Ion Color Brilliance Brights

4.1

82 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/28/2015 8:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I picked up this dye on a whim at Sally’s Beauty Supply in December 2013, and so far, I’ve tried 2 colours from the line: Fuschia and Magenta. When I squeezed out the dye I noticed that it was very pigmented and smelt like soap (I was okay with it). Also, the consistency of the dye was really thick, so I mixed it with a little conditioner. I applied it (using my bare hands) to slightly damp hair which was sectioned off into four quadrants. Then I covered my hair with a plastic cap, leaving it on for about 2 hours. Afterwards, I washed it out, conditioned and styled.

I thought my hair came out pretty well, and since my hair wasn’t pre-lightened, I was pleasantly surprised that the colour turned out to be as intense as it was. After the 3rd week, the colour started to fade, but it lasted for about 6 weeks before I had to repeat the whole dying process again. I think 6 weeks is a pretty long time considering that I wash my hair every week.

I recommend buying a tint/dye brush to apply it to the hair for easier application. Also, there’s not much in a tube. I believe you get around 2.05 oz of dye which is not enough for long hair. So, if your hair is thick and/or longer than shoulder length, I suggest getting at least two boxes. I’ve had no experience with the dye transferring to my clothes or bed sheets and thankfully it didn't stain the shower!

For a more in depth review, you can check out my blog post:
http://teayii.blogspot.com/2015/06/product-review-ion-color-brilliance.html



on 6/25/2015 5:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have used many different hair colors over the years, on bleached and unbleached hair. I bought Ion Brilliance Brights in Red on a whim right before Halloween and used it on my unbleached but still lightened hair. My hair is naturally dark brown and was at the time a very faded medium auburn. For weeks my hair was bright red, granted not as bright as if I have bleached it but still rather red. I swear the red smells and looks like strawberry puree. Makes me wonder if the other colors smell like something related to their color.

I recently decided to go more purple than red, but unfortunately where I work does not allow me the freedom to bleach and dye my hair the true color I want. So rather than go all out purple I figured I could do a wash of purple over my hair. Figuring my hair is already rather red I just needed to add blue to it and I would get the purple look I desire. Well rather than head to Sally's and pick up more Ion Brilliance Brights in either Purple or Sky Blue or both. I went elsewhere and spent twice what I would have spent for two tubes of Ion. Right now my hair is not dry enough to truly assess the color but from what I can see I would have been better off making the trek to Sally's for Ion. From now on I will listen to that inner voice and trust Ion because I know it works.

Pros:
True to color even on unbleached hair
Color lasts
I like the scent

Cons:
Stains like crazy, well it stained my tub
Weeks later the water still runs pink in the case of the red color I used

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2015 3:02:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is the only semi- I will use anymore, after having mixed experiences with the more expensive Manic Panic and Punky Colour.

I initially bleached my hair very light and colored it Magenta, which turned out a beautiful shocking hot pink. The dye is super thick, which is a plus for me, because I hate to use tint brushes and thinner formulas are much harder to apply evenly with your fingers. It's also very creamy and I feel it coats my hair well when I massage it through.

The smell is amazing, my friends always know when I re-colored because I can't stop sniffing my hair. Otherwise it's hard to tell because it has barely faded at all even in two months before I re-color. The color stays so well that it's actually pretty difficult to get out, which is my only complaint.

The colors from this line blend really well together--I've been doing a Magenta to Fuchsia to Purple to Sky Blue ombre for a while now. It's very easy, even for beginners, to blend them and make the transition look nice even when the hair is straight.

The last rave I have about this product is how amazingly soft it makes my hair feel. I leave it for about four hours for maximum color and look forward to rinsing it out and feeling my hair. I also find my hair stays clean for longer immediately after I color my hair with Ion.

I'm addicted to this line and beyond excited to try out the new Ion Neon Brights, which has a bunch new fun colors. Overall the highest-quality unnatural hair color I've used--strangers ask me what I use all the time. Love.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2015 7:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I've used this twice so far, over natural dark blonde hair. I did not bleach first. The first time I used rose alone, and got a gorgeous rose-gold salmon color that looked very classy and got tons of compliments. The second time I mixed one tube of ross with one tube of fushia and my hair turned out a bright pink. The rose faded out within a couple weeks, the fushia is taking a bit longer (it's been a month and my roots are still a bit pink-tinged).

- use two boxes if you have long hair (mine is bsl)
- leave it on as long as possible (I left it a couple hours each time)

I am uploading pictures too for reference. Good luck!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

A while ago I decided to dye the under part of my hair orange to go for a black and orange Halloween kinda look. I usually use manic panic but they never have orange in Sally's and I didn't have time to order it. I tried this and I was pretty impressed. It came out very orange over bleached and very faded pink hair. It didn't seem to fade at all for the first few days even with me being outside at a big event and swimming for a week and washing my hair daily. After a week it faded so quick. Idk what it was as I didn't change my shampoo or anything, but it was gone soon after. So yes, it's very pigmented and seems to be easy to apply. However it faded fast and Def had a chemical smell to it. It also fried my hair more than other semi permanent colors usually do. I would buy this again if I wanted this exact color again, but other than that I will stick to Manic Panic for abnormal colors.


on 2/27/2015 1:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This was my first time trying Ion color. I picked 'Sky Blue.' It is Very dark! And blends nicely with my dark brown hair...i bleached n dyed the ends. It has not faded at all. I dyed it over a super faded Atomic Turquoise by Manic Panic. I love it!

Pros:
No fading
True to color
Price

Cons:
Metal tube
Perfume smell

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2015 7:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

in November I decided to dye my hair purple. the lady at Sally's recommended this brand so I bought about six boxes in the darker purple colour(my hair is super thick and back then it was almost to my belly button). I lightened my hair to around a level 7 or 8. squeezed the dye into a container and had my mom slather the dye onto my head. I kept it on for about 2 and a half hours. I was a little disappointed that my hair turned out super dark but it did look exactly like the swatch so it wasn't the dye it was just me buying the wrong colour of dye.

pros

•VERY pigmented
•long lasting
•the colour was true to the swatch in the store
• it had a pretty floral smell. kinda like violets but after a while it was a little overpowering
•this is the only semi permanent that hasn't stained my skin

cons

•the dye was thicker than toothpaste. although I noticed some of the tubes had a different formula in them and the consistency was much better so I think ion is fixing this problem.
•when the dye faded my hair was brown. I don't know if this was user error but my hair is stained brown now and I have to bleach it again.
•the dye didn't stick to the healthier hair near my scalp so I had blonde roots

would I buy this again? maybe. it's overall a good dye but not my first choice.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

It is ok I guess, I like Loreal Hi-colour and Matrix 6rv burgundy better. I used this to touch up my roots to match the rest of my hair.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Although it does give you the color you are trying to achieve, it comes out very uneven and you have to buy multiple bottles of it (I'm not talking 2, more like 3 to 4 depending on how thick your hair is). Since it is uneven it fades unevenly as well. After spending that much on multiple bottles I would just go to a salon and get an even and accurate color.
Also, the smell gets too you after awhile, even after it's shampooed out. It's a sweet chemical smell that smacks you in the face every time your hair swings in your face.


on 1/15/2015 2:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Okay it did give me the lavender but it did come out uneven. I'm giving it a 4 since I can't do a 3.5
The consistency is gloop dry thick. Even toothpaste is creamier. Well I diluted 1/4 in conditioner since I wanted a pastel not the full effect. I did get into a creamy color and a good consistency just had to mix alot. After I applied and used both a brush and my fingers it's doesn't stain which I love but after 30-40 mins my results were so so. I'm gonna have to give my hair 2 more go around with this to get what I want which I don't mind and I'm only using the one tube. I had white blond hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top