Sephora • Microsmooth Foundation Powder • Powder

rated 4.4(39 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MyLittlePwny on 8/15/2014 8:59:00 PM more reviews by MyLittlePwny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I beyond adore this powder. I have the most sensitive skin in the world and it doesn't irritate it at all. I use it along with L'Oreal Lumi and my skin looks nice and dewy and glowy from morning to night. After going through so many powders I finally found one that works. When I don't use this my skin doesn't look as good by the end of the day. I like this one more than my pressed powder from CHANEL. Try this with elf's kabuki brush, I found it life changing. I pat it on lightly instead of buffing in since buffing irritates my skin and it sets my foundation beautifully. HG for sure!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nicolegryne on 8/14/2014 7:06:00 PM more reviews by nicolegryne

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't realize how great this stuff was until I tried to use something else. This powder matches my skin well, and keeps me looking matte, and looks wonderful in the summertime. This is becoming one of my favorite powders.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 7/19/2014 4:15:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW13-20 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), dark gray- blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW/DSPW.

I love the MAC MSFNs and have repurchased them all the time. However, I believe most of the lighter ones swing cool-toned (Light, Medium, Medium Plus). Light Plus is the exception, which is good for NC15-20.

I was looking for a product that would give me the same uses (setting powder, extra coverage, and powder foundation) but would fit my skintone when I use self tanner in the summer (NC20-25). This fits the bill. Does it replace my love for MSFN? Not really... it's a different formula. I prefer the MSFN one, but this color does work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hasnijabosnia777 on 7/14/2014 11:22:00 AM more reviews by hasnijabosnia777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a wonderful powder! I generally am very pleased with all Sephora brand products, I find them to be dupes to tons of upscale more expensive products. This foundation powder in particular is just amazing! It goes on so slky smooth and lasts all day. Keeps my face from getting shiny or slick like it usually would and I don'thave to reapply it dozens of times throughout. I just wish it would havea built-in mirror, but given how well it works I can do without. Highly recommend this to everyone, it has great selection of shades and is my new HG powder!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 5/5/2014 1:25:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Move over MAC MSFN, make room for Sephora's Microsmooth Foundation Powder.
I got this during Sephora's 15% VIB Rouge promotion and I love the silky texture of this powder. MAC's MSFN can be a bit powdery in comparison to the Microsmooth Foundation powder and I find myself reaching for it more than the MSFN.

The packaging leaves a bit to be desired as it has no mirror but other than, it's a great product. I use it mainly as a finishing powder although it would work as powder foundation if you're not looking for a lot of coverage.

I'm a NC30/C3 and the #25 is my perfect match. I take my Sephora #55 brush and fluff it all over and I get a polished look. It's great for touch ups as it doesn't get cakey like some powders can. The compact can get a bit dusty but I can't complain because of the performance.

A definite repurchase.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautybaby44 on 4/9/2014 6:43:00 PM more reviews by beautybaby44

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I picked this up at Sephora a few months ago and I'm quite impressed. It gives great coverage when it's lightly dusted over some BB Cream or a light-medium coverage liquid foundation. I will also often wear this as a setting powder over my Outlast StayFabulous 3-in-1 foundation. It's 28 dollars including tax (CAD).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 christeeezy on 4/7/2014 10:09:00 PM more reviews by christeeezy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I freakin love this product. I'm not one for liquid foundations, and this product along with some concealer gives me the coverage I want. It gives me a natural, medium coverage. You can build it to full coverage if you use one of those wedge sponges, but I prefer using a flat top brush, such as the Elf Studio one. As for the downside, I have a few. I have combination/oily skin, and on the days that I do have dry spots, this powder tends to accentuate them. Since it is a baked powder, it tends to get messy and all over the place, which can actually seem like you're wasting product. For $22, this sucks because there's actually not a lot of product to begin with. It only has 7 grams. When you use this product everyday, which I practically do, you go through it fairly quickly. I'm on my second one, and I'm nearly done with it. It also only took me 2 months to get through my first one. Longevity-wise, it lasts for about 5 hours on my face until I have to blot. That's pretty average for any powder I've used, though. Oh yeah, and it doesn't break me out which is a very big plus. I will continue to repurchase this until I find a cheaper alternative. Although if it were cheaper and lasted longer, it would definitely be holy grail worthy for me. For shade reference, I'm an NC25-30 in MAC, yellow/golden undertones, and I use the shade Beige 25.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fabmac1 on 4/7/2014 11:18:00 AM more reviews by fabmac1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Recently my skin has been breaking out and giving me problems. I wanted something that didn't irritate my skin so I opted for this foundation. Unlike many other mineral products, it doesn't contain bismuth oxychloride which is known to irritate sensitive skin. I have hyper-sensitive and so far this hasn't broken me out (*fingers crossed*). I don't think this provides very much coverage. Probably light to medium. It's definitely layerable without looking cakey which is a plus. I use this more as a setting powder on top of foundation/concealer. It gives my skin a nice, smooth, flawless finish. On it's own, I find the coverage too sheer. My color is 15 Nude and it's a perfect match for my skin! I am a MAC NC20-25. Will update if anything changes ^_^

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 iselarp on 4/1/2014 8:20:00 PM more reviews by iselarp

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great finish! Color was a bit orange. But it felt like silk, applied evenly, smooth finish. Two lippies because it irritated my skin after one application. However, my skin is very sensitive, oily and prone to breakouts. It's marketed as a mineral foundation but mica is the only mineral ingredient in the loooong list of ingredients. It also contains dimethicone which I believe is a comedogenic. If you don't have problem skin then the $22 investment is probably worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Pink_Lotus on 3/20/2014 9:15:00 PM more reviews by Pink_Lotus

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This is it, I found the holy grail of face powders! Good-bye Clinique, MAC MSFN, and Milani! This powder is beautiful. It was mentioned on a beauty blog and it even looked good on the screen. When I went to Sephora I was truly impressed by the color match. I bought the color in Tan 40 which matched my skin beautifully (I'm on the lighter side of NC45).

What I like best about the powder is the yellow underbase. My MAC MSFN (med/dark) looks warmer towards orange/tan, my MAC MSFN (dark) is about one about shade darker and less golden than the Sephora powder. My Clinique Suede looks more olive beige and Miliani Tan looks more beige/ tan compared to the Sephora 40 powder.

I like the texture, it's quite soft, yet not chalky. It gives a sheer luminous texture to the skin. This powder is good if you have flawless skin and you just want to even out your complextion or reduce shine. It can work if you have minor acne. I don't think it will cover dark or red spots thouroughly. Nevertheless, it worth sampling at Sephora.

One lippie goes off for the packaging. Be very careful, there is no tin pan in the compact, the powder tablet is glued to the compact and breaks off easily. When I purchased mine, the tablet slipped right out. I had to exchange it the next day. So when you're at Sephora's make sure to shake compact lightly to see if it's still glued to the compact. Based on that $22 is a bit pricey for the deficient packaging.

UPDATE ***************************************************************************************************

I went down a shade and purchased #35 Bronze which looks great (NC 45 liquid / Bobbi Brown Golden), but when I get darker during the summer I'll go back #40 Tan. I still have no complaints about this powder. This is what I wear on the weekends when I just want a little coverage for smooth look and it does the trick!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sephora products

More Powder products