Sephora • Microsmooth Foundation Powder • Powder

rated 4.3(35 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 PPeaceOfMind on 4/9/2014 8:09:00 PM more reviews by PPeaceOfMind

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Violet    

This powder is long lasting and no-reapplication is needed. The texture is smooth and it looks great on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautybaby44 on 4/9/2014 6:43:00 PM more reviews by beautybaby44

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I picked this up at Sephora a few months ago and I'm quite impressed. It gives great coverage when it's lightly dusted over some BB Cream or a light-medium coverage liquid foundation. I will also often wear this as a setting powder over my Outlast StayFabulous 3-in-1 foundation. It's 28 dollars including tax (CAD).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 christeeezy on 4/7/2014 10:09:00 PM more reviews by christeeezy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I freakin love this product. I'm not one for liquid foundations, and this product along with some concealer gives me the coverage I want. It gives me a natural, medium coverage. You can build it to full coverage if you use one of those wedge sponges, but I prefer using a flat top brush, such as the Elf Studio one. As for the downside, I have a few. I have combination/oily skin, and on the days that I do have dry spots, this powder tends to accentuate them. Since it is a baked powder, it tends to get messy and all over the place, which can actually seem like you're wasting product. For $22, this sucks because there's actually not a lot of product to begin with. It only has 7 grams. When you use this product everyday, which I practically do, you go through it fairly quickly. I'm on my second one, and I'm nearly done with it. It also only took me 2 months to get through my first one. Longevity-wise, it lasts for about 5 hours on my face until I have to blot. That's pretty average for any powder I've used, though. Oh yeah, and it doesn't break me out which is a very big plus. I will continue to repurchase this until I find a cheaper alternative. Although if it were cheaper and lasted longer, it would definitely be holy grail worthy for me. For shade reference, I'm an NC25-30 in MAC, yellow/golden undertones, and I use the shade Beige 25.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fabmac1 on 4/7/2014 11:18:00 AM more reviews by fabmac1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Recently my skin has been breaking out and giving me problems. I wanted something that didn't irritate my skin so I opted for this foundation. Unlike many other mineral products, it doesn't contain bismuth oxychloride which is known to irritate sensitive skin. I have hyper-sensitive and so far this hasn't broken me out (*fingers crossed*). I don't think this provides very much coverage. Probably light to medium. It's definitely layerable without looking cakey which is a plus. I use this more as a setting powder on top of foundation/concealer. It gives my skin a nice, smooth, flawless finish. On it's own, I find the coverage too sheer. My color is 15 Nude and it's a perfect match for my skin! I am a MAC NC20-25. Will update if anything changes ^_^

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 iselarp on 4/1/2014 8:20:00 PM more reviews by iselarp

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great finish! Color was a bit orange. But it felt like silk, applied evenly, smooth finish. Two lippies because it irritated my skin after one application. However, my skin is very sensitive, oily and prone to breakouts. It's marketed as a mineral foundation but mica is the only mineral ingredient in the loooong list of ingredients. It also contains dimethicone which I believe is a comedogenic. If you don't have problem skin then the $22 investment is probably worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Pink_Lotus on 3/20/2014 9:15:00 PM more reviews by Pink_Lotus

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This is it, I found the holy grail of face powders! Good-bye Clinique, MAC MSFN, and Milani! This power is beautiful. It was mentioned on a beauty blog and it even looked good on the screen. When I went to Sephora I was truly impressed by the color match. I bought the color in Tan 40 which matched my skin beautifully (I'm on the lighter side of NC45).

What I like best about the powder is the yellow underbase. My MAC MSFN (med/dark) looks warmer towards orange/tan, my MAC MSFN (dark) is about one about shade darker and less golden than the Sephora powder. My Clinique Suede looks more olive beige and Miliani Tan looks more beige/ tan compared to the Sephora 40 powder.

I like the texture, it's quite soft, yet not chalky. It gives a sheer luminous texture to the skin. This powder is good if you have flawless skin and you just want to even out your complextion or reduce shine. It can work if you have minor acne. I don't think it will cover dark or red spots thouroughly. Nevertheless, it worth sampling at Sephora.

One lippie goes off for the packaging. Be very careful, there is no tin pan in the compact, the powder tablet is glued to the compact and breaks off easily. When I purchased mine, the tablet slipped right out. I had to exchange it the next day. So when you're at Sephora's make sure to shake compact lightly to see if it's still glued to the compact. Based on that $22 is a bit pricey for the deficient packaging.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kchastings on 12/30/2013 7:16:00 PM more reviews by Kchastings

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've gone back to minerals recently--Bare Minerals. BUT---I saw this and tried it on my hand while in Sephora with my mother. We went on to other shopping, and I noticed how smooth my hand was where I'd applied the Microsmooth FP. My mother noticed also. I researched the reviews and ingredients, and saw that people liked it as well or better than Bare Minerals. My only hesitation was the ingredient Talc was 2nd on list. That usually looks cakey Snd clogs my pores. So I kept reading reviews, and finally bought it to see if it lived up to the hype. It DOES! I normally wear Bare Minerals original loose foundation in Light, which has yellow undertones. I matched myself at Sephora and chose #15, Light/Nude. I applied with a flocked sponge. You can buy those at Walgreens--it the powder puff 2-pack by Studio 35 Beauty, (the Walgreens brand), for a couple bucks. Flawless coverage, full, lasts all day. Not shimmery but a teeny bit of a hint of pearl to the Microsmooth Foundation Powder. HG product!!! I don't even use concealer under my eyes anymore. My skin has loved this--no blackheads or breakouts, even if I sleep in it. The "baked" feature may be way I can pile this on and it never ever gets cakey. I hope Sephora never quits making this, cause this a game changer!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kathy123 on 12/19/2013 10:51:00 AM more reviews by Kathy123

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I feel in love with this powder right in the store. Believe it or not, it is so hard to find the right powder. I use this in Bronze shade which is darker than my skin but gives me a bit of color when I do not want to use blush or bronzer. It looks natural and it looks fab over the Sephora 10-Hour Foundation. It stays on the whole day with no fuss. The quality of this product is great. Highly recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HunterGray on 12/5/2013 5:12:00 PM more reviews by HunterGray

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I've used several of these compacts up now. Application, coverage, and finish are identical to MAC's MSFN. I'm NC15 and wear Porcelain, it's a great match. I love that I can wear it alone as a powder foundation on lighter days, or I can use it to set my foundation for heavier coverage. It also works well for setting your undereye concealer. It removes excess done from your face without giving it a completely matte look. Your skin still looks like skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catmj on 11/15/2013 2:30:00 PM more reviews by catmj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I went into Sephora, and got color matched with their new imaging computer program. The powder I bought #25, which is a perfect match for my skin. I cannot seem to find a drugstore powder that matches me. Anyhow, The application is fantastic with a powder brush, it's very similar to MAC mineralize natural skinfinish. It's a reasonable price, and it's a staple in my hodge-podge makeup collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sephora products

More Powder products