Ion • Color Brilliance Brights • Hair Color

rated 4.1(62 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 erawr on 8/18/2014 1:10:00 AM more reviews by erawr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So my review is both positive and negative.

My brother and I have been thinking of dying our hair some funkier colors for a while now. I popped into my local Sally's and this was on sale and had some decent reviews online so I grabbed it.

Now here is some info about our hair: We both have the same hair texture, structure, color, etc (we are siblings after all) so usually what works on him also works on me. Our hair is the typical East Asian brown/black. It takes fairly well to bleach; we've never had a problem with breakage, brittleness, or dryness. Also, there is very little issue with lifting our hair to a decently light blonde. Brassiness is easily removed with some toner and purple shampoo.

On my brother, I used Sky Blue mixed 1:1 with the clear diluting solution from the same line in order to get a slightly lighter shade. His turned out very shiny, and nearly identical to the swatch in store and I was heavily impressed. It was easy to wash off the skin, but the color stuck to his hair very well.

I used the color Lavender, and after seeing how my brother's hair had turned out, I was excited to try out the product. I was really hoping it would turn out well. I even let it stay in my hair for an hour, but when I went to rinse out the dye my hair was PINK. Not even a nice pink, it was a strawberry shade and my hair had become even brassier than when I had initially bleached it! I'm so disappointed. I was hoping that the dyes would perform identically.

For the Sky Blue dye, I rate it 5/5.
As for the Lavender dye, 1/5

I will definitely repurchase the blue dye!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsPsylocke on 8/8/2014 10:55:00 AM more reviews by MsPsylocke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was very impressed with this dye. In my younger years I used Manic Panic because in the 90's there were not as many choices as there is now. I'm going to a festival at the end of the month so I thought a little colour would be fun. I picked out Magenta now before I used this I did make my blonde hair lighter. I used One N' Only Argan Oil hair dye in 10A mixed with almost a full tube of High Lift in cool it comes in neutral as well. I left the colour on for 40 minutes and got a beautiful very light ashy blonde. Then I took a small amount of hair under the nape of my neck and I applied the Magenta to dry hair.

I wrapped my hair in aluminum and let it sit for about an hour I think almost 2. It was very easy to rinse also the areas that I did not want pink I painted conditioner over it. I rinsed with cool water till there was no more colour in the water. Conditioned lightly with One N' Only conditioner and let my hair air dry in a braid. The colour is soooo bright I'm super impressed! I usually always use a powder bleach first before colour like this but with this brand I didn't have to. My hair is the exact colour of the box. A very deep magenta with almost some underlying hot pink. It looks like highlights in a way but what I liked was how well the colour turned out.

I recommend applying this in a bowl with a brush as it has a weird texture. You can add conditioner but with this shade I didn't want to compromise intensity. It's very easy to brush on just use gloves and a crappy shirt and towel. It does stain hands but is pretty easy to get off. What I liked about the Ion formula is that it's very bright and my hair feels super soft. I haven't had any issues with bleeding either. I use a shampoo without sulfates or Herbal Essences Color Me Happy cleansing conditioner. I condition more than I shampoo because my hair is very long,thick, and craves moisture. I will be trying the purples next because they look so pretty as well. For me my hair was not super processed and accepted the dye very well. I also like how easy it is to use. I will definitely use this brand again as the results exceeded my expectations. Recommended:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LilyTaylor16 on 8/7/2014 1:29:00 AM more reviews by LilyTaylor16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

This is definitely my favorite brand of direct hair dye. The colors show up beautifully, and true to swatch, if your hait color prior to application is close to the suggested one. I used the magenta over light brown hait to get a beautiful, pink-toned burgundy that lasted about four washes. I also used a very diluted amount on platinum hair to achieve a gorgeous, pastel baby pink that lasted a good few washes. I used the purple, but it unfortunately only showed up purple on dark blonde hair. (My hair was a combo of dark blonde and a medium-dark brown. it turned the dark brown a shiny black that didn't fade at all for the two months I had it.) The teal was a pretty light blue/teal color that lasted for the several months I had it, with a decent amount of fading that led to a rich, greeny teal color. The sky blue (when applied over sark blonde hair) was a gorgeous royal blue, that faded to teal and after swimming in a pool, turned a veeeery bright greenyish light blue. c:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lanikoerte on 8/5/2014 1:12:00 AM more reviews by Lanikoerte

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I used this product first to make my own purple toner at home to even out my bleached blonde hair (from Asian black). It works more reliably than any toner I've bought. I use cvs brand white conditioner for dry hair and a tube of lavender and mix so it's a super light pastel color. Then I apply to my hair (dry) and leave on for about 25-40 min depending. With my Sally's card it was like 2 for $9 and some change. Not a bad price at all considering I make my own purple shampoo too with it. I decided to try dying my hair purple underneath to try something new but it's so thick and hard to apply that I would need about 5-6 tubes to do my whole head. Just to do the underneath I needed more than one tube. I decided to use a very small amount of conditioner and figured if anything I would get a good conditioning out of the whole ordeal. I left it in my hair for an hour or so and washed it out then applied my leave in conditioner and rinsed that out (this product is VERY drying. Conditioner is crucial) I don't recommend shampooing till the next day. Or longer if possible. It will wash out easily. I bleached and dyed my hair a dark blonde a few days before and didn't wash my hair for a couple days before dying. The color turned out dark purple which I'm assuming has to do with my hair being a darker color than recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NumberSixBiitch on 6/29/2014 11:23:00 PM more reviews by NumberSixBiitch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My hair is bleached platinum, I wanted purple streaks- NO! I let this dye sit 40min and nothing! I tried 2 hours and still nothing! They dye rinsed out with the water and left my hair dry and brittle. This is terrible, I DO NOT RECCOMMEND IT!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fallenangel97 on 6/16/2014 1:22:00 AM more reviews by fallenangel97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought the aqua and lavender from Sally's to do kind of a mermaid ombré look for summer. My hair is a very light blonde (maybe not quite considered platinum) with black underneath. I sectioned off the blonde of my hair into ponytails and applied both colors to the bottoms, also mixing the colors with the Ion clear diluter. It is very thick, which I kind of like, and smells nice. It came out very true to the color swatches in the store. I haven't read many good reviews about the lavender, but I like the way mine turned out. The only thing I dislike is that I've washed my hair once after waiting two days, and it's already somewhat faded. But I've had this experience with all colorful semi-permanent dyes I've used over the years, so I'm not too shaken.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenbiznee on 6/15/2014 6:24:00 PM more reviews by jenbiznee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I was exploring the blue/green spectrum of hair coloring and after being disatisfied with several other brands that I usually have excellent luck with bought the Aqua color on a whim. I expected it to be pretty crappy because it is far cheaper than other brands that I use. I left it on my head, with a plastic cap, for about 4 hours and was shocked how brilliant and true to color it came out. I mixed a couple tablespoons in with mostly conditioner and came out a bright turquoise. with very little patchiness. My hair was almost white, then dyed a light mint and the effect is very oceanic.

And it lasts! I am a compulsive deep conditioner which is how I also fade my hair to keep in changing (I have issues :) and this color won't budge! Not sure about the other colors as I have heard extremely mixed reviews, but from my personal experience the Aqua is sort of a perfect dye.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kayliexx on 3/4/2014 12:12:00 PM more reviews by kayliexx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Loving mine so far! I bought both the aqua and the purple and received a free colour diluter. All bought at sally's for about $10CAD. I decided to do an ombre look (I also uploaded a photo of the results) on my already light blonde hair. I mixed a bit of the purple with the diluter until it was a lavender colour and did the bottom third of my hair, and then put the non-diluted purple on about the bottom quarter. I was pleasantly surprised with how it turned out. I also love the thick consistency which makes it easy to put it exactly where you want it. I can't comment on it's lastability quite yet but I've definitely heard good things. Hoping it lasts longer than "ultra violet" by manic panic as that lasted me literally one wash. The price of this stuff is also great. My only complaint would be the smell. It is very hair-dye-ie if that makes sense. It smells kind of like a permanent colour with a peroxide in it would, even though its a semi permanent. That's not great because after using it you're not supposed to wash your hair so you're stuck smelling like that for a few days. Other than that, I'm very pleased. Will definitely try the aqua and would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jayfeisty on 2/24/2014 5:01:00 PM more reviews by jayfeisty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love my hair and this product is pretty dope :) i like that it stays for a pretty good amount of time. i bleached my hair of course since i had black hair, it was some orangyish yellowish not so very blonde and i love how my hair came out. I used and still use the aqua and sky blue mixed. Color lasts, fades a little green but still a very nice color, but what do you expect from blue dyes. I like and it doesn't bleed too much which is great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StormyLotus on 2/19/2014 11:19:00 PM more reviews by StormyLotus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

There are definite pros and cons with this dye.
Pros- the colors stayed true much longer than I expected, there is no dripping to worry about so streaks are easier, a decent range of colors to choose from.

Cons- the blues last, but they last too long. If you choose blue, expect it to be permanent. I tried covering the aqua that had turned green-ish in my hair with a dark brown, you can still see green steaks.
The red was more pink and washed out quite quickly.

I do wish the hair didn't have to be almost white blonde, but I understand that's the nature of the beast.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ion products

More Hair Color products