OPI Just Spotted the Lizard

4.4

39 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/27/2015 9:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

From OPI's 2012 The Amazing Spider-Man Collection, Just Spotted the Lizard is one of the more unique-looking colors that I have in my stash. It's an olive green/antique gold metallic duochrome and it looks awesome on my nails. I see more gold than green but the duochrome effect is still very visible.
Great OPI formula, opaque in two coats and no problems with application or wear.
This color is so different and pretty! I like this a lot and I would definitely buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/22/2014 5:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is one of the most unique polishes I own. I love this color so much. I'm a sucker for green nail polishes. This is one of my go to summer/fall colors for my nails. I really wish this polish wasn't limited edition.


on 5/29/2014 10:04:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my first ever OPI nail polish and it introduced me to the world of "good" nail polish. I've always loved nail polish(since my aunt painted my nails when I was 4 years old) but I didn't really know the bigger brands, which have a LOT more colors and wonderfully named polishes which are now mostly 3 of 5-Free! Anyways, I'm biased because of this ;) Nevertheless, it is a wonderful polish. I only wish more of the blue/dark green duochrome showed up when applied on the nail though... In the bottle it looked amazing--like the color of a beetle! It's a great duochrome, though :) Green/gold. Got so many compliments! It dries with a soft kind of look--like how real gold looks, so I topped it with Chanel's Extreme Shine topcoat--which is the most wonderful topcoat ever, by the way--and woah. It looked awesome. :) Love the name, too! And the Spiderman movie :) Would definitely recommend it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2013 3:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pretty color but just not for me. I don't like how it looks mostly bleh greenish yellow. Eh. The iridescence is gorgeous but the base color is just so ugly to me and that's what you mostly see.


on 5/16/2013 12:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is one interesting polish. Others have mentioned blue tinges on top of the golden-yellow-green, but I get some dark pink/reddish tinges, not blue. So very intriguing! I originally bought this after reading it was a good dupe for Chanel Peridot, and I can't speak to whether this is true, but regardless - it's a gorgeous color. I love yellow-green and lime green polishes, but they're difficult colors to wear on very pale skin. This shade is warm and has depth.

Not sure if I got an old bottle, but for me this polish applies thicker than other OPI polishes and dries much more quickly. It definitely takes two coats to achieve opacity and a good top coat is essential. I'm wearing it only for the second time, but I'm realizing that it chipped after two days the first time around due to a subpar top coat. This time I used Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle clear polish - not actually marketed as a top coat - and I'm on my fourth day without a chip or wearing at the tips. And who has two thumbs and beats up her hands? This girl! Oh wait, I just found a small chip. Darn it! I jinxed myself. But there's just one, on my index finger. That's a near miracle. Would I buy it again? Yes! In fact, I just ordered a back up bottle because I love it so much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Lovely colour, definitely comes out more yellowy goldy than it looks in the bottle. Nice to apply, though I find it to be a wee bit more streaky than most OPI nail polishes, wears about as well as any polish, best with a good top coat. I did get chipping after a few days without a top coat mind you, but in saying that I use my hands a LOT. I was a little disappointed and definitely should have looked up swatches before purchasing, but still love this


on 4/1/2013 8:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is an absolutely wild color in the bottle, a sort of "oil spill" thing going on with gold in the middle, green and blue pooling around the sides. Once on nails it's mainly a tarnished goldish shimmery bronzy...it's actually hard to describe! In any event it's all very pretty and wearable because so much of the golden-ness is the most obvious. Im actually glad that once applied hardly any of the blue flash is visible. Some say its a dupe for Chanel's Peridot, and after viewing photo comparisons online it looks like a close match but I have not seen Peridot in person so that's all I can say about that. I have the OPI and that's good enough for me with sort of color. I love "Just Spotted the Lizard" and would recommend it happily to be added to a polish collection. I certainly have none other like it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The OPI brand is on the more expensive side of the nail-care spectrum, but it is nonetheless, a company that manufactures consistently good product. OPI's Just Spotted The Lizard is no exception. The colour is gorgeous- the bottle is just a taster of what is going to happen once you apply it! It's an exciting mix of golden, copper, and green tones which has a tendency to look blu-ish and even mildly purple in some lights! The application is so easy, which is really saying something because my nails are much narrower than average.

At a time where the nail art trend is taking a backseat, and interesting colour and tones are taking precedence, OPI's Just Spotted The Lizard is a great buy.

Overall, this is a great nailpolish- buy it, and watch the compliments flow!


on 12/31/2012 9:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I admit: I got this one because of all the hype. It's okay. I like it in the bottle but on my nails it's just kinda nyeh...


on 12/25/2012 7:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I really like this polish! I love the green/gold duochrome finish, but I do wish it showed up a bit blue like it does in the bottle. MUCH lighter on the fingers than in the bottle. Wears great, doesn't streak, smudge or chip. Would definitely buy again!




Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

74 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

153 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

76 reviews
image

Romeo & Joliet

87 reviews
Back to Top