige, and certainly not dark.

I hope the sewerage processing plant that services my area is efficient, as the green literally poured off everywhere and splashed the shower walls, and finally rubbed off on the white towel.

I applied the product with the mitt, and retrospectively I think this product requires liberal slapping on using gloves. I'm going to have to do a second green coat, which I'm not best pleased about. At least at this rate, I'll use up all three bottles relatively quickly.

To add to points 1, 2, and 3, number 4, would be to not consider any intimate contact with your partner after you put this stuff on. It just goes everywhere. Enough said.

Another 24 hours later, and a second coat, applied with gloves........this was the trick. After washing off the second green coat, the color of the tan is just fabulous. As mentioned, I have fair skin, and it now looks like I've spent a few weeks at a resort. Even better, the tan hasn't settled into my pores, and is perfectly even despite being absolutely slapped on.

So this product should be applied with those lightweight disposable gloves, liberally, at night, and when you can cover yourself with black clothes and socks to prevent wrecking your bedding. The result is very natural, flattering, and magically diminishes the appearance of cellulite and stretch marks.

Despite the whole green thing, I'd purchase this product again.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kelchasepeas on 8/15/2013 4:20:00 PM more reviews by Kelchasepeas

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I brought this lotion for £36, I don't mind paying for a decent tan, really I don't but its got to work.
So, the packaging is average. Standard bottle with a pump.
It doesn't smell like a fake tan, at the moment, it's floral perfumed which actually I don't like I'd rather just smell like fake tan for a few hours instead of a tarts handbag.
The colour, where shall I start. It's green. Not a little bit green. Not brown with green undertones, not tinted green, it's fully freaking green!
I love green it happens to be my favourite colour, but that doesn't mean I want to walk around like a Martian from outer space. And that's what I look like. No, really.
I posted a photo, some of the comments I got were- shrek, Incredible Hulk, kermit the frog. The list was endless.
I'm green.
This isn't at all practical for people that do their tans in the day time, and still go about their daily business.
No no no
You will want to be staying In until the tan develops and has been washed off, Unless its Halloween...

It's harder to rub in than the original. Usually i do my tan and I feel confident that it looks smooth and that il wake up the Next day looking one colour all over and pretty much even.
I have no confidence in this tan at all. I'm laying on my bed thinking of Washing it off quickly before it has the chance to develop.

I applied it as usual with latex gloves, and then buffed the excess off with a buffing mitt.
It still looks streaky and patchy. Some bits are dark green some bits are lighter green and some bits are really patchy- even after buffing.
I'm off for a night out Saturday night, I'm glad I've done this tan on a Thursday because if worse comes to worse il have to have a spray tan to hide it.

Here's hoping for the best.
I don't hold much hope for a dark tan either , from what I've seen online it gives pretty much the same colour as the normal one.
Il edit my review when I've washed this off
Which by the way feels wet and sticky and disgusting to lay in.
The other one is the same so no difference there.
So far over all I'm quite disappointed in this tan. And the only time I'd use It again most probably is for fancy dress (princess Fiona )

OK! So the tan developed I washed it off in the morning after around 13 hours of it being on, and my bath water was super bright green! I am a lovely shade of tan, which is fab, it is darker than the original one, but not by loads, if you wanted to be really dark I would recommend doubling up / re doing the tan again after the first wash off
I have actually gonna a natural shade of tan it's not at all orangey.
They darkness is comparable to that of a spray tan done at a salon which is nice.

So regardless of being green and smelly I would purchase this again because the results are good!!


4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eribear23 on 7/15/2013 1:48:00 AM more reviews by eribear23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Hands down, the best self-tanner I have used, and I have used them all- from Clarins to Banana Boat, to even that Toma Tan Perfect the sold on the infomercial years ago. I bought this for $48, which is definitely pricey, but considering the airbrush tan I normally get is almost $60 for each session, this was worth it indeed. I use it about twice a week and have done so 4 times already with still plenty in the bottle. I apply on my face with a little bit of moisturizer so that I don't look too tan there and then use full strength everywhere else. The color is green at first, but it doesn't stay green for long. Within an hour, I could see that it looked bronze. I say definitely do at night and shower in the morning. I am very pale and this does not look fake at all. The one major thing I love is that there is no terrible odor the next day. I have used self tanners where even after 2 showers, I can still smell myself and it isn't pleasant. With this, you shower the next day, wash the color guide off and go on about your business looking like you spent all day at the beach. I bought the mitt too, which made application and blending better, but you really need to rub and almost grind the lotion into your skin and I wonder how much lotion gets caught in the mitt and ends up wasting the product. I think I will use gloves from now on and use the mitt to blend color onto my knees and elbows. I am sold! I will never buy another self tanner again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angekronaus on 4/26/2013 7:30:00 AM more reviews by angekronaus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Im not big on self tanners to begin with but I do love a product that is able to replicate a very subtle tan to get you through the first couple of weeks of spring when you are lily white.
This lotion works very well. It goes on extremely easy with zero streaking & it doesnt smell as bad as some of the tanners out there. By far the BEST self tanner ive tried.
Yes, it does leave your hands slightly dark at first but be sure to wash them thoroughly IMMEDIATELY after application & the hands will not stain.
I only use self-tanner on my legs because im too much of a ninny to try it on my face or rest of my body :)
Extremely good product & the only self-tanner I would recommend if I had to.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 olliesbear on 12/3/2012 8:51:00 AM more reviews by olliesbear

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This review is for the St. Tropez Dark Tanning Lotion in the black bottle w/the teal lid. This is one of the best self tanners I've found. I LOVE it! The color is rich and brown, no orange. Wear time is great. There are a few things to watch out for though...You should definitely wait until bed to put this on w/your rattiest pj's and sheets waiting. It will transfer, although I have had NO problem getting the color out of my pj's and sheets. Now fair warning, upon immediate application, you will turn Kermit the Frog green. Don't freak! Its part of the formula and it DOES go away. It will sink in and adjust to your skin tones (part of the technology) and will have the usual bronze overlay look. The next morning after the rinse off shower, you should look beautifully bronzed. I hate St. Tropez's tanning mitt and have great results simply using latex gloves for application. Don't do it bare handed! It won't be pretty. I would say this is definitely one to try and please read up on the product and it's technology before freaking out on the product or company.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Finchieface on 8/9/2012 6:39:00 AM more reviews by Finchieface

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have used many self tanning products, and by far St. Tropez have always stood out to me. I normally use the build up mousse because it doesn't take long to build up to a good colour, and the staying power is great. The regular self tanning mousse is nice, but a little bit orange and it never stays on my calfs as long, so sometimes I look like i have only done half of my legs.

I went to Sephora and the lady recommended this to me. For those who have said this has a green tint, yes it does when you first apply it, but it's only the guide colour! I use this before bed, and when I wake up and go in the shower, all the green washes away and leaves a gorgeous brown tan. I was expecting it to be much darker, so for this I will give it less credit, if you want a dark tan you will have to use this more than once. Still, the colour is perfect for me in summer, and it looks gorgeous. Me and my two best friends all used this on holiday, and because of the way St. Tropez works with your skin, it gave each of us a different colour that suited our skin tones best - making this a very special product! Pretty pricey, but SO worth it! Always get complimented on how naturally tan I look, no one can ever tell it's fake!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashley92504 on 7/31/2012 12:47:00 PM more reviews by ashley92504

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

First off, I would NEVER spend $40 on a self tanner (this was a gift) especially since it is just one ingredient that is self tanning in all these products. My H decided that he wanted to get this for me because he liked the way it looked on someone from work and provided this for me to try. Being hooked on self tanners this summer, I could not turn down a gift.
--
I also got the glove which is a big help and i wish i discovered tanning gloves sooner.
--
I used it 2x so far and gawd what a rip off disappointment. It pains me that my H wasted his money! I also wish i had checked beautypedia's review first because it is an unhappy face because of all the fragrance in it. . . which just so happens to not irritate my skin.Because half the product is made up of fragrance, guess what? no lingering self tanner smell for those who do not like that smell.
--
My h tried this out and he turned a nice tan brown color without looking like he is from jersey shore. it will feel tight/dring on your face if you have dry/normal skin. the only self tanner i can use on my face is paulas choice almost the real thing because it does not make me feel tight/dry but that one does not give dark color.
--
I put this on top of my drugstore tanner thinking i would be super bronze goddess instead of natural light looking the next morning since this is talked about like it is so superior of a tanning/bronzing product, and didn't get any additional color just brown color guide ... the color from this is no better than a $10 ds self tanner, after all it is just a chemical reaction from ONE INGREDIENT that changes the skins color plus your own chemical makeup of the skin. . I guess my expectations were way too high.
--
I should note that i am naturally VERY pale, about as pale as a sheet of paper/ glow in the dark white which may be why it is hard for me to get bronze beach babe color from self tanners. My H is not as light as me...
--
some pros of this product are that it is not thick or sticky on your body and that it comes in a pump.
Someone who might like this is a person who does not mind spending $40 for a self tanner that half the ingredients are fragrance, and just wanting a light natural tan instead of bronze beachy babe look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 letstrythiscolour on 6/18/2012 9:37:00 PM more reviews by letstrythiscolour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

St Tropez lotion this doesnt work well for me, usually use it overnight then wash it off in the morning. Colour doesnt show up well on my skin, it smells to strong and the pay off isnt there..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NYC22 on 6/7/2012 8:03:00 PM more reviews by NYC22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is the BEST self-tanner I have ever used. Where can I begin? First, the color pay-off is phenomenal. After just one application I got a deep, rich tan - and after two applications I looked like I'd spent a long weekend at the beach. I never experienced color like this, even when I applied other self-tanners everyday. And the color isn't the stereotypical orange, but is rather a natural tan with a little brown/bronze/olive. I also might add that this color is what I get after only leaving the lotion on for four hours - imagine what I could get after eight or more. Even after four hours, the color lasts for several days.


The other thing that impressed me about this self-tanner was the low odor. I could barely smell this. This is such an improvement over other tanners that literally made me sick with their scents. I also like how comfortable this is to wear. I usually hate having lotion on my skin, and loathe the sticky feeling of self-tanners - but with this I only minimally noticed that I had it on.


This is easy to apply - I can get most of my body done in about 10 minutes. The best thing to do is apply two pumps to each section of my body, and smooth it along. Rubbing didn't give me streaks, but the smoothing action allowed me to apply the lotion more liberally in each area and therefore wind up with a richer tan.


There is one caveat to this self-tanner, though. The color guard in it is an olive green with a dash of bronze. At first I was quite turned off by this shocking color, but I've come to appreciate it. The reason is that I can see what I am doing much better. Of course I can see spots that I missed, but the more important thing is that I can see the color saturation better. It can be difficult to determine how much product has been applied with brown color guards, but the green lets me see exactly how much I put on. I put enough on with two pumps on each section so that I am visibly green and the color looks more opaque. However, if you want less color then simply apply one pump to a section until your skin is glimmering with an olive/bronze glow, with the green showing up not at first glance but definitely once you focus in. This will give you plenty of color.


I think this is the self-tanner that I have always dreamed of. I have tried expensive brands like Dior and Clarins, and inexpensive brands like Hawaiian Tropic, Banana Boat, L'Oreal, etc. (see my other reviews). However, I really think this is the standard. This even blows the original St. Tropez bronzing lotion out of the water. I understand that this is expensive, but for the quality of the tan I think it is well worth it. Plus, if I want to be frugal then I just apply it to the areas of my body that are shown day to day, like arms, legs, chest, neck and face - yes, this is safe for use on the face!


I highly recommend this.










7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More St.Tropez products

More Self Tanners products