Sephora • Microsmooth Foundation Powder • Powder

rated 4.4(44 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 debk on 11/29/2014 7:34:00 PM more reviews by debk

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was in the market for a new powder foundation as my PF solar powder in translucent is nowhere to be found anymore. So thanks for the reviews ladies. I'm really liking this over bb cream . I use it to even out my skin---I prefer two light layers rather than one heavy layer. My skin looks so even and soft--this is really great! It covers some discolorations, pigmentation, acne marks and does so without being visible and mask-like. Hurray for a great powder!! And it doesn't contain bismuth or chemical sunscreens.

My only qualm with this one is the colors. I'm an NW 20 so I bought the shade that is second lightest. It's about a quarter shade too light and leans toward the yellow tones. But it seems to brighten my face and I use bronzer so I'm hoping this will work. I wish they had some cooler tones in the light shades.

I've tried many powders and powder foundations. I've always liked baked products and this powder is the reason why. Good price, no bells or whistles compact. Works for me --hope it works for you too!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* isavella on 11/17/2014 2:54:00 PM more reviews by isavella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is very similar to MAC's Mineralize Skin Finish powder (as you may have gathered given the other reviews lol). The MAC broke me out, so I switched to this powder. And I love it! I have it in the shade Medium, which is slightly too yellow-toned for me but blends seamlessly into my skin to tone down all the ruddiness.

It's very "powdery" (YES it's a powder, but specks will fly around with your brush if you're not careful), but application is very smooth and easy. It melts into your skin for that dimensional, skin-like look good mineral powders give. I use it over a CC cream for a pretty airbrushed look, but it has some coverage on its own for good skin days.

It's $22 for 0.24 oz. No trace of irritation or breakouts. No oxidation. The oil control isn't that great, and the compact doesn't have a mirror. Other than that this is a great, great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 11/16/2014 4:05:00 PM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I applied it on my oily T zone after liquid foundation, no trace of powder, absolutely smoooothly wonderful. It is matte but not flat & appeared skin like.
I am about NW25 or NC 30 and used #30 sand (although at the back the print was #30 medium).
I also like that it does not waste $$$ with a brush, which I usually chuck it in the garbage immediately.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mberteig on 10/7/2014 6:07:00 PM more reviews by mberteig

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is a HG product for me, and is probably my most re-purchased makeup item. I love this product! It is very light and silky feeling on, and provides great coverage. I use it two ways - by itself as a powder foundation, and also as a setting powder over liquid foundation for a flawless finish. I am light/medium with yellow undertones and I use color 15 nude, which is a perfect match for me. I have redness on my nose and cheeks that I like to cover up, and this product covers redness well. I do find that I have to reapply in the middle of the day or if I blow my nose a lot, but it is pretty long lasting. I keep a spare compact in my desk at work so I can reapply during the day. This is one of my all time favorite makeup products!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Olive143 on 10/7/2014 5:41:00 PM more reviews by Olive143

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this powder for about five months now and the shape of the powder dome is not half way done yet. I use it every day. Right now I am about a NC40. I purchased the next darker shade, I believe the color was Bronze (35 Tan) at first. I returned only because it made my under eye area way too dark. So I purchased the next light color called Sand. I wish they had a color in between Sand and Bronze. Fortunately I use an awesome blush/bronzer by NYX called Ignite and it is a perfect bronzer that helps darken the color a bit by dusting some on my temples, nose, chin area. This will do for now but I would love to try MAC's MSN in Medium Plus which seems like it's always out of stock! The price is good upfront at $22 but read from another reviewer that MAC is much better as far as price per gram at $29.

I have to say the coverage is very good, smooth and silky texture, and not chalky, love the yellow undertones to it and doesn't turn orange by the end of the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MyLittlePwny on 8/15/2014 8:59:00 PM more reviews by MyLittlePwny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I beyond adore this powder. I have the most sensitive skin in the world and it doesn't irritate it at all. I use it along with L'Oreal Lumi and my skin looks nice and dewy and glowy from morning to night. After going through so many powders I finally found one that works. When I don't use this my skin doesn't look as good by the end of the day. I like this one more than my pressed powder from CHANEL. Try this with elf's kabuki brush, I found it life changing. I pat it on lightly instead of buffing in since buffing irritates my skin and it sets my foundation beautifully. HG for sure!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nicolegryne on 8/14/2014 7:06:00 PM more reviews by nicolegryne

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't realize how great this stuff was until I tried to use something else. This powder matches my skin well, and keeps me looking matte, and looks wonderful in the summertime. This is becoming one of my favorite powders.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 7/19/2014 4:15:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW13-20 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), dark gray- blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW/DSPW.

I love the MAC MSFNs and have repurchased them all the time. However, I believe most of the lighter ones swing cool-toned (Light, Medium, Medium Plus). Light Plus is the exception, which is good for NC15-20.

I was looking for a product that would give me the same uses (setting powder, extra coverage, and powder foundation) but would fit my skintone when I use self tanner in the summer (NC20-25). This fits the bill. Does it replace my love for MSFN? Not really... it's a different formula. I prefer the MSFN one, but this color does work.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hasnijabosnia777 on 7/14/2014 11:22:00 AM more reviews by hasnijabosnia777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a wonderful powder! I generally am very pleased with all Sephora brand products, I find them to be dupes to tons of upscale more expensive products. This foundation powder in particular is just amazing! It goes on so slky smooth and lasts all day. Keeps my face from getting shiny or slick like it usually would and I don'thave to reapply it dozens of times throughout. I just wish it would havea built-in mirror, but given how well it works I can do without. Highly recommend this to everyone, it has great selection of shades and is my new HG powder!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 5/5/2014 1:25:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Move over MAC MSFN, make room for Sephora's Microsmooth Foundation Powder.
I got this during Sephora's 15% VIB Rouge promotion and I love the silky texture of this powder. MAC's MSFN can be a bit powdery in comparison to the Microsmooth Foundation powder and I find myself reaching for it more than the MSFN.

The packaging leaves a bit to be desired as it has no mirror but other than, it's a great product. I use it mainly as a finishing powder although it would work as powder foundation if you're not looking for a lot of coverage.

I'm a NC30/C3 and the #25 is my perfect match. I take my Sephora #55 brush and fluff it all over and I get a polished look. It's great for touch ups as it doesn't get cakey like some powders can. The compact can get a bit dusty but I can't complain because of the performance.

A definite repurchase.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sephora products

More Powder products